Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Start Is Back - 2.1 release


  • Please log in to reply
2076 replies to this topic

#1001
zefyx

zefyx

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 27-September 08
I've been a user since the first version of Ex7ForW8, which is still far better than alternative solutions, imo. Thank you for making Microsoft's best OS yet, usable and familiar. I only needed one license for the time being, but couldn't be happier to pay for 5. Keep up the marvelous work and active development!


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1002
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Not sure if it has been reported already, but if you stop on an item with a jumplist, wait for it to show, and then move to another item - when jumplist closes, the item beneath the cursor loses focus if it has no jumplist.


Reproduced.

Same here.

#1003
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Not sure if it has been reported already, but if you stop on an item with a jumplist, wait for it to show, and then move to another item - when jumplist closes, the item beneath the cursor loses focus if it has no jumplist.

Same as in Windows 7.

#1004
Keeperos

Keeperos

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 19-July 06


Not sure if it has been reported already, but if you stop on an item with a jumplist, wait for it to show, and then move to another item - when jumplist closes, the item beneath the cursor loses focus if it has no jumplist.

Same as in Windows 7.

Yep, reproduced both with StartIsBack under Windows 8 as well as with Microsoft's original Start Menu under Windows 7.
It's in Microsoft's code, not Tihiy's (well, either that or he intentionally reproduced said behaviour).

Personally I am not bothered by it but I wouldn't mind it being "rectified" either, definitely not a showstopper though or sth that should be given priority over other improvements already planned.

#1005
MrGRiM

MrGRiM

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Joined 17-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Wheel button opens the Start screen for me.

Thanks. I use the wheel-click as double-click (very convenient btw) so that will not work unfortunately. My thought was for a Start Menu item/shortcut for the Start Screen, or the aforementioned Hot-Corner.

You say you use the middle button as double click, why not just turn off double click, I have had it turned off for years, that way you could use the middle click's default (much more convenient)

#1006
higH1

higH1

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 31 posts
  • Joined 19-July 06


Not sure if it has been reported already, but if you stop on an item with a jumplist, wait for it to show, and then move to another item - when jumplist closes, the item beneath the cursor loses focus if it has no jumplist.

Same as in Windows 7.

You probably did not reproduce that behavior intentionally, so I guess it's Microsoft code after all...

#1007
Amigafever

Amigafever

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 03-December 12
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

You say you use the middle button as double click, why not just turn off double click, I have had it turned off for years, that way you could use the middle click's default (much more convenient)

But that's because the middle-click is practically useless to me (it's hardly mandatory in the vast majority of all software, and my guess is that most people do not use it) while the double-click is ubiquitous. So, replacing it with the wheel-click, saves countless clicks and protects healthy hands (and doesn't overwork problematic hands like mine). The wheel-click could be assigned to another, less prominent mouse button, but that won't help people who don't own multiple-button mouses ("mice" sounds wrong :)) .

Edited by Amigafever, 04 December 2012 - 04:11 AM.


#1008
MrGRiM

MrGRiM

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Joined 17-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

You say you use the middle button as double click, why not just turn off double click, I have had it turned off for years, that way you could use the middle click's default (much more convenient)

But that's because the middle-click is practically useless to me (it's hardly mandatory in the vast majority of all software, and my guess is that most people do not use it) while the double-click is ubiquitous. So, replacing it with the wheel-click, saves countless clicks and protects healthy hands (and doesn't overwork problematic hands like mine). The wheel-click could be assigned to another, less prominent mouse button, but that won't help people who don't own multiple-button mouses ("mice" sounds wrong :)) .

Well that was why I suggested turning on single click in folder options and then you will never have to double click anything ever again, I hate double click, it's a waste of time and annoying to me, that's why I have it off.

#1009
ender`

ender`

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 99 posts
  • Joined 15-February 06
I've got double-click mapped to the Forward button (Back button is for switching between programs - click once and it does Alt+Esc, hold down and scroll with wheel and it does Alt+(Shift+)Tab).

#1010
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


You say you use the middle button as double click, why not just turn off double click, I have had it turned off for years, that way you could use the middle click's default (much more convenient)

But that's because the middle-click is practically useless to me (it's hardly mandatory in the vast majority of all software, and my guess is that most people do not use it) while the double-click is ubiquitous. So, replacing it with the wheel-click, saves countless clicks and protects healthy hands (and doesn't overwork problematic hands like mine). The wheel-click could be assigned to another, less prominent mouse button, but that won't help people who don't own multiple-button mouses ("mice" sounds wrong :)) .

Well that was why I suggested turning on single click in folder options and then you will never have to double click anything ever again, I hate double click, it's a waste of time and annoying to me, that's why I have it off.

