Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Ad-Aware Pro v6 Build 181 silent

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#1
mazin

mazin

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,952 posts
  • Joined 12-January 04
First of all, I should thank guys whose contributions were very useful. Though helpful, each method of theirs had its own pitfall. This is why I compiled this method which I hope it's a smooth trouble-free one.

You may have a look at their contributions here:
http://unattended.ms...ns/adaware6.htm
http://www.msfn.org/...showtopic=14851
http://www.msfn.org/...showtopic=14323

These are the steps:

1. Download the file "sleep.zip" from the link below.

http://unattended.ms...files/sleep.zip

2. Create a folder inside your "Install" folder, and name it AAwP6181

3. Inside the folder "AAwP6181", put these files:

AdAware.exe --> the installation program renamed for simplicity
adaware.js --> a modified JavaScript file written originally by brent24
prefs.ini --> it's yours at C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-aware 6\
reflist.ref --> updated file downloadable from here.
sleep.exe --> extracted from step 1

This is what's written in adaware.js (replace the ####### with your password):

function getWin(win, inc)
{
var cntr = 0;
while (!WshShell.AppActivate(win))
{
if (cntr==12) return true;
cntr++;
WScript.Sleep(inc);
}
return true;
}
var WshShell = new ActiveXObject("WScript.Shell");
var oExec = WshShell.Exec("AdAware.exe /s");
while (oExec.Status == 0)
{
WScript.Sleep(500);
getWin("Password", 3000);
WshShell.SendKeys ("#######");
WScript.Sleep(500);
WshShell.SendKeys ("{ENTER}");
}
WScript.quit();

This is your batch file:

cls
@echo off
ECHO.
ECHO Installing Ad-Aware Pro v6 Build 181
ECHO Please wait...
Copy %systemdrive%\Install\AAwP6181\sleep.exe %systemroot%\
Copy %systemdrive%\Install\AAwP6181\AdAware.exe %systemdrive%\
Copy %systemdrive%\Install\AAwP6181\adaware.js %systemdrive%\
sleep 1
CD %systemdrive%\
Start %systemdrive%\adaware.js
sleep 9
Copy /y "%systemdrive%\Install\AAwP6181\reflist.ref" "%systemdrive%\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-aware 6\"
Copy "%systemdrive%\Install\AAwP6181\prefs.ini" "%systemdrive%\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-aware 6\"
Del %systemdrive%\adaware.js
Del %systemdrive%\AdAware.exe
ECHO.
ECHO Shell Integration and Shortcut Deletion
REG ADD "HKCR\Drive\shell\Scan with Ad-aware...\Command" /ve /t REG_SZ /d "\"%systemdrive%\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-aware 6\Ad-aware.exe\" \"%%1\" \"+SD\"" /f
REG ADD "HKCR\Directory\shell\Scan with Ad-aware...\Command" /ve /t REG_SZ /d "\"%systemdrive%\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-aware 6\Ad-aware.exe\" \"%%1\" \"+SD\"" /f
del "%USERSPROFILE%\Desktop\Ad-aware 6.0.lnk"
del "%USERSPROFILE%\Desktop\Ad-watch 3.0.lnk"
exit

Note:

Ad-Aware uses internal calculator to check the password you type to install it. It never keeps that password in any place on your computer.
So, don't waste time searching for a registry value or a file hidden here or there. No way!

The file "prefs.ini" is automatically created by Ad-Aware on the first use. It will be automatically modified every time you change the program's settings or do a new scan.
Therefore, do a complete configuration for the program before you copy that file into your unattended CD.

For more information about Plugins:
http://www.msfn.org/...ndpost&p=129555
For more information about Languages:
http://www.msfn.org/...ndpost&p=129612
For more information about setting the default language:
http://www.msfn.org/...ndpost&p=149608
For more information about shell integration:
http://www.msfn.org/...ndpost&p=149437

My "prefs.ini" is uploaded for you, if you happen to need one.

Attached Files


Posted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Shark007

Shark007

    Repackaging Specialist

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,154 posts
  • Joined 07-January 04
a simple method ...

copy over a current installed working version including the latest ref file
execute the exe.

done.


Shark007

When posting about an issue in the codec thread,
please state what Operating System you use.


#3
WwTIPPYwW

WwTIPPYwW

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Joined 15-February 04
sweet - that works great!

NOTE - I dropped the sleep time to 200 and it still worked - box pops up - password entered - and then disappears.


Wonder if installer can be configured to downloaded the newest reflist.ref file automatically? Anyone know how to do that?

#4
WwTIPPYwW

WwTIPPYwW

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Joined 15-February 04
also - if SLEEP is put into \$OEM$\$$\System32 folder on the cd, then it
isn't needed in this package and can be used without fully qualifying it.

