Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Drivers for new computers?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#26
allen2

allen2

    Not really Newbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,814 posts
  • Joined 13-January 06
The pci device is the realtek card reader and HP drivers for windows 7 x64 also contains the xp drivers.
The network adapter is a wifi broadcom adapter and again the HP drivers contains the XP drivers.
For the Amd driver, you need the one provided by Sp0iLedBrAt in this thread before your first post.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
Gabriel

Gabriel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 26-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello

The pci device is the realtek card reader and HP drivers for windows 7 x64 also contains the xp drivers.

I installed the driver, now is OK.

The network adapter is a wifi broadcom adapter and again the HP drivers contains the XP drivers.

I installed the driver, now is OK.

For the Amd driver, you need the one provided by Sp0iLedBrAt in this thread before your first post.

I already installed this software, AMD Catalyst Manager, which found the AMD Radeon HD 7600M series, but it is not properly functioning, it still has yellow mark.

Thank you,
Gabriel

#28
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
http://www2.ati.com/...xp32_dd_ccc.exe

This must be the one; if not, you have other issues not related to the right driver.

Cheers

EDIT: The Catalyst Manager and Control Center require .NET Framework 2.0. Try unpacking the file and installing through Device Manager (Update driver) by pointing to the folder with the .inf file. The path (out of memory) is ...\$_OUTDIR\Packages\Drivers\Display\XP_INF\
Next to the .inf file there should also be an .msi file and a .cat file (both with the same name as the .inf file), as well as a folder containing the driver files.

Edited by Sp0iLedBrAt, 02 January 2013 - 06:52 PM.


#29
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,921 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I just forgot really. You have a hybrid graphics notebook. While the drivers for desktop versions may install properly, the switching won't work as expected. You need to use the notebook specific video drivers, specifically the Intel one.

You will need the Intel Mobility drivers (post the HwID for it) as well as the possibility of needing the switching software unless you have a physical switch. Some early hybrid models required rebooting into the BIOS and changing a setting, and then booting back up into Windows to use the other adapter. Either that or there may be a physical switch and still require a reboot.

All the times I look up emachines e642g I find it has a different Radeon chip than you say it does.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#30
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,338 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
FYI - you're getting spoon-fed the correct drivers since the HP Specs page doesn't specify which piece of hardware has been put into it. Theoretically, you could have gotten them on your own because all of the Downloads are given off the links of this page (where I had looked in the first place). BUT... whatever - you're getting there!

You could maybe even install the Net Framework v1.1 to facilitate the installation of the Catalyst Software.

@Tripredacus - this is a different Member that inadvertently hijacked the thread (see link to the Notebook Model). No biggie, though...

Video Graphics - AMD Radeon HD 7670M (2 GB DDR3 dedicated)

AMD site specifically says Catalyst works on XP (see 2nd tab). Hmmm... This says

Windows Driver Model (WDM) drivers are no longer bundled in the AMD Catalyst software suite. The WDM drivers install bundle can be downloaded independently through the AMD website.

YOINKS! 7670M isn't listed!
AHHH!!! I found some "modded" ones here. Use at your own risk!

@Gabriel - Don't forget to say Thank You to the members for their efforts after everything is "working". ;)

Edited by submix8c, 03 January 2013 - 09:42 AM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#31
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,921 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

@Tripredacus - this is a different Member that inadvertently hijacked the thread


Spoiler

MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#32
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Windows Driver Model (WDM) drivers are no longer bundled in the AMD Catalyst software suite. The WDM drivers install bundle can be downloaded independently through the AMD website.


An added bonus: the last link that I provided DOES include WDM drivers! It's only a matter if they fit.

Cheers

#33
Gabriel

Gabriel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 26-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello,
Thank you all for your support.
I tried all the solutions mentioned above, even the "modded" ones, but it is still not working.
Possibly is not a driver problem. I receive error messages from the Catalyst (see captures), as:
"Catalyst Control Center cannot be started because the curently active GPU is not supported." I searched and found that some people fixed this problem with a BIOS setting, but I didn't find that option in my BIOS.
Best Regards, Gabriel

Attached Files



#34
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Who needs CCC? :whistle: What is important is that you have installed drivers and your GPU is functioning correctly.
So, go ahead and remove that cr*p from Add/Remove Programs; I think it won't mess with drivers if you just choose CCC.

Cheers

More: it just occurred to me: does this error message occur when the ATI 7670m card is active? CCC is set to autostart on boot, so using the Intel card will throw this error, as "the currently used GPU is not supported".

#35
Gabriel

Gabriel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 26-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Who needs CCC? :whistle: What is important is that you have installed drivers and your GPU is functioning correctly.
So, go ahead and remove that cr*p from Add/Remove Programs; I think it won't mess with drivers if you just choose CCC.

Cheers

More: it just occurred to me: does this error message occur when the ATI 7670m card is active? CCC is set to autostart on boot, so using the Intel card will throw this error, as "the currently used GPU is not supported".

Hello,
The problem isn't in fact the error messages from CCC, but the yellow mark of the Display Adapter. Possible that the CCC error message is only a consequence, I don't know. I removed CCC, and let the drivers. I have no more error messages, but the yellow mark is still there.
Gabriel

Attached Files



#36
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,798 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
You show two different "Display Adapters", the Intel one and the AMD one. Are they both installed? Why? How, since this is a laptop? Assuming the Intel one is not used, disable it in the BIOS settings, if possible, or simply uninstall it, then AFAIK, it should no longer appear to Windows. At that point you can try to reinstall the AMD Radeon 7600, you might want to uninstall it first, and see if that fixes things. I suspect the two were interfering with each other. Either that, or I'm just totally confused. :)

Cheers and Regards

Posted Image


#37
allen2

allen2

    Not really Newbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,814 posts
  • Joined 13-January 06

You show two different "Display Adapters", the Intel one and the AMD one. Are they both installed? Why? How, since this is a laptop? Assuming the Intel one is not used, disable it in the BIOS settings, if possible, or simply uninstall it, then AFAIK, it should no longer appear to Windows. At that point you can try to reinstall the AMD Radeon 7600, you might want to uninstall it first, and see if that fixes things. I suspect the two were interfering with each other. Either that, or I'm just totally confused. :)

Cheers and Regards

Sorry bphlpt but you're wrong it is a laptop with new intel cpu that also provide graphics capabilities.

#38
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Ok, time to go down Trip's path. Grab a camera/ cell phone, restart to BIOS and take screenshots of anything you think is relevant and post them here (or even better, upload them somewhere like dropbox and post the links).

Edited by Sp0iLedBrAt, 04 January 2013 - 05:05 AM.


#39
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,798 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks allen2. I'll shut up now. )

Cheers and Regards

Posted Image


#40
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,921 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Ok, time to go down Trip's path. Grab a camera/ cell phone, restart to BIOS and take screenshots of anything you think is relevant and post them here (or even better, upload them somewhere like dropbox and post the links).


OK well if we're back on this again, I doubt you'll find anything relevant in the BIOS. I may be able to find the appropriate drivers but since I'm all messed up with this thread, I need this info:
- model of notebook
- hardware ID of the Intel video device from Device Manager
- and may be helpful, the Code number reported in Device Manager for the ATI device that is flagged.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#41
Gabriel

Gabriel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 26-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello,
I already uninstalled AMD and Intel display drivers, unfortunately Intel uninstalled also the audio drivers (I don't know exactly why), but I reinstalled all in a different order - first the AMD driver, without CCC, but it is still with yellow mark.
I cannot do many things in BIOS, it has no so many options to change.

- model of notebook

The model of the notebook is HP Pavilion g6-2011sq

- hardware ID of the Intel video device from Device Manager

- hardware ID of the Intel video device from Device Manager (which is OK)
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0166&SUBSYS_183E103C&REV_09
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0166&SUBSYS_183E103C
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0166&CC_030000
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0166&CC_0300

- hardware ID of the AMD video which is not functioning
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6840&SUBSYS_183E103C&REV_00
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6840&SUBSYS_183E103C
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6840&CC_030000
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6840&CC_0300

- and may be helpful, the Code number reported in Device Manager for the ATI device that is flagged.


