Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Start Is Back - 2.1 release


  • Please log in to reply
2076 replies to this topic

#76
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Here's another point of view. For home, I wouldn't really care which direction it went. Paid or ads (preferred paid). But for business...ads are a no go. I cannot implement anything ad driven.

On a side note, what's worked "well" for many people:

Free - ad driven
Paid - ad removal

Simple as that. But all in all, ads are a PITA for developers. I tried that direction once and quickly stopped.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#77
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

BETA ONE "THE ONE"
http://tihiy.net/fil...ack_betaone.zip

* Will expire November 1.
* No longer tied to RTM explorer.exe. Should work with all updates. Works with Release Preview also (but i won't spend my efforts on it).
* Slighly improved cracking protection. Some AV programs may detect heuristic malware.

FIXED:
* Start_AdminToolsTemp issue
* Start button could be closed with Alt-F4 :blushing:

NEW:
* Start Is Apps! Now the separation between desktop and Metro i promised is here (optional). When you enable it:
- Start will be renamed to Apps
- Pin to Start will disappear from shell context menus
- Desktop programs will be hidden from Metro start screen and all apps list
* Start/App screen can show on right winkey (optional)
* Start/App screen hides on Alt-F4
* Start menu is transparent (optional)
* Taskbar is not (optional)

You must uninstall beta 0 and logoff since you can't replace files while StartIsBack is working. Don't worry, installer will come soon!

Edited by Tihiy, 15 October 2012 - 03:08 PM.


#78
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

nice :) I'll try it
Posted Image

#79
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 323 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Wow, most impressive! Uninstalling Zero and installing One now!

#80
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
So far with a new installation of Server 2012 and Win8....no more Reg problems. As soon as I get back from lunch I'll play with your new features.

EDIT:

Everything seems to be running great for me. The new features work. I know some people will like the no transparency. Just FYI, when you turn OFF transparency the user tile border is still transparent. I know how anal some people get about it :lol: But not me, I like the transparency. I think it looks great!

Edited by ISOHaven, 15 October 2012 - 04:01 PM.


#81
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Just a word of caution for Server 2012 folks...most all apps on 2012 are desktop apps so....if you enable "Rename Start Screen...." then you'll wipe out just about everything except Desktop and IE. Which is odd because IE on 2012 is desktop only, no metro.

#82
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 323 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

WHAT TO TEST IN BETA 1:
1. * Start Menu, is it fully functional and works as you expect
2. * Start button, is it fully operational and draws as you expect
3. * Desktop, is it initialized correctly
4. * Start-up programs, are they all loaded in time
5. * Apps (Start screen), is it broken in any way
6. * Multi-monitor woes?
7. * Options for Start screen
8. * Everything else. This program will be targeted to most casual users, so behave like ones

KNOWN ISSUES LIST:
A. * Changing recent program count doesn't effect immediately
B. * "Pin to Start Menu" is not shown in left panel unless you shift+right click
C. * MFU program list is lazely populated
D. * Antiviral program may detect trojans / heuristic malware
* It's a beta quality


1. Yes with exception of known issue C.
2. Yes
3. Yes
4. Yes, they all are.
5. None broken as far as I've tested so far.
6. No anomalies noticed.
7. Can't test Right-Window key, otherwise works beatifully! The only keyboards I have with a right Windows key are PS/2 (that's NOT Playstation 2 for the young 'uns ;) ) and I don't have working generic PS/2->USB adapters, only the other way around, or ones that only apparently work with the Microsoft branded keyboards they came with, which don't have a right Windows key. I know it's TMI.
8. This program is beautiful!!!

D. Built-in Windows Defender under Windows 8 not detecting this as anything (yet). Give MS time, though. :D That would probably be the most obvious uncasual thing to casual users.

Suggestions:

1. For keyboards without a second (right) Windows key, maybe a configurable shortcut for the Apps screen?

2. One thing that has always irked me about Windows XP+ recently used programs is the most used programs (not counting pinned) are furthest away from the Start Button. Once you have the MFU program list working as normal, it would be cool if you could have an option to reverse the order of the list, too.

Edited by roirraW "edor" ehT, 15 October 2012 - 06:18 PM.


#83
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 323 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Changed answer to #6 above, "No anomalies noticed" instead of "Haven't tested yet."

#84
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Microsoft Forefront isn't detecting anything.

#85
Servelius

Servelius

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Joined 12-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Upgraded to betaone, thanks for those cool improvement in 'advanced' tab. :)


Why does the menu close on its own after you stop mouse for a second, what if you need more time to choose a program? That way it screws up the whole idea of a Start Menu. :(

Other than that it works perfectly well. I don't mind error pop ups on first run of configtool.exe, error "can't obtain data..." show up only once or twice so no biggy.


I'm not having the trouble of the menu closing on it's own. I hovered in one place (over start menu button, over other areas of start menu) for ten seconds without it doing that.

Do you have any third-party mouse driver or mouse-related software?


No, of the drivers I only have catalyst and realtek, that's it. I also made sure to shut down any third-party tools which in my pc is only classic shell and its service and reboot. Same annoyance again and only with startisback for some weird reason:

- the start menu closes on its own after I stop moving mouse for 1 second;
- if I open the start menu and quickly hit and hold 'shift' or 'control', the menu stays open for as long as I need it;
- tried everything that came to my mind as well as advanced and modern UI options in the config menu, and no luck still.

I haven't spotted any bugs except for that awful one. :(

::sad

I must mention my windows is server 2012, but I've seen other folks with startisback on their servers fine. Or could server 2012 be the problem?

#86
jinkazama

jinkazama

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 202 posts
  • Joined 16-November 03
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I've installed Beta0ne, my Windows hangs on desktop screen without icons and start menu.
I'm using italian Windows 8 Pro build 9200.
Before using your software i've installed Classic Shell and Stardock's Start 8

Attached Files


ubrezet.png
userbardriverpackteam3nv0.jpg


#87
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I've installed Beta0ne, my Windows hangs on desktop screen without icons and start menu.

Most likely you haven't installed it right. Anyway uninstall with reg file, Win+R should be working. And i hope you didn't left Start8/Classic Shell installed.

- the start menu closes on its own after I stop moving mouse for 1 second;
- if I open the start menu and quickly hit and hold 'shift' or 'control', the menu stays open for as long as I need it;
- tried everything that came to my mind as well as advanced and modern UI options in the config menu, and no luck still.

Let's take a look
Try downloading DebugView from sysinternals and post debug log (dbgview running when you open start menu and it closes itself) here or PM.
Also try invoking Start menu with Ctrl-Esc.

Edited by Tihiy, 16 October 2012 - 03:22 AM.


#88
paradox929

paradox929
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 27-September 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I know it's a false positive, but this is what Bitdefender comes up with:

Posted Image

Edited by paradox929, 16 October 2012 - 03:28 AM.


#89
itoy

itoy

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
  • Joined 16-October 12
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I've installed Beta0ne, my Windows hangs on desktop screen without icons and start menu.
I'm using italian Windows 8 Pro build 9200.
Before using your software i've installed Classic Shell and Stardock's Start 8


your instll path is wrong

copy the “Startisback” to C:\

#90
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

itoy, can you tell me about Chinese system experience?

#91
maxtorix

maxtorix

    Banned

  • Banned
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 03-February 10
Time-bomb removed,
Windows Activated,
Startmenu is Back installed

Posted Image

this is just great!

#92
nitroshift

nitroshift

    Beware of programmers with screwdrivers!

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,908 posts
  • Joined 29-November 05
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Time-bomb removed,
Windows Activated,
Startmenu is Back installed

this is just great!



THIS IS YOUR LAST AND ONLY WARNING: NO CRACKS / WAREZ TALK HERE!



nitroshift

Please read the rules, folks!


#93
itoy

itoy

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
  • Joined 16-October 12
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

itoy, can you tell me about Chinese system experience?


It seem very good.

I have just registered today,not allow to upload pictures。

Here are some pictures link followed

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#94
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 323 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I must mention my windows is server 2012, but I've seen other folks with startisback on their servers fine. Or could server 2012 be the problem?


I doubt if Server 2012 is the problem, unless it is only in combination with something else.

