Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

10min boot with clean install

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#26
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,907 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I was under the impression that ACHI had the raid function, read a guide on installing windows on the 32gb and it says set to ACHI.


Well it may be confusing to me that you bought an Ultrabook which already had its 7 second boot/resume time certified, but then (pretty much) disabled all the Ultrabook features. Now you have a normal notebook (but with an mSATA drive in addition) and are suffering slow boot/resume times. So I guess do you want to restore the Ultrabook config or to just have a normal notebook? :unsure:
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,907 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

You might need to use Diskpart to make sure that there are no partitions left. There should have been 2 partitions on that disk, one for RapidStart and one for caching. The RapidStart partition may not be visible to you, and will have an ID of 84.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#28
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Don't care if it takes a few seconds extra to boot. With OS on the new ssd it would probably be faster anyway. Just want less than 10 min boot and access to the 32gb ssd.

#29
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Used clean command several times, waiting for partition master to finish its swipe, considering the time it's taking I'm assuming it's doing a "clean all" I know that's not good for a ssd, but since the only other option I have right now is sending it back...

#30
RJARRRPCGP

RJARRRPCGP

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,190 posts
  • Joined 13-April 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
10 minutes sounds more like Windows went to PIO mode because of ATA errors! I would replace your SATA cable and clear the CMOS.
Asus P5QL Pro, Core 2 Duo E4500, eVGA GeForce 9500 GT with XP Pro x64 Edition -> Works great with Asus P5QL Pro!

#31
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Not my own build, an ultrabook. Resumes fine from sleep, but not from cold start. As stated above all of the extra boot time seems to be because of that 32gb ssd soldered to the motherboard.

#32
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,907 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Still suspecting that 32gb SSD as a cause, can't initialize or anything else. Tried this command from different forum to make it ready to use, but as you can see no luck.


I will kep looking for a way to initialize that SSD, but feels like I've tried everything I could find. Really stuck on this, can usually solve issues or worst case a clean install fixes it, this is a new one for me.


Why did you specify to create an AF partition? You don't need to set an ID on it.

Looking at the teardown, we can see that the SSD is infact soldered to the board.
http://www.ifixit.co.../10120/2#s37426
If the diskpart error in fact means the ssd is bad, its a shame it cannot be removed or replaced.

I'm doing some other research and it is possible that the SSD is locked? I know you cleaned it. I would recommend using the Windows 7 install DVD and use the CMD.exe in it to attempt to create a partition on the SSD.

Also, others have had this problem as well it seems.
http://forum.noteboo...detected-2.html

Edited by Tripredacus, 12 December 2012 - 10:22 AM.
moved and merged topics

MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#33
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Trying some of the ideas on that other forum, swiping it did get it initialized somehow, but still no go on partition or change in boot time.

#34
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Ok, tried installing intel rapid storage technology as suggesedin the other forum Tripredacus linked to... suddenly changed to a 90s cold boot instead of 10min, still can't initialize the iSSD thoug, "due to I/O error...
Tried installing the intel rapid start technology as well, but says I don't have enough system requirement, suggested in different forum it was due to the RAM upgrade, 20gb needed for the rapid storage and 1gb per gb of ram. the 32gb disk says 29gb available and i have 10gb ram so...
Will run a boot trace when i get home and post it here in case someone better at this than me wants a look.
Sort of think I'll just give up on that 32gb and leave it be. Things seems stable.. not that I understand the issue though.

#35
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,575 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Possibly already checked/suggested, but is the SSD in GPT or in MBR "mode"? :unsure:
Compare with:
http://forum.noteboo...d-32gb-ssd.html

jaclaz

#36
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,907 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Possibly already checked/suggested, but is the SSD in GPT or in MBR "mode"? :unsure:
Compare with:
http://forum.noteboo...d-32gb-ssd.html

jaclaz


I didn't bothing bringing that up since in the previous posts it is clear that the OP used Diskpart to "clean" the drive. This should reset its drive type right? If it is a GPT disk from the factory, and he runs Clean command, the disk should not be anything right?
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#37
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,575 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I didn't bothing bringing that up since in the previous posts it is clear that the OP used Diskpart to "clean" the drive. This should reset its drive type right? If it is a GPT disk from the factory, and he runs Clean command, the disk should not be anything right?

