Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Aero Glass for Win8 RC4


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
2630 replies to this topic

#1626
lolchampion

lolchampion

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Just tested the temp crashfix, the result is same as RC0.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1627
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
What happens when you add registry settings HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM: callBlurShapes (DWORD set to 0x1) ?
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1628
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 228 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

What happens when you add registry settings HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM: callBlurShapes (DWORD set to 0x1) ?


with rc0 or rc0 crashfix?

#1629
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It makes no difference. "crashfix" just fixes crash from your crashlog.txt.
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1630
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 228 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It makes no difference. "crashfix" just fixes crash from your crashlog.txt.


Yes, tried this registry setting with rc0 crashfix and it worked, auto device future level, blur was not applied on taskbar and startmenu but restarting explorer will fix it, no crash when restarting explorer :)

Attached Files


Edited by Tusticles, 11 May 2013 - 08:45 AM.


#1631
lolchampion

lolchampion

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


It makes no difference. "crashfix" just fixes crash from your crashlog.txt.


Yes, tried this registry setting with rc0 crashfix and it worked, auto device future level, blur was not applied on taskbar and startmenu but restarting explorer will fix it, no crash when restarting explorer :)


Same result here. Add the registry setting and reboot. Everything is working now with auto DeviceFeatureLevel, taskbar have its blur back too.

Edited by lolchampion, 11 May 2013 - 08:51 AM.


#1632
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Fine, now I have to find the real reason of the black screen. I will create debug version which makes more detailed log as this settings will go away in next version.
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1633
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 228 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Ok, tried rc0 with callBlurShapes, black screen after applying then held ctrl button for a long time and it returned to desktop, ah, and glass was still active.

see debug_rc0_callBlurShapes.txt

--edit--

tried again rc0, this time when pressed the apply button in AGTweaker it worked then pressed apply button again and black screen occured.

see debug_rc0_callBlurShapes2.txt

--edit--

Man, I have no idea what have you done but 0.9 is optimized, Is smooth on all p-states :D :D :D, let's hope it stays like this.

Attached Files


Edited by Tusticles, 11 May 2013 - 09:09 AM.


#1634
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Ok, so please, use default settings (no additional key in registry, no specific device feature level) and install this version
http://leteckaposta.cz/723577425

When blackscreen appears, hold F11 for approx. one second and it starts generating file threads.log. It can take a while, because it will download public debug symbols from Microsoft servers (which are several MBs). Then it will automatically kill the process (which will result in dwm.exe restart, so it will be probably stuck with another black screen, so hold CTRL after pressing F11. I hope this will work and it will help to fix the problem :-)

And of course, then send me threads.log file.
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1635
lolchampion

lolchampion

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Ok, so please, use default settings (no additional key in registry, no specific device feature level) and install this version
http://leteckaposta.cz/723577425

When blackscreen appears, hold F11 for approx. one second and it starts generating file threads.log. It can take a while, because it will download public debug symbols from Microsoft servers (which are several MBs). Then it will automatically kill the process (which will result in dwm.exe restart, so it will be probably stuck with another black screen, so hold CTRL after pressing F11. I hope this will work and it will help to fix the problem :-)

And of course, then send me threads.log file.


Done. Here is the log.

Attached Files



#1636
bitaljus

bitaljus
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
i have a problem with 0.91(RC0). when i drag a window and it starts to enter taskbar space i get a black screen. even on autohide taskbar when it is 1 pixel when window crosses it - instant black screen. with v0.9(beta3) i don't have this problem. sorry for bad English.

#1637
MikeRL

MikeRL

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 59 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Cannot guarantee 100% success, but if you're having issues with a DLL try running Windows update, and after installing all the updates and rebooting, run "sfc /scannow" without quotes from an elevated command prompt. A really useful command and non of the all in one tools ever seem to run it (System Mechanic, Advanced System Care, etc.). Running that command checks system files (including DLLs) for corruption. It will replace them with correct versions. Try that and reboot afterwards. Then, you could always redownload some Windows updates and try reinstalling them again.

Edited by MikeRL, 11 May 2013 - 10:40 AM.


#1638
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 228 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

i have a problem with 0.91(RC0). when i drag a window and it starts to enter taskbar space i get a black screen. even on autohide taskbar when it is 1 pixel when window crosses it - instant black screen. with v0.9(beta3) i don't have this problem. sorry for bad English.


Read the previous pages, lol.

Btw, bigmuscle, tried what you gave me, a thread file was created but ctrl button didn't worked so I manually restarted. I'll try again.

Edited by Tusticles, 11 May 2013 - 10:42 AM.


#1639
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
thread.log is just the one important...

However, I must admit that I don't understand it at all. Nody has a problem except of Tusticles and two guys who registered here right now. Debug logs say that everything is correct, also threads.log from lolchampion does not show that it should be stuck up somewhere in my code. So there is probably some secret magic, some special combination how to reproduce this problem. Do you have something special in your computer? Any special settings, any special theme etc... ?
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1640
lolchampion

lolchampion

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
My system is a fulled patched windows 8 x64 pro with media center, no custom theme and no start button is installed.

#1641
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 228 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

thread.log is just the one important...

However, I must admit that I don't understand it at all. Nody has a problem except of Tusticles and two guys who registered here right now. Debug logs say that everything is correct, also threads.log from lolchampion does not show that it should be stuck up somewhere in my code. So there is probably some secret magic, some special combination how to reproduce this problem. Do you have something special in your computer? Any special settings, any special theme etc... ?


Tried and again tried to do what you said, applied the debug version, to get the black screen I had to move a window over the taskbar, screen turned black, pressed f11 and saw the mouse pointer flickering so I presume it started to download required files for debugging. You said dwm process will be restarted automatically after a while but the screen remained black for more than 30 minutes then I decided to restart manually....

I hope thee debug files will tell you something

Attached Files



#1642
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It seems to be stuck in video driver. I tried a few changes, could you test it? http://leteckaposta....oaded/329367334
Also add following registry settings: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM: NoFillPath (DWORD 0x1), then restart dwm process.
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1643
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 228 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It seems to be stuck in video driver. I tried a few changes, could you test it? http://leteckaposta....oaded/329367334
Also add following registry settings: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM: NoFillPath (DWORD 0x1), then restart dwm process.


Applied, black screen, pressed f11, waited a few minutes, tried ctrl, didn't worked, forced restart and returned to desktop holding ctrl key...

Attached Files



#1644
bitaljus

bitaljus
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
here is mine log's with NoFillPath (DWORD 0x1) and the latest debug dll from your post.

Attached File  debug.txt   61.37KB   1 downloads
Attached File  threads.txt   3.35KB   2 downloads

Edited by bitaljus, 11 May 2013 - 12:45 PM.


#1645
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
So try this: http://leteckaposta.cz/302887755

When you press F11, it will generate approx. 170 MB file minidump.dmp. Send it to me.
After you generate minidump. create registry value HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM: NoInternalHooks (DWORD 0x1) and try what happens.
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1646
Madevil

Madevil
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
everything starts fine with RC0, the inactive window glitch is gone.

but when I launch Firefox, the screen went black and left with the cursor... this is tested with FF19, 20 and nightly with the same result.

what information should I provide to help analyzing this issue?

#1647
DosProbie

DosProbie

    Senior Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 676 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

No Issues!! Working Great.. Thanks for all your work Posted Image

#1648
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 228 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

So try this: http://leteckaposta.cz/302887755

When you press F11, it will generate approx. 170 MB file minidump.dmp. Send it to me.
After you generate minidump. create registry value HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM: NoInternalHooks (DWORD 0x1) and try what happens.


Done.

Applied, black screen, pressed f11, I waited several minutes then I did a force restart and returned to desktop holding ctrl key

Then added that key with this value 0x00000001, re-applied dwmglass, no black screen but transparency was not applied,

here is the dmp file before adding that reg value to registry http://www.mediafire...7xm3delamv4a0k7

Edited by Tusticles, 11 May 2013 - 09:36 PM.


#1649
AlexKven

AlexKven

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I tried the release candidate on my secondary Windows 8 pc, and it couldn't work more perfectly. It feels like I am using Windows 8 RP! Thank you, Bigmuscle.

It's amazing how far along this utility has gotten since the preview releases. I have been watching the conversation between you and poor unlucky Tusticles, and it's actually a bit scary. This thing must be integrated very deeply. Be sure to keep the kill-key in the final version.

Tusticles has always had problems with this related to performance. I am curious at what his computer configuration is.


So I take it once that the Tusticles problem is fixed, it goes on to version 1?

#1650
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 228 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I tried the release candidate on my secondary Windows 8 pc, and it couldn't work more perfectly. It feels like I am using Windows 8 RP! Thank you, Bigmuscle.

It's amazing how far along this utility has gotten since the preview releases. I have been watching the conversation between you and poor unlucky Tusticles, and it's actually a bit scary. This thing must be integrated very deeply. Be sure to keep the kill-key in the final version.

Tusticles has always had problems with this related to performance. I am curious at what his computer configuration is.


So I take it once that the Tusticles problem is fixed, it goes on to version 1?


Wtf, you know I always had problems related to performance but you don't know what configuration I have, I posted the specs a lot of times, it wasn't me who had problems, it was dwmglass, in RC0 the performance is improved a lot but there is the problem with the black screen. Ah and btw, I'm not the only one who had/have problems, there are some guys here with the same problem and many who downloaded the application but they didn't posted any debug files...

ASUS G75VW

Processor: Intel Core i7 3610QM
Graphic: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670M with 3GB GDDR5 VRAM
Memory: 12 GB DDR3 1600
Storage: 750GB 7200 SSH

Edited by Tusticles, 11 May 2013 - 10:24 PM.





5 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 5 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN