Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Aero Glass for Win8 RC4


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
2630 replies to this topic

#1651
bitaljus

bitaljus
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 10-May 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
when i read your comp conf. i realized that it maybe a nvidia driver bug. what driver version are you running. i am with latest nvidia beta drivers 320.00 on my NVIDIA Geforce GTX 460 SE


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1652
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,105 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

@ Tusticles

does the ASUS G75VW support Optimus? If yes, force DWM.exe to run with the Intel HD GPU (included in the CPU). I also do this for my Dell Laptop with Intel HD 4000 and Radeon HD 7700M.
Posted Image

#1653
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

when i read your comp conf. i realized that it maybe a nvidia driver bug. what driver version are you running. i am with latest nvidia beta drivers 320.00 on my NVIDIA Geforce GTX 460 SE


Tried with all versions, 314.22, 320.00, no changes...

@ Tusticles

does the ASUS G75VW support Optimus? If yes, force DWM.exe to run with the Intel HD GPU (included in the CPU). I also do this for my Dell Laptop with Intel HD 4000 and Radeon HD 7700M.


No, this model doesn't support Optimus.

Edited by Tusticles, 11 May 2013 - 11:29 PM.


#1654
bitaljus

bitaljus
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 10-May 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
i tried with switching to my CPU's GPU Intel Core i3-2100(HD Graphics 2000), removed the nvidia drivers and installed the intel driver from windows update and no more black screens(no on login, no on window drag over the taskbar).

Edited by bitaljus, 12 May 2013 - 01:18 AM.


#1655
Rayn19

Rayn19

    Banned

  • Banned
  • Pip
  • 64 posts
  • Joined 05-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
The RC0 is much more stable than the BETA3 on my Intel HD 3000, the performance is much better.
No artifacts seen till now and no crash log.

I tried to run it on nVidia 9500GT but it fails to load properly on startup. When I log in, I am greeted with a black screen with only my mouse pointer.
When I tried holding CTRL while logging in, the AERO Glass is still loaded to explorer, but the taskbar remains unaffected.
I even tried the crashfix for v0.91, still have the same problem.

I have also checked the uDWM.dll versions on both systems, both have 6.2.9200.16420 in system32 folder.

I have attached both systems debug.log and/or crash.log, the system with nVidia card has dual monitors btw.

Intel HD 3000: debug.log (no crash log)
nVidia 9500GT: debug.log | crash.log
nVidia 9500GT(w/ crashfix): debug.log (no crash log)

Looking at the posts by Tusticles, the problem is related to nVidia cards. It runs well under intel HD (integrated graphics).

#1656
DosProbie

DosProbie

    Friend of MSFN

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 747 posts
  • Joined 16-October 12
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I imagine BM is going to have to list compatiable video cards at some point or with final release, So maybe we should all List what cards we are using when posting issues for now on.. I am also very curious if Nvidia is definitely a problem card then has anyone also had a problem with aero glass using a AMD Radeon card?Posted Image

Edited by DosProbie, 12 May 2013 - 02:55 AM.


#1657
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,068 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes, this seems to be related with nVidia driver, because (according to minidumps and crashlogs), the dwm process is stuck in nvwgf2umx.dll file waiting for something. I just don't understand what the problem is because it does not touch my code at all (and neither one of running threads does).
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1658
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,105 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

The Game PanzerCorps exits very often, so I activated silent exit monitoring (new feature since Win7) and found that C:\Windows\System32\svchost.exe killed the game with error code -805306369 which means CDERR_DIALOGFAILURE.

Can this be causes by the popup of your Dll? I can't image that a service tries to display a dialog.
Posted Image

#1659
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,068 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
The message box is created with the flag MB_SERVICE_NOTIFICATION but I don't see reason why message box should kill some process.
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1660
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,068 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


So try this: http://leteckaposta.cz/302887755

When you press F11, it will generate approx. 170 MB file minidump.dmp. Send it to me.
After you generate minidump. create registry value HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM: NoInternalHooks (DWORD 0x1) and try what happens.


Done.

Applied, black screen, pressed f11, I waited several minutes then I did a force restart and returned to desktop holding ctrl key

Then added that key with this value 0x00000001, re-applied dwmglass, no black screen but transparency was not applied,

Ok, if you can 100% confirm that setting NoInternalHooks to 0x1 does not bring black screen (and it was not just random) then it is time to try this version http://leteckaposta.cz/111719826

It adds this registry settings: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM: HookFlag (DWORD) which can control what NoInternalHooks disabled completely. Valid values are 1, 2, 4, 8 + their combinations (summations = anything between 1..15), maximum value = 1+2+4+8 = 15 (0xF) which enables everything, 0 disables almost everything (like NoInternalHooks did). I hope this helps me to find which function is the problem.
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1661
bitaljus

bitaljus
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 10-May 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
HookFlag
0-13 -> no black screen
14-15 -> black screen

#1662
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,068 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
So if you put the value correctly (as decimal and not hexa) and value 10 (0xa) makes everything work correctly (transparency with blur but with glitches) then it seems there is some incompatibility between nVidia driver and glass safety zones (which is a new thing added to RC0 to get rid of artifacts but it is DWM native code completely) and I'm afraid that I won't be able to do anything about this except of adding the registry settings to switch to old technique (extend glass zone on my own but with occasional glitches). Could you just post debug.log from this latest build?

edit: from minidump, I found DWM fails with MILERR_NO_HARDWARE_DEVICE error.

Edited by bigmuscle, 12 May 2013 - 08:13 AM.

Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1663
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes, this seems to be related with nVidia driver, because (according to minidumps and crashlogs), the dwm process is stuck in nvwgf2umx.dll file waiting for something. I just don't understand what the problem is because it does not touch my code at all (and neither one of running threads does).


Did you downloaded the minidump I posted? It shows me 0 downloads.

#1664
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,068 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes, I did. My info comes this minidump.

This one:

here is the dmp file before adding that reg value to registry http://www.mediafire...7xm3delamv4a0k7


Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1665
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,105 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the errorcode I see is triggered if a wrong handle is used:

http://msdn.microsof...6(v=vs.85).aspx

I waited for the messagebox to pop up, didn't click it, but moved it to the side of the monitor and played the game now without any issues. I hope we can buy the final soon, to "fix" this :)
Posted Image

#1666
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag



So try this: http://leteckaposta.cz/302887755

When you press F11, it will generate approx. 170 MB file minidump.dmp. Send it to me.
After you generate minidump. create registry value HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM: NoInternalHooks (DWORD 0x1) and try what happens.


Done.

Applied, black screen, pressed f11, I waited several minutes then I did a force restart and returned to desktop holding ctrl key

Then added that key with this value 0x00000001, re-applied dwmglass, no black screen but transparency was not applied,

Ok, if you can 100% confirm that setting NoInternalHooks to 0x1 does not bring black screen (and it was not just random) then it is time to try this version http://leteckaposta.cz/111719826

It adds this registry settings: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM: HookFlag (DWORD) which can control what NoInternalHooks disabled completely. Valid values are 1, 2, 4, 8 + their combinations (summations = anything between 1..15), maximum value = 1+2+4+8 = 15 (0xF) which enables everything, 0 disables almost everything (like NoInternalHooks did). I hope this helps me to find which function is the problem.


--edit--

Ops, I misunderstood, you can use teamviewer to test it yourself...

Edited by Tusticles, 12 May 2013 - 10:12 AM.


#1667
lolchampion

lolchampion

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 27-January 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag



So try this: http://leteckaposta.cz/302887755

When you press F11, it will generate approx. 170 MB file minidump.dmp. Send it to me.
After you generate minidump. create registry value HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM: NoInternalHooks (DWORD 0x1) and try what happens.


Done.

Applied, black screen, pressed f11, I waited several minutes then I did a force restart and returned to desktop holding ctrl key

Then added that key with this value 0x00000001, re-applied dwmglass, no black screen but transparency was not applied,

Ok, if you can 100% confirm that setting NoInternalHooks to 0x1 does not bring black screen (and it was not just random) then it is time to try this version http://leteckaposta.cz/111719826

It adds this registry settings: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM: HookFlag (DWORD) which can control what NoInternalHooks disabled completely. Valid values are 1, 2, 4, 8 + their combinations (summations = anything between 1..15), maximum value = 1+2+4+8 = 15 (0xF) which enables everything, 0 disables almost everything (like NoInternalHooks did). I hope this helps me to find which function is the problem.

Tested all combination. Every time 0x08 is enable together with 0x02 at the same time, I got a black screen.

#1668
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,068 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
And when callBlurShapes is set to 0x1 (under HKCU), 8 + 2 (= 10 or 0xa) does not work either?
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1669
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

And when callBlurShapes is set to 0x1 (under HKCU), 8 + 2 (= 10 or 0xa) does not work either?


using rc0 crashfix + callBlurShapes 0x1 works, why should I use HookFlag?

#1670
lolchampion

lolchampion

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 27-January 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

And when callBlurShapes is set to 0x1 (under HKCU), 8 + 2 (= 10 or 0xa) does not work either?


0xa works (with artifacts) when callBlurShapes set to 0x1.

#1671
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,068 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
ah, so when callBlurShapes is set to 0x1, then it works always regardless HookFlag (even when this setting does not exist) ?
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1672
lolchampion

lolchampion

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 27-January 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

ah, so when callBlurShapes is set to 0x1, then it works always regardless HookFlag (even when this setting does not exist) ?

Yes. With callBlurShapes = 1, Everything works with all flags enable(0x0f), or HookFlag not extist at all.

#1673
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

ah, so when callBlurShapes is set to 0x1, then it works always regardless HookFlag (even when this setting does not exist) ?


Yes, with the dll's released after RC0 + callBlurShapes set to 0x1. I already told you that. But I had to restart explorer to apply blur to starmenu and taskbar :P

--edit--

Opacity setting is affected by callBlurShapes? Because I tried to change the opacity but nothing changes. or this setting was removed in RC0?

Edited by Tusticles, 12 May 2013 - 10:41 AM.


#1674
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,068 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Excelent, at least I know it won't be some magic and know exactly which code to check :-)

By opacity setting you mean the Intensity slider in Windows Colors control panel? There is no reason why it should not work, unless there is another bug - I just tested it and it works.
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1675
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Excelent, at least I know it won't be some magic and know exactly which code to check :-)

By opacity setting you mean the Intensity slider in Windows Colors control panel? There is no reason why it should not work, unless there is another bug - I just tested it and it works.


I;m talking about the registry setting, GlassTransparency.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users