But then you have to R-Click and select rename (for example) instead of single click then hit F2. I could never get unused to that :lol:

#1011
MrGRiM

MrGRiM

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Joined 17-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator



You say you use the middle button as double click, why not just turn off double click, I have had it turned off for years, that way you could use the middle click's default (much more convenient)

But that's because the middle-click is practically useless to me (it's hardly mandatory in the vast majority of all software, and my guess is that most people do not use it) while the double-click is ubiquitous. So, replacing it with the wheel-click, saves countless clicks and protects healthy hands (and doesn't overwork problematic hands like mine). The wheel-click could be assigned to another, less prominent mouse button, but that won't help people who don't own multiple-button mouses ("mice" sounds wrong :)) .

Well that was why I suggested turning on single click in folder options and then you will never have to double click anything ever again, I hate double click, it's a waste of time and annoying to me, that's why I have it off.

But then you have to R-Click and select rename (for example) instead of single click then hit F2. I could never get unused to that :lol:

Yeah I can see your point but I have never used F2 to rename, always used the right click and selected rename from the context menu lol I guess it's a matter of preference :)

#1012
CharlotteTheHarlot

CharlotteTheHarlot

    MSFN Master

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,054 posts
  • Joined 24-September 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Tiihy, someone taking a shot at Start Is Back here. :whistle:

... Let him who hath understanding reckon the Number Of The Beast ...


#1013
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 323 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Tiihy, someone taking a shot at Start Is Back here. :whistle:


Tobin's statement *might*, technically, be true. Whether MS would consider it worth it to do anything about it, however, who knows. It's his opinion, everyone has their right to have one. At least he didn't express his negative opinion in the SiB thread. :D

#1014
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Tiihy, someone taking a shot at Start Is Back here. :whistle:


Tobin's statement *might*, technically, be true. Whether MS would consider it worth it to do anything about it, however, who knows. It's his opinion, everyone has their right to have one. At least he didn't express his negative opinion in the SiB thread. :D

Exactly! No need to track down all the haters. Haters gonna hate.

#1015
bruce356

bruce356
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 05-April 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I wonder what his personal agenda is regarding Start8 perhaps he has shares? I have tried it I do not think its that great. I prefer startisback anytime, keep up the good work.

#1016
hairsky

hairsky

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 05-July 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi when new version will be out?

#1017
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi when new version will be out?

Like he said....this week.

This week isn't over yet.

#1018
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

And here it is!
VERSION 1.2 RELEASE
http://www.startisba...sBack_setup.exe

Changes over 1.2RC2:

- Fixed: hibernate shutdown option could fail to show in configurator
- Fixed: high contast themes start menu issues
- Fixed: popping combined start screen / button menu shifts cursor position
- New: Control Panel shortcut for Start menu configuration
- Updated AeroByDesign style
- Installing for all users no longer requires log off


Some rewriting i planned will go to 1.3 since it requires testing.

Edited by Tihiy, 05 December 2012 - 04:31 PM.


#1019
ender`

ender`

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 99 posts
  • Joined 15-February 06
Great, the text in the main part of Start Menu is now visible for me :)

It'd be nice if something could be done about submenus (Shut down, Control Panel etc.), but at least the text is visible there, even if the selection isn't.

#1020
hairsky

hairsky

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 05-July 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
thanks

#1021
Amigafever

Amigafever

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 03-December 12
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for the update. The new installer caused most tray icons of running applications (security software, Yahoo Messenger etc.) to disappear. Sign out/in was necessary to get everything back. Tested on Win 8 x86.

Edited by Amigafever, 05 December 2012 - 04:54 PM.


#1022
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 323 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks for the update. The new installer caused most tray icons of running applications (security software, Yahoo Messenger etc.) to disappear. Sign out/in was necessary to get everything back. Tested on Win 8 x86.


Not duplicated here, everything came back to my surprise. Windows 8 Enterprise x64

Thanks Tihiy for the update!

Edit: FYI this was an upgrade from v1.2 RC 2.

Edited by roirraW "edor" ehT, 05 December 2012 - 07:36 PM.


#1023
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
IE 10 doesn't seem to like it. Tried on 3 different machines. You can still install it, it just complains about it.

Posted Image

Edited by ISOHaven, 05 December 2012 - 05:06 PM.


#1024
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

IE 10 doesn't seem to like it. Tried on 3 different machines. You can still install it, it just complains about it.

Could be because timestamp is not valid yet for your time zone or your clock is set up wrong. Retry in 8 hours?

#1025
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


IE 10 doesn't seem to like it. Tried on 3 different machines. You can still install it, it just complains about it.

Could be because timestamp is not valid yet for your time zone or your clock is set up wrong. Retry in 8 hours?

Time and date are fine. I'll try again tomorrow.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users