Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Aero Glass for Win8 RC4


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
2630 replies to this topic

#1276
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,049 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


And when Tusticles mentiones the themes thing, does anybody have access to Consumer/Developer preview theme? It looks similar as Release Preview with some details (such as the caption buttons looks more shiny etc.)

I did, and both does not work. It causes DWM to crash and causes the black screen error.

Does it crash even without my aeroglass?

And, let me report an error when using the program with Windows 7's Explorer (Notice the Show Desktop button.) The taskbar uses the inactive window color (the inactive window is slightly white because of the RP theme itself, not the color).


What's wrong with this? Does that explorer really sends (235,235,235) to colorize the taskbar?
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1277
Peacem4k3r

Peacem4k3r

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 20-March 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Everything works perfectly, I don't see a single bug occuring with my setup. But this may be because of me not having two or three screens ^^' But yeah, really beautiful, easy to use and stable! (No crash till now). I hope you will continue developing this beautiful piece of software. You really have my thanks! (I will try to donate, but for me it's really difficult to do because I don't have PayPal..)

Here's a screenshot of my current setup:

Posted Image

Edited by Peacem4k3r, 25 April 2013 - 04:11 AM.


#1278
ORelio

ORelio

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Joined 30-January 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

on my site Trolls get the ban hammer.

Like this one ? :rolleyes:

Posted Image

Not to stay too off-topic, tried to use the CustomThemeResource setting and it works well.
Managed to modify Release Preview theme using Windows 7 resources to get this :

Before :

Posted Image

After :

Posted Image

Shadow is increased, window borders are more pronounced and the inner edge of window frames is restored.
It's close to windows 7 glass effect, while keeping the RP buttons and square corners. B)

And of course no patching is needed as this is achieved using CustomThemeResource. Thanks BigMuscle :)

Here are the custom resources, each one can be used only with the corresponding theme :
For use with Windows 8 default theme : http://img526.images...ardard8win7.png
For use with Release Preview theme : http://img829.images...2064/rpwin7.png
Aero Glass Tweaker GUI : msfn.org/board/topic/162036

#1279
niun

niun

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 23-November 11
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Tried with version 0.85, same results as before... forcing DX feature 9.3 blurring works but it isn't adjustable...

Because AeroGlass does not support any settings to adjust the blur. Opacity is adjusted by slider in Windows Control panel.


The opacity adjuster in Control Panel's Color Mixer works correctly, yet blurring settings in AGTweaker don't work... maybe I'm wrong and I need some custom theme in order to see blurring around windows' captions (e.g. like in last screenshot posted by Peacem4k3r)?

Edited by niun, 25 April 2013 - 04:24 AM.


#1280
Peacem4k3r

Peacem4k3r

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 20-March 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag



Tried with version 0.85, same results as before... forcing DX feature 9.3 blurring works but it isn't adjustable...

Because AeroGlass does not support any settings to adjust the blur. Opacity is adjusted by slider in Windows Control panel.


The opacity adjuster in Control Panel's Color Mixer works correctly, yet blurring settings in AGTweaker don't work... maybe I'm wrong and I need some custom theme in order to see blurring around windows' captions (e.g. like in last screenshot posted by Peacem4k3r)?



The blur around the window text is theme related. You need a special theme for it ;3

#1281
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,049 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

After :

Posted Image

Shadow is increased, window borders are more pronounced and the inner edge of window frames is restored.
It's close to windows 7 glass effect, while keeping the RP buttons and square corners. B)

And of course no patching is needed as this is achieved using CustomThemeResource. Thanks BigMuscle :)


This looks good. The customer preview had also a bit different captions buttons:
Posted Image

I'm also thinking of having some default theme for AeroGlass utility. Something like "default value for CustomThemeResource" so when user runs it for the first time, it will change Windows 8 theme to my default. But I guess we can't use any theme from any Win Beta/RC/RTM due to licensing reasons.
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1282
AlexKven

AlexKven

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

On my site Trolls get the ban hammer.


It seems like everybody is getting on the bannedwagon these days.

