Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Start Is Back - 2.1 release


  • Please log in to reply
2073 replies to this topic

#1151
Starto

Starto

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 23-November 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

If I decide to uninstall StartIsBack at some point in the future, will I get my old start screen organisation structure back?

Short answer = yes. ;)



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1152
ozaz

ozaz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 22-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Short answer = yes. ;)


Thank you.

I have now installed, but am experiencing a few issues.

1. I have checked the option to keep only modern apps in start screen. This has mainly worked. But tiles for Google Chrome and Internet Explorer remain in the Start Screen.

2. I would like to pin some apps to start menu (StartIsBack menu). This is available for most apps, but notably it does not seem to be available for Microsoft Office 2010 apps.

3. When I pin Google Chrome to the StartIsBack menu, it appears as "Google Chrome (2)", instead of just "Google Chrome"

#1153
Starto

Starto

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 23-November 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

3. When I pin Google Chrome to the StartIsBack menu, it appears as "Google Chrome (2)", instead of just "Google Chrome"

Try pinning The Google Chrome shortcut after deleting it first from the following directory:-

C:\Users\YourUserName\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\User Pinned\StartMenu


#1154
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 322 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

1. I have checked the option to keep only modern apps in start screen. This has mainly worked. But tiles for Google Chrome and Internet Explorer remain in the Start Screen.


IE and Chrome both have Metro/Modern UI versions as well as Desktop. I think that's normal behavior. As far as I know, only the browser that's set to default can be used in the Modern UI.

#1155
ozaz

ozaz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 22-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


3. When I pin Google Chrome to the StartIsBack menu, it appears as "Google Chrome (2)", instead of just "Google Chrome"

Try pinning The Google Chrome shortcut after deleting it first from the following directory:-

C:\Users\YourUserName\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\User Pinned\StartMenu


Thanks. That worked. I notice there are a whole bunch of other apps in that folder (perhaps a left over from trying other start menu replacements).
Shall I just delete the lot and start over?

Any ideas about why I can't pin microsoft office applications?

#1156
Starto

Starto

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 23-November 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag



3. When I pin Google Chrome to the StartIsBack menu, it appears as "Google Chrome (2)", instead of just "Google Chrome"

Try pinning The Google Chrome shortcut after deleting it first from the following directory:-

C:\Users\YourUserName\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\User Pinned\StartMenu


Thanks. That worked. I notice there are a whole bunch of other apps in that folder (perhaps a left over from trying other start menu replacements).
Shall I just delete the lot and start over?

Any ideas about why I can't pin microsoft office applications?

Glad you got that working!!! :)

I don't know if by Microsoft Applications, you mean Word, Excel, PowerPoint, etc., etc. - they are working for me. One little tip, any shortcut that usually fails can yet be dragged-and-dropped directly into the Start Orb - hope it works this way for you, too. ;)


#1157
ozaz

ozaz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 22-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


I don't know if by Microsoft Applications, you mean Word, Excel, PowerPoint, etc., etc. - they are working for me. One little tip, any shortcut that usually fails can yet be dragged-and-dropped directly into the Start Orb - hope it works this way for you, too. ;)


Yes, I am referring to MS Office applications. I don't get a context menu "pin to start menu" item for any application in MS Office folder. I have just tried your drag to start orb method and it works. Thanks. However, its the sort of solution that I am sure to forget if I don't use it for a while, so it would be great if someone could try to help identify why I don't get the context item pin to start menu for these apps. I do get pin/unpin to start options for MS Office applications within the all apps windows 8 screen.

#1158
Starto

Starto

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 23-November 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag



3. When I pin Google Chrome to the StartIsBack menu, it appears as "Google Chrome (2)", instead of just "Google Chrome"

Try pinning The Google Chrome shortcut after deleting it first from the following directory:-

C:\Users\YourUserName\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\User Pinned\StartMenu


Thanks. That worked. I notice there are a whole bunch of other apps in that folder (perhaps a left over from trying other start menu replacements).
Shall I just delete the lot and start over?

Yes, that's a bug - I do purge them, without any issues. ;)


I do get pin/unpin to start options for MS Office applications within the all apps windows 8 screen.