This device cannot start. (Code 10)

Thank you,
Gabriel

#42
allen2

allen2

    Not really Newbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,814 posts
  • Joined 13-January 06
Perhaps the amd driver wasn't properly installed the first time and now isn't working.
Could you try the following :
- download the package 12-8_xp32_dd_ccc.exe (if you don't still have it).
- extract with 7zip everything from the 12-8_xp32_dd_ccc.exe archive to a folder (for example 12-8_xp32_dd_ccc).
- go into that folder then in $_OUTDIR\Packages\Drivers\Display\XP_INF and check if you have the files CX145314.inf, CX145314.cat , CX145314.msi and the folder B143900.
- go in devices manager, then display adapters, then right click "amd radeon hd 7600M series" and select update driver from the context menu then follow the wizard (not checking for drivers on the internet) until you reach the choice "install from a list or specific location" and choose this option then select "don't search. I will choose the driver to install" then next then click "Have disk" and select the folder identified at the previous step (12-8_xp32_dd_ccc\$_OUTDIR\Packages\Drivers\Display\XP_INF).

#43
Gabriel

Gabriel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 26-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Perhaps the amd driver wasn't properly installed the first time and now isn't working.
Could you try the following :
- download the package 12-8_xp32_dd_ccc.exe (if you don't still have it).
- extract with 7zip everything from the 12-8_xp32_dd_ccc.exe archive to a folder (for example 12-8_xp32_dd_ccc).
- go into that folder then in $_OUTDIR\Packages\Drivers\Display\XP_INF and check if you have the files CX145314.inf, CX145314.cat , CX145314.msi and the folder B143900.
- go in devices manager, then display adapters, then right click "amd radeon hd 7600M series" and select update driver from the context menu then follow the wizard (not checking for drivers on the internet) until you reach the choice "install from a list or specific location" and choose this option then select "don't search. I will choose the driver to install" then next then click "Have disk" and select the folder identified at the previous step (12-8_xp32_dd_ccc\$_OUTDIR\Packages\Drivers\Display\XP_INF).

Hello,
Yes, I have the package, I already did these actions.
Nevertheless, I couldn't select the folder XP_INF, instead I selected CX145314.inf.
The result is unchanged.
Gabriel

Attached Files



#44
allen2

allen2

    Not really Newbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,814 posts
  • Joined 13-January 06
Try unchecking "show compatible hardware" and then manually select from the list the right one and not the generic device (i.e. not the "Radeon HD 7600M series" and choose the "Radeon HD7670M" instead).
Another option would be trying to install the official HP x86 drivers for the Radeon HD but perhaps it might be better to install them from a clean XP install. I couldn't check them (if they contain XP support as well) as the package is about 400MB and hp website is a little slow right now.
Edit: Download finished and indeed HP drivers contains also XP x86 drivers but as i don't have the hardware i can't be sure they will install properly though.

Edited by allen2, 04 January 2013 - 03:16 PM.


#45
Gabriel

Gabriel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 26-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello,

Try unchecking "show compatible hardware" and then manually select from the list the right one and not the generic device (i.e. not the "Radeon HD 7600M series" and choose the "Radeon HD7670M" instead).

Already done. No effect (only the name changed).

Another option would be trying to install the official HP x86 drivers for the Radeon HD but perhaps it might be better to install them from a clean XP install. I couldn't check them (if they contain XP support as well) as the package is about 400MB and hp website is a little slow right now.
Edit: Download finished and indeed HP drivers contains also XP x86 drivers but as i don't have the hardware i can't be sure they will install properly though.

Done, but no effect. To be sure, I uninstalled drivers for AMD (the driver dissapeared from device manager), and run the executable - the catalyst (without restart between these actions). Anything new in Device manager after running the executable - see capture 2.
After reboot, automaticaly the system recognise the AMD Radeon HD 7600 M Series (see capture 1), with the yellow mark. I unzipped the package with 7zip, and tried also to update the driver directly with Have Disk, pointing to the 4 *.inf files found in the package, one by one. I received every time the same message: "The specified location does not contain information about your hardware." see capture 3

Gabriel

Attached Files


Edited by Gabriel, 04 January 2013 - 05:20 PM.


#46
allen2

allen2

    Not really Newbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,814 posts
  • Joined 13-January 06
Then i don't see anything except trying to reset the bios (perhaps, there is a setting there that is preventing the driver/device to function properly) and reinstall a clean XP (to be sure as i had one time this strange behavior after installing a wrong driver and XP would still use the wrong one even when i provided the good one) then install the official HP x86 drivers for the Radeon HD first with the installer.

#47
Gabriel

Gabriel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 26-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Then i don't see anything except trying to reset the bios (perhaps, there is a setting there that is preventing the driver/device to function properly) and reinstall a clean XP (to be sure as i had one time this strange behavior after installing a wrong driver and XP would still use the wrong one even when i provided the good one) then install the official HP x86 drivers for the Radeon HD first with the installer.

Hello,
Probably you are right. Nevertheless, what I observed, is that Catalyst cannot be removed from Add/Remove Programs. All the other programs have the Remove option, but Catalyst has only Change. I removed all the components, but the Catalyst is still there.
Gabriel

Edited by Gabriel, 05 January 2013 - 05:13 AM.


#48
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05
Another switchable graphic example: HP ProBook 4540s

http://h10010.www1.h...9455.html?dnr=1
A Intel GPU and a AMD Radeon HD 7650M

There are XP drivers
http://h20000.www2.h...5&swEnvOID=1093

However no AMD graphics drivers
http://h20000.www2.h...ectID=c03505081

The AMD Switchable Graphics feature is not supported in Microsoft Windows XP. Switchable Graphics is only supported on this model of HP notebook PC when running Windows 7 and Windows 8


Is a switchable Radeon HD 7650M possible at XP at all?

#49
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,921 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Is a switchable Radeon HD 7650M possible at XP at all?


Its not really the function of the Radeon to do this. The switching feature is dependent on the Intel GPU instead. That is why the Intel Desktop drivers, while they install and do work, will cause the problem the Op is experiencing. I checked the Intel Mobile driver package I have here (which is what he needs) but the INF is written to block install on XP. The built in software side of switching graphics on the Intel GPU needs Vista or higher. I can't identify what specifically it uses.

XP did indeed have switchable graphics, but those always required a reboot and either had a physical switch (like a wireless switch) or an option to change in the BIOS. You can find these drivers in the following links... note they are Windows 7 drivers.

ftp://65.106.72.164/Notebook/Compal/QAL30_50_51/Drivers/Win7(32)64/02_VGA_QAL3050_Intel_x64_9.17.10.2884.zip
ftp://65.106.72.164/Notebook/Compal/QAL30_50_51/Drivers/Win7(32)64/02_VGA_QAL3050_Intel_x86_9.17.10.2884.zip

MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#50
Gabriel

Gabriel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 26-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Is a switchable Radeon HD 7650M possible at XP at all?


Its not really the function of the Radeon to do this. The switching feature is dependent on the Intel GPU instead. That is why the Intel Desktop drivers, while they install and do work, will cause the problem the Op is experiencing. I checked the Intel Mobile driver package I have here (which is what he needs) but the INF is written to block install on XP. The built in software side of switching graphics on the Intel GPU needs Vista or higher. I can't identify what specifically it uses.

XP did indeed have switchable graphics, but those always required a reboot and either had a physical switch (like a wireless switch) or an option to change in the BIOS. You can find these drivers in the following links... note they are Windows 7 drivers.

ftp://65.106.72.164/Notebook/Compal/QAL30_50_51/Drivers/Win7(32)64/02_VGA_QAL3050_Intel_x64_9.17.10.2884.zip
ftp://65.106.72.164/Notebook/Compal/QAL30_50_51/Drivers/Win7(32)64/02_VGA_QAL3050_Intel_x86_9.17.10.2884.zip


Hello,
I tried the drivers mentioned above, but they are not working.
I haven’t physical switch or an option to change in the BIOS.
So, it’s maximum that I can obtain from this installation. I am happy anyway because all important problems were resolved.
Thank you all for your help,
Gabriel




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users