Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Aero Glass for Win8 RC4


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
2630 replies to this topic

#426
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 234 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Tusticles: look, I have not solution for you yet. But since you said that the problem stays even after DWM hook shutdown, it means that your computer/GPU has poor performance to handle layered windows correctly. I have implemented a small thing to not blend certain layered windows and I am not going to fix it more, because the layered windows are not the priority.


Poor performance? I have an ASUS G75VW, i7 3610QM, GTX 670M, 12GB RAM... :unsure:


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#427
drakenabarion

drakenabarion

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 12-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I got the new test upload working with the following Registry settings. For them to work well, it needs "UseDirect2DRendering" = 1. However, if one needs to drop back to the 0.3 version, they need to set that to 0 instead.

Seems to work fine right now. There is some Trailing if you move an active window over an inactive window. I cant screenshot that however (doesnt show up).

Attached Files


Edited by drakenabarion, 27 February 2013 - 11:23 AM.


#428
kyolic

kyolic

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 20-February 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Yes it works but there is considerable amount of lag when minimizing windows.


In 0.4 or in that private build?



Private build but it is fine now after a restart. No lag at all.

#429
vjott

vjott

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 59 posts
  • Joined 25-January 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag




Adding that registry key and value does not work for me. Everything opaque.

you could try also different values - e.g. 0x9100 or 0x9200.

0x9100 works for me - other 2 values do not


It finally works. Using version 0.4 (without the 2 files you posted) it works fine by setting DeviceFeatureLevel to 0x9100

#430
AlexKven

AlexKven

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag




Adding that registry key and value does not work for me. Everything opaque.

you could try also different values - e.g. 0x9100 or 0x9200.

0x9100 works for me - other 2 values do not


It finally works. Using version 0.4 (without the 2 files you posted) it works fine by setting DeviceFeatureLevel to 0x9100


That is also my configuration, 0.4 with 0x9100. So, Bigmuscle, what does setting it to 0x9300, 0x9200, 0x9100 even do, and would setting it to 0x9000, 0x8900, and 0x9400 be something to recommend to those that still have problems?

#431
AlexKven

AlexKven

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I am testing preview 4 on battery. My laptop is weird. It usually gets 1.5 hours of battery life if I'm lucky, but sometimes it randomly does 2 hours. When I opened it with aero glass, it was at 88% with 62 minutes remaining. Then after checking it periodically it went like this:
62 mins (88%)
44 mins
54 mins
34 mins
40 mins
38 mins
33 mins
34 mins (54%)

My laptop is the weirdest thing in the world, in case you haven't figured it out from the numbers above (which are listed in order from first to last). In the past (preview 1, 2, and 3), I considered using this with a battery a no-no, because it totally robbed battery life, but now it is a bit doable. Someone with a stronger battery might want to run a proper test with this but it looks promising.

#432
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,090 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

That is also my configuration, 0.4 with 0x9100. So, Bigmuscle, what does setting it to 0x9300, 0x9200, 0x9100 even do, and would setting it to 0x9000, 0x8900, and 0x9400 be something to recommend to those that still have problems?


This settings specifies which set of Direct3D features should be used. For more information you should refer to http://msdn.microsof...f476329(v=vs.85).aspx but at this time I can't really say whether it makes some feature/performance difference in DWM when using lower feature level than your graphic card supports. The previous versions used Direct3D debug mode which probably automatically enabled the feature which I need for glass rendering. Although Win8 Desktop Window Manager creates Direct3D 11.0 device, it still uses v10.1 to render windows and borders - but this probably does not happen for some feature levels. I need to study this problem more deeply.
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#433
pengipete

pengipete

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 05-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

pengipete: it only seems that active borders are opaque, they are still transparent but not much. In Direct3D mode, it uses native DWM shaders which have its own colorization/transparency settings. Therefore I would recommend to set GlassTransparency registry settings to zero or small value else both transparency settings (shader native + GlassTransparency) will be summed up.