FYI - WwTIPPYwW

#5
mazin

mazin

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,952 posts
  • Joined 12-January 04
For putting sleep into the $OEM$, it's right and tested.
About the sleep time, it depends. I just make precautions for any slowness probability.
I hope to have other thoughts like yours, so we can make improvements.
Thanks.
Posted Image

#6
Aaron

Aaron

    The MSFN Banana

  • Patrons
  • 5,767 posts
  • Joined 17-August 01
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
If you're familiar with win32 wget, you may be able to use that to download reflist.zip via a batch file (wget http://url/to/reflist.zip) if wget is copied to the system32 directory. Although you'll need to find a way to auto-extract the zip itself.

#7
bombtrack

bombtrack

    boooom

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Joined 02-January 04

First of all, I should thank guys whose contributions were very useful.

i cant believe it :) the first time i thread of mine got quoted :rolleyes:

and thanks for making this much better method out of my and other threads
Posted Image

#8
bombtrack

bombtrack

    boooom

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Joined 02-January 04

If you're familiar with win32 wget, you may be able to use that to download reflist.zip via a batch file (wget http://url/to/reflist.zip) if wget is copied to the system32 directory. Although you'll need to find a way to auto-extract the zip itself.

OH MY GOD wget is awesome!!!!!

ok guys download wget: WGET

Extract its contents to C:\XPCD\$OEM$\$$\system32\
(so that wget is in c:\xpcd\$oem$\$$\system32\wget.exe)

Google for pkunzip and extract it to C:\XPCD\$OEM$\$$\system32\
(so that pkunzip is in c:\xpcd\$oem$\$$\system32\pkunzip.exe)

Download "ssleay32.dll" and "libeay32.dll" HERE and extract them to
C:\XPCD\$OEM$\$$\system32\
(these 2 files are also often in your flashfxp folder, you can use them, just copy them to the C:\XPCD\$OEM$\$$\system32\ directory)

Follow mazins guide as written in his post above (first post...) and create your .JS file, but remove anything that has to to with the ref file, since we now have wget that downlaods an up to date version of reflist.ref upon every installation of windows.

add this to your batch files that executes the .JS file (the batch file need to run the .js file first though). so it would look something like this
%systemdrive%\path\aaw.js
wget http://www.lavasoft.de/update/refs/reflist.zip
pkunzip -o -e reflist.zip
del /F reflist.zip
copy /Y reflist.ref "%programfiles%\Lavasoft\Ad-aware 6\reflist.ref"
del /F reflist.ref
but im not sure about that .JS line, since i never use .JS files

NOTE:

im not sure if this works, but it might, follows aarons guide on using RunOnceEX from CD then the .JS file might be able to work with the %CDROM% environtment variable
--
this is the best adaware thread that there ever was on msfn :) lol
Posted Image

#9
urie

urie

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 519 posts
  • Joined 30-July 03
Hi there,
could someone please tell me where i put the batch file for adaware to run the silent install is it in the start.cmd or RunOnceEx.cmd and also is it saved as a .bat or .cmd

any help would be greatly appreciated this is my first attemp at installing programs, i am reading the unattended cd guide but the way adaware is installed in the guide is not the same.

#10
bombtrack

bombtrack

    boooom

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Joined 02-January 04
in the guide is the "free" version of adaware, we are talking about the payware version, just keep reading the unattended guide, i dont kow anybody who does not understand where to put their batch files, or how they are executed.

checkk this page it "should" help you

http://unattended.ms...ch_commands.htm
Posted Image

#11
WwTIPPYwW

WwTIPPYwW

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Joined 15-February 04
bombtrack - thanks - it worked....

I left the updater from the original instruction in there, since an internet connection might not be available at install. (I assume an error will occur in your steps).

Now - if I could get NAV2004 to update too...

#12
mazin

mazin

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,952 posts
  • Joined 12-January 04
WwTIPPYwW

How many times have you tried bombtrack's way of getting the updated file "reflist.ref"?

I've found a way for connecting to the Internet while in unattended mode of Windows installation. I'm still testing it, but it may work.

So, if you repeated bombtrack's way more than once with no errors, please let me know.
Posted Image

#13
mazin

mazin

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,952 posts
  • Joined 12-January 04
bombtrack

I tried your way of Wget and I got this:

--00:35:34-- http://www.lavasoft....efs/reflist.zip
=> `reflist.zip'
Resolving www.lavasoft.de... 66.117.38.101
Connecting to www.lavasoft.de|66.117.38.101|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 463,558 [application/zip]

100%[====================================>] 463,558 4.49K/s ETA 00:00

00:37:31 (3.93 KB/s) - `reflist.zip' saved [463558/463558]


PKUNZIP ® FAST! Extract Utility Version 2.50 03-01-1999
Copr. 1989-1999 PKWARE Inc. All Rights Reserved. Shareware Version
PKUNZIP Reg. U.S. Pat. and Tm. Off.