#1283
CKyHC

CKyHC

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Joined 14-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


After :

Posted Image

Shadow is increased, window borders are more pronounced and the inner edge of window frames is restored.
It's close to windows 7 glass effect, while keeping the RP buttons and square corners. B)

And of course no patching is needed as this is achieved using CustomThemeResource. Thanks BigMuscle :)


This looks good. The customer preview had also a bit different captions buttons:
Posted Image

I'm also thinking of having some default theme for AeroGlass utility. Something like "default value for CustomThemeResource" so when user runs it for the first time, it will change Windows 8 theme to my default. But I guess we can't use any theme from any Win Beta/RC/RTM due to licensing reasons.

I think it's a good idea about custom theme in AeroGlass Utility. I understand licensing reasons, but what about make another theme in the base of some Beta/RC/RTM. It's broke license rights?

#1284
WindowsOS

WindowsOS

    I'm 1 out of only 3 people who don't mind that popup box

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Joined 25-January 13
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Does it crash even without my aeroglass?

Yes, it does. I not sure why. But, sometimes when starting up my computer when the theme is applied, those dialog boxes about .dll incompatibilities uses the WINDOWS CLASSIC theme. Other times, it reverts back to the last used theme.

What's wrong with this? Does that explorer really sends (235,235,235) to colorize the taskbar?

It might be due to a glitch in your true taskbar blur code, but I'm not sure since I am not good of programming except for batch file programming (if that counts).
Could anyone make a custom theme resource using the features of the Consumer/Developer Preview theme? I realy liked that theme.

Edited by WindowsOS, 25 April 2013 - 01:25 PM.


#1285
ORelio

ORelio

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Joined 30-January 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

This looks good. The customer preview had also a bit different captions buttons:

http://i1-news.softp...ender-MSE-8.png

I'm also thinking of having some default theme for AeroGlass utility. Something like "default value for CustomThemeResource" so when user runs it for the first time, it will change Windows 8 theme to my default. But I guess we can't use any theme from any Win Beta/RC/RTM due to licensing reasons.

Didn't know about the Consumer Preview theme. I still prefer the RP caption buttons, though :)

I'm not sure about licensing, but Release Preview / Windows 7 themes can be easily downloaded from many sites, so I'm not sure that Microsoft cares about it.
Providing a default theme resource with your utility is a good idea as Windows 8 default theme is not designed at all for Aero and looks imperfect with glass enabled.
Aero Glass Tweaker GUI : msfn.org/board/topic/162036

#1286
Luke7

Luke7

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 16-June 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Does it crash even without my aeroglass?

Yes, it does. I not sure why. But, sometimes when starting up my computer when the theme is applied, those dialog boxes about .dll incompatibilities uses the WINDOWS CLASSIC theme. Other times, it reverts back to the last used theme.

What's wrong with this? Does that explorer really sends (235,235,235) to colorize the taskbar?

It might be due to a glitch in your true taskbar blur code, but I'm not sure since I am not good of programming except for batch file programming (if that counts).
Could anyone make a custom theme resource using the features of the Consumer/Developer Preview theme? I realy liked that theme.


Hi WindowsOS
You can tryout this theme
http://nighthawk-f22...8-RTM-324474705

Picture of the theme is here:
http://www.flickr.co...s/95015623@N08/

#1287
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,049 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

It might be due to a glitch in your true taskbar blur code, but I'm not sure since I am not good of programming except for batch file programming (if that counts).

My "taskbar blur" code is nothing special than if explorer says "we don't want blur behind taskbar" I rewrite the message with "we want blur behind taskbar" and when explorer says "enable accent on the taskbar" I rewrite it with "don't enable accent on the taskbar". Nothing special for this.

Providing a default theme resource with your utility is a good idea as Windows 8 default theme is not designed at all for Aero and looks imperfect with glass enabled.

Actually, the default theme can look good when suitable colorization settings is selected.
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1288
Soukyuu

Soukyuu

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 25-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I don't know if testing is still needed, but here are my results anyway.
Running win8 x64 on an older laptop with a 8600m GT, using the AGTweaker 1.2.2/DWMHook 0.8 (is that the latest public build?)

Had to fiddle around with rendering modes until it worked - currently working in DX9.1 mode. DX10.0 mode only has two states, opaque and total transparency without blur.
I don't know if it's an AGT bug, but the inactive color doesn't work for me at all, no matter which I choose the inactive color stays black. Taskbar follows active color correctly though.

Also, changing settings for blur/transparency sometimes lead to a black screen after applying them, usually if I do it repeatedly. Looking forward to the finished product.
AMD Phenom II X4 970BE | 12GB DDR3 | nVidia 260GTX | Windows 8.1u1 x64 Pro | Primary
Intel C2D T7250 | 4GB DDR2 | nVidia 8600m GT | Windows 7 x64 Pro | Secondary

#1289
CKyHC

CKyHC

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Joined 14-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I don't know if testing is still needed, but here are my results anyway.
Running win8 x64 on an older laptop with a 8600m GT, using the AGTweaker 1.2.2/DWMHook 0.8 (is that the latest public build?)

Had to fiddle around with rendering modes until it worked - currently working in DX9.1 mode. DX10.0 mode only has two states, opaque and total transparency without blur.
I don't know if it's an AGT bug, but the inactive color doesn't work for me at all, no matter which I choose the inactive color stays black. Taskbar follows active color correctly though.

Also, changing settings for blur/transparency sometimes lead to a black screen after applying them, usually if I do it repeatedly. Looking forward to the finished product.

In the RP theme inactive window color from registry or if change through AGTweaker don't change anithing. But if use standart RTM theme inactive color works,,,

#1290
Soukyuu

Soukyuu

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 25-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I am using the RTM theme actually, the inactive color is still stuck at black... or rather, some weird color that varies from black to white depending on the coloring setting I set in the personalizing dialogue. I managed to get the colors to look decent enough for me, for now. The internal builds are probably much further ahead by now anyway so...
AMD Phenom II X4 970BE | 12GB DDR3 | nVidia 260GTX | Windows 8.1u1 x64 Pro | Primary
Intel C2D T7250 | 4GB DDR2 | nVidia 8600m GT | Windows 7 x64 Pro | Secondary

#1291
NoelC

NoelC

    Software Engineer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,175 posts
  • Joined 08-April 13
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

After :

Posted Image

Shadow is increased, window borders are more pronounced and the inner edge of window frames is restored.


That looks quite good, ORelio.

What tool are you using to edit the resources?

-Noel

#1292
Rumcayz

Rumcayz
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 15-April 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


By the way - do You plan adding shadows? Win7 Aero has it.

I'll save BigMuscle the trouble of answering... Drop shadows come from the theme resource list. Windows is currently compositing fully transparent drop shadows for you. Nice of them, eh?

You can add drop shadows yourself by having Aero Glass for Win8 load alternate desktop element resources from a PNG file, the path to which you specify by the HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM : CustomThemeResource REG_SZ value.

Posted Image

Click here to download the alternate theme resource PNG file I've modified.

-Noel


Thanks for this!
But I'm asking for something else- if bigmuscle will sell his aplication (even He don't know it), 'drop shadows' option could be nice addition. If it will be freeware, I won't grumble. It's just an idea to make his work even better ;)
Another idea is adding some 'space' to taskbar and window bar, I mean now they are flat , but have blur and transparency. Adding some 'shine' on the edges of them have some sense (for me). Just like here: http://globalknowled..._aero_peak2.png

BTW: Now, finally I can run v.85version, with normal transparency and blur (Opacity 50, Blur 60, dx9.3)!

Edited by Rumcayz, 25 April 2013 - 04:53 PM.


#1293
drakenabarion

drakenabarion

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 99 posts
  • Joined 12-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks for this!
But I'm asking for something else- if bigmuscle will sell his aplication (even He don't know it), 'drop shadows' option could be nice addition. If it will be freeware, I won't grumble. It's just an idea to make his work even better ;)
Another idea is adding some 'space' to taskbar and window bar, I mean now they are flat , but have blur and transparency. Adding some 'shine' on the edges of them have some sense (for me). Just like here: http://globalknowled..._aero_peak2.png

This is just speculation of course, but, I've used programs in the past (mostly in games) that hook onto DirectX calls and do things like replace textures and shaders, allowing changes to game appearances and sometimes adding new effects not originally apart of the game.

If this program was somehow able to intercept some of the graphics and shaders, would it in theory be possible to not only have a blur effect, but more advanced things like animated water ripple?

