Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Start Is Back - 2.1 release


  • Please log in to reply
2076 replies to this topic

#1826
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I am periodically getting message saying "Trial period is expired . . . " and I have to re-enter the key every time this happened. How can I stop this?

Try reinstalling app for your user, not all users. Ensure you have latest SIB version.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1827
khonjo

khonjo

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Joined 22-July 03


I am periodically getting message saying "Trial period is expired . . . " and I have to re-enter the key every time this happened. How can I stop this?

Try reinstalling app for your user, not all users. Ensure you have latest SIB version.

Do you mean suggesting that I reinstalling application softwares? There are many application softwares that are installed. I wonder what has to do with those application softwares. Maybe I missunderstood your reply.
Mobo: GA-790XTA-UD4 with BIOS F2
CPU: Phenom II x4 970 3.5GHz
RAM: 16GB(4GBx4) DDR3 1333 GSkill F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL x2
HDD: 1TB x2 SATA-300 Hitachi HDS721010CLA332
Video: ATI Radeon HD 5770
DVD: Toshiba/Samsung SH-S223C & Pioneer DVR-218LBK
Sound: Asus Xonar DS
PSU: Corsair VX450W 450W
OS: W7 Ultimate x64, Vista Ultimate x64

#1828
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,801 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I think Tihiy just meant to reinstall SiB for the user who is seeing that message.

Cheers and Regards

Posted Image


#1829
khonjo

khonjo

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Joined 22-July 03

I think Tihiy just meant to reinstall SiB for the user who is seeing that message.

Cheers and Regards

Thanks for your reply. I am the only one who is using the machine. Anyway, I downloaded and installed v2.1.
Mobo: GA-790XTA-UD4 with BIOS F2
CPU: Phenom II x4 970 3.5GHz
RAM: 16GB(4GBx4) DDR3 1333 GSkill F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL x2
HDD: 1TB x2 SATA-300 Hitachi HDS721010CLA332
Video: ATI Radeon HD 5770
DVD: Toshiba/Samsung SH-S223C & Pioneer DVR-218LBK
Sound: Asus Xonar DS
PSU: Corsair VX450W 450W
OS: W7 Ultimate x64, Vista Ultimate x64

#1830
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,801 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
What I, and I think Tihiy, meant is that when you install SiB you have an option. You can either install it for all users, or just for the individual user that is doing the install. Not knowing which you chose when you installed SiB, Tihiy suggested reinstalling SiB, using the latest version, and choose the option to install for the individual user and see if you still had the same problem. Please let us know if reinstalling SiB fixes the issue for you.

Cheers and Regards

Posted Image


#1831
khonjo

khonjo

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Joined 22-July 03

What I, and I think Tihiy, meant is that when you install SiB you have an option. You can either install it for all users, or just for the individual user that is doing the install. Not knowing which you chose when you installed SiB, Tihiy suggested reinstalling SiB, using the latest version, and choose the option to install for the individual user and see if you still had the same problem. Please let us know if reinstalling SiB fixes the issue for you.

Cheers and Regards

OK, I will post back if it recurrs.
Mobo: GA-790XTA-UD4 with BIOS F2
CPU: Phenom II x4 970 3.5GHz
RAM: 16GB(4GBx4) DDR3 1333 GSkill F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL x2
HDD: 1TB x2 SATA-300 Hitachi HDS721010CLA332
Video: ATI Radeon HD 5770
DVD: Toshiba/Samsung SH-S223C & Pioneer DVR-218LBK
Sound: Asus Xonar DS
PSU: Corsair VX450W 450W
OS: W7 Ultimate x64, Vista Ultimate x64

#1832
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 542 posts
  • Joined 07-February 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I can confirm that the menu remains in its "last used state" when re-opened - so if the last use had it scrolled to the bottom, it reopens already scrolled to the same place.

Then this should not be called a problem or a bug at all.

About your post here:

Do you mean that you have icons but they are plain, white squares - or do you mean that there are no icons showing at all? If you have no icons, do you have the text naming the programs or is the program list itself completely empty? If that's the case, have you registered your copy of SIS - if not and the free trial has expired, it will remain blank unless you register and pay the (very reasonable) fee.

I don't think this is related to the trial expiration. Tihiy said the applications had their own icons since version 2.0. I just read back some pages and found out the first version of SIB I installed is 2.0.2. After installing it I entered the key at once. And a few days later when I looked through folder Start Apps, all the icons were blank.

#1833
pengipete

pengipete

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 05-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


I can confirm that the menu remains in its "last used state" when re-opened - so if the last use had it scrolled to the bottom, it reopens already scrolled to the same place.

Then this should not be called a problem or a bug at all.
[/quote}

I made no comment about it being "a problem" or "a bug" - I merely confirmed what a couple of other users had reported as the way SiB was handling a paricular scenario.

