Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Start Is Back - 2.1 release


  • Please log in to reply
2073 replies to this topic

#826
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 322 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Automatically check for new versions doesn't seem to be doing anything. With 1.0 installed it's not telling me there's a 1.1.


It's working under v1.1RC. @Tihiy, did the new version check have a bug under v1.0? And thanks for v1.1!

Edited by roirraW "edor" ehT, 19 November 2012 - 06:26 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#827
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Automatically check for new versions doesn't seem to be doing anything. With 1.0 installed it's not telling me there's a 1.1.


It's working under v1.1RC. @Tihiy, did the new version check have a bug under v1.0? And thanks for v1.1!

I only tested released versions since that's what people would have and what sites would archive.

#828
UTC

UTC

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 28-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Automatically check for new versions doesn't seem to be doing anything. With 1.0 installed it's not telling me there's a 1.1.

Looks like Start Menu Properties was renamed to Properties. Just making sure that was wanted behavior.

A manual upgrade worked fine. Uninstall worked fine. Re-install worked fine. Remained activated the entire time.

The new orb looks great!

Winkey is working fine.


I got the new version notification, but have to check properties first..

#829
MrGRiM

MrGRiM

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Joined 17-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

VERSION 1.1
http://www.startisba...m/#download-tab

New over 1.1RC:

- Fix: opening start button context menu did not prevent autohide
- New: option to invoke start screen with Win key
- New translations
Also made sure that setup executable is no longer flagged by some bizzare AVs


Stay tuned, 1.2RC will bring some nice things.


Thanks mate, seen the update available, installed with no problems, looking forward to see whats in store for v1.2 :)

#830
wondim

wondim

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 25-April 09
@Tihiy

I really like your tool! I used Ex7forW8 and that is perfect too! So I want to contribute to make StartisBack even better. As I previously installed Ex7forW8, when installing StartisBack, I reverted back to Win8 explorer.
Below of are list of my suggestion.
1. No start menu shortcuts for StartisBack. I have to go to C:/Program Files (x86)/StartisBack to open the StartisBack. It is difficult to find the tool for beginners and time taking for advanced users too, till they create short cuts.
2. In StatisBack configuration, under Start Menu  Power default actions, there is no way of setting Hibernate as default. Hibernate is not at all in the list but it still exists on start menu.
3. Not 64bit application. The 32bit works on 64bit but having a native 64bit edition add value to the tool as some might not like 32bit apps on 64bit machine.
4. The term Modern UI make it feels like the App is Windows 8 UI fan. It makes me feel like Windows 8 UI is modern and Windows 7 UI is traditional. Why not just say Windows 8 UI instead. Modern UI is a vague word to understand in as it doesn’t refer to anything.
5. Under Modern UI, “use hotkeys to invoke Start Screen:” it is useful but it doesn’t turn off metro completely! To know if metro exists or not after unchecking that command, I just opened a video with the metro – video app. It opened it without any problems. The metro is still there! So would you add another command to completely kill this tablet metro? To avoid not implemented error messages when using metro apps from desktop, it is better to completely remove them from associated programs list, if possible. Say when I click on open with on a video file, I shouldn’t see video metro app. Thus the “not implemented “error will go away!

#831
Radeon12345

Radeon12345
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 16-May 05
Start menu works great, the only feature I would like to see is when right clicking on the Win 8 start menu brings up these admin tools. Is it possible to re-enable this feature.

Posted Image

Attached Files



#832
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,102 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

VERSION 1.1
http://www.startisba...m/#download-tab

New over 1.1RC:

- Fix: opening start button context menu did not prevent autohide
- New: option to invoke start screen with Win key
- New translations
Also made sure that setup executable is no longer flagged by some bizzare AVs


Stay tuned, 1.2RC will bring some nice things.


awesome. I'll test it :)


Start menu works great, the only feature I would like to see is when right clicking on the Win 8 start menu brings up these admin tools. Is it possible to re-enable this feature.

Posted Image


press WIN+X key combination
Posted Image

#833
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,933 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Automatically check for new versions doesn't seem to be doing anything

It checks only once per day and only in configuration tool.

#834
hairsky

hairsky

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 05-July 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

VERSION 1.1
http://www.startisba...m/#download-tab

New over 1.1RC:

- Fix: opening start button context menu did not prevent autohide
- New: option to invoke start screen with Win key
- New translations
Also made sure that setup executable is no longer flagged by some bizzare AVs


Stay tuned, 1.2RC will bring some nice things.



Thanks, :blushing:

#835
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 322 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

1. No start menu shortcuts for StartisBack. I have to go to C:/Program Files (x86)/StartisBack to open the StartisBack. It is difficult to find the tool for beginners and time taking for advanced users too, till they create short cuts.


I know you directly addressed Tihiy, but I'm going to respond anyway. :) Hope you don't mind.

What shortcut is necessary for StartIsBack? Once installed it runs automatically. Configuring StartIsBack is just like configuring the Windows 7 Start Menu, right click either on the Orb or the Start Menu itself and choose Properties.

2. In StatisBack configuration, under Start Menu  Power default actions, there is no way of setting Hibernate as default. Hibernate is not at all in the list but it still exists on start menu.


Seconded. I use Hibernate often and although at this current moment I prefer the power default be Lock, if I ever change that again it would probably be to Hibernate.

3. Not 64bit application. The 32bit works on 64bit but having a native 64bit edition add value to the tool as some might not like 32bit apps on 64bit machine.


The configuration program might not be 64-bit but StartIsBack itself has both 32 and 64-bit DLLs for the appropriate system. It is the DLLs which actually make StartIsBack work. Personally, I don't think there's reason enough to make a 64-bit version of the configuration program. It's a tiny program and certainly doesn't make use of more than 4GB of RAM. Unless someone can think of reasons which are more than aesthetic...?

4. The term Modern UI make it feels like the App is Windows 8 UI fan. It makes me feel like Windows 8 UI is modern and Windows 7 UI is traditional. Why not just say Windows 8 UI instead. Modern UI is a vague word to understand in as it doesn’t refer to anything.


Although it's confusing, Microsoft is who calls it "Modern UI" (previously known as Metro). It's already confusing enough without adding any more aliases for what it's called. :D

Under Modern UI, “use hotkeys to invoke Start Screen:” it is useful but it doesn’t turn off metro completely! To know if metro exists or not after unchecking that command, I just opened a video with the metro – video app. It opened it without any problems. The metro is still there! So would you add another command to completely kill this tablet metro? To avoid not implemented error messages when using metro apps from desktop, it is better to completely remove them from associated programs list, if possible. Say when I click on open with on a video file, I shouldn’t see video metro app. Thus the “not implemented “error will go away!


Tihiy (and anyone else) who kills Metro completely will then experience problems with some portions of the Desktop UI, which use parts of Metro to display, for instance, Wireless Networks, new drive detected interface (AutoRun) and other elements. This was one of the problems Tihiy fixed to the best of his ability in Ex7ForW8. SiB couldn't remain as elegant and direct as it is right now if Metro would actually be disabled. He'd then have to re-implement the "toast notifcations" just as he did in Ex7ForW8.

If he chooses to implement that possibility at some point or even soon, that's his choice and as long as the user can decide whether or not to turn Metro completely off or not, I don't think anyone would have any serious problem with it, but I doubt if that's a high priority on his to-do list.

Edited by roirraW "edor" ehT, 20 November 2012 - 06:55 AM.


#836
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,933 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

^^ that's what I would say. Thanks!

#837
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 322 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

^^ that's what I would say. Thanks!


LOL! You're welcome. Me having the most wonderful girlfriend (and future wife - the same woman :) ) in the world, she and I have learned to read minds easily!

#838
ender`

ender`

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 98 posts
  • Joined 15-February 06

Although it's confusing, Microsoft is who calls it "Modern UI" (previously known as Metro). It's already confusing enough without adding any more aliases for what it's called. :D

Does it? I thought they changed that to Windows 8 UI or something like that :)

#839
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,933 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Interesting thing to note, Start8 steals features from StartIsBack:

When disable all hot corners is disabled you can now select icons etc on the top 4 pixels
New UI option to hide Windows 8 Modern UI applications from the Windows 7 start menu
New UI option to use ctrl + winkey as an alternative for right winkey
New UI option to use shift + winkey as an alternative for right winkey
One undocumented thing is a middle button click on the start button should open the Win8 menu