Thanks - that got the transparency noticeable and now I've been able to play around with it, I can probably explain why it it "not working" for some people.

The standard "colour intensity" settings in Windows personalisation settings must be set no higher than roughly 90% otherwise they remain opaque. (it acts as if the colour is pasted over the transparency - you have to lower it to "see through" the colour to the transparent border)

Note...

Inactive window transparency appears to be on or off - it doesn't vary with the colour intentity setting (other than requiring it to be set below maximum)

After that, the registry setting for GlassTransparency kicks in.

If that value is set low, inactive window border are (obviously) very transparent and the colour intensity adjusts active borders from maximum transparency to fully opaque.

If GlassTransparency is set high, inactive window borders are (obviously) only slightly transparent and even on a very low colour intensity setting, active windows may only appear as slightly transparent.

My advice for users/tester for now:- use the GlassTransparency registry setting to get the inactive borders how you like them and then use the Windows Colour Intensity settings to vary the active borders (at least until you're finished and we get a full-on gui for all of the variables in the final version).



I'm thinking that there's something in your code that is not working with the full range of colour intensity (hence that "switch" at ~90%). If you can sort that, it should work for everyone.

(sorry if that's a bit vague - I'm not a tech)


Not been able to get the inactive colouring to work in D3D (I'm really looking forward to having that feature - as much as to the transparency). Any suggestions?



And a request - could you put update information into your first post as you go along as well as announcing new betas within the thread. With so many posts (and not all "on topic" ;)) it's getting a bit difficult to keep track, especially as new registry values appear.

And thank you for this - your time and talent is both appreciated and admired.

And if you or anyone ever comes up with a way to do what "Birdie" did on Amiga's, you'll be guaranteed a place in heaven - I loved that "hack" :)

#434
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,090 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Ah, right, when colour intensity is set too high then transparency in D3D mode will gone. This is done by the Win8 implementation. You can even notice that setting full intensity changes the registry settings ColorizationBlurBalance to 0xfffffff6 and API function DwmGetColorizationParameters returns 120% in this case. I automatically disable transparency effect when it returns more than 100% else native shaders draws the border in white colour only.

Inactive colorization should be working but you must place the settings into HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT (unlike active colorization which is placed in HKEY_CURRENT_USER), because I have been able to impersonate current user to access HKEY_CURRENT_USER of currently logged user yet.

Edited by bigmuscle, 27 February 2013 - 04:12 PM.

Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#435
pengipete

pengipete

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 05-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Nope - tried every variation I can and still no colour for inactive borders in D3D. I'm probably doing something really silly and obviously wrong but I can't spot it - DOH!

Can anyone else confirm that they got inactive borders coloured under D3D?

#436
drakenabarion

drakenabarion

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 12-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Oh after reading more about the 90% colour intensity issue, I tried setting the D3D on and setting the colour intensity to about 90%. It has part of the window border not only non transparent. But I can see that D3D mode indeed works at some level. I guess needs a bit of tweaking but yes works partly.

Edit: Maybe I should mention that I have an EVGA branded nVidia GTX 570. It could be relevant. Its a fully DX11 device.

Attached Files


Edited by drakenabarion, 27 February 2013 - 06:28 PM.


#437
WindowsOS

WindowsOS

    I'm 1 out of only 3 people who don't mind that popup box

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Joined 25-January 13
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Changing the DeviceFeatureLevel to 9300 does enable Glass on version 0.4, but Direct3D mode is very glichy. Notice on the supplied screenshots that blur only occurs on part of the window. Direct2D mode works fine though.

Attached Files


Edited by WindowsOS, 27 February 2013 - 06:36 PM.


#438
pengipete

pengipete

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 05-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Oh after reading more about the 90% colour intensity issue, I tried setting the D3D on and setting the colour intensity to about 90%. It has part of the window border not only non transparent.


