Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Aero Glass for Win8 RC4


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
2630 replies to this topic

#1426
Gabe

Gabe

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

What is wrong about Mobility Center? It works as expected here.

Posted Image



I see. Must be Dell's fault then.
Posted Image

Edited by Gabe, 03 May 2013 - 12:57 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1427
niun

niun

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
No, it isn't Dell's fault. The uncustomized Mobility Center on my PC shows the same "double color" effect...

#1428
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,990 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I see. Must be Dell's fault then.
Posted Image


mine is fine:

Attached File  Dell_mobility_center.png   59.85KB   25 downloads
Posted Image

#1429
MikeRL

MikeRL

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 59 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I can confirm that glitch ocurrs when one stacks up Windows. It seems to be at random, though.

#1430
Gabe

Gabe

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I found a way to make the bug less random. Try using a custom theme resource (like the "default" one that comes with AGTweaker). Then the bug will show up 100% of the time. Otherwise, you are correct in that it seems to be a bit random.

I also wanted to confirm that guy's report a few pages back about not getting DirectX 10 working on 0.8. When I downgraded to 0.7, DX10 started working perfectly. I tried it with and without AGTweaker as well -- for me, DX10 works only with 0.7. I have an Intel HD 3000.

Autodetect detects DX10 regardless of version, which means autodetect worked with 0.7 but not with 0.8. What do I mean by "not work" in 0.8? I mean there is no blur or coloration, just completely transparent glass.

#1431
dazl

dazl
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Not sure what your problem is as you did not really explain it, if your referring to the non transparent top part of the jump list then I can say that I have not had this problem at all with aero glass from Big Muscle I have used D3D and D2D and both render fine with the themes that support it, just because it was ported directly from Windows 7 does not mean there might not be some problems, send me a link for the theme to test and I can tell you straight away if the problem is with the theme or not.


Yeah sorry about not specifying the black transparency. I think the issue lies with WSB however. When I try exporting the top image (JumpListUser) the image always comes out with full opacity, no matter how many times I try importing the 50% transparency image. I even tried using the image that's working on the bottom part but I get the same issue. Saving as a 32bit bmp and converting to png didn't work either. If you have a theme where the transparency works and you don't mind sharing I'd love to take a look, if not I'm ready to PM you my theme if your offer about taking a look still stands. Thanks!

Edited by dazl, 03 May 2013 - 09:28 PM.


#1432
MrGRiM

MrGRiM

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator


Not sure what your problem is as you did not really explain it, if your referring to the non transparent top part of the jump list then I can say that I have not had this problem at all with aero glass from Big Muscle I have used D3D and D2D and both render fine with the themes that support it, just because it was ported directly from Windows 7 does not mean there might not be some problems, send me a link for the theme to test and I can tell you straight away if the problem is with the theme or not.


Yeah sorry about not specifying the black transparency. I think the issue lies with WSB however. When I try exporting the top image (JumpListUser) the image always comes out with full opacity, no matter how many times I try importing the 50% transparency image. I even tried using the image that's working on the bottom part but I get the same issue. Saving as a 32bit bmp and converting to png didn't work either. If you have a theme where the transparency works and you don't mind sharing I'd love to take a look, if not I'm ready to PM you my theme if your offer about taking a look still stands. Thanks!


OK no worries, well if you like you can check out a new theme I just posted with a transparent jump list http://mrgrim01.devi...a8Mix-369583696 download from mediafire http://www.mediafire...u85k16nhg1heg46

Updated to fix missing taskbar image and text centered on title.

Attached Files


Edited by MrGRiM, 04 May 2013 - 08:39 AM.


#1433
adacom

adacom

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag



Not sure what your problem is as you did not really explain it, if your referring to the non transparent top part of the jump list then I can say that I have not had this problem at all with aero glass from Big Muscle I have used D3D and D2D and both render fine with the themes that support it, just because it was ported directly from Windows 7 does not mean there might not be some problems, send me a link for the theme to test and I can tell you straight away if the problem is with the theme or not.


Yeah sorry about not specifying the black transparency. I think the issue lies with WSB however. When I try exporting the top image (JumpListUser) the image always comes out with full opacity, no matter how many times I try importing the 50% transparency image. I even tried using the image that's working on the bottom part but I get the same issue. Saving as a 32bit bmp and converting to png didn't work either. If you have a theme where the transparency works and you don't mind sharing I'd love to take a look, if not I'm ready to PM you my theme if your offer about taking a look still stands. Thanks!


