Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Unattend.xml Problem


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
WizardOfWoz

WizardOfWoz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
  • Joined 19-April 09
Whenever I put my unattend.xml file in the root of the DVD, it always displays the dreaded "driver needed" screen. Without the XML fle it installs fine. What's even more wild is that I created it using the SIM in the ADK and it still does it. File is as follows:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
<settings pass="windowsPE">
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<SetupUILanguage>
<UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
</SetupUILanguage>
<InputLocale>en-US</InputLocale>
<SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>
<UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
<UserLocale>en-US</UserLocale>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<UserData>
<ProductKey>
<Key>XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX</Key>
<WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
</ProductKey>
<AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>
<FullName>XXX</FullName>
</UserData>
</component>
</settings>
<settings pass="specialize">
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<InputLocale>en-US</InputLocale>
<SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>
<UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
<UserLocale>en-US</UserLocale>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Deployment" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<RunSynchronous>
<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
<Order>1</Order>
<Path>reg add &amp;quot;HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon&amp;quot; /v EnableFirstLogonAnimation /d 0 /t REG_DWORD /f</Path>
<Description>Disable stupid touch tutorial</Description>
</RunSynchronousCommand>
<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
<Order>2</Order>
<Path>reg add &amp;quot;HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup\OOBE&amp;quot; /v MediaBootInstall /d 0 /t REG_DWORD /f</Path>
</RunSynchronousCommand>
<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
<Order>3</Order>
<Path>cscript //B &amp;quot;%windir%\system32\slmgr.vbs&amp;quot; /rearm</Path>
<Description>Reset activation status</Description>
<WillReboot>Always</WillReboot>
</RunSynchronousCommand>
</RunSynchronous>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-IE-InternetExplorer" processorArchitecture="wow64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<DisableAccelerators>true</DisableAccelerators>
<DisableFirstRunWizard>true</DisableFirstRunWizard>
<DisableOOBAccelerators>true</DisableOOBAccelerators>
<Home_Page>http://www.google.co...com</Home_Page>
<PlaySound>false</PlaySound>
<ShowInformationBar>false</ShowInformationBar>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-ErrorReportingCore" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<DisableWER>1</DisableWER>
</component>
</settings>
<settings pass="oobeSystem">
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<OOBE>
<HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
<NetworkLocation>Home</NetworkLocation>
<ProtectYourPC>2</ProtectYourPC>
</OOBE>
<VisualEffects>
<FontSmoothing>ClearType</FontSmoothing>
<SystemDefaultBackgroundColor>14</SystemDefaultBackgroundColor>
</VisualEffects>
<RegisteredOwner>XXX</RegisteredOwner>
<TimeZone>Central Standard Time</TimeZone>
</component>
</settings>
<cpi:offlineImage cpi:source="wim:d:/win8/source/sources/install.wim#Windows 8 Pro" xmlns:cpi="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:cpi" />
</unattend>


Also, the initial language selection screen still shows (with the "Repair your computer" option). What do I need to change? All references of "x86" to "amd64"?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

What do I need to change? All references of "x86" to "amd64"?


It seems, YES!
For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#3
WizardOfWoz

WizardOfWoz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
  • Joined 19-April 09


What do I need to change? All references of "x86" to "amd64"?


It seems, YES!


I tried, and it didn't work :(

Any other suggestiojns

#4
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Please attach your Autounattend.xml file for your Windows 8 x64!

Edited by myselfidem, 04 November 2012 - 03:33 PM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#5
WizardOfWoz

WizardOfWoz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
  • Joined 19-April 09

Please attach your Autounattend.xml file for your Windows 8 x64!


File attached. Name and product key removed.

Attached Files



#6
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Inside your Autounattend.xml file, you can change all values: To: &quot;

Change To:
<Path>reg add &quot;HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup\OOBE&quot; /v MediaBootInstall /d 0 /t REG_DWORD /f</Path>

More help:

http://technet.micro...WindowsSettings

Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP\SkipRearm

For most deployment scenarios, this setting is no longer needed. In Windows 8, the Windows licensing state can be reset repeatedly.


http://www.msfn.org/...ost__p__1009846

Edited by myselfidem, 05 November 2012 - 02:15 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#7
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
also in windowsPE pass change to <InputLocale>0409:00000409</InputLocale>
You can remove <UserLocale>en-US</UserLocale> from that pass also
Valid Passes oobeSystem specialize

Edited by maxXPsoft, 05 November 2012 - 10:02 AM.

Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#8
gotenks98

gotenks98

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Joined 02-June 05

Inside your Autounattend.xml file, you can change all values: To: &quot;

Change To:

<Path>reg add &quot;HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup\OOBE&quot; /v MediaBootInstall /d 0 /t REG_DWORD /f</Path>

More help:

http://technet.micro...WindowsSettings


Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP\SkipRearm

For most deployment scenarios, this setting is no longer needed. In Windows 8, the Windows licensing state can be reset repeatedly.


http://www.msfn.org/...ost__p__1009846

That mediabootinstall command is that how you get an upgrade on install with a totally blank drive with an upgrade key? I was needing to know this because I will be changing out my main HD for a SSD so keeping the amount of writes down on the drive helps me a ton. I just need to know what the exact syntax for this needs to be because the forum always butchers it.

#9
WizardOfWoz

WizardOfWoz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
  • Joined 19-April 09
Yes. By default on an upgrade disc it's set to 1.

Edited by WizardOfWoz, 09 November 2012 - 10:44 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users