Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

New system

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
George27

George27

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
  • Joined 16-February 02
Hi, I could use some help in dotting the I's and crossing the T's. I want to swap out my board processor etc. with these:

GIGABYTE GA-F2A75M-D3H FM2 AMD A75 (Hudson D3) SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813128570

AMD A8-5600K Trinity 3.6GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) Socket FM2 100W Quad-Core Desktop APU (CPU + GPU) with DirectX 11 Graphic AMD Radeon HD 7560D AD560KWOHJBOX
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819113281

CORSAIR 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 Desktop Memory Model CMV8GX3M2A1600C11
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820233350

and this will go in my older Antec Sonata

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16811129155

There won't be any problems in this combo?

Thanks in advance.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,331 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
One might "assume" that if the OLD MoBo is MicroATX then it will mount. I guess you could ask yourself "will everything line up and fit just like the old one" (e.g. back-panel stuff, room for PSU, room for CPU/Cooler position).

You didn't say what the OLD board/CPU/Cooler is. Should we search the Forum for that or will you be so kind as to specify here?

"Will my Holly 4BBL 750Double-Pump fit on my 4BBL Intake?" <-get the idea?

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#3
George27

George27

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
  • Joined 16-February 02
It was an atx board but the but the Antec Sonata 2 from 2006~ chassis were machined for both atx and micro-atx. The board was an ASUS a8n5x (atx) / AMD Athlon 64 3500+. It is really an excellent case. I ran this setup maybe about an hour daily for about 2 1/2 ~ 3 years The power supply has under 2500 hours of use.

Edited by George27, 27 December 2012 - 01:35 PM.


#4
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,287 posts
  • Joined 23-November 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
The difference I see;
-"1 x 4-pin ATX 12V Power connector" on the old board,
-"1 x 8-pin ATX 12V power connector" on the new board.
I'm not sure your PSU has such a 8pin connector nor if there are any workaround to that.

#5
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,798 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I forget. Isn't the 8-bin ATX connector the same as (2) 4-pin ATC connectors side-by-side, assuming his PS has those, or am I thinking of something else?

Cheers and Regards

Posted Image


#6
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,913 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I forget. Isn't the 8-bin ATX connector the same as (2) 4-pin ATC connectors side-by-side, assuming his PS has those, or am I thinking of something else?

Cheers and Regards


I think the system will boot if you use the 4 pin in the 8 pin CPU power connector, but I am certain it has 8 pins for a reason. I do this often during testing, but never on a live production system. I would still recommend that the correct power supply is acquired, unless someone else has knowledge that such isn't required.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#7
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,798 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
What I meant was that a lot of Power Supply manufacturers nowadays supply (2) 4-pin connectors that are both supposed to be used side-by-side for motherboards that have an 8-pin connector. Cooler Master does this I know, that's what mine is, and the manual for it indicates this is true throughout the product series, if not for the product line. It's referred to as "4/8 pin ATX 12V for processor". Something like this:

Posted Image

But you are correct as well as also indicated in this excellent answer on SuperUser.com to the question "Can I safely use a PSU with an ATX 12v 4-pin for a board that has a EPS 12v 8-pin?" - http://superuser.com...-a-eps-12v-8-pi I won't quote the article here, but I will show one of the pics:

Posted Image

They also show two different types of adapters that are readily available, and not expensive, that can be used to supply power to all 8 pins of the 8-pin connector:

4-pin to 8-pin ATX 12V adapter

Posted Image

Molex to 8-pin adapter

Posted Image

So provided the OP's power supply provides adequate power, from a power supply point-of-view, the motherboard he was asking about should be fine. If the power supply he wanted to use is an older one, then he might want to read this - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ATX, particularly the section "Interchanging PSUs", which includes the warning:

Original ATX PSUs have power distribution designed for pre-P4/XP PCs. They lack the supplemental 4-pin 12-volt CPU power connector, so they most likely cannot be used with P4/XP or newer motherboards. Adapters do exist but power drain on the 12 V rail must be checked very carefully. There is a chance it can work without connecting the 4-pin 12 V connector, but caution is advised.


Cheers and Regards

Edited by bphlpt, 28 December 2012 - 11:23 AM.

Posted Image


#8
George27

George27

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
  • Joined 16-February 02
I called up gigabyte and they said unless I was to overclock that the 4pin on tthe Antec SmartPower 2.0 SP-450 450W ATX12V Power Supply (the tech said that the recommendation is between 400 to 500 watts) would be enough and even no adapter would be needed. I just was doing a quick look on some reviews on various different gigabyte boards and others were saying basically the same thing. Just to play it safe and my own piece of mind I will get this adapter.

Thanks Ponch and bphlpt this would have flown under the radar!

Edited by George27, 28 December 2012 - 11:06 AM.


#9
vipejc

vipejc

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 301 posts
  • Joined 03-February 11
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi, I could use some help in dotting the I's and crossing the T's. I want to swap out my board processor etc. with these:

GIGABYTE GA-F2A75M-D3H FM2 AMD A75 (Hudson D3) SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813128570

AMD A8-5600K Trinity 3.6GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) Socket FM2 100W Quad-Core Desktop APU (CPU + GPU) with DirectX 11 Graphic AMD Radeon HD 7560D AD560KWOHJBOX
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819113281

CORSAIR 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 Desktop Memory Model CMV8GX3M2A1600C11
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820233350

and this will go in my older Antec Sonata

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16811129155

There won't be any problems in this combo?

Thanks in advance.


George, that system is compatible from the info you provided. As for possible pitfalls, you'll just need to buy your parts and learn through trial and error. Without seeing things like your case's screw hole locations and all the other gotchas, I can't give you a definite answer. I hardly ever make system adjustments. I just bought a new Cooler Master case to replace the drab Compaq case I've used 8 years, and while I got almost everything right in one go, the case manual was AWFUL. I had to draw custom diagrams and make educated guesses. I will never ever make another change to my computer. The manufacturers are way too stupid and I'm not killing myself trying to make sense of it all.

Edited by vipejc, 29 December 2012 - 09:33 PM.

There's no such thing as a dumb computer question. Each of us interprets info differently. - Me




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users