Same here - the pin/unpin options appear only within the Start Menu!!! :yes:


#1159
ozaz

ozaz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 22-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Same here - the pin/unpin options appear only within the Start Menu!!! :yes:


Just to clarify. Did you mean start screen rather than start menu?

I can pin MS office applications to StartIsBack start menu via context menu from within the program files office folder in Explorer (C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office14)
I can pin MS office applications to StartIsBack menu by dragging onto start orb.
I can pin MS office applications to Windows 8 start screen via app bar in Windows 8 All apps screen.

But, I can't pin MS Office applications via context menu from within the MS Office folder in the StartIsBack All programs list.
So perhaps a StartIsBack bug rather than a general Windows / MS Office issue?

#1160
Starto

Starto

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 23-November 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Just to clarify. Did you mean start screen rather than start menu?

Nope, I meant Start Menu (check out the following screenshot):-

Posted Image

I can pin MS office applications to StartIsBack start menu via context menu from within the program files office folder in Explorer (C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office14)

Same here - only difference is I'm on the x64-bit iteration of Microsoft Office 2013 (it runs from a different directory):-
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office15


I can pin MS office applications to StartIsBack menu by dragging onto start orb.
I can pin MS office applications to Windows 8 start screen via app bar in Windows 8 All apps screen.

But, I can't pin MS Office applications via context menu from within the MS Office folder in the StartIsBack All programs list.

Yep ditto.


So perhaps a StartIsBack bug rather than a general Windows / MS Office issue?

You've got a point there - I'm not sure, though. :think:


#1161
ozaz

ozaz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 22-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Nope, I meant Start Menu (check out the following screenshot):-


Just realised that when I do what I think you did (use the search box to get to an office app within Start Menu), I can use the context menu to Pin to start menu:
Attached File  with pin option - cropped.png   87.12KB   6 downloads

It is only when I manually browse via the All programs list in the start menu that the context menu item does not appear. Several other context menu items are also absent:
Attached File  no pin option - cropped.png   115.29KB   7 downloads

#1162
Starto

Starto

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 23-November 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Ah, you got that right. :)

#1163
ozaz

ozaz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 22-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Suggestion:

At the moment, StartIsBack takes over the Windows key everywhere.

I think it would be better if it only took over the Windows key when you are in the desktop.

When you are in Metro, the Windows key should behave as designed by Microsoft (that is, when in Metro start screen, the Windows key should bring you back to your previous app. When you are in a metro app, the start key should bring you to the metro start screen).

Or at least there should be an option for this behaviour.

#1164
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag



Nope, I meant Start Menu (check out the following screenshot):-


Just realised that when I do what I think you did (use the search box to get to an office app within Start Menu), I can use the context menu to Pin to start menu:
Attached File  with pin option - cropped.png   87.12KB   6 downloads

It is only when I manually browse via the All programs list in the start menu that the context menu item does not appear. Several other context menu items are also absent:
Attached File  no pin option - cropped.png   115.29KB   7 downloads

Those are funky special shortcuts. Right click them and go to properties and you'll see what I mean. Those can't be pinned. The other method you found should be fine.

#1165
ozaz

ozaz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 22-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Those are funky special shortcuts. Right click them and go to properties and you'll see what I mean. Those can't be pinned. The other method you found should be fine.


Don't really know what you mean by funky special shortcuts

Edited by ozaz, 22 December 2012 - 03:23 PM.


#1166
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag



Those are funky special shortcuts. Right click them and go to properties and you'll see what I mean. Those can't be pinned. The other method you found should be fine.


Don't really know what you mean by funky special shortcuts

Did you look at their properties? The target doesn't point to a file and it's greyed out. It's not a normal shortcut.

#1167
ozaz

ozaz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 22-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Did you look at their properties? The target doesn't point to a file and it's greyed out. It's not a normal shortcut.


Ah, I see. But the shortcuts are the same (target does no to point to file) regardless of whether I search for them via the search box or browse to them via All programs. Yet the context menus are different. Doesn't this suggest that it is not simply the short-cut characteristic that is the problem? Also, have just tried on a Windows 7 PC and the app shortcuts in All Programs/Microsoft Office also lack absolute targets. Yet within the Windows 7 native start menu, the context menu for these app shortcuts do possess a pin to start menu item.

Edited by ozaz, 22 December 2012 - 06:06 PM.


#1168
ender`

ender`

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 98 posts
  • Joined 15-February 06
Shortcuts with Target greyed out are completely normal - that's the standard shortcut type that Windows Installer creates.

#1169
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Did you look at their properties? The target doesn't point to a file and it's greyed out. It's not a normal shortcut.


Ah, I see. But the shortcuts are the same (target does no to point to file) regardless of whether I search for them via the search box or browse to them via All programs. Yet the context menus are different. Doesn't this suggest that it is not simply the short-cut characteristic that is the problem? Also, have just tried on a Windows 7 PC and the app shortcuts in All Programs/Microsoft Office also lack absolute targets. Yet within the Windows 7 native start menu, the context menu for these app shortcuts do possess a pin to start menu item.

Yup, I brought all this up a long time ago before the app was first released. It's a known issue.

#1170
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Shortcuts with Target greyed out are completely normal - that's the standard shortcut type that Windows Installer creates.

Greyed out might be normal, however, not pointing to a target is not normal. Thus the start menu issue.

#1171
ender`

ender`

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 98 posts
  • Joined 15-February 06
Raymond Chen recently wrote about these shortcuts: http://blogs.msdn.co...0/10375909.aspx

#1172
simexi

simexi
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 30-December 06
Is it just me or..

I've installed english version of 8, but input etc language is finnish, and I've finnish settings in the prog. So it should be english! What's wrong?

#1173
Amigafever

Amigafever

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 03-December 12
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

At the moment, StartIsBack takes over the Windows key everywhere. I think it would be better if it only took over the Windows key when you are in the desktop.

When you are in Metro, the Windows key should behave as designed by Microsoft (that is, when in Metro start screen, the Windows key should bring you back to your previous app. When you are in a metro app, the start key should bring you to the metro start screen). Or at least there should be an option for this behaviour.

Agree with this.

Installed 1.3RC1, problem with 'blank page' icons remains on 3 PC's I've tested - check this post for details. Same with most programs' taskbar icons that disappear after installation. Sign-out/in is required to get them back.

Attached Files


Edited by Amigafever, 23 December 2012 - 07:19 PM.


#1174
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,933 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

It is only when I manually browse via the All programs list in the start menu that the context menu item does not appear. Several other context menu items are also absent:

This will be fixed in the next version.

Installed 1.3RC1, problem with 'blank page' icons remains on 3 PC's I've tested

This is a problem with Windows Defender, unfortunately. When start menu is querying link files to get icon, defender re-scans the target of the shortcut which slows system down. It slows down whole i/o sybsystem to the crawl when a lot of shortcuts are displayed (and search displays lot of them). Icon extraction hits timeout that's why icons could be not displayed. I'll try to increase timeout or create a more viable workaround but to get rid of this behavior you should use some other AV.

#1175
ozaz

ozaz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 22-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


It is only when I manually browse via the All programs list in the start menu that the context menu item does not appear. Several other context menu items are also absent:

This will be fixed in the next version.

Thanks!


Installed 1.3RC1, problem with 'blank page' icons remains on 3 PC's I've tested

This is a problem with Windows Defender, unfortunately. When start menu is querying link files to get icon, defender re-scans the target of the shortcut which slows system down. It slows down whole i/o sybsystem to the crawl when a lot of shortcuts are displayed (and search displays lot of them). Icon extraction hits timeout that's why icons could be not displayed. I'll try to increase timeout or create a more viable workaround but to get rid of this behavior you should use some other AV.

I don't experience this missing icons issue. But I do notice that the display of icons can be a bit laggy (i.e. sometimes takes a second or two before they display). Is the cause the same?
If I remember correctly, I got a similar behaviour when I tried another Windows 8 start menu replacement a few weeks ago (Start8) but the lagginess was not present in Windows 7 with the native start menu (with MS Security Essentials and Windows Defender installed).




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Bing (1)