#95
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I must mention my windows is server 2012, but I've seen other folks with startisback on their servers fine. Or could server 2012 be the problem?


I doubt if Server 2012 is the problem, unless it is only in combination with something else.


Server 2012 runs fine with both his solutions. I've tested new installs, new installs that have been running for a month now and installs that were upgraded from R2 that are a few years old now. No issues.

#96
Servelius

Servelius

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Joined 12-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Okey doke, quite a few posts added, don'know how to post mine, gonna be huge below:

@Тихому,


I've installed Beta0ne, my Windows hangs on desktop screen without icons and start menu.

Most likely you haven't installed it right. Anyway uninstall with reg file, Win+R should be working. And i hope you didn't left Start8/Classic Shell installed.

- the start menu closes on its own after I stop moving mouse for 1 second;
- if I open the start menu and quickly hit and hold 'shift' or 'control', the menu stays open for as long as I need it;
- tried everything that came to my mind as well as advanced and modern UI options in the config menu, and no luck still.

Let's take a look
Try downloading DebugView from sysinternals and post debug log (dbgview running when you open start menu and it closes itself) here or PM.
Also try invoking Start menu with Ctrl-Esc.


Would you please instruct me how do I proceed with Debug View downloaded from sysinternals, I'm getting this:

00000001	0.00000000	[3520] popup = 0000000000000000	
00000002	1.69646263	[3520] popup = 0000000000000000	
00000003	4.73416519	[3520] popup = 0000000000000000	
00000004	8.26265621	[3520] popup = 0000000000000000	
00000005	124.57493591	[3520] popup = 0000000000000000	
00000006	124.57753754	[3520] wrapped resolver	
00000007	129.21714783	[3520] popup = 0000000000000000	
00000008	145.44047546	[3520] popup = 0000000000000000	
00000009	147.79969788	[3520] popup = 0000000000000000	
00000010	150.09727478	[3520] popup = 0000000000000000

And by the way, just to make sure: I installed it by only clicking 'INSTALL_X64', without touching the X86 reg file, right?


@ISOHaven,


I must mention my windows is server 2012, but I've seen other folks with startisback on their servers fine. Or could server 2012 be the problem?


I doubt if Server 2012 is the problem, unless it is only in combination with something else.


Server 2012 runs fine with both his solutions. I've tested new installs, new installs that have been running for a month now and installs that were upgraded from R2 that are a few years old now. No issues.


Ok, I wonder are you in the built-in user account or not? Could this be due to the fact I'm not using the built-in account (which is admin type though)?



@maxtorix,

Posted Image

this is just great!


Wow, it's the nicest 8 I've seen so far? how did you get that awsome blur?!
Thanks.


@itoy,


I've installed Beta0ne, my Windows hangs on desktop screen without icons and start menu.
I'm using italian Windows 8 Pro build 9200.
Before using your software i've installed Classic Shell and Stardock's Start 8


your instll path is wrong

copy the “Startisback” to C:\


I too recommend 'Startisback' on C, mine is on C. However, you can change the path if you edit this line in the reg file @="C:\\StartIsBack\\StartIsBack64.dll". ;) But mind there has to be 2 slashes \\ or it won't work. Just copy as is on C. :)

-------------------------
Thank You for all your replies Folks, much appreciated. :)

#97
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Ok, I wonder are you in the built-in user account or not? Could this be due to the fact I'm not using the built-in account (which is admin type though)?


I was using both the local admin account along with domain accounts.

#98
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 323 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I tried it on a user account (Admin), not the default Admin account, under Server 2012.

#99
msremmert

msremmert
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 16-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I know it's already been mentioned but AVG goes into sulky false-positive mode when I unzip the file. No biggie though, going to give it a bash anyway.

I bumped into this forum while trawling Google, I'm so glad I found it. Knew it was going to be good when my browser landed here. :)
On another note I've tried Classic Shell and the trial of Start8 and this implementation of the old start menu is by far the best I've seen.

#100
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Wow, it's the nicest 8 I've seen so far? how did you get that awsome blur?!
Thanks.


he still uses the RP which supports Aero Glass.
Posted Image




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users