#840
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 322 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Although it's confusing, Microsoft is who calls it "Modern UI" (previously known as Metro). It's already confusing enough without adding any more aliases for what it's called. :D

Does it? I thought they changed that to Windows 8 UI or something like that :)


Reference WIKI:

In August of 2012, rumors began circulating that one of Microsoft's retail partners, German company Metro AG, had threatened legal action against the software giant for infringing on the "Metro" trademark. A memo was sent out to developers and Microsoft employees to stop using the term "Metro" until a replacement term is established or the legal case is settled.[21] Microsoft is temporarily referring to the design language as Modern UI.[22] On August 9, 2012, it emerged that Microsoft was planning to use the term "Windows 8" to replace Metro in consumer marketing materials. The "Modern UI" term appears to be intended for developers who plan to build software based on Redmond's new design principles.[23]

Currently, the term "Microsoft design language" is used on MSDN documentation when referring to the design language (since September 2012). [24][25][26][27] Furthermore, in Microsoft's Build 2012 developer conference, the company also uses the "Microsoft design language" name. [28][29]


21. ^ http://www.bbc.com/n...nology-19108952
22. ^ Bradley, Tony (4 August 2012). "Windows 8 'Metro' Is Dead, But UI Still Needs a Name". PCWorld. Retrieved 10 August 2012.
23. ^ Microsoft officlally renaming Metro UI to Modern UI. The Register, August 1, 2012. Retrieved on August 11, 2012.
24. ^ "Make great Windows Store apps". MSDN. Retrieved 2012-09-17.
25. ^ "Design case study: iPad to Windows Store app". MSDN. Retrieved 2012-11-01.
26. ^ "Guidelines for typography". MSDN. Retrieved 2012-11-01.
27. ^ "Roadmap for Windows Store apps using DirectX and C++". MSDN. Retrieved 2012-11-01.
28. ^ "The Microsoft design language". Channel 9 (Microsoft). Retrieved 2012-11-01.
29. ^ Mary Jo Foley. "Microsoft Design Language: The newest official way to refer to 'Metro'". Retrieved 2012-11-01.


"Was planning" being the operative phrase. :) Call to Microsoft - please stop renaming it, or finally find and stick with one name soon!!! How do I stop this craaaazy thiiiiing!? ;)

#841
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 322 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Interesting thing to note, Start8 steals features from StartIsBack:

When disable all hot corners is disabled you can now select icons etc on the top 4 pixels
New UI option to hide Windows 8 Modern UI applications from the Windows 7 start menu
New UI option to use ctrl + winkey as an alternative for right winkey
New UI option to use shift + winkey as an alternative for right winkey
One undocumented thing is a middle button click on the start button should open the Win8 menu


Do you think you have a legal case against them? It is exactly the same changes you made.

#842
wondim

wondim

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 25-April 09

I know you directly addressed Tihiy, but I'm going to respond anyway. :) Hope you don't mind.

What shortcut is necessary for StartIsBack? Once installed it runs automatically. Configuring StartIsBack is just like configuring the Windows 7 Start Menu, right click either on the Orb or the Start Menu itself and choose Properties.


Thank you for the answer! I didn't know where to access StartisBack. That is why I went to C drive. If there is no information where SiB can be accessed, it would be nice if an information is given at first installation.

The configuration program might not be 64-bit but StartIsBack itself has both 32 and 64-bit DLLs for the appropriate system. It is the DLLs which actually make StartIsBack work. Personally, I don't think there's reason enough to make a 64-bit version of the configuration program. It's a tiny program and certainly doesn't make use of more than 4GB of RAM. Unless someone can think of reasons which are more than aesthetic...?


Agreed!


Although it's confusing, Microsoft is who calls it "Modern UI" (previously known as Metro). It's already confusing enough without adding any more aliases for what it's called. :D

Microsoft is really confused in almost everything these days. :no:

Tihiy (and anyone else) who kills Metro completely will then experience problems with some portions of the Desktop UI, which use parts of Metro to display, for instance, Wireless Networks, new drive detected interface (AutoRun) and other elements. This was one of the problems Tihiy fixed to the best of his ability in Ex7ForW8. SiB couldn't remain as elegant and direct as it is right now if Metro would actually be disabled. He'd then have to re-implement the "toast notifcations" just as he did in Ex7ForW8.
If he chooses to implement that possibility at some point or even soon, that's his choice and as long as the user can decide whether or not to turn Metro completely off or not, I don't think anyone would have any serious problem with it, but I doubt if that's a high priority on his to-do list.