The linked to tutorial seems to me like implying that this is not the case, that's why I thought to bring up the issue.
That tutorial in a nutshell says that if the "existing" disk/partition/filesystem is not "converted to MBR" when it is validly "formatted" (please take all the terms used in this sentence as "vague" and not exact) the only way is to intitiate an ATA Safe Erase:

Alternative method to convert the iSSD from GPT to MBR
Follow this guide: How to Secure Erase your SSD with Parted Magic
You will need the 6_19 version of the .iso or newer!
Proceed to Secure Erase the iSSD. Be very careful when doing this.
I've done this and it works perfectly.

which points to this other tutorial:
http://www.overclock...th-parted-magic
though essentially the same can be made with hdparm:
https://ata.wiki.ker...TA_Secure_Erase
surely from Linux, but most probably from a PE too, see:
http://reboot.pro/to...e-from-windows/
and possibly also from DOS using the (but DOS may have issues recognizing the disk drive/device):
http://cmrr.ucsd.edu...cureErase.shtml

jaclaz

#38
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,907 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

The linked to tutorial seems to me like implying that this is not the case, that's why I thought to bring up the issue.


It didn't seem right to me, but its easy enough to do a test. Now I do recall that WinPE 2.x diskpart operated a little differently, so perhaps it is knowledge leftover and not corrected. However, at least in WinPE 3 and 4 (x64) it is easy enough to test. I can confirm that if you use the CLEAN command on a GPT disk, it does indeed revert the disk back to MBR format, or at least it ceases to be GPT. Consider this result:

DISKPART> list disk

  Disk ###  Status         Size     Free     Dyn  Gpt
  --------  -------------  -------  -------  ---  ---
  Disk 0    Online           55 GB      0 B

DISKPART> sel disk 0

Disk 0 is now the selected disk.

DISKPART> clean

DiskPart succeeded in cleaning the disk.

DISKPART> convert gpt

DiskPart successfully converted the selected disk to GPT format.

DISKPART> list disk

  Disk ###  Status         Size     Free     Dyn  Gpt
  --------  -------------  -------  -------  ---  ---
* Disk 0    Online           55 GB    55 GB        *

DISKPART> clean

DiskPart succeeded in cleaning the disk.

DISKPART> list disk

  Disk ###  Status         Size     Free     Dyn  Gpt
  --------  -------------  -------  -------  ---  ---
* Disk 0    Online           55 GB    55 GB

DISKPART>

MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#39
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,575 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


The linked to tutorial seems to me like implying that this is not the case, that's why I thought to bring up the issue.


It didn't seem right to me, but its easy enough to do a test. Now I do recall that WinPE 2.x diskpart operated a little differently, so perhaps it is knowledge leftover and not corrected. However, at least in WinPE 3 and 4 (x64) it is easy enough to test. I can confirm that if you use the CLEAN command on a GPT disk, it does indeed revert the disk back to MBR format, or at least it ceases to be GPT. Consider this result:

Sure :), this is "logical" :thumbup but, I am afraid, "general/generic" :w00t: .
What I suspect is that the specific hardware the OP has *somehow* implements some non-standard features that (still *somehow*) "connect" the BIOS with the disk device and it's partitioning, at least this is what I can understand from the given links.
And still I have not seen any mention in the OP posts about having attempted the conversion using either Disk Manager or diskpart.from GPT to MBR.
In any case following to the letter that tutorial, that seemingly has worked for several users, cannot in any way make things "worse" than they are now.


jaclaz

#40
Swede

Swede

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 04-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, I tried the parted magic, downloaded and made a bootable USB, starts of ok, but just leads to a black screen.
Whatever the issue was it was fixed by installing the intel rapid storage driver. 90sec seems a bit long for cold boot, but it works, better than 10min at least. Everything else seems to be stable, no freezing or crashes at all.
Installed CIV V again and even that works, so doesnt seem like that was related to the issue either.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users