Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

10min boot with clean install

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
New here so first of Hi.

Just bought myself an ASUS UX32VD and it was running fine for about a week, installed AVG and some other programs (VLC, utorrent etc) computer still running fine. Then I decided to try Civilization V on it and had some issues installing it, finally got it working, at the same time windows updater and ASUS updater is running in background (extremely slow internet here) the next boot after this takes about ten minutes and the computer keeps freezing on easy tasks, VLC or Mozilla constantly.
What I've tried so far.

-Looking for driver updates, nothing found.
-Do a system restore to before the CIV 5 install, no change in performance
-Did a clean install of win7 with all of ASUS updates, still 10min boot
-replaced ram with a new 8gb one, still 10min boot
-replaced HDD with a 120gb SSD and made a new install of win7, still 10min boot.
-updated all the drivers from ASUS again, still 10min boot.

tried memory diagnostic tool, says no errors, tried running the windows experience index, but it fails to complete.
ran event viewer as some forum suggested... lots of errors, but how to fix???

about ready to tear my hair out or blow the laptop to pieces.
What else could possibly cause this boot time? Attached File  event log.jpg   337.54KB   19 downloads


edit: the UX32VD comes with a second SSD of 32gb, tried to initialize this in disk management, but only get the message "The drive cannot find the sector requested" it's not in the boot priority at all, I removed it to see if that helped, but no change, still wondering if this error can be connected somehow.

Edited by Deepshit, 04 December 2012 - 09:01 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,119 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

make a xbootmgr boot trace and provide the data:

http://www.msfn.org/...yresume-issues/
Posted Image

#3
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Been trying to install Windows Performance Tools Kit for hours, get a fail to install every time, tried to do it exactly the same way on my old laptop and worked with no issues.

#4
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,119 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

grab the MSI files from your laptop and use them to install the WPT.
Posted Image

#5
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I finally got the tool kit installed, followed the instructions for the command prompt and the computer rebooted... went to blue screen crash instead now, tried startup repair, but it just gets stuck at "checking for problems" let it run for about 2hrs and nothing happened, tried booting normal several times since, but still just get the blue screen. Do another clean install of win 7 and try again with the boot trace?

ok, I got it running in safe mode and managed to pull the files in /temp of it (60mb and 250mb) but when I tried to create a summary file it just says i got the wrong path, the file is called "boot_BASE+CSWITCH+DRIVERS+POWER_1_km_premerge" exactly how should the command line look like then? or should i send the files as they are? not sure if they are correct since the computer crashed during boot.

As a note here I'm currently working in East Timor and internet is extremely slow, two hours to upload this... http://www.filedropp...ower1kmpremerge
That is the first logfile I got, as I said not sure if it's corrupt or not. I'll get on with uploading the smaller one now.

Also decided to do yet another diskpart/clean and fresh win7 install to get rid of the blue screen error. Should I attempt another logfile?

Edited by Deepshit, 06 December 2012 - 12:18 AM.


#6
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,119 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Run the xbootmgr command without the DRIVERS flag, this is known to cause issues. The premerge files are useless.
Posted Image

#7
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
ok, just installed windows again on it, will download the tools and try again

taking forever, sry

Managed to get a logfile out http://www.filedropp...secswitchpower1
There's no drivers or anything installed at this point

Edited by Deepshit, 06 December 2012 - 04:27 AM.


#8
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,119 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

ok, starting your both SSDs takes extremely long:

- <phase name="bootStart" startTime="38" endTime="398449" duration="398411">
  <pnpObject name="IDE\DiskSanDisk_SSD_i100_32GB___________________11.50.00\5+2ed543ff+0+1.0.0" type="Device" activity="Start" startTime="2841" endTime="283250" duration="280409" prePendTime="280409" description="Disk drive" friendlyName="SanDisk SSD i100 32GB ATA Device" /> 
  <pnpObject name="IDE\DiskSanDisk_SSD_i100_32GB___________________11.50.00\5+2ed543ff+0+1.0.0" type="Device" activity="Enum" startTime="283250" endTime="323310" duration="40060" prePendTime="40060" description="Disk drive" friendlyName="SanDisk SSD i100 32GB ATA Device" /> 

the first one takes 283s and the second one 40s! This causes the long PreSMSS time of nearly 400s!!!!!!:

