Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Sercurity-SPP Event 16385 Error Code 0x80041316


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1
MarkJohnson

MarkJohnson

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 171 posts
I keep getting this error on my system every 30 seconds or so. It sometimes dings everytime it hapens, but usually it's random when it happens.

My system seems to run fine, it just reports this error constantly.

Any have any ideas?
-=Mark=-
Intel P67 Extreme (DP67BG) * 16GB (4 X 4GB)G.Skill DDR3-1600 * Powercolor Radeon HD5870 LCS+ * 240GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD * Danger Den Torture Rack * Intel i7 2600K 3.6GHz @ 4.4GHz * Corsair 850watt


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,801 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Are you using one of the pre-release versions of Windows 8?
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#3
MarkJohnson

MarkJohnson

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 171 posts

Are you using one of the pre-release versions of Windows 8?


I think I installed with a trial version or RTM version. not sure, then entered the upgrade key. I had to call MS to get it to activate. I also installed MCE.

-=Mark=-
Intel P67 Extreme (DP67BG) * 16GB (4 X 4GB)G.Skill DDR3-1600 * Powercolor Radeon HD5870 LCS+ * 240GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD * Danger Den Torture Rack * Intel i7 2600K 3.6GHz @ 4.4GHz * Corsair 850watt

#4
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,801 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Post the actual event log for this error. You can obfusicate any computer or user names if needed.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#5
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,020 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

0x80041316 = SCHED_E_UNEXPECTEDNODE

//
// MessageId: SCHED_E_UNEXPECTEDNODE
//
// MessageText:
//
// The task XML contains an unexpected node.
//
#define SCHED_E_UNEXPECTEDNODE           _HRESULT_TYPEDEF_(0x80041316L)

so the scheduled task file in C:\Windows\System32\Tasks seams to be damaged.
Posted Image

#6
MarkJohnson

MarkJohnson

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 171 posts

Post the actual event log for this error. You can obfusicate any computer or user names if needed.



Is this the right info?

Log Name:      Application
Source:        Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP
Date:          12/3/2012 11:49:32 AM
Event ID:      16385
Task Category: None
Level:         Error
Keywords:      Classic
User:          N/A
Computer:      Mark-Z77
Description:
Failed to schedule Software Protection service for re-start at 2112-11-09T19:49:32Z. Error Code: 0x80041316.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
  <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP" Guid="{E23B33B0-C8C9-472C-A5F9-F2BDFEA0F156}" EventSourceName="Software Protection Platform Service" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="49152">16385</EventID>
    <Version>0</Version>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2012-12-03T19:49:32.000000000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>15965</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="0" ThreadID="0" />
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>Mark-Z77</Computer>
    <Security />
  </System>
  <EventData>
    <Data>0x80041316</Data>
    <Data>2112-11-09T19:49:32Z</Data>
  </EventData>
</Event>

Intel P67 Extreme (DP67BG) * 16GB (4 X 4GB)G.Skill DDR3-1600 * Powercolor Radeon HD5870 LCS+ * 240GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD * Danger Den Torture Rack * Intel i7 2600K 3.6GHz @ 4.4GHz * Corsair 850watt

#7
MarkJohnson

MarkJohnson

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 171 posts

0x80041316 = SCHED_E_UNEXPECTEDNODE

//
// MessageId: SCHED_E_UNEXPECTEDNODE
//
// MessageText:
//
// The task XML contains an unexpected node.
//
#define SCHED_E_UNEXPECTEDNODE           _HRESULT_TYPEDEF_(0x80041316L)

so the scheduled task file in C:\Windows\System32\Tasks seams to be damaged.


If this is the problem, how do I fix it, if it's fixable? There are a few files and folders including an adobe file.
Intel P67 Extreme (DP67BG) * 16GB (4 X 4GB)G.Skill DDR3-1600 * Powercolor Radeon HD5870 LCS+ * 240GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD * Danger Den Torture Rack * Intel i7 2600K 3.6GHz @ 4.4GHz * Corsair 850watt

#8
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes, it's complaining about the scheduled task's XML data alright. When did this start happening?
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#9
MarkJohnson

MarkJohnson

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 171 posts
This started happening about the time I registered it through a call to MS. I got an error saying it was already registered and had to call it in.

Is there something I can do. I think I found an article one tie about delete some scheduling file and it was suppose to create a new one and fix this issue, but it still does it constantly every 30 seconds the computer is running. even in sleep mode it wakes up occasionally.

Thanks for any help
-=Mark=-
Intel P67 Extreme (DP67BG) * 16GB (4 X 4GB)G.Skill DDR3-1600 * Powercolor Radeon HD5870 LCS+ * 240GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD * Danger Den Torture Rack * Intel i7 2600K 3.6GHz @ 4.4GHz * Corsair 850watt

#10
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,020 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

check your OCZ Vertex, maybe the SSD is damaged.

You can extract the file from the WIn8 install.WIM, delete the task and import the task from the extracted file. But I haven't tried this with inbox tasks.
Posted Image

#11
MarkJohnson

MarkJohnson

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 171 posts
OK, I first upgraded my OCZ Vertex 3 firmware to 2.25 and test and still same issues.

I then upgrade all my SSDs firmware to 2.25 and clone this drive to another and test. Well, Acronis True Image Home 2012 won't work in windows 8 at all, it says wrong OS before install begins.

I then decided to install windows 7 on a secondary drive (after disconnecting all drives) and install ATIH 2012 then shut down and connect my offending SSD and boot up and clone the SSD without issues.

I boot the cloned drive and weird things happens. I go online and firefox seems to lose all plugins, but firefox says they are installed and up to date. also I still get the same error.

I boot back to my original SSD and all if fine. I then boot to my win7 7 ssd and it runs chkdsk on all of my disk and it starts giving me tons of,"Replacing invalid security id with default security id for file ####" over and over tens of thousands of times (at least 5 minutes maybe 10 minutes worth). I then boot to the original drive and it seems fine until I go to the desktop and it errors out on the desktop and only lets me on the metro page with limited apps as most apps want to go to the desktop.

This is becoming extremely bizzare! I've actually got this security before during win8 beta and stopped using it as it was randomly killing my hdd/ssd partitions or wiping them all out completely.

as far as I can tell, it happens when booting with windows 7 only. It seems it thinks the win8 partitions are invalid. But not always. It usually happens on fresh installs or when windows update runs.

Not sure what to do next.
-=Mark=-
Intel P67 Extreme (DP67BG) * 16GB (4 X 4GB)G.Skill DDR3-1600 * Powercolor Radeon HD5870 LCS+ * 240GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD * Danger Den Torture Rack * Intel i7 2600K 3.6GHz @ 4.4GHz * Corsair 850watt

#12
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,020 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

updating the firmware doesn't repair the broken tasks file. Reimport the task.
Posted Image

#13
Dave-H

Dave-H

    Friend of MSFN

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 812 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Just found this thread when trying to fix a very similar problem.

I had three tasks that were complaining that "The task XML contains an unexpected node" when running the Windows 8 Task Scheduler.
One of the tasks was also generating huge numbers of errors in the Windows event logs, which is why I investigated the problem in the first place.

I fixed it by just re-importing the tasks from the Windows installation CD, as has been suggested I see.
I guess the originals must have got corrupted somehow, and it is the fix.

Longtime on MSFN, but my first post in the Windows 8 forum.
I've only just got Windows 8 on my new second machine, and never had Vista or Seven, only XP and 98, so it's been a bit of a steep learning curve!
:)

Edited by Dave-H, 19 December 2012 - 06:44 AM.

Dual boot Windows 98SE SP2.1a and Windows XP Professional SP3.
Dual 3.2GHz Xeons with 4GB RAM. ATI Radeon X850 Graphics 1920x1080 32 Bit Colour with Large Fonts.


#14
MarkJohnson

MarkJohnson

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 171 posts
Sorry, I don't know how to import tasks or even what tasks to import.

Google didn't give me any useful information.

If someone can be so kind as to point me in the right direction, I'd be forever grateful.