?¡ Pentium III class CPU detected.
?¡ XMS version 2.00 detected.
?¡ DPMI version 0.90 detected.

Searching ZIP: REFLIST.ZIP
Inflating: reflist.ref
1 file(s) copied.
Press any key to continue . . .

It was amazing as you can see!

But when I tried it again, it didn't work. Do you have suggestions?

Thanks.
Posted Image

#14
WwTIPPYwW

WwTIPPYwW

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Joined 15-February 04

WwTIPPYwW

How many times have you tried bombtrack's way of getting the updated file "reflist.ref"?

I've found a way for connecting to the Internet while in unattended mode of Windows installation. I'm still testing it, but it may work.

So, if you repeated bombtrack's way more than once with no errors, please let me know.

i've tried it a couple times - seems to be fine. maybe I'm missing any errors.

or the point that I do it - the NIC is already loaded and at times yours isn't?

Seems to work.

#15
hajj_3

hajj_3

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Joined 17-March 04
i put this in my .bat file, when i execute it i get the following error message:

Script: C:\adaware.js
Line: 13
Char: 1
Error: The system cannot find the file specified.

Code: 80070002
Source: WshShell.Exec

i used the code you had on the previous page to make the .js file, i copied and pasted the contents and replace the *** with my password and saved it in notepad to adaware.js.

why does the error messange say c:\adaware.js not found, shouldnt it be c:\install\adaware.js ?

#16
hajj_3

hajj_3

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Joined 17-March 04
i managed to get this to work by changing:

Start %systemdrive%\adaware.js

to

Start %systemdrive%\Install\AAwP6181\adaware.js

as the adaware.js file isnt on the root drive its in c:\install\AAwP6181\

note i am running this from my harddrive, will they work once its on the cd ?

#17
mazin

mazin

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,952 posts
  • Joined 12-January 04
Have you renamed the program to AdAware.exe and put it in C:\ ?
Posted Image

#18
hajj_3

hajj_3

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Joined 17-March 04
i have renamed it, but havent put it in the c:\ due to it will go in the install directory like all of the other programs.

#19
mazin

mazin

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,952 posts
  • Joined 12-January 04
For you convenience, if you put those two files in a place other than C:\, the JS won't work.

I mean the ROOT, i.e., C:\ or D:\ or whatever.
Posted Image

#20
ZoSTeR

ZoSTeR

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 227 posts
  • Joined 04-November 03
Here's a script for creating a setup with Inno Setup.

Install Inno Setup.
Install Ad-aware.
Install the latest Ad-Aware ref-file. (optional)
Put the script (ad_aware.iss) into your Ad-aware program folder.
Compile the script. (Double click the ad_aware.iss file , then select Build->Compile)
You now have a setup.exe in the output folder.

You can install it with /VERYSILENT

Ad-aware doesn't write anything into the registry so it's quite straight forward.

Attached Files



#21
mazin

mazin

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,952 posts
  • Joined 12-January 04
I'm going to check it soon.
Posted Image

#22
holyone

holyone

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 02-April 04
When i try to install the Ad-Aware with the instructions of mazin...
And i geting:
Windows XP setup: "Please go the Control Panel to install and configure system components"
.....
What may be the problem?

#23
WwTIPPYwW

WwTIPPYwW

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Joined 15-February 04

"Please go the Control Panel to install and configure system components"

java not working?

trying to get to the internet?

just some guesses.

#24
dare2001

dare2001

    Bring Back The 80's

  • Member
  • 43 posts
  • Joined 18-August 03

Here's a script for creating a setup with Inno Setup.

Install Inno Setup.
Install Ad-aware.
Install the latest ref-file.
Put the script into your Ad-aware program folder.
Compile it. (Double click, Build->Compile)
You now have a setup.exe in the output folder.

You can install it with /VERYSILENT

Ad-aware doesn't write anything into the registry so it's quite straight forward.

I have just tried it and finally a proper install without the password box.
Great job in letting us know about this way of installing it. :)
Kiss My Grass

#25
mazin

mazin

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,952 posts
  • Joined 12-January 04
Yes, it's a great job made by ZoSteR.

You can go to this link for more information:

http://www.msfn.org/...opic=17540&st=0

I guess WwTIPPYwW is right. I haven't had such a message before.
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users