Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Start Is Back - 2.1 release


  • Please log in to reply
2073 replies to this topic

#901
MrGRiM

MrGRiM

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 335 posts
  • Joined 17-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator


Do you get that when running setup? Try right clicking the setup and running as administrator.

Better use adequate browser.

I didn't make that clear, but skinning engine is not the almighty solution. It serves only one purpose - provide rectangular skin for StartIsBack. It may have limitations and not intended to skin everything. I may create sth like UxStyle ofc, but that's not what i want.


I think it's great that it only changes the start menu, in fact I have had requests in the past just have a start menu added to another theme, this way makes that even easier, I would like to try a nice full glass start menu though so if we can get that other property included it would be great.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#902
mosaji

mosaji
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 23-November 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

1) Please Add Windows 8 Logo for Start Button
Posted Image

2) Change Shutdown to last Power Button
Posted Image

3) Enable Win+X Menu; Right Click in Left Corner!
A: Right Click in Start Button; show (Properties and Open File Explorer)
B: Right Click in Left Corner Start Button; show Win+X Menu


windows 8 logo should be the default logo, imho

#903
KtR1sk

KtR1sk
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 23-November 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
please for
3) Enable Win+X Menu; Right Click in Left Corner!
the "Stardock Start8" have this function!

#904
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 458 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

VERSION 1.2 RC1
http://www.startisba...ack_setupRC.exe

Pretty boring version, nothing changed... except one thing
* StartIsBack now supports skins! It is able to load skins for start menu from msstyles directly, without any patches or tools needed!

That's great, but would it not be better to load start menu skin from a windows 7 msstyles file?
I mean there are very few msstyles for win 8 and who knows if the authors even add a start menu to them.

Edited by JFX, 23 November 2012 - 04:26 AM.


#905
choliscott

choliscott
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 27-October 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I had a couple of shortcuts that was on the desktop, tied to a different install of Windows before upgrading to 8 (never got around reinstalling those programs). Also I have my personal folders on the "D" drive (main is SSD). I deleted the bad shortcuts from the desktop


Hello, for some reason ever since I have installed StartIsBack, I am getting semi constant hard lockups (where I have to reboot the computer to bring it back up). It didn't freeze before installing it. Any suggestions on what to try?

Search desktop for broken / network shortcuts. If you find any, tell me.



#906
MrGRiM

MrGRiM

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 335 posts
  • Joined 17-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator


VERSION 1.2 RC1
http://www.startisba...ack_setupRC.exe

Pretty boring version, nothing changed... except one thing
* StartIsBack now supports skins! It is able to load skins for start menu from msstyles directly, without any patches or tools needed!

That's great, but would it not be better to load start menu skin from a windows 7 msstyles file?
I mean there are very few msstyles for win 8 and who knows if the authors even add a start menu to them.

I think the main reason for doing it this way was to have a start menu that matched the look of Windows 8 that needs no extra patches or tools and was very easy for users to apply, it is not so much about creating new themes, just an easy way to have a new matching start menu, plus everything but the start menu has been stripped out of the msstyles so it is very lite and causes no performance degradation.

#907
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,931 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I had a couple of shortcuts that was on the desktop, tied to a different install of Windows before upgrading to 8 (never got around reinstalling those programs). Also I have my personal folders on the "D" drive (main is SSD). I deleted the bad shortcuts from the desktop

That's good. Tell me that it solves your problem. Although, this shouldn't ever cause hard lockups. Do you use NVIDIA beta drivers?

#908
Aizen

Aizen

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 15-November 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@Tihi: I've tryed to buy SiB throught the blackfriday promotion but I got an error from paypal saiyng that I cannot make this transaction... what's the problem? :/

edit: nvm, just done!

Edited by Aizen, 23 November 2012 - 07:19 AM.


#909
xpclient

xpclient

    XP was my idea. 3rd party apps make NT6 my idea.

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • Joined 30-July 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
One improvement that I noticed Start8 has done is for each category of search result (Programs, Control Panel), it shows 5 results which is more useful as sometimes the result you want may not be in the top 3 (Windows 7 Menu and thus SIB only show 3 results). Of course, because Start8 is a fully independent program, it is free to make such changes. Can SIB add this or it's not possible? :)

Another thing: In Start8, you can type for example: C:\Windows\system32\*.exe and it lists all the EXEs in system32! :o

Edited by xpclient, 23 November 2012 - 11:25 AM.

Impossible to run NT6 without third party fixes.


#910
w64bit

w64bit
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 23-November 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@ Tihiy

Is it possible to add the option to collapse the right side of start menu?
In order to be easier to show/collapse the right side, you can also add a narrow vertical button on the start menu right side edge.
Thank you

#911
Rojac

Rojac

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 04-November 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

To Tihiy:

With right-click on start I can start explorer but since I´m using xplorer2 (from zabcat) I will be happy if there is a way to change it.