Is that partial effect only there immediately after running the app - i.e. already open windows are transparent where they were overlapped by another window but opaque on the rest of the border - and does the entire border become properly transparent after you drag another window over it or minimise then re-open it - and if you open a new window, is that correctly transparent?

If so, it's always done that for me and the author is aware of it. I'm guessing it's just a simple thing to sort once the author gets the main functions sorted - probably just needs a forced redraw of the screen or windows (plus, of course, if it's eventually run at start-up, that shouldn't even be a problem)

#439
HydroHusky

HydroHusky

    Ace Detective

  • Member
  • 47 posts
  • Joined 31-January 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I downloaded the newest preview but I don't get the registry edit for setting the DeviceFeatureLevel to 9100. Any Help?

#440
inighthawki

inighthawki

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 02-February 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag



Yes it works but there is considerable amount of lag when minimizing windows.


In 0.4 or in that private build?


In all versions dude, all versions have lag, I don't care if you fix it or not, but just give me an explanation. I told you, to fix the lag I have to make the GPU gaming profile fixed, but who want 50+C GPU temp in idle/desktop mode... This tells me that your pretty app is hunger for GPU resources, I understand, debug version, alpha, etc. but I still want some answers. Thank you.

Sounds more like your drivers aren't properly adjusting power states for the workload. Even if his implementation required 10x the resources and workload of MS's it should not produce a noticeable effect with a GTX 670 - it should be more than powerful enough to run dozens of fullscreen sheets of solid glass on top of each other without a hiccup. The problem is very likely on your end (drivers or profiles you made) since very few others seem to have the issue on what I would imagine to be less powerful hardware, unless everyone in this thread has a GTX680. I had no problem running his glass implementation from 0.3 on my 6950 and it showed almost no GPU utilization and near idle temperatures. And your GTX 670 should be faster than my 6950.

#441
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,090 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Nope - tried every variation I can and still no colour for inactive borders in D3D. I'm probably doing something really silly and obviously wrong but I can't spot it - DOH!

Can anyone else confirm that they got inactive borders coloured under D3D?


What did you do exactly? Do you have any custom theme installed? I have not found any usable way to identify each window (including its current state), so inactive windows are identified by its colour which seems to be hardcoded to RGB 235,235,235. This colour is replaced with that one which you specify in HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM:ColorizationColorInactive as e.g. 0xffff0000 (for red colour) It should work even in Direct2D mode. However remember, that in Direct3D mode, this colour is modified by ColorizationColorBalanceInactive settings.
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#442
pengipete

pengipete

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 05-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
No custom themes or patches - no patches or hacks of any sort anywhere on the 'puter.

I get the inactive colouring when UseDirect2DRendering is set to 1 (works perfectly and looks good) - but they remain grey when UD2DR is set to 0. (In case it's relevent - I have to set DFL at 9100 to get it working - and I'm using this on a laptop with integrated Intel 4500HD graphics - Direct X 11 - DxDiag Version: 6.02.9200.16384)

I'm thinking I've completely misunderstood something so can you perhaps show a screen grab of your DWM registry entries for both .user and currentuser - so I can compare or duplicate them?

#443
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,090 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It is probably because, in D3D mode, you need to set also ColorizationColorBalanceInactive and other settings (as Blur/Balance and AfterGlow/Balance). If you don't set color balance, it uses default value of 12%, thus resulting used color will be ColorizationColorInactive * 0.12. Plus when GlassTransparency > 0 then it will be overlaid by the color ARGB (GlassTransparency, 235, 235, 235).

Maybe I could state that I know that current setting options are not optimal. GlassTransparency shouldn't be available in D3D mode at all. All current default values comes from Win8 Release Preview which uses a bit different texture for drawing window border - Win8 RTM draws only a thin line, the rest is fully transparent (alpha is zero), Win8 RP draws a thin line plus a bit of a color with alpha of 14 for actives and 77 for inactives (if I remember the values correctly).

