Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Installing Lan Drivers

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1
crowe80

crowe80

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
  • Joined 13-March 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Is there a way to install a Lan driver from the WinPe disc? I have the drivers on the disc for this one paticular model and I can see they are there but it's still not picking them up. The disc works on about 15 other devices that are different models but struggling with this new one. It's a new laptop we got in. So I was wondering if there was anyway when booted up to WinPe if you can force it to install the driver?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,817 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

You can use DRVLOAD name.inf for your NIC.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#3
crowe80

crowe80

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
  • Joined 13-March 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Does anyone have any other ideas, I've tried everything I know how to do. But I have a Toshiba Sattelite L840 model and my WinPe disk boots up but it's not getting a network address therefore I can't use the Net Use command. I've went to Toshiba's site and downloaded the NIC driver and mounted it to the WinPE disc and its still not working. I've tried the dvrload method by trying to install the drivers that way but no luck. I've checked the BIOS and I don't see anything there that would help. WE are on a DHCP network. It will say tha the drive is successfully installed when doing the DVRLoad command and I did the initializenetwork command with no luck. I loaded a Windows 7 disc and put the OS on there and installed the NIC driver (atheros driver) just to make sure it works and it did. So I'm not sure why I can't get the device to pick it up using WinPE. Any other suggestions? I have about 20+ different models I use this disc on and it works fine. It's just this one new device I have that is causing me fits. Thanks in Advance!

#4
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,817 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

So you have injected the drivers into your boot image? What version WinPE are you using?
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#5
crowe80

crowe80

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
  • Joined 13-March 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm using Winpe 3.0. I do have the drivers injected. I can go out to the path and find them under x;\windows\system32\driverstore\filerepository.

#6
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I'm using Winpe 3.0. I do have the drivers injected. I can go out to the path and find them under x;\windows\system32\driverstore\filerepository.

crowe80, can you see the driver (.sys) file in the x:\windows\system32\drivers folder? If not you may have not injected the correct drivers. I don't know if WinPE has access to the Device Manager, but if so look at the NIC HW there for the Vendor/Device IDs. Then look in the .inf file you are injecting and see if these are in there. If you cannot find a Device Manager in WinPE then boot up Windows on the same machine and look for the IDs. Is the NIC enabled in the BIOS? I have successfully injected my NIC drivers as well as installed them with DRVLOAD. Enjoy, John.

#7
crowe80

crowe80

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
  • Joined 13-March 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
The .sys files and all that was found. I am able to even do a dvrload command and it says it installed the driver successful but it's still not working. The LAN is enabled in BIOS. I don't see anything else that would affect the LAN in the BIOS that would be disabled. I'm at a loss.

#8
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,423 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

The .sys files and all that was found. I am able to even do a dvrload command and it says it installed the driver successful but it's still not working. The LAN is enabled in BIOS. I don't see anything else that would affect the LAN in the BIOS that would be disabled. I'm at a loss.


HWPNP?
PENETWORK?

http://www.msfn.org/...work-without-u/
http://reboot.pro/7036/

jaclaz

#9
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

The .sys files and all that was found. I am able to even do a dvrload command and it says it installed the driver successful but it's still not working. The LAN is enabled in BIOS. I don't see anything else that would affect the LAN in the BIOS that would be disabled. I'm at a loss.

crowe80, you did not say if the .sys file is in the x:\windows\system32\drivers folder or what you found out about the Vendor/Device IDs. I also use DriverView to see the drivers on WnPE. Enjoy, John.

#10
crowe80

crowe80

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
  • Joined 13-March 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
The .sys files were there and the HW id's were in the .inf file. I also downloaded this tool called devman view which is kind of a tool that looks like Device Manager. When going into that it shows the correct LAN driver is installed and the hardware ID is correct. Very strange. I just can't get it to recognize an IP address. I have multiple different models here and they all work. But this one Toshiba is giving me fits. WE are just using it for a demo right now but if I can't figure out how to even image it, I don't believe we will be purchasing it.

#11
crowe80

crowe80

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
  • Joined 13-March 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I"m creating a new WinPE disc with just the drivers for this paticular device. I don't know that it will make a difference but it is worth a shot. Will let you know if it fixes it.

#12
crowe80

crowe80

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
  • Joined 13-March 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
This did not work either. I even did the dvrload and it said successful but it didn't help. I ran the wpeutil initializenetwork and it said successful but no luck.
When I do an Ipconfig /all this is all I get

Windows IP Configuration

Hostname......:minint-ntglq49
Primary DNS Suffix........:
Node Type..............:Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled.......................No
WINS Proxy Enabled...................:No


And that's all that shows up.