I haven't seen any issue with Ex7forW8 by disabling Metro UI. Actually I got peace. :thumbup So it would be nice to give that option for the users really. It would be nice to give advice on what will happen, like kind of warning with a message of things that could happen.

Edited by wondim, 20 November 2012 - 07:37 AM.


#843
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 322 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Thank you for the answer! I didn't know where to access StartisBack. That is why I went to C drive. If there is no information where SiB can be accessed, it would be nice if an information is given at first installation.


I can understand that. If the configuration program only configured the Start Menu itself, like the original Start Menu Properties, then I wouldn't bother. Some people never know that you can configure/do other things with right-clicks. Quite often when I instruct someone I'm helping to right-click on something, they look at me like I'm crazy - they didn't know the right mouse button actually serves a purpose.

I haven't seen any issue with Ex7forW8 by disabling Metro UI. Actually I got peace. :thumbup So it would be nice to give that option for the users really. It would be nice to give advice on what will happen, like kind of warning with a message of things that could happen.


When he first started developing Ex7ForW8, it became readily apparent that certain things were missing (wireless networks, other similar looking such notifications). He carefully added back in just those items that he had to so people wouldn't be missing things - which Metro previously handled. It was well done, which is why you don't have any issue, but is a little less elegant than this "keep it simple" solution. It won't surprise me if he considers doing this sometime in the future, but I wouldn't hold your breath - it might be a while.

At least for now you can disable all hot corners and never have to see it if that's what you choose.

#844
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,933 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Thank you for the answer! I didn't know where to access StartisBack. That is why I went to C drive. If there is no information where SiB can be accessed, it would be nice if an information is given at first installation.

It *IS* given at first installation and as well in FAQ. I may add a control panel item or start menu shortcut as well, but i hope it's not necessary.

Do you think you have a legal case against them?

I don't think so, unfortunately. :no:

#845
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 322 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Do you think you have a legal case against them?

I don't think so, unfortunately. :no:


Grumble. :)

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery

but I think I like

Imitation May Be A Sincere Form Of Flattery, But It’s A Loser’s Strategy

in this case.

It's Microsoft's (and Apple's) method: if you can't do it yourself better, copy your competition.

Edited by roirraW "edor" ehT, 20 November 2012 - 07:59 AM.


#846
itoy

itoy

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
  • Joined 16-October 12
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Thank you for the answer! I didn't know where to access StartisBack. That is why I went to C drive. If there is no information where SiB can be accessed, it would be nice if an information is given at first installation.

It *IS* given at first installation and as well in FAQ. I may add a control panel item or start menu shortcut as well, but i hope it's not necessary.


Not necessary at all

Edited by itoy, 20 November 2012 - 08:11 AM.


#847
ender`

ender`

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 98 posts
  • Joined 15-February 06
I wonder why didn't they simply rename it to WinRT UI.

Oh, and I edited my Start button images a bit:
Posted Image Posted Image

Edited by ender`, 20 November 2012 - 08:16 AM.


#848
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Automatically check for new versions doesn't seem to be doing anything

It checks only once per day and only in configuration tool.

Oh ok, it only checks once per day. I must have never hit that point???? Is it hardcoded? When does it check?

Edited by ISOHaven, 20 November 2012 - 09:23 AM.


#849
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,933 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Oh ok, it only checks once per day. I must have never hit that point???? Is it hardcoded? When does it check?

Only when you run configurator. I may introduce checking in explorer as well, but i don't like obtrusive notifications (nobody does). Do you have an idea how to notify about new version if configurator is not running?

#850
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Oh ok, it only checks once per day. I must have never hit that point???? Is it hardcoded? When does it check?

Only when you run configurator. I may introduce checking in explorer as well, but i don't like obtrusive notifications (nobody does). Do you have an idea how to notify about new version if configurator is not running?

You mean it runs right away when you run the configurator but only once a day? In that case, something is broken. I got back into work this morning and as you can see from the screenshot....I'm not seeing where it's telling me there's a new version....


Posted Image

Am I missing something?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users