Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How to install LIPSetup.msi file from cmdlines.txt?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1
rigorous

rigorous

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 31-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I wanted to install a LIP through cmdlines.txt but without success. Before and after that I tried with Google but there's no information related with this problem.
It is a little bit strange because this procedure is rather important in creating of unattended installations.

I've created a lp folder inside of $OEM$ and put there my lip file. I hoped that it is possible to do that with the following command: ".\lp\setup.msi /passive /norestart"

any suggestion?

Edited by rigorous, 25 January 2013 - 07:50 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Yzöwl

Yzöwl

    Wise Owl

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,557 posts
  • Joined 13-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Read this!

#3
rigorous

rigorous

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 31-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Read this!


Thank you for the help, Yzöwl, but I've already read msiexec syntax from another site.

Well... my cmdlines.txt now looks like this way:

"msiexec/i .\lp\setup.msi /passive /norestart"

As the first, sorry, I didn't mention msiexec command in my 1st post here :)
As the second, I added /i switch, but my language pack refused to install.again.

I removed /passive /norestart switches to check what;s going on there and I've got this error:

The installation package could not be opened. Verify that the package exist and that you can access it, or contact the application vendor... bla bla...


According to this message my path isn't correct

.\lp\setup.msi

But it looks fine to me :)

#4
gunsmokingman

gunsmokingman

    MSFN Master

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,421 posts
  • Joined 02-August 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Perhaps try puttimg the msi in the same folder as the cmdlines.txt is located, then change the cmdline to below


setup.msi /passive /norestart


GunSmokingMan



#5
Yzöwl

Yzöwl

    Wise Owl

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,557 posts
  • Joined 13-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Have you read 'The Guide'?

#6
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
It's needed to take care with the spaces and specify the full path !

Example with WPI:

cmds[pn]=['"%WPIPath%\\Install\\ITunes\\SetupAdmin.exe"','msiexec.exe /i "%WPIPath%\\Install\\ITunes\\iTunes.msi" /qn','msiexec.exe /i "%WPIPath%\\Install\\ITunes\\QuickTime.msi" /qn','msiexec.exe /i "%WPIPath%\\Install\\ITunes\\AppleSoftwareUpdate.msi" /qn','msiexec.exe /i "%WPIPath%\\Install\\ITunes\\AppleMobileDeviceSupport.msi" /qn','msiexec.exe /i "%WPIPath%\\Install\\ITunes\\Bonjour.msi" /qn'];

Or:

msiexec.exe /i "%SystemDrive%\Install\ITunes\iTunes.msi" /qn

Edited by myselfidem, 21 January 2013 - 03:53 PM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#7
rigorous

rigorous

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 31-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Perhaps try puttimg the msi in the same folder as the cmdlines.txt is located, then change the cmdline to below

setup.msi /passive /norestart


Well you're right. After I pun my LIP directly into $OEM$ folder, installation started at T-12 but when it finished, I've got an error message.

#8
rigorous

rigorous

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 31-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Have you read 'The Guide'?


as you can see, my syntax was in accordance with guidelines :-/

#9
rigorous

rigorous

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 31-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

It's needed to take care with the spaces and specify the full path !

Example with WPI:

cmds[pn]=['"%WPIPath%\\Install\\ITunes\\SetupAdmin.exe"','msiexec.exe /i "%WPIPath%\\Install\\ITunes\\iTunes.msi" /qn','msiexec.exe /i "%WPIPath%\\Install\\ITunes\\QuickTime.msi" /qn','msiexec.exe /i "%WPIPath%\\Install\\ITunes\\AppleSoftwareUpdate.msi" /qn','msiexec.exe /i "%WPIPath%\\Install\\ITunes\\AppleMobileDeviceSupport.msi" /qn','msiexec.exe /i "%WPIPath%\\Install\\ITunes\\Bonjour.msi" /qn'];

Or:

msiexec.exe /i "%SystemDrive%\Install\ITunes\iTunes.msi" /qn


Thank you for your post.