OK no worries, well if you like you can check out a new theme I just posted with a transparent jump list http://mrgrim01.devi...a8Mix-369583696 download from mediafire http://www.mediafire...w3q9k7riis9vm9o



thats more than good - i have a problem with the taskbar - the graphic you have added does not go all the way across - its behind the SIB button and the right icons - centre is missing - guess its me but no idea what to look at

i see you have moved text to the left on the top bar - is it easy to put back to centre - a setting or a reg key - just personal preference

but if i can sort the taskbar thats me pretty happy

Attached Files

  • Attached File  sib.png   34.83KB   4 downloads


#1434
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 989 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
AERO GLASS for Win8 BETA3
Ok, here it is.

What's new?

* completely removed layered windows hack
* fixed glass on the secondary taskbar
* many code fixes and refactoring
* almost all low-level stuff (see beta 2 changelog) should work regardless the used DLL versions and even on 32-bit
--> this probably still needs some coding
--> works until MS changes the internal DWM functions
--> if something is wrong, message about DLL incompatibility will pop up

* implemented that color swatches in control panel can be loaded from external DLL
--> registry script which changes default swatches to Win8 RP (more glass-friendly) is attached
--> backup the original registry key before importing !!!
--> you will probably need to change the owner and permission of the registry branch
--> DO NOT do it if you are not advanced user!!!
--> you will be unable to change frame color if you don't use AeroGlass utility after importing this registry key

* fixed glass on surface render targets
--> glass won't work if one side of your screen resolution is less than 200 pixels
https://developer.be...?group_id=13124



Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1435
MrGRiM

MrGRiM

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Sorry mate, I fixed those problems, uploading again now.

Edited by MrGRiM, 04 May 2013 - 08:43 AM.


#1436
adacom

adacom

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag





Not sure what your problem is as you did not really explain it, if your referring to the non transparent top part of the jump list then I can say that I have not had this problem at all with aero glass from Big Muscle I have used D3D and D2D and both render fine with the themes that support it, just because it was ported directly from Windows 7 does not mean there might not be some problems, send me a link for the theme to test and I can tell you straight away if the problem is with the theme or not.


Yeah sorry about not specifying the black transparency. I think the issue lies with WSB however. When I try exporting the top image (JumpListUser) the image always comes out with full opacity, no matter how many times I try importing the 50% transparency image. I even tried using the image that's working on the bottom part but I get the same issue. Saving as a 32bit bmp and converting to png didn't work either. If you have a theme where the transparency works and you don't mind sharing I'd love to take a look, if not I'm ready to PM you my theme if your offer about taking a look still stands. Thanks!


OK no worries, well if you like you can check out a new theme I just posted with a transparent jump list http://mrgrim01.devi...a8Mix-369583696 download from mediafire http://www.mediafire...w3q9k7riis9vm9o



thats more than good - i have a problem with the taskbar - the graphic you have added does not go all the way across - its behind the SIB button and the right icons - centre is missing - guess its me but no idea what to look at

i see you have moved text to the left on the top bar - is it easy to put back to centre - a setting or a reg key - just personal preference

but if i can sort the taskbar thats me pretty happy

Sorry mate, I fixed those problems, uploading again now.


still not working for me - not sure i am downloading newfile - all file sizes are the same

and my other question about moving text back to centre??

#1437
MrGRiM

MrGRiM

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

still not working for me - not sure i am downloading newfile - all file sizes are the same

and my other question about moving text back to centre??


Nope you were downloading the old one again most likely, new link is http://www.mediafire...u85k16nhg1heg46

Sorry for highjacking your thread Big Muscle I will not post any more on this subject here.

Nice update though, giving it a test run on the VM now :)

#1438
Soukyuu

Soukyuu

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 183 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
...somehow 2 posts were created...

Edited by Soukyuu, 04 May 2013 - 08:48 AM.