Edited by bigmuscle, 28 February 2013 - 09:40 AM.

Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#444
pengipete

pengipete

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 05-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
So what's the right/best thing for us to do if we want to help test this?

#445
drakenabarion

drakenabarion

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 12-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Oh after reading more about the 90% colour intensity issue, I tried setting the D3D on and setting the colour intensity to about 90%. It has part of the window border not only non transparent.


Is that partial effect only there immediately after running the app - i.e. already open windows are transparent where they were overlapped by another window but opaque on the rest of the border - and does the entire border become properly transparent after you drag another window over it or minimise then re-open it - and if you open a new window, is that correctly transparent?

If so, it's always done that for me and the author is aware of it. I'm guessing it's just a simple thing to sort once the author gets the main functions sorted - probably just needs a forced redraw of the screen or windows (plus, of course, if it's eventually run at start-up, that shouldn't even be a problem)

No, its all new windows for me. Even if I close all windows and open a new one that has no window behind it. The Opaque section is also like a percentage of the window and resizes as the window is resized. But I am sure with all the feedback, I'm sure it wont be long befoer things are tweaked. :)

#446
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,090 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
pengipete: I must admit that I have not figure out the best settings yet. Normally, it is true that BlurBalance + ColorBalance + AfterGlowBalance = 100. But as I recognized in Win8 RP, this is not valid for inactive borders where it is > 100 which is weird.

drakenabarion: does it happen for all windows or just when the window is near the screen edge? What is your screen resolution? Do you have one or more displays?
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#447
drakenabarion

drakenabarion

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 12-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

pengipete: I must admit that I have not figure out the best settings yet. Normally, it is true that BlurBalance + ColorBalance + AfterGlowBalance = 100. But as I recognized in Win8 RP, this is not valid for inactive borders where it is > 100 which is weird.

drakenabarion: does it happen for all windows or just when the window is near the screen edge? What is your screen resolution? Do you have one or more displays?

I have 2 x 1920x1080 displays.

I think I was wrong about the opaque part being a percent of the window. It varies in size depending on the size of the window. With the command prompt, if I move the window left or right on either screen, the amount of opaque is none on the right hand side of the screen and the more I move the window to the left from about 40% of the screen the opaque part moved across the window from left to right of the window. However, with a windows explorer window more than twice the size of the command prompt window, the opaque section is much larger. I think I will probably need to capture that on a video somehow, because its difficult to explain. Or maybe just a series of screenshots. (Give me a few minutes :) )

Edit: Here is a Dropbox link to some screenshots. It shows Regedit and the last two screenshots show when it moves from one monitor to the other..
https://www.dropbox....25ce/pxOSvbWVvG

Edited by drakenabarion, 28 February 2013 - 01:23 PM.


#448
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,090 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I think that multiple displays can be the cause. Is it somehow possible that you test it with one monitor only?
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#449
drakenabarion

drakenabarion

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 12-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I think that multiple displays can be the cause. Is it somehow possible that you test it with one monitor only?

I will try it out in a little bit. This second I am about to begin my monthly internal dusting. Spray cans ready! :D

(I'll edit this post once I got to try it out in a bit).

Edit: Yes, works fine on a single display. Transparency is linked to colour intensity in that case.


I think that multiple displays can be the cause. Is it somehow possible that you test it with one monitor only?

Direct3D mode does work on single monitor only.


Well, in many ways, Transparency works in multi monitor. Just not correctly.

(Oh you gotta love edit posts for chronology maintenance. This might look like time travel :P)

Edited by drakenabarion, 28 February 2013 - 03:18 PM.


#450
WindowsOS

WindowsOS

    I'm 1 out of only 3 people who don't mind that popup box

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Joined 25-January 13
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I think that multiple displays can be the cause. Is it somehow possible that you test it with one monitor only?

Direct3D mode does work on single monitor only.




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users