Now, I'm afraid that it isn't possible to install language pack (not MUI but LIP) to the XP at all!
I've found an old post here that it is impossible to install them but I can't understand why... LIP is the same thing as any other .msi file...

#10
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes, it's possible! But now I see that all Microsoft's links are removed about explaination to integrate LIP on Windows XP!

I found french documentation, and used to install MUI French language pack successfully (process is not the same), but I don't remember where !

1 - LIP kits languages can be installed only with 32bit Windows XP version, but they can't be installed on a computer who have MUI language pack already installed or previously installed !

2 - We can install only ONE LIP. I we want install another LIP we must uninstall the one previously installed

3 - Copy the CD-ROM files LIP inside a subfolder:

%DistributionFolder%\OPKTools\Updates\LIP

4 - Preinstall application:

msiexec /i \\server_name\\OpkTools\LIP\MUISETUP.EXE /q

%WINDIR%\mui\fallback\LCID\profupd.exe /l LCID_value

5 - LCID_value and language:
0402 = Bulgare
0403 = Catalan
041a = Croate
0425 = Estonien
0439 = Hindi
0426 = Letton
0427 = Lituanien
0418 = Roumain
0c1a = Serbe (cyrillique)
081a = Serbe (latin)
041e = Thaï
0422 = Ukrainien
------------------------

0424 = Slovène  *
041b = Slovaque  *

This method create the section below inside:

Winbom.ini
[OemRunOnce]
"PackageName1","msiexec /i \\server\\OpkTools\Updates\LIP\MUISETUP.EXE\LIPSetup.msi /q"
"PackageName2","c:\windows\mui\fallback\LCID_value\profupd.exe /l LCID_value"

For Slovène and Slovaque LIP (*)

msiexec /i \\server_name\\OpkTools\Updates\LIP\MUISETUP.EXE /l LCID_value /s /r

This method create the section below inside:

Winbom.ini
[OemRunOnce]
"PackageName1","msiexec /i \\server\\OpkTools\Updates\LIP\MUISETUP.EXE /l LCID_value /s /r"

LIP will be installed with "Audit mod"

HTH

Edited by myselfidem, 22 January 2013 - 08:01 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#11
rigorous

rigorous

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 31-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
myselfidem...

There's a difference between MUI and LIP.
LIP is- Language Interface Pack
It isn't completely the same as MUI (Multilingual User Interface)

If you check your examples you'll see that we're working with MUISETUP.EXE. In my case it is a setup.msi.
I found things which you mentioned here but I didn't check them because I'm a little bit suspicious from the reason mentioned above.

There's no "LIP files" in my case. It is only one file, setup.msi.

I simply can't understand that this topic wasn't interesting many years ago.

regards

Edited by rigorous, 22 January 2013 - 06:40 AM.


#12
rigorous

rigorous

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 31-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm afraid that I'll have to swap original files manually.

When we extract setup.msi, we can see next folders:

CommonFilesFolder
ProgramFilesFolder
System32
Windows

It is not a big problem to convert some well known files into CAB archives and change original english language files but I don't know what to do with (for exapmle) *.dll.mui files from $$\Windows\mui\Fallback\0c1a

#13
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

myselfidem...

There's a difference between MUI and LIP.
LIP is- Language Interface Pack
It isn't completely the same as MUI (Multilingual User Interface)

If you check your examples you'll see that we're working with MUISETUP.EXE. In my case it is a setup.msi.

Yes I know there is a difference between MUI and LIP and if you read carefully I explain that (the process is not the same) !

I translated (verbatim) the French documentation to English to give you some help.

It seems MUISETUP.EXE is included with original CD LIP !

Frequently Asked Questions

Based on MUI technology, LIP provides the desktop user with an approximately 80% localized user experience by translating a reduced set of user interface (UI) elements. LIP is installed on a licensed copy of Windows and has a dependency on a base Language Pack of Windows.