About your post here:


Do you mean that you have icons but they are plain, white squares - or do you mean that there are no icons showing at all? If you have no icons, do you have the text naming the programs or is the program list itself completely empty? If that's the case, have you registered your copy of SIS - if not and the free trial has expired, it will remain blank unless you register and pay the (very reasonable) fee.

I don't think this is related to the trial expiration. Tihiy said the applications had their own icons since version 2.0. I just read back some pages and found out the first version of SIB I installed is 2.0.2. After installing it I entered the key at once. And a few days later when I looked through folder Start Apps, all the icons were blank.


I didn't say it was or wasn't "related to the trial expiration" - I was just asking the poster to clarify because his post was rather ambiguous and pointed to known solutions to some of the possible interpretations.

#1834
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 542 posts
  • Joined 07-February 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Pengipete,
I didn't say you said it was or wasn't "related to the trial expiration"! I was just saying I didn't think so when I happened to read your post again which seemed to me that you pointed to a possible solution somewhat related to the expiration. Hope you don't find my post ambiguous at all!

There's something else I want to say. Sometimes when I click on the start button I see the icons of some applications being messed up. For example, Start Screen has the icon of File Explorer, MS Word of Calculator, Calculator of Paint, and so on. I leave them and a few minutes later I check, they have fixed themselves.

#1835
CyborgAbhi

CyborgAbhi
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 27-May 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi!

I've been using Start8 since Windows 8 was released. Recently I tried StartIsBack 2.1 and found that its search functionality is superior to that of Start8. I'm planning to switch to StartIsBack. Please add the following two features in a future version:

1. Ability to set a size for the Start menu. Currently there is no way to make it smaller than the maximum size that makes it go all the way to the top of the screen. If there are say just 6 programs pinned and I've turned off the display recent programs, most of the menu remains blank.

2. More options for buttons. I want to have a button like the default white one in Start8. It's perfectly gels with the overall Windows8 minimalistic theme. I searched a lot in DeviantArt and WinCustomize but couldn't find its equivalent.

Thanks.


(Sorry if I posted my request at the wrong place. It is the only StartIsBack forum I could find.)

#1836
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

1. Ability to set a size for the Start menu. Currently there is no way to make it smaller than the maximum size that makes it go all the way to the top of the screen. If there are say just 6 programs pinned and I've turned off the display recent programs, most of the menu remains blank.

Just set the number of recent programs to lesser amount.

2. More options for buttons. I want to have a button like the default white one in Start8. It's perfectly gels with the overall Windows8 minimalistic theme. I searched a lot in DeviantArt and WinCustomize but couldn't find its equivalent.

Yes, orb suck. Unfortunately Microsoft fobid including windows logos with the program, but you can download them from the website.

#1837
oldwindows

oldwindows

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 08-November 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Tihiy... I bought your app recently. Just want to say that its great. I love it. Keep up the good work.

#1838
CyborgAbhi

CyborgAbhi
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 27-May 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Just set the number of recent programs to lesser amount.


Yep, did that. Set the number to zero. It doesn't show recent programs but the menu is just as tall as before. Look:

Posted Image

Yes, orb suck. Unfortunately Microsoft fobid including windows logos with the program, but you can download them from the website.


Thanks. The white logo turning translucent on mouse hover looks good. However, it would look even better if there would appear a slightly darker square around it on mouse hover like it is done in Start8. (Sorry for my repeatedly mentioning Start8.)

#1839
Gerry5039

Gerry5039

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 14-August 10
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Anyone tell me why this tells me activations all used when I have purchased this software. I didn't think we were restricted if we have problems with our pc. What happens now please. I really do need some help please.

Many thanks

#1840
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Anyone tell me why this tells me activations all used when I have purchased this software. I didn't think we were restricted if we have problems with our pc. What happens now please. I really do need some help please.

Write me to support email with your license key specified.

#1841
UbinTook

UbinTook
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 28-May 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello to all, hopefully i wont bother you to much with my question, i have been looking for a solution for converting W8, it seems SIB may be the best , but i have also been recommended to use classicshell(.net) and i wonder what the difference is between it and SIB?
Also, how easily doe SIB uninstall ?
In reading through most of this thread i noticed that it was suggested that individuals download and install the latest version, i am wondering if there is a way to integrate and auto-update of sorts into the functionality. that said, how often are new versions released?
Thank you !

#1842
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hello to all, hopefully i wont bother you to much with my question, i have been looking for a solution for converting W8, it seems SIB may be the best , but i have also been recommended to use classicshell(.net) and i wonder what the difference is between it and SIB?
Also, how easily doe SIB uninstall ?
In reading through most of this thread i noticed that it was suggested that individuals download and install the latest version, i am wondering if there is a way to integrate and auto-update of sorts into the functionality. that said, how often are new versions released?
Thank you !