Did not get any answer...
So I have to specify my question. Is there a way to change the link on explorer to point at xplorer2.exe ?

Edited by Rojac, 23 November 2012 - 12:44 PM.


#912
MrGRiM

MrGRiM

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 335 posts
  • Joined 17-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

One improvement that I noticed Start8 has done is for each category of search result (Programs, Control Panel), it shows 5 results which is more useful as sometimes the result you want may not be in the top 3 (Windows 7 Menu and thus SIB only show 3 results). Of course, because Start8 is a fully independent program, it is free to make such changes. Can SIB add this or it's not possible? :)

Another thing: In Start8, you can type for example: C:\Windows\system32\*.exe and it lists all the EXEs in system32! :o

This is not a copy of Start8 if you prefer Start8 then use that, this is meant to bring back the start menu that was taken away, hence the name, he has already added so many extra features and done an awesome job to do what he has done so far, he is just one person, Stardock would have had a whole dev team working on theirs and it's still buggy as hell.

@ Tihiy

Is it possible to add the option to collapse the right side of start menu?
In order to be easier to show/collapse the right side, you can also add a narrow vertical button on the start menu right side edge.
Thank you

This would not be possible, he can not change the way the start menu is drawn in that way, he bound by what is in the msstyles so if you can do it on Windows 7 then he can do it on SIB but there are limits to what can be done.


To Tihiy:

With right-click on start I can start explorer but since I´m using xplorer2 (from zabcat) I will be happy if there is a way to change it.


Did not get any answer...
So I have to specify my question. Is there a way to change the link on explorer to point at xplorer2.exe ?

Is this really a necessary feature, you are in a minority of users who may use this program, I have never even heard of it till now, would it not be just as easy to just pin it to the taskbar?

#913
Rojac

Rojac

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 04-November 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


One improvement that I noticed Start8 has done is for each category of search result (Programs, Control Panel), it shows 5 results which is more useful as sometimes the result you want may not be in the top 3 (Windows 7 Menu and thus SIB only show 3 results). Of course, because Start8 is a fully independent program, it is free to make such changes. Can SIB add this or it's not possible? :)

Another thing: In Start8, you can type for example: C:\Windows\system32\*.exe and it lists all the EXEs in system32! :o

This is not a copy of Start8 if you prefer Start8 then use that, this is meant to bring back the start menu that was taken away, hence the name, he has already added so many extra features and done an awesome job to do what he has done so far, he is just one person, Stardock would have had a whole dev team working on theirs and it's still buggy as hell.

@ Tihiy

Is it possible to add the option to collapse the right side of start menu?
In order to be easier to show/collapse the right side, you can also add a narrow vertical button on the start menu right side edge.
Thank you

This would not be possible, he can not change the way the start menu is drawn in that way, he bound by what is in the msstyles so if you can do it on Windows 7 then he can do it on SIB but there are limits to what can be done.


To Tihiy:

With right-click on start I can start explorer but since I´m using xplorer2 (from zabcat) I will be happy if there is a way to change it.


Did not get any answer...
So I have to specify my question. Is there a way to change the link on explorer to point at xplorer2.exe ?

Is this really a necessary feature, you are in a minority of users who may use this program, I have never even heard of it till now, would it not be just as easy to just pin it to the taskbar?


Yes it´s possible to do, but still is right click a fast and good way to start xplorer2
Why I use it? It´s simply so that xplorer2 has all that the normal explorer should have, so why not use it? It have least 10 times better features then regular explorer,
and opportunities to Customised most of what you want....

#914
MrGRiM

MrGRiM

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 335 posts
  • Joined 17-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Yes it´s possible to do, but still is right click a fast and good way to start xplorer2
Why I use it? It´s simply so that xplorer2 has all that the normal explorer should have, so why not use it? It have least 10 times better features then regular explorer,
and opportunities to Customised most of what you want....


I never asked why you use it,all I am saying is to add a feature that possibly only one person would use would be a waste of time, especially when you only have to pin it to the taskbar next to the start button and use a left click instead of a right, I also think that asking $30 for xplorer2 is a bit much for most people to consider it, that is more then what most are paying to upgrade to Windows 8.

#915
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,037 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

VERSION 1.2 RC1
http://www.startisba...ack_setupRC.exe

* StartIsBack now supports skins! It is able to load skins for start menu from msstyles directly, without any patches or tools needed!

Posted Image


wow :) It works fine :)
Posted Image

#916
Rojac

Rojac

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 04-November 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Yes it´s possible to do, but still is right click a fast and good way to start xplorer2
Why I use it? It´s simply so that xplorer2 has all that the normal explorer should have, so why not use it? It have least 10 times better features then regular explorer,
and opportunities to Customised most of what you want....