<interval name="PreSMSS" startTime="0" endTime="398863" duration="398863">

next, the session init takes also over 160s:

 <interval name="SMSSInit" startTime="398863" endTime="559569" duration="160706">

and this is caused by a long registry init time:

Attached File  reg_init.png   10.53KB   5 downloads

fix the SSD issue by installing the latest AHCI drivers and test again.
Posted Image

#9
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Ok, I'll try that, suspected the smaller SSD to be part of the problem since it refuses to initialize etc.. I'll try the updates though

#10
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Device manager says the drivers are up to date, been looking at Intels Web page too but couldn't find anything useful. Strange about the registry, all clean install so a regfixer probably wouldn't solve anything.

#11
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Still suspecting that 32gb SSD as a cause, can't initialize or anything else. Tried this command from different forum to make it ready to use, but as you can see no luck.
Attached File  diskpart.jpg   178.8KB   13 downloads

I will kep looking for a way to initialize that SSD, but feels like I've tried everything I could find. Really stuck on this, can usually solve issues or worst case a clean install fixes it, this is a new one for me.

#12
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Just realized that both of the SSDs you mention is the 32gb one... not sure if that could be related to the registry error as well... Not a computer guy really, but got a gut feeling the culprit is that 32gb... tried diasbling it in disk management but made no difference on boot time

#13
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,119 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

remove the SSD from the PC/laptop. Is it now fast again? if yes, the SSD is mabe broken. Buy a newer one like the Samsung 830 with 128GB so that you can install Win + Programs on it.
Posted Image

#14
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
It's soldered to the motherboard so no can't physically remove it. Diagnostic tool from SanDisk says it's fine though....

#15
mariog60187

mariog60187

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 18-February 07
You can try changing the settings of your bios to ide instead of ACHI.

#16
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Yeah, been searching day and night online for solutions, trying IDE was my next step. Righ now i downloaded EaseUS partition master and I'm trying a swipe/initialize/format on it. Been running for about an hour and I've got 1% of the swiping data done so far....
I'm going to leave home for the day and see where it's at tonight.

#17
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Just started having issues with the time it takes to boot my brand new Asus ux32vd. Problem seems to be related to the SanDisk SSD i100 32gb that's soldered to the motherboard. Tried clean command in prompt, tried initializing in disk management, but only says it can't find the volume. Ran SanDisk diagnostic tool and it says it's fine. Can't use it and causes a boot delay of 400 seconds though.
I've looked for driver updates in device manager, but says it's up to date. Running bios in ahci mode and the computer can find the drive. (removed it from boot order though)
Anyone else had this issue?

#18
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Aborted swipe and tried IDE, made the computer bluescreen immediately that the win logo showed up and go back to recommending startup repair.
Trying the swipe again as I'm out of ideas, keeping to 1% an hour though so will take a few days to get through and not so sure it'll help.
Might be a case of sending it back... although I'm still fairly sure it's not a hardware issue.

#19
mariog60187

mariog60187

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 18-February 07
If You change the bios for IDE instead aof achi, You need to reinstall windows

#20
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Ok, if this swipe does nothing that'll be my next step.

#21
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,958 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

This is an ultrabook! Your drive type should be set to RAID.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#22
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,958 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

The device you are speaking about is an M-SATA drive. As you posted in another thread, your notebook is this:
http://www.asus.com/...ZENBOOK_UX32VD/

That drive is supposed to have 2 partitions on it, one for RapidStart (partition size match the size of memory) as well as another partition for caching. I have only used mSATA drives that connect via the removable mSATA card, not one that is not-removable.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#23
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I was under the impression that ACHI had the raid function, read a guide on installing windows on the 32gb and it says set to ACHI.

#24
mariog60187

mariog60187

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 18-February 07
The only reason that I was telling You to change to IDE, is because use diferents drivers. In that way you could know if the drivers are causing your blue screen

#25
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You are supposed to be able to use that 32gb ssd for OS or storage instead though. Bit of a waste to use it as a hibernate storage, fast enough from sleep.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users