Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Microsoft Security Essentials

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1
GideonK

GideonK

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
  • Joined 27-September 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I have slipstreamed using nLite everything I intended to with one exception: Microsoft Security Essentials (MSE). I've added SP3, High priority fixes, IE8, Malicious tool, WMP11 but integrating MSE eludes me. Using an Add-on maker I've created a cab file and inserted it into the setup disk using nLite.
After the installation process completes and Windows XP is rebooting a message pops up as follows: "Windows did not pass genuine validation security essentials will become disabled".

When installing MSE the traditional way through Microsoft Update website, MSE installs without any problem and no validity issues.

I searched high and low but found no solution. Any ideas?? I would like to continue to use nLite, If nothing works out I'll just resign myself to install it wihout slipstreaming. Thanks, Gideon.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You need to activate your Windows XP during the silent installation to install fine MSE!
MSE checks if your Windows copy is genuine !

Edited by myselfidem, 04 October 2012 - 11:58 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#3
GideonK

GideonK

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
  • Joined 27-September 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for the quick reply, myselfidem. Now how do I go about doing that? Your suggestion makes sense except that I don't know how to activate during silent installation.
Can you take me through the steps? Thanks, G.

#4
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You can find help here about save activated files:
http://www.msfn.org/...vation-utility/
For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#5
GideonK

GideonK

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
  • Joined 27-September 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks again myselfidem. I'll take a shot at that site and post my experience. Regards, Gideon.

#6
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,876 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
\mseinstall.exe /s /runwgacheck /o

#7
GideonK

GideonK

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
  • Joined 27-September 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Went to http://www.msfn.org/...vation-utility/, tried using OEMScan and I can't grasp anything there, so it's not a solution for me.

Kelsenellenelvian, thanks for your help. I did use these 3 switches and it works OK from the command line but not when I create a cab file with those switches. I still get that error message after a reboot.

See attachment of the values I'm using to create the Addon.

Attached Files



#8
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You can find help about Add-On Maker for nLite:
http://www.msfn.org/...pdate-06172006/

Video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mmQymk55ceA

Edited by myselfidem, 05 October 2012 - 02:17 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#9
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Went to http://www.msfn.org/...vation-utility/, tried using OEMScan and I can't grasp anything there, so it's not a solution for me.

Use this method instead...Works fine for me:

http://www.msfn.org/...g-installation/

*Edit: I created an mseinstall.exe cab file without trouble!

Edited by myselfidem, 05 October 2012 - 04:57 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#10
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,876 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I know what the issue is.

When MSE first came out it was figured out that it doesn't properly register when installed at t-13.

You have to install it at runonce or later.

#11
GideonK

GideonK

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
  • Joined 27-September 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Solved!. You are right Kelsenellenelvian, RunOnce is the way to go, Not creating a cab file. Here is what I did:

1. Create a cmd file and call it whatever you want, such as MSE.cmd. If you use Notepad than change the Save as Type value from 'txt' to 'all files' .
edit the MSE.cmd file to put the following 2 lines in that file:
start /wait %Source%$OEM$\mseinstall.exe /s /runwgacheck /o
start /wait %Source%$OEM$\mpam-fe.exe /s

2. Download the following 2 files from Microsoft: mseinstall.exe and mpam-fe.exe
http://www.microsoft...ls.aspx?id=5201
http://go.microsoft....k/?LinkID=87342

3. Put the MSE.cmd file at root of the Windows XP folder.
put the mseinstall.exe and mpam-fe.exe files in the $OEM$ folder which is located in the root of the Windows XP folder

4.When you execute nLite, at the RunOnce tab add the following command: cmd /R %source%mse.cmd

5. That's it. It works. btw, the mpam-fe file is the latest MSE update file.

Edited by GideonK, 05 December 2012 - 04:37 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users