The main difference is...SiB uses the actual Start Menu code that is left in Windows 8. So you are getting a more authentic solution. My suggestion to you (if you want to check them both out) is to install classicshell. Check it out then uninstall it. Then install SiB and check it out as well. When you'll be a first hand informed user on both. I say to install SiB second because I'm 99% sure you wont be uninstalling it to go back to classic shell :)

At any rate, SiB uninstalls just fine so no worries.

#1843
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 323 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
If I might add, a huge difference to me operationally is that SiB's search field works uses Window's on by default indexing - which is much faster, and Classic Shell uses it's own search mechanism, which is much slower. I'm sure this is a happy side effect of SiB using the remaining Start Menu code and/or re-implemented code which was removed in W8, but I feel that this is worth calling attention to.

OT: Sorry I've been so vacant from these forums lately, but my fiance and I moved in together a couple months ago and we've both started new jobs. We're also getting married at the end of November so that planning saps some time too, but it's good to be busy and life is good if you know what I mean! :)

Edited by roirraW "edor" ehT, 28 May 2013 - 12:57 PM.


#1844
UbinTook

UbinTook
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 28-May 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I was leaning to SiB but just wanted to make sure i understood correctly, you have both convinced me, i am not even going to try classic shell.
Thanks for the quick replies.

Edited by UbinTook, 28 May 2013 - 02:40 PM.


#1845
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

If I might add, a huge difference to me operationally is that SiB's search field works uses Window's on by default indexing - which is much faster, and Classic Shell uses it's own search mechanism, which is much slower. I'm sure this is a happy side effect of SiB using the remaining Start Menu code and/or re-implemented code which was removed in W8, but I feel that this is worth calling attention to.

OT: Sorry I've been so vacant from these forums lately, but my fiance and I moved in together a couple months ago and we've both started new jobs. We're also getting married at the end of November so that planning saps some time too, but it's good to be busy and life is good if you know what I mean! :)

OT: Gongrats!!!!

#1846
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 323 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


OT: Sorry I've been so vacant from these forums lately, but my fiance and I moved in together a couple months ago and we've both started new jobs. We're also getting married at the end of November so that planning saps some time too, but it's good to be busy and life is good if you know what I mean! :)

OT: Gongrats!!!!


Thank you very much! Why, oh, why was I spending the last 10-15 minutes trying to edit my quoted portion of this reply on my phone while I was in the kitchen when I could just walk over to the PC!? :D

#1847
kramyugtaht

kramyugtaht
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 02-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Sorry if this has been covered, I did a quick search and found nothing. Do we know how Windows 8.1/Blue reintroducing the start button will affect Start Is Back? Are there additional functionality that is unlikely to be included with the Microsoft update?

#1848
Thunderbolt 2864

Thunderbolt 2864

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 539 posts
  • Joined 28-December 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I heard the Start Button will only bring up Metro/Start Screen, not the classic Start Menu, which is a fail move from Microsoft. Why are they so hesitant and stubborn about this, according to them "nobody uses the Start Menu"... epic fail there Microsoft.
PC 1: Intel Xeon E5 2687w | 32GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X 2133Mhz | Gigabyte GTX 670 SLI | Corsair AX1200 watt Power Supply | 20x LG SATA DVD+/- RW | LG BluRay/HD DVD Combo Drive| Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers | 42" Toshiba 42XL700a at 1920x1080 1080p | ASRock X79 Fata1ty Champion | Aerocool Strike-X ST Black | 1x OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 1x 4TB Western Digital Hard Drive | Windows 8 x64 Pro

#1849
laijiang

laijiang
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 30-May 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I heard the Start Button will only bring up Metro/Start Screen, not the classic Start Menu, which is a fail move from Microsoft. Why are they so hesitant and stubborn about this, according to them "nobody uses the Start Menu"... epic fail there Microsoft.


I too would like to know if StartIsBack will continue support Windows 8.1. To me 8.1's reintroduction of Start button is just changing the button left hot corner to a physical button on the taskbar and nothing more. What I need is the Start menu!

#1850
ISOHaven

ISOHaven

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Joined 11-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


I heard the Start Button will only bring up Metro/Start Screen, not the classic Start Menu, which is a fail move from Microsoft. Why are they so hesitant and stubborn about this, according to them "nobody uses the Start Menu"... epic fail there Microsoft.


I too would like to know if StartIsBack will continue support Windows 8.1. To me 8.1's reintroduction of Start button is just changing the button left hot corner to a physical button on the taskbar and nothing more. What I need is the Start menu!

The author has already replied to this topic. Nothing will be done/said or looked at until a REAL supported preview has been released to the general public.

Just sit tight.




3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users