AMD Phenom II X4 970BE | 12GB DDR3 | nVidia 260GTX | Windows 8.1u1 x64 Pro | Primary
Intel C2D T7250 | 4GB DDR2 | nVidia 8600m GT | Windows 7 x64 Pro | Secondary

#1439
Soukyuu

Soukyuu

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 183 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Importing the swatches.reg from 0.9 gives me an "Cannot import swatches.reg: Not all data was successfully written to the registry. Some keys are open by the system or other processes, or you have insufficient privileges to perform this operation". I did give it admin privileges though, glass was not active when I attempted that.
AMD Phenom II X4 970BE | 12GB DDR3 | nVidia 260GTX | Windows 8.1u1 x64 Pro | Primary
Intel C2D T7250 | 4GB DDR2 | nVidia 8600m GT | Windows 7 x64 Pro | Secondary

#1440
Rumcayz

Rumcayz
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

AERO GLASS for Win8 BETA3
Ok, here it is.

What's new?

* completely removed layered windows hack
* fixed glass on the secondary taskbar
* many code fixes and refactoring
* almost all low-level stuff (see beta 2 changelog) should work regardless the used DLL versions and even on 32-bit
--> this probably still needs some coding
--> works until MS changes the internal DWM functions
--> if something is wrong, message about DLL incompatibility will pop up

* implemented that color swatches in control panel can be loaded from external DLL
--> registry script which changes default swatches to Win8 RP (more glass-friendly) is attached
--> backup the original registry key before importing !!!
--> you will probably need to change the owner and permission of the registry branch
--> DO NOT do it if you are not advanced user!!!
--> you will be unable to change frame color if you don't use AeroGlass utility after importing this registry key

* fixed glass on surface render targets
--> glass won't work if one side of your screen resolution is less than 200 pixels
https://developer.be...?group_id=13124



Still have some glitches after moving window on the screen. Also it is necessary to disable taskbar transparency, otherway taskbar is fully transparent. BUT: when taskbar transparency is enabled there are no more glitches - they can be found only on the taskbar.

Edited by Rumcayz, 04 May 2013 - 08:48 AM.


#1441
adacom

adacom

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


still not working for me - not sure i am downloading newfile - all file sizes are the same

and my other question about moving text back to centre??


Nope you were downloading the old one again most likely, new link is http://www.mediafire...u85k16nhg1heg46

Sorry for highjacking your thread Big Muscle I will not post any more on this subject here.

Nice update though, giving it a test run on the VM now :)



sorted thanks - i was too quick - the taskbar mod makes it perfect for me - i can now do more with the windows aero - previously making that dark made the taskbar too dark but this cures that

#1442
jb3555

jb3555

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Beta 3, win8 x86, still don't have blur, only transparency and colorization.
logs

Posted Image

UPD: Oh, changing color intensity seems to be working, nevermind then. I'll keep testing.

Edited by jb3555, 04 May 2013 - 09:13 AM.


#1443
MrGRiM

MrGRiM

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

AERO GLASS for Win8 BETA3
Ok, here it is.

What's new?

* completely removed layered windows hack
* fixed glass on the secondary taskbar
* many code fixes and refactoring
* almost all low-level stuff (see beta 2 changelog) should work regardless the used DLL versions and even on 32-bit
--> this probably still needs some coding
--> works until MS changes the internal DWM functions
--> if something is wrong, message about DLL incompatibility will pop up

* implemented that color swatches in control panel can be loaded from external DLL
--> registry script which changes default swatches to Win8 RP (more glass-friendly) is attached
--> backup the original registry key before importing !!!
--> you will probably need to change the owner and permission of the registry branch
--> DO NOT do it if you are not advanced user!!!
--> you will be unable to change frame color if you don't use AeroGlass utility after importing this registry key

* fixed glass on surface render targets
--> glass won't work if one side of your screen resolution is less than 200 pixels
https://developer.be...?group_id=13124


All working OK but still miss having the D2D with the ability to have the frames completely transparent, I would have loved to have made a theme with a dock style taskbar, with the blur and colourization on Windows 7 and Vista that was never possible, version 0,7 made it possible and then you took it away from us :(

Anyway just thought I would post the default registry values for the color swatches in case someone forgets to back them up or create a restore point before messing around with them.

Attached Files



#1444
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,990 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

AERO GLASS for Win8 BETA3
* implemented that color swatches in control panel can be loaded from external DLL
--> registry script which changes default swatches to Win8 RP (more glass-friendly) is attached



thanks for the new version. The performance is much better now :) :thumbup

But can you explain this swatches.reg a bit. What is it doing?
Posted Image

#1445
drakenabarion

drakenabarion

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 83 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
New beta works nicely.