-=Mark=-
Intel P67 Extreme (DP67BG) * 16GB (4 X 4GB)G.Skill DDR3-1600 * Powercolor Radeon HD5870 LCS+ * 240GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD * Danger Den Torture Rack * Intel i7 2600K 3.6GHz @ 4.4GHz * Corsair 850watt

#15
Dave-H

Dave-H

    Friend of MSFN

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 812 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Mark!
You do need access to the "install.wim" file on a Windows 8 CD, or another source.
MS seem to have abandoned CAB files in favour of this, which I didn't know not having used anything later than XP!

This compressed file seems to contain the Windows system files.
It can be opened with 7-Zip, at least that's what I used, just Google for it, it's free.

Note that you will need version 9.30 of 7-Zip though, which is an Alpha version, but seems OK.
I couldn't open the .wim file with the current release version, 9.20.

There were a couple of error messages when I opened the file in 7-zip, but it all seemed to still work OK.

Open the Windows 8 Task Scheduler, and identify the faulty tasks from the error messages.
Make a note of their names.
Look in the Windows\System32\tasks folders on your machine and find and delete the files that correspond to the faulty tasks, whichever sub-folder they are in.
Make a note of the names and which folder each one was in, to make sure you put the replacements in the right folder!

Then reboot and go back to Task Scheduler. There should now be no error messages.

Go to Windows\System32\tasks folder in the install.wim file using 7-Zip, and browse for the task files you want to replace.
Use 7-Zip to copy them to your desktop.

Now you need to replace the files with the good ones.
The vital thing to do is that you must put an ".xml" extension on the new files, or Task Scheduler won't import them!
The extracted versions on your desktop won't have any file extensions at all, so you'll need to add them.

Once you've done that, go back to Task Scheduler, and look for the folder(s) in the tasks library where you want the files to go.
When you have the folder open, right click and select "import".
Import the appropriate file from your desktop.
Its parameters window should open, and just click OK.
It should appear in the list, but the entry will look very sparse.
This should come good when you re-boot.

I did mine one at a time for safety, re-booting each time I added one.
Fortunately I only had four to do!
Once you've done that, the entries should be complete again, and no error messages!

I'm off to bed.
Good luck!
Cheers, Dave.
:)

Edited by Dave-H, 18 December 2012 - 08:27 PM.

Dual boot Windows 98SE SP2.1a and Windows XP Professional SP3.
Dual 3.2GHz Xeons with 4GB RAM. ATI Radeon X850 Graphics 1920x1080 32 Bit Colour with Large Fonts.


#16
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,020 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I had three tasks that were complaining that "The task XML contains an unexpected node" when running the Windows 8 Task Manager.
One of the tasks was also generating huge numbers of errors in the Windows event logs, which is why I investigated the problem in the first place.

I fixed it by just re-importing the tasks from the Windows installation CD, as has been suggested I see.


thanks for the confirmation that this works :)
Posted Image

#17
Dave-H

Dave-H

    Friend of MSFN

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 812 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag


I had three tasks that were complaining that "The task XML contains an unexpected node" when running the Windows 8 Task Scheduler.
One of the tasks was also generating huge numbers of errors in the Windows event logs, which is why I investigated the problem in the first place.

I fixed it by just re-importing the tasks from the Windows installation CD, as has been suggested I see.

thanks for the confirmation that this works :)

Yes it does, and I just noticed I said "Task Manager" when I meant "Task Scheduler" of course!
:blushing:
I've corrected it where I can to stop anyone reading this in the future getting confused!

One thing I forgot to mention is that if you have a Windows 8 CD like mine, it may well have two versions of Windows 8 on it, the normal version and the Pro version.
If you look at the contents of the CD there will be two folders, called "1" and "2".
Windows 8 Professional is in folder 1 and Windows 8 is in folder 2 on my CD.
You can conform this by looking at the contents of the XML file which is with the folders.

It probably doesn't matter with the tasks, although some may only exist in the Pro version, but other files you may extract should be the ones for the right version of Windows 8 of course!
:)

Edited by Dave-H, 19 December 2012 - 06:52 AM.

Dual boot Windows 98SE SP2.1a and Windows XP Professional SP3.
Dual 3.2GHz Xeons with 4GB RAM. ATI Radeon X850 Graphics 1920x1080 32 Bit Colour with Large Fonts.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN