Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Ways to get back the Start Menu/Button in Win8


  • Please log in to reply
218 replies to this topic

#26
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,006 posts
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Nope. After that skin, it will still be a flyout menu. That is its distinguishing factor from other hundred replacements and isn't going to change because Vista/7 style restricts all programs to a too limited area for browsing with mouse. Of course, if you wish you search, then it's similar but again, not the same. If there are MANY search results, Classic Shell can show them in multiple columns, no scrolling required. It's open source, you are free to modify it as you want and fork it. ;)

In fact, one unique feature of Classic Shell on Windows 7 and Vista is that it turns the Vista/7 style menu also into a flyout menu. Go to the "Windows Start Menu" tab and check the "Cascading All Programs menu" option.

Thanks, xpclient.

When I started using Windows 98 (up from 3.11), I thought that the flyout menu was pretty cool. (Although almost anything was better than Program Manager...) And I stil think it's neat to see them pop out the side like that.

But honestly, over the years it got to be a growing annoyance that the menus would cover up a big part of my screen, and I had to be so careful to put my mouse pointer over the exact spot lest I end up with an unwanted menu. So when the Vista menu made its appearance, I welcomed the change.

In my personal order of preference, it's the Vista/7 menu on the top rung, then the classic menu, and -- way, way below -- the Metro start screen. (Hmm, it just hit me that the Metro screen is a bit like Program Manager, with the links to the various programs displayed in a grid when you first boot into Windows. And, like with 3.11, in a Metro-only environment -- such as they're pushing with Windows RT -- when you have a program open you can't tell at a glance what other programs are open. But I must stop here, as my own rule is that this isn't a thread for comparing the Metro start screen to the start button/menu...)

What I like the best about ClassicShell is the separate feature that brings back most of the functionality of the IE status bar. :thumbup

--JorgeA


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
xpclient

xpclient

    XP was my idea. 3rd party apps make NT6 my idea.

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 323 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I had to be so careful to put my mouse pointer over the exact spot lest I end up with an unwanted menu.


This particular annoyance is fixed in Classic Shell's implementation of the menu though. It can be set up by raising the "menu delay" option value such that the menus only open when clicked, instead of opening when hovered over. :) So they don't close either unless you click somewhere, they won't close just by hovering if you don't like that.

Edited by xpclient, 04 October 2012 - 06:44 AM.

Impossible to run NT6 without third party fixes.


#28
dubsdj

dubsdj

    MCITP

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 238 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I gotta say I have been testing this on my domain and I really cannot see what advantages this has over Windows 7. I find takes longer to do the most simple tasks which is not a good sign at all.
plus desktop redirection coupled with the APPS makes the start screen a right old mess.

#29
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,006 posts
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag
dubsdj,

Are you referring to Windows 8, or to one of the Start Menu/Button alternatives? I'm guessing Win8, but just asking to make sure. Or maybe you're saying that Win8 can't be saved even with a revived Start Button. ;)

--JorgeA

Edited by JorgeA, 04 October 2012 - 03:50 PM.


#30
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,006 posts
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Added a listing and link for WinAero's Win+X Menu Editor. It's not exactly a Start Menu replacement, but it can be used to add features and functionality to the "power user" menu that pops up when you right-click in the lower left corner of the screen. For some users, this might be enough of a replacement.

--JorgeA

#31
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,006 posts
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Here's another option for booting straight to the Windows 8 Desktop.

It might also reduce the annoyance of having the Charms appear when you happen to leave the mouse pointer in the wrong place.

--JorgeA

#32
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,006 posts
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Wentutu Start Menu includes the ability to list frequently used items and to boot directly to the Desktop. Works on 32- and 64-bit systems.

--JorgeA

#33
Servelius

Servelius

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 102 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Wentutu Start Menu includes the ability to list frequently used items and to boot directly to the Desktop. Works on 32- and 64-bit systems.

--JorgeA



Wentutu Start Menu has a serious bug with 'All Programs' list if your Windows 8 root drive is other than C. My Windows 7 is on drive C, my Windows 8 is on drive D; I've installed Wentutu on Win8 and it shows me 'All Programs' from my Windows 7.

And I don't like Wentutu menu start button.

#34
Servelius

Servelius

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 102 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Nope. After that skin, it will still be a flyout menu. That is its distinguishing factor from other hundred replacements and isn't going to change because Vista/7 style restricts all programs to a too limited area for browsing with mouse.


I like Classic Shell very much and I use it a lot in my both Windows 7 and 8. I'm dissapointed to hear that there won't be non-cascading all programs and search, why not? True that cascading menus was distinguishing factor in Classic Shell - but it was before Windows 8 RTM. Now it's a good idea to bring back the functionality of non-cascading start menu. Why, because it's more compact and handy and saves desk space which is quite useful sometimes. Both search results as well as all programs list could take both panes of the start menu, left and right, this way it would give user enough space (almost as much as cascades do), and thus it would be different from the original 7 start menu.

Why do I prefer Classic Shell overall, because it's very stable, fast, and does the job.

#35
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,006 posts
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Wentutu Start Menu has a serious bug with 'All Programs' list if your Windows 8 root drive is other than C. My Windows 7 is on drive C, my Windows 8 is on drive D; I've installed Wentutu on Win8 and it shows me 'All Programs' from my Windows 7.

Thanks for the bug report! Did you notify the author? Maybe he will fix it.

Has anybody else experienced this issue?

--JorgeA

#36
xpclient

xpclient

    XP was my idea. 3rd party apps make NT6 my idea.

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 323 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It's a good idea to bring back the functionality of non-cascading start menu. Why, because it's more compact and handy and saves desk space which is quite useful sometimes. Both search results as well as all programs list could take both panes of the start menu, left and right, this way it would give user enough space (almost as much as cascades do), and thus it would be different from the original 7 start menu.

Why do I prefer Classic Shell overall, because it's very stable, fast, and does the job.

Making Classic Shell more compact is easy. Make the menu single column from "Menu Look" tab. Reduce main menu width to 20, sub-menu width to 30. On my laptop, at just 1280 x 800, it takes up 1/3 (33%) of the screen. To make it further compact, check "Small icons" on the Skin tab. It can easily be made narrower than the Windows 7 Start Menu. The only space it takes more than the Windows 7 menu is the block indicated in red. I don't think that's too large a part of the screen. And that's just compared to default height of Windows 7 Start Menu. If you enable more items in your Windows 7 Start Menu, it can grow taller too. If this is not enough to make folks happy, then there is always Start8. :)

Posted Image

Edited by xpclient, 14 October 2012 - 09:36 PM.

Impossible to run NT6 without third party fixes.


#37
Servelius

Servelius

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 102 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Wentutu Start Menu has a serious bug with 'All Programs' list if your Windows 8 root drive is other than C. My Windows 7 is on drive C, my Windows 8 is on drive D; I've installed Wentutu on Win8 and it shows me 'All Programs' from my Windows 7.

Thanks for the bug report! Did you notify the author? Maybe he will fix it.

Has anybody else experienced this issue?

--JorgeA



I did, I reported the bug and suggested a few options, but the author wouldn't reply.

If your Windows 8 is on drive other than C, you'll see what I mean, Wentutu can't see other drives.

#38
Servelius

Servelius

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 102 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Making Classic Shell more compact is easy. Make the menu single column from "Menu Look" tab. Reduce main menu width to 20, sub-menu width to 30. On my laptop, at just 1280 x 800, it takes up 1/3 (33%) of the screen. To make it further compact, check "Small icons" on the Skin tab. It can easily be made narrower than the Windows 7 Start Menu. The only space it takes more than the Windows 7 menu is the block indicated in red. I don't think that's too large a part of the screen. And that's just compared to default height of Windows 7 Start Menu. If you enable more items in your Windows 7 Start Menu, it can grow taller too. If this is not enough to make folks happy, then there is always Start8. :)



Thanks for your reply, @xpclient.



Still it would be great if clicking on 'All Programs' would expand to the entire start menu area instead of cascading, optionally, like this, all handy in one pane and witb lots of space, very elegant:

Posted Image

Cascades are great, but adding variety is always a big plus.

As for why not choosing other projects like Start8, I very much like the speed and the stability of classic shell, it's really handy. I'm using it in 8 with a hotkey to invoke and without a start button at all. If I end its process in device manager, it doesn't stop working unlike others' menus that fail. Classic Shell pops-up instantly and even offers me sounds, as well as tons of customizations - unlike other start projects. Good, fast and customizable search, bugs free, so why should I switch to Start8?

Oh, and not the least, classic shell is free. :)

#39
DosProbie

DosProbie

    Senior Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 674 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Been using Ex7forW8 and works great, only thing is where is the Jump List? Post if you know..
thanks, DosProbie

#40
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,672 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Been using Ex7forW8 and works great, only thing is where is the Jump List? Post if you know..
thanks, DosProbie


Tihiy has abandoned Ex7forW8 tool, so I doubt it will ever be fixed.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3.x | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#41
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,915 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Tihiy has abandoned Ex7forW8 tool, so I doubt it will ever be fixed.

I never said that. If he reports bug, he does it in Ex7forW8 thread. I see just empty menu; that's okay.

#42
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,672 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator


Tihiy has abandoned Ex7forW8 tool, so I doubt it will ever be fixed.

I never said that. If he reports bug, he does it in Ex7forW8 thread. I see just empty menu; that's okay.


Ok this is good news for those users then. For the record, here is the thread in question:
http://www.msfn.org/...-for-windows-8/
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3.x | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#43
CharlotteTheHarlot

CharlotteTheHarlot

    MSFN Master

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,054 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Here is another that I didn't see mentioned yet. NeoWin reports on another entry in the replacement Start Menu sweepstakes ...

Pokki Menu by SweetLabs.

Posted Image
( original )



EDIT: updated image URL, and again

Edited by CharlotteTheHarlot, 06 May 2013 - 06:14 PM.

... Let him who hath understanding reckon the Number Of The Beast ...


#44
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,006 posts
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Here is another that I didn't see mentioned yet. NeoWin reports on another entry in the replacement Start Menu sweepstakes ...

Pokki Menu by SweetLabs.

Thanks, Charlotte. I'll add it to the list.

BTW, check out the video at the bottom of the page, where Chris Pirillo introduces Windows 8 to a number of people, some of them obviously tech-savvy. ;)

--JorgeA

Edited by JorgeA, 18 October 2012 - 08:25 AM.


#45
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,006 posts
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag



Wentutu Start Menu has a serious bug with 'All Programs' list if your Windows 8 root drive is other than C. My Windows 7 is on drive C, my Windows 8 is on drive D; I've installed Wentutu on Win8 and it shows me 'All Programs' from my Windows 7.

Thanks for the bug report! Did you notify the author? Maybe he will fix it.

Has anybody else experienced this issue?

--JorgeA



I did, I reported the bug and suggested a few options, but the author wouldn't reply.

If your Windows 8 is on drive other than C, you'll see what I mean, Wentutu can't see other drives.


Huh, thanks for letting us know. I'll keep the listing but add a note to this effect.

Please do post the news if you ever hear back from the author, or if the problem gets fixed.

--JorgeA

Edited by JorgeA, 18 October 2012 - 08:41 AM.


#46
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,006 posts
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag
That's weird -- my inbox has a message from MSFN saying that "franisblum6" had replied to this thread, but when I came here there was nothing from that person.

Spam deleted by a mod?

#47
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,918 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

looks like this was a Spammer.
Posted Image

#48
UltimateSilence

UltimateSilence

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 169 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Here is a new tool:

IObit StartMenu 8
http://www.iobit.com...tstartmenu8.php

Posted Image


Wow, even IObit made a Start Menu program? :blink:

Classic Shell's All Programs menu does not open in-place/inline like the 7 Start Menu, which is what Andre doesn't like, because it covers more of the screen. But we consider that an advantage, honest :) so it will never change.


Nothing wrong with having the option. That way every user gets what they want.. :w00t:

yZo4FWG.png
Keep Windows XP alive!

Please do not misconstrue Windows 7 license sales as actual sales of the operating system. PCs are bundled with Windows 7, and count towards the sales figures.
Running Windows Vista on HP Pavilion Slimline.


#49
cozinbob2

cozinbob2

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
The reason I signed up here was about this thread, and today I bought Win-8 Pro. I wouldn't have made that buy if it wasn't for the good chance of applying the start menu to Win-8. I haven't installed it as of this post however.

#50
Servelius

Servelius

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 102 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Here is a new tool:

IObit StartMenu 8
http://www.iobit.com...tstartmenu8.php

Posted Image


Wow, even IObit made a Start Menu program? :blink:

Classic Shell's All Programs menu does not open in-place/inline like the 7 Start Menu, which is what Andre doesn't like, because it covers more of the screen. But we consider that an advantage, honest :) so it will never change.


Nothing wrong with having the option. That way every user gets what they want.. :w00t:


'Send Feedback' and the sky crawling tallness of this menu are amazing. Has anyonne tried beta 2, any improvements?

www.iobit.com/iobitstartmenu8.php




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Baidu (1)


How to remove advertisement from MSFN