The taskbar on both screens matches nicely. If using Startisback, it is required to untick "Disable Transparency" in settings because then (and no fault of DWM) the task bar does not gettransparent on the secondary screen.

I am unsure what the Swatches is meant to be doing, because when I first merged to registry (after letting Administrator have permissions to add the .reg file) and before I restarted, I got an error when trying to click Personalisation > colours (because registry values would not have been properly activated). But after restart, I do not see any new settings. I was guessing that you were introducing the option to separately colour active and inactive windows from there, but, the option does not yet exist. The order of the colour boxes is different :) I actually guess you must have added presets that look better for your Aero Glass - transparency is much more obvious in the preset colours than before.

Edit: Yes, you can make fun of me :P I re-read that the swatches revert the colour options to the Windows 8 RP build - hence the nice optimization for transparency.

Edit: I get some artifacts when I move my pointer from active windows on one screen to inactive windows on the other (without clicking).
https://www.dropbox....04 18.16.57.jpg

Also, I get artifacts that are caused a distance from the edge of a window in window borders behind the window. If I move the upper window un and down I can make this banding effect.
https://www.dropbox....04 18.19.12.jpg

Well, I know these are not the most horrible things in existence and they are hard to fix, but I am just letting you know they are still there. But also, they might be more related to multi monitors in my case.

Edited by drakenabarion, 04 May 2013 - 11:25 AM.


#1446
WindowsOS

WindowsOS

    I'm 1 out of only 3 people who don't mind that popup box

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
This is a bit off topic, but I was able to kill DWM by using a script from this YouTube video:
And, by the way, your new version works very good.

Attached Files


Edited by WindowsOS, 24 May 2013 - 01:29 PM.


#1447
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,990 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I can confirm small artifacts outside the window and nice to see that second taskbar now has glass. This is great :)

Edited by MagicAndre1981, 04 May 2013 - 12:11 PM.

Posted Image

#1448
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

AERO GLASS for Win8 BETA3
Ok, here it is.

What's new?

* completely removed layered windows hack
* fixed glass on the secondary taskbar
* many code fixes and refactoring
* almost all low-level stuff (see beta 2 changelog) should work regardless the used DLL versions and even on 32-bit
--> this probably still needs some coding
--> works until MS changes the internal DWM functions
--> if something is wrong, message about DLL incompatibility will pop up

* implemented that color swatches in control panel can be loaded from external DLL
--> registry script which changes default swatches to Win8 RP (more glass-friendly) is attached
--> backup the original registry key before importing !!!
--> you will probably need to change the owner and permission of the registry branch
--> DO NOT do it if you are not advanced user!!!
--> you will be unable to change frame color if you don't use AeroGlass utility after importing this registry key

* fixed glass on surface render targets
--> glass won't work if one side of your screen resolution is less than 200 pixels
https://developer.be...?group_id=13124


Omfg , what have you done, I got a blue screen, then I was invaded by "Your DWM is not compatible with aero blabla" then screen started flickering and then I was automatically signed out. If I continue to press Ok for that message the screen will become black and I have to restart. It's not working.

Posted Image

These files have all the same version, 6.2.9200.16384
dwm.exe
dwmapi.dll
dwmcore.dll
dwmredir.dll

Crash and debug files

Attached Files


Edited by Tusticles, 04 May 2013 - 12:48 PM.


#1449
hello2u

hello2u

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 43 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Might be because I didn't restart yet after uninstalling .7, but when I run swatches.reg, I get this error:
https://dl.dropbox.c...-05-04_1504.png

Edited by hello2u, 04 May 2013 - 01:05 PM.


#1450
drakenabarion

drakenabarion

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 83 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Might be because I didn't restart yet after uninstalling .7, but when I run swatches.reg, I get this error:
https://dl.dropbox.c...-05-04_1504.png

That has nothing to do with uninstalling the other version. You need to take ownership of the keys referred to in the .reg file, otherwise it is read only and cannot be modified...

Except making read/write in the registry is more complex than to do it with a file... so... I'm kinda too scared to guide someone else with doing it :) Lots can go wrong when editing the registry, so I am only comfortable doing it for myself... (I also do not have a guide for it, since I have been doing edits like that for so long)

Edit: It is a little different in Windows 8... this one is for Windows 7. http://superuser.com...ry-in-windows-7 And I cannot seem to find any applicable guides that do it well.

Edited by drakenabarion, 04 May 2013 - 01:13 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN