Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Line 2: Char: 1 Invalid character

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1
uphold2001

uphold2001

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 02-January 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
So, I've got a number of items that are installed prior to the first reboot by WPI, and it seems that no matter the combination of apps (I could install one, maybe two apps), it would invariably need a restart, and then I get this odd error:

Title: Internet Explorer Script Error
An error has occurred in the script on this page

Line: 2
Char: 1
Error: Invalid character
Code: 0
URL: file://server/share/wpi/common/installer.hta

Do you want to continue running scripts on this page?

Just curious if anyone else has seen this - I'm new to WPI troubleshooting, and am not sure where to start.

Thanks everyone!
Rob


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,867 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
is the server connection lost during reboot?

Can you copy that main wpi folder to the end machine via server during the first process?

#3
uphold2001

uphold2001

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 02-January 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes - this would be a wireless laptop primarily (although I'll test it with a wired connection). Does WPI processing occur before Wireless Zero Configuration takes over?

I'm mainly pulling most of my installations via remote server shares - would this be a problem, or should I focus on making all my resources available in the WPI folder, and maybe have them on a removable hard disk? I'm just trying to keep all the installation source folders pointing to our network just in case the MSI's need to repair themselves.

Thanks!

Edited by uphold2001, 03 January 2013 - 08:21 AM.


#4
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,867 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes wpi would take effect before wireless...

#5
uphold2001

uphold2001

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 02-January 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Ok, I'll try and do this with a wired laptop next and will report back my results!

Thank you!

#6
uphold2001

uphold2001

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 02-January 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hmm...OK, so I tried a laptop using a wired connection. Got the same error after reboot. I killed mshta.exe then re-ran WPI, and continued the prior installation routine. Got the same error again. What do I need to share with you here to troubleshoot this?

Thanks!

#7
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,867 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
ok here is what i should need:

A finished WPI log.
Your userfiles folder
A screenshot of the error.
The WPI log after a reboot and killing mshta but before restarting WPI.

The basic specs of the system and OS. Also is this on a system that has a AV\Malware running at anytime? Or a completely clean install?

#8
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Try to change inside Installer.hta on line 52 (first letter with uppercaseletter: I)

position="Installer.hta";

Share the folders asked by Kels and let us know the results. Thanks
For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#9
uphold2001

uphold2001

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 02-January 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I'll try and get this to you today or tomorrow - gotta rebuild the laptop again (bad encryption software install)...

#10
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Did you make changes to the file Installer.hta?
For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#11
uphold2001

uphold2001

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 02-January 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

ok here is what i should need:

A finished WPI log.
Your userfiles folder
A screenshot of the error.
The WPI log after a reboot and killing mshta but before restarting WPI.

The basic specs of the system and OS. Also is this on a system that has a AV\Malware running at anytime? Or a completely clean install?


Ok - I have FINALLY gotten back to this and have replicated the error.


Clicking 'yes' to the installer.hta "invalid character" error brings up the next one: "'programs[...].cat' is null or not an object"...I think clicking 'no' does the same thing.

It seems like the wpi_log during the error and after the reboot didn't change. See attached zip file (I've sterilized the logfiles so our server names have changed)...

---couldn't really get a proper screenshot since I wasn't at the desktop yet, so...---

Attached Files


Edited by uphold2001, 22 January 2013 - 10:41 AM.


#12
uphold2001

uphold2001

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 02-January 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Did you make changes to the file Installer.hta?


I did - but I think the latest update overwrote that...

I'll double check with another tablet shortly.

I have been running these with wired connections and still get the same error, FYI!

#13
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks!

Keep this code inside Installer.hta

<style type="text/css">
 img, div, input, span { behavior: url("../WPIScripts/iepngfix.htc") }
</style>

Regards

*Edit:
It's not needed to change this script and the error was trying to make changes inside Installer.hta

Regards

Edited by myselfidem, 27 January 2013 - 01:36 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#14
uphold2001

uphold2001

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 02-January 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks!

However, maybe there is some trouble with IE7 and maybe it's needed to improve inside Installer.hta the line 62:

<style type="text/css">
 img, div, input, span { behavior: url("../WPIScripts/iepngfix.htc") }
</style>
As test I changed like this, but I'm NOT sure it's OK. Not tested on Windows XP and IE7.
Tested on my computer Windows 7 x86 without issue!

<script type="text/javascript">
//    if (lt IE 7)
    strFile=wpipath+"\\WPIScripts\\iepngfix.htc";
 //   {behavior: url("../WPIScripts/iepngfix.htc") };
</script>

It's an idea. Thanks Kels to check if the trouble is about this script !

Regards


Ok, I should have another test running soon, I'll let you know - thanks so much for the response!

#15
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Maybe that can help about error 1641 (a reboot is needed) with: Sharepoint Designer\2007\setup.exe

Office IT blog pro

*Edit: I updated my previous post about Installer.hta. It's not needed to change the script !
Regards

Edited by myselfidem, 27 January 2013 - 01:41 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users