Windows XP Language Interface Pack

Language packs

Edited by myselfidem, 22 January 2013 - 07:24 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#14
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
For your LIP: 0c1a Serbe (cyrillique) LIPSetup.msi

Српски (ћирилица) интерфејс пакет за оперативни систем Windows® XP

Requieres Genuine validation !

Update for Windows XP SP2

Edited by myselfidem, 22 January 2013 - 07:48 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#15
rigorous

rigorous

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 31-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes I know there is a difference between MUI and LIP and if you read carefully I explain that (the process is not the same) !

I translated (verbatim) the French documentation to English to give you some help.

It seems MUISETUP.EXE is included with original CD LIP !

Frequently Asked Questions



I've seen that but I wanted to explain for others because this is frequent mistake. People think that it is the same thing.

Edited by rigorous, 22 January 2013 - 08:11 AM.


#16
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You will find MUISETUP.EXE (MUISETUP.EX_) inside your Windows XP CD inside I386 folder.
This one will be used with LIPSetup.msi for silent install.

This is not the same given for MUI language packs !

Edited by myselfidem, 22 January 2013 - 08:50 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#17
rigorous

rigorous

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 31-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

You will find MUISETUP.EXE (MUISETUP.EX_) inside your Windows XP CD inside I386 folder.
This one will be used with LIPSetup.msi for silent install.

This is not the same given for MUI language packs !


What does you mean?
Tou want to say that at T-12 Windows installer will start MIUSETUP.EXE from uor cmdlines.txt?

You wrote:
http://www.msfn.org/...ost__p__1027673

3 - Copy the CD-ROM files LIP inside a subfolder:

%DistributionFolder%\OPKTools\Updates\LIP


As you know, we have only a .msi file which we can extraxt and that's all.
Do you think that extracted files would be OK?

#18
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, I never tried to install LIP on Windows XP.

I think it's needed to use sysprep on the computer to use the methods given above!

Sorry, I can't give more help because I never use to integrate LIP on Windows XP.

Maybe some other members can give you a better answer about the silent installation with LIP ?
For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#19
rigorous

rigorous

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 31-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Well, I never tried to install LIP on Windows XP.

I think it's needed to use sysprep on the computer to use the methods given above!

Sorry, I can't give more help because I never use to integrate LIP on Windows XP.

Maybe some other members can give you a better answer about the silent installation with LIP ?


I intended to do that 7-8 years ago but as you can see, I didn't )))
Thank you to the shown will to help, buddy!
I hope that I'll find somebody who had the same problems. In any case, as the last solution, I'll try to integrate LIP files directly into OS system files.

#20
rigorous

rigorous

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 31-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It is interesting that I couldn't find any file inside this .msi bundle which could explain to installer where to store files inside XP Windows directory.

#21
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
However you can install LIPSetup.msi after Windows XP silent installation is done !
For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#22
rigorous

rigorous

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 31-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

However you can install LIPSetup.msi after Windows XP silent installation is done !


Yes, of course, I can.
I don't know why but at T-12 installation starts, finishes up to the end and rollbacks after that.

#23
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Because this can't be installed at T-12 like this !
Like at shared it's needed to install with Audit mod and it's made by OEM manufacturers!

*Edit: And I think Windows XP must have an preactivated valid key !

Edited by myselfidem, 23 January 2013 - 08:01 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#24
rigorous

rigorous

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 31-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Because this can't be installed at T-12 like this !
Like at shared it's needed to install with Audit mod and it's made by OEM manufacturers!

*Edit: And I think Windows XP must have an preactivated valid key !



what do you think about direct embedding of LIP files into installation disk? It isn't a big problem for some files like .DL_
As I told before, I hoped to find a file inside .msi which will explain to installer where to put some files. I have no idea how msinstall.exe can install these files without any instruction :-/

#25
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I have already look files inside LIPSetup.msi and there is no files to explain silent installation !
I look inside various LIPSetup.msi language files and there is no explainations.

I know you want absolutely install LIPSetup.msi at T-12, but I think you must use first sysprep on your computer with the commands given previously!
HTH
For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users