Like I say, this is speculation, not suggestion. Even if it was possible (and it probably is not), it may not be desirable because there would be a huge hit to performance and probably stability too.

@BigMuscle - I had a problem leading to a black screen with the charms bar visable (but unusable) while I was updating my GPU driver a couple of days ago. When I update the drivers, I uninstall my driver completely first as it reduced problems I had in the past with leftover files etc.

The Black screen happened when I uninstalled the driver. My guess it that the DX level changes when there is no driver installed, or when a new driver is installed, and DWM does not have a catch to deal with it. So I would recommend people to reboot and hold CTRL while Windows is loading (which doesnt load AeroGlass to memory).

Here is the Debug log: https://www.dropbox....-Apr-2013.log?m

#1294
ORelio

ORelio

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Joined 30-January 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


After :

Posted Image

Shadow is increased, window borders are more pronounced and the inner edge of window frames is restored.


That looks quite good, ORelio.

What tool are you using to edit the resources?

-Noel

Resource Hacker. It allows to view/extract/replace resources in exe, dll, msstyles files.
The PNG file you are looking for can be found in the msstyles file at STREAM/983/1033.

Once extracted, you can modify it with any image editor and apply the file with CustomThemeResource registry key.
-- Or place it back in the msstyles file but you need to patch your system to use modified msstyles so bigmuscle's method is better :)
Aero Glass Tweaker GUI : msfn.org/board/topic/162036

#1295
Trailblazer101

Trailblazer101
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 12-March 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Whenever I try to add any CustomThemeResource, it never works... I added the String registry key in the right place, with the path definitely right... I'm getting this error a whole bunch of time:
[0x20A4] Failed to load custom theme file (0x80070005)

This has been the issue since the first build which added the option, it never worked... Everything else in the debug log looks fine...




After :

Posted Image

Shadow is increased, window borders are more pronounced and the inner edge of window frames is restored.


That looks quite good, ORelio.

What tool are you using to edit the resources?

-Noel

Resource Hacker. It allows to view/extract/replace resources in exe, dll, msstyles files.
The PNG file you are looking for can be found in the msstyles file at STREAM/983/1033.

Once extracted, you can modify it with any image editor and apply the file with CustomThemeResource registry key.
-- Or place it back in the msstyles file but you need to patch your system to use modified msstyles so bigmuscle's method is better :)


Edited by Trailblazer101, 25 April 2013 - 06:58 PM.


#1296
dskiller

dskiller
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 26-April 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Your Super Great for making this program!!!

I been watching your progress for some time now,I now just registered so I could say thankyou

my windows 8 has back aero and windows 7 style

using this for my theme

http://xxinightxx.de...v-2-1-350491112

Edited by dskiller, 26 April 2013 - 01:17 AM.


#1297
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

In the RP theme inactive window color from registry or if change through AGTweaker don't change anithing. But if use standart RTM theme inactive color works,,,


Try to rename the RP msstyle to aero ;)

Edited by Tusticles, 26 April 2013 - 01:31 AM.


#1298
dskiller

dskiller
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 26-April 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I dont know if it was ever posted.

but one drawback from using this is aincrease in gpu usage, at lest for me it is anyway.

just moving my mouse across a window causes gpu spikes.

stop moving the mouse and gpu usage drops back to down

my specs

nvidia 580 gtx

intel 2600 3.9

mem 16gb

#1299
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,049 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
dskiller: which version do you have? If you have < 0.8 than it can be caused by layered windows hack. If you have 0.8 then 1) you have incompatible DWM DLLs which falls back to layered windows (you can find info in debug log), 2) try enabling native mode (see UseNativeBlur in changelog) to compare if it still happens.
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1300
rayappan

rayappan

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 26-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Aero Glass v0.8 isn't working for me (v0.7 works fine). I get fully transparent window borders without blur. I've tried several DeviceFeatureLevel values.

GPU: ATI Radeon HD 5850

Driver: 9.12.0.0 (Dec 2012)

dwmcore.dll: 6.2.9200.16433

uDWM.dll: 6.2.9200.16420

Attached Files


Edited by rayappan, 26 April 2013 - 11:05 AM.





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users