I never asked why you use it,all I am saying is to add a feature that possibly only one person would use would be a waste of time, especially when you only have to pin it to the taskbar next to the start button and use a left click instead of a right, I also think that asking $30 for xplorer2 is a bit much for most people to consider it, that is more then what most are paying to upgrade to Windows 8.

A. is´t possible to pin so I can have it in bottom of taskbar? Then it´s no idea to have it on right-click. You have a point to that.

Edited by Rojac, 23 November 2012 - 01:55 PM.


#917
Aaaaa

Aaaaa

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 31 posts
  • Joined 02-November 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I tried loading a custom msstyles from W7. It makes it look like the stock Windows 7 start menu, instead of the custom one.
Am I missing something?

#918
superjose

superjose

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 25-July 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

1) Please Add Windows 8 Logo for Start Button
Posted Image

2) Change Shutdown to last Power Button
Posted Image

3) Enable Win+X Menu; Right Click in Left Corner!
A: Right Click in Start Button; show (Properties and Open File Explorer)
B: Right Click in Left Corner Start Button; show Win+X Menu

Taking this picture as basis....
I think that the Hibernate function is missing from that drop down menu. Not that I'm using it as the default, but just saying....

BTW, AMAZING WORK! I like it more than Explorer7 for Win8, because I can use the music app :P

Edited by superjose, 23 November 2012 - 02:00 PM.


#919
Baxxxter

Baxxxter
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 30-October 04

1) Please Add Windows 8 Logo for Start Button

2) Change Shutdown to last Power Button

3) Enable Win+X Menu; Right Click in Left Corner!

A: Right Click in Start Button; show (Properties and Open File Explorer)
B: Right Click in Left Corner Start Button; show Win+X Menu


Mate, you are a maggot!

You come here asking for app enhancements, then go running to crack sites asking for this app to be cracked.

You are pure scum... three bucks for 2 pro unlimited PC licenses - and you are asking for a crack... scumbag.

Posted Image

#920
caleula

caleula
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 04-November 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Getting this error, but only on one computer. Both have User Profiles on drive D.

Do you get that when running setup? Try right clicking the setup and running as administrator.


Whether run, download and user or administrator.

Windows 8 treats StartIsBack as "beware" type software and have to hit "Run anyway".

Always falls over at error message as uploaded.

Using my Start8 licence until I can get StartIsBack to work on my second computer :angry:

PS: Why does "Preview" in this forum constantly fall over and lose my edits?

#921
tahayassen

tahayassen
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 23-November 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
For some reason, the recent apps list is not working. It's set to 10 in the settings dialog, but it's totally empty. Other than that, works like a charm.

Edit: Never mind. It's working now.

Edited by tahayassen, 23 November 2012 - 11:42 PM.


#922
Starto

Starto

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 23-November 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I think that the Hibernate function is missing from that drop down menu.

One needs to enable the 'Hibernate' function in Window 8/7 before it can be reflected in a StartIsBack. 8)

Posted Image

#923
UTC

UTC

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 28-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


I think that the Hibernate function is missing from that drop down menu.

One needs to enable the 'Hibernate' function in Window 8/7 before it can be reflected in a StartIsBack. 8)

Posted Image

yes, i have hibernate..

#924
choliscott

choliscott
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 27-October 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
It locked up again. I had a shortcut to metro apps on my desktop, which I removed. Below is a reference to the shortcut. I had created it as I couldn't remember at the time, what the key combination was to bring up the Metro menu. Also I do have a GE Force GTX 460 SE2, which is using Windows drivers. I am downloading the current ones from Nvidia now (not the beta ones)

1. Right-click (or touch and hold) on the desktop, select New, and choose Shortcut.
2. Copy and paste the following into the location field: %windir%\explorer.exe shell:::{4234d49b-0245-4df3-b780-3893943456e1}
3 Select Next.
4. Type in a name, like “All Apps”, and select Finish.



I had a couple of shortcuts that was on the desktop, tied to a different install of Windows before upgrading to 8 (never got around reinstalling those programs). Also I have my personal folders on the "D" drive (main is SSD). I deleted the bad shortcuts from the desktop

That's good. Tell me that it solves your problem. Although, this shouldn't ever cause hard lockups. Do you use NVIDIA beta drivers?



#925
Stephen88

Stephen88
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 10-November 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Hi Tihiy is possible add left (start screen) and right (win+x) click in left down side on the next 1.2?

If you want both now, create dword value 1 named 'EnableStartEdge' in HKCU\SOFTWARE\StartIsBack.

ok I'll try and report feedback




4 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Google (2)


How to remove advertisement from MSFN