Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Start Is Back - 2.1 release


  • Please log in to reply
2073 replies to this topic

#1226
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,932 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

thanks for the new version, but I gave it up. It looks like you don't want to fix the elevated explorer issue

Well, you're the only one having this issue, no? Because it can start explorer elevated only if you run StartIsBack_setup.exe elevated.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1227
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,088 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I think other have it, too but they don't know that they have it because they don't run any apps. I need to run it as admin to install it for all suers to C:\Program Files.

Can you use DuplicateTokenEx to get the old Explorer token, store it and start the Shell again with this token (CreateProcessWithTokenW)? I don't know how you run the Shell again.
Posted Image

#1228
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,932 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Installer runs with normal privileges. When you install for all users, it starts itself elevated. After elevated copy is finished installing, original unelevated process restarts explorer.
So you can't get explorer elevated unless you run installer elevated at the first place.

#1229
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,088 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Installer runs with normal privileges. When you install for all users, it starts itself elevated.


ok, this explains it. To avoid this second restart I've always started the setup elevated. :whistle:
Posted Image

#1230
UTC

UTC

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 28-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

^^ and that's finally fixed
VERSION 1.3.2
http://www.startisba...sBack_setup.exe

Fix: new program highlighting errorneusly fired for new users and roaming profiles
Fix: orb unhides when hidden taskbar is shown (IrfanView)
Fix: icons could fail to show in program list


Next version is under heavy development.


Heavy Development? What have you in mind? Automatic Coffee dispenser? mmmh
But really, its great at present.. If you hadnt come along , i would have flashed W7 back again.
I still detest W8

#1231
Max_04

Max_04

    Unofficial Service Packs Italian Releaser

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Joined 14-June 06


^^ and that's finally fixed
VERSION 1.3.2
http://www.startisba...sBack_setup.exe

Fix: new program highlighting errorneusly fired for new users and roaming profiles
Fix: orb unhides when hidden taskbar is shown (IrfanView)
Fix: icons could fail to show in program list


Next version is under heavy development.


Heavy Development? What have you in mind? Automatic Coffee dispenser? mmmh


I think having a "Modern UI applications" folder in start menu would be great imho, for example like Start8. :yes:
Posted Image

Italian localizer for free (not for bastard sellers on ebay).

Many thanks to MDGx, Tihiy, Petr, Gape, Soporific!

http://www.eng2ita.net

#1232
gserack

gserack
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 28-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
What's the chance we can get a Windows RT (arm) version of this compiled (for jailbroken machines?)

If you need some assistance, I'm sure I can help.

g

#1233
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,932 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

What's the chance we can get a Windows RT (arm) version of this compiled (for jailbroken machines?)

I would be interested to make this version, but for now thethered jailbreak nature and lack of option to run Windows RT in virtual machine limits my options. Let's move discussion to the PM.

#1234
kong

kong

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 25 posts
  • Joined 24-December 06

^^ and that's finally fixed

Yeah been using 1.3.2 for a while and it looks like it's really fixed. Thanks @Tihiy :thumbup

#1235
KayeJane

KayeJane
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 14-January 13
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag
SIB simply the best :wub: love it much.
The Voice from the Dark side

#1236
CharlotteTheHarlot

CharlotteTheHarlot

    MSFN Master

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,054 posts
  • Joined 24-September 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Tihiy,

Congratulations, you win in a good review of 5 Start Menu replacers.

Links in another MSFN thread. Look here.

... Let him who hath understanding reckon the Number Of The Beast ...


#1237
RMSimpson

RMSimpson
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 15-January 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi everyone, love SIB. Best start menu replacement I have used so far.

My questions is how is it set to autorun? I know it is just a .dll that explorer.exe loads, but where in the registry is it set to load automatically? Just curious as Sysinternals Autoruns does not detect it.

#1238
ender`

ender`

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 98 posts
  • Joined 15-February 06
It's probably loaded as a shell extension.

#1239
RMSimpson

RMSimpson
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 15-January 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Yeah probably but typically Autoruns can detect those. It detects other shell extensions.

#1240
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,932 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

StartIsBack replaces two system shell classes in SOFTWARE\CLASSES branch.

#1241
RMSimpson

RMSimpson
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 15-January 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for the response. Could you elaborate a bit? How does this result in it running automatically? Why does autoruns not detect it?

#1242
wazer

wazer

    You gotta risk it to get the biscuits

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 237 posts
  • Joined 24-May 05
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi i wrote an email to your Tihiy, but i dont know if you seen it anyways here goes look the picture for tweaks and bugs fixed i want to see in startisback which will make it feel like win7 100% !

Posted Image
if ( $life( $me ) == $null ) { getLife( $me ) | halt }


Quick Launch Classic 7 Tool

#1243
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,932 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I've adressed this in a email.

Now for Autoruns, it's not possible for it to detect every change in a COM registration registry database. COM database is a dark place where you can change one obscure entry and make your library load instead of another one in almost every process, since it's widely used inside all programs.

#1244
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 322 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi i wrote an email to your Tihiy, but i dont know if you seen it anyways here goes look the picture for tweaks and bugs fixed i want to see in startisback which will make it feel like win7 100% !


For Windows Update, I just have a shortcut which I drag to my All Programs folder (I might've had to put it on my Desktop first because of rights, and then drag it from there).

You might be able to make the shortcut yourself, pointing to

%windir%\system32\wuapp.exe startmenu

with

%windir%\system32

as the starting folder. Attached is my shortcut zipped up. Or you can search for it in the Start Menu, right-click it, make a shortcut from it, then put it where you want.

#1245
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,088 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Attached is my shortcut zipped up.


I can't see any attached zip.
Posted Image

#1246
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 322 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Attached is my shortcut zipped up.


I can't see any attached zip.


Sorry, forgot to hit a button. :D

Attached Files


Edited by roirraW "edor" ehT, 16 January 2013 - 09:24 AM.


#1247
Quitch

Quitch

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 17-September 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
StartIsBackCfg.exe doesn't play nicely with DEP unfortunately, it crashes.

#1248
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 322 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

StartIsBackCfg.exe doesn't play nicely with DEP unfortunately, it crashes.


If you have DEP selected for "all programs and services" (not the default), then you might have to exclude StartIsBackCfg.exe from it. I believe this was mentioned early in the development, but as users have to manually change from the default DEP setting to this, it would probably be considered "normal" behavior to have to exclude it from DEP if DEP isn't set to the default "for essential Windows programs and services only".

#1249
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


StartIsBackCfg.exe doesn't play nicely with DEP unfortunately, it crashes.


If you have DEP selected for "all programs and services" (not the default), then you might have to exclude StartIsBackCfg.exe from it. I believe this was mentioned early in the development, but as users have to manually change from the default DEP setting to this, it would probably be considered "normal" behavior to have to exclude it from DEP if DEP isn't set to the default "for essential Windows programs and services only".

Yup, that issue was fixed looooong ago. Default behavior works now.

#1250
Quitch

Quitch

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 17-September 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


StartIsBackCfg.exe doesn't play nicely with DEP unfortunately, it crashes.


If you have DEP selected for "all programs and services" (not the default), then you might have to exclude StartIsBackCfg.exe from it. I believe this was mentioned early in the development, but as users have to manually change from the default DEP setting to this, it would probably be considered "normal" behavior to have to exclude it from DEP if DEP isn't set to the default "for essential Windows programs and services only".


It just strikes me as odd for any program developed in this day-and-age to crash when subject to DEP. I mean, as you say, I can exclude it, but it's a really bad coding habit to slide into. Check DEP. Check ASLR. This stuff should be enabled on everything you do as of at least five years ago.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users