#13
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
crowe80, have you issued the NETCFG -WINPE command? See here. Enjoy, John.

#14
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,817 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Also, even though apparently it isn't required anymore, I still use:

wpeutil initializenetwork

In my startnet.cmd. Are you using it as well? You can see an example startnet.cmd I use here.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#15
crowe80

crowe80

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
  • Joined 13-March 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I've tried all these suggestions which were all good but still no luck. I don't know what's up with this device :(

#16
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
crowe80, this is really a strange one. Is there any way to look at the status and properties (IPv4) of the adapter on WinPE? If so, please post a screen shot. Having no problems with Internet on WinPE I am not familiar with what is available. One more wild suggestion to try:
Netsh int ip reset
Sorry am not able to help much. Good luck and enjoy, John.

#17
crowe80

crowe80

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
  • Joined 13-March 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I finally got this to work and I'll share for anyone who is interested because it's very strange.

I had the WinPe disk created with the correct drivers for the NIC. I even put these drivers on a USB flash drive and was doing a DRVLOad to that driver and it would say successful. I used a tool called devmanveiw.exe that takes you into a generic looking Device Manager and I could see the driver was there. But I still got no IP.

What I finally did was delete the driver from the devmanview.exe application. I tried the DRVLOAD command again and noticed even though it said successful the driver was not in the device manager. So from my USB flash drive I ran the setup.exe file for the LAN driver using the command prompt in Winpe and installed the LAN that way. After that I was getting a 169 address. So then I ran the command wpeutil initializenetwork and then I got an IP and now it's imaging.

The only thing is I don't know why I had to run the setup.exe to get it to recognize the LAN instead of just doing the DRVLOAD command to load the .inf file. But in any case it's at least working in a round about way.

#18
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
crowe80, what all is in the driver folder? How about giving us a link to the driver so we can take a look at it. Apparently the Setup.exe does some extra work. I guess you know that the 169 address is indicating that there was not found a DHCP server. Glad it is working -- how strange though. Enjoy, John.

EDIT: Thanks for the reference to devmanview. I DLed both 32 and 64 bit versions.

Edited by johnhc, 14 November 2012 - 04:22 PM.


#19
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,817 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

What NIC is it and what is the HwID?
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#20
crowe80

crowe80

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
  • Joined 13-March 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
The driver was for a Toshiba L840-BT3N22.

The NIC card is a "Qualcomm Ahteros AR8152/8158 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20)"
THe HW ID is: PCI/VEN_1969&DEV_2062&SUBSYS_FB501179&REV_C1\4&26d56668&0&00E3
Driver Version: 2.0.15.16

And yes they were in the drivers folder on the WinPE disc. While looking at the device manager using devmanview there is a section that says ".inf File" and it list oem146.inf So i'm not for sure if that means that is the .inf file it used which I'm assuming it is what it means. If so, there is nothing in the driver package that I have found by this name. All the drivers were labeled as L1....x32 or x64.inf files. So that is interesting.

#21
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,817 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

And yes they were in the drivers folder on the WinPE disc. While looking at the device manager using devmanview there is a section that says ".inf File" and it list oem146.inf So i'm not for sure if that means that is the .inf file it used which I'm assuming it is what it means. If so, there is nothing in the driver package that I have found by this name. All the drivers were labeled as L1....x32 or x64.inf files. So that is interesting.


Windows renames the INF file. It is 146 because it is (probably) the 147th INF file that was injected into the WIM. If you use DISM's /GET-DRIVERS on the mounted image, you can view all the injected drivers, which shows the oem# as well as the original filename and other information. Since you have over 30-40 things in there, you'll probably have to > text file to be able to see them all.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#22
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
crowe80, I think I found the drivers and opened L1C62x64.INF. I did not know whether you were running 32 or 64 bit, or both, WinPE. I can't really make any sense of it all. In the .inf I opened there is a reference to "INF File for NDIS6.2 Miniport Driver for Windows7". Don't know what this is about but perhaps something to do with the PCIe support HW and the driver was not in the the three files you injected. This .inf references only the one driver file ( L1C62x64.sys) and perhaps the setup file installed another needed driver. Have fun, John.

#23
crowe80

crowe80

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
  • Joined 13-March 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for all the replies everyone was really helpful!!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN