Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Aero Glass for Win8 RC4


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
2630 replies to this topic

#1676
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,001 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
No, there is no such settings. If you want registry settings to control opacity then it is Windows native settings ColorizationBlurBalance.

BTW, could anyone help how to properly log Direct3D errors? The problem seem to be some error during Draw so I need to detect what's wrong. I know that e.g. DebugView displays some errors but its window is not visible on error in DWM.

Edited by bigmuscle, 12 May 2013 - 11:02 AM.

Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1677
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

No, there is no such settings. If you want registry settings to control opacity then it is Windows native settings ColorizationBlurBalance.


What values? from 0 to? Tried 0 but no changes.

#1678
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,001 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It's percentage, so 0 - 100 is valid range, but it will take also a bit of ColorizationAfterglowBalance.
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1679
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It's percentage, so 0 - 100 is valid range, but it will take also a bit of ColorizationAfterglowBalance.


When changing Color intensity in personalize menu these registry values are changed.

ColorizationAfterglow
ColorizationAfterglowBalance
ColorizationBlurBalance
ColorizationColor

Edited by Tusticles, 12 May 2013 - 11:28 AM.


#1680
drakenabarion

drakenabarion

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 83 posts
  • Joined 12-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I have been away a few days so I did not test right away.

RC0 - gives black screen just as reported, as did subsequent debug versions. The version labelled "debug_with_dump.7z" initally loaded DWM in a way that seemed normal, but interacting with the taskbar caused the black screen - the screen that went black was the screen that the taskbar was interacted with, while the other screen did not change graphically but mouse inputs were ignored. Was possible to use F11.

In the latest version that generates a minidump, callBlurShapes=0x1 seems to allow things to work again, and so far I do not see the presence of artifacts, and it is currently performing well. I reloaded DWM so I think I might have to restart explorer for the taskbar to colourise properly. I will keep running and report any additional problems later.

I can provide the logs but are they still needed? You have had a few people provide logs so far and the callBlurShapes "fix" seems to currently sorted some issues out. SO if the minidump is not needed, I can still provide the other logs. Since the minidump is over 100mb, it will take a long time for me to upload. I will do so if it is still needed.

Edit: Just to mention (again) that I use an nVidia card (GTX570) and the driver version is 320.00.

Edit: Here are the links to the other logs and the minidump once it finshed uploading.
Crash: https://www.dropbox....12-May-2013.log
Debug: https://www.dropbox....12-May-2013.log
Threads: https://www.dropbox....12-May-2013.log
Minidump: -No longer needed :D-

Edited by drakenabarion, 12 May 2013 - 11:36 AM.


#1681
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I have been away a few days so I did not test right away.

RC0 - gives black screen just as reported, as did subsequent debug versions. The version labelled "debug_with_dump.7z" initally loaded DWM in a way that seemed normal, but interacting with the taskbar caused the black screen - the screen that went black was the screen that the taskbar was interacted with, while the other screen did not change graphically but mouse inputs were ignored. Was possible to use F11.

In the latest version that generates a minidump, callBlurShapes=0x1 seems to allow things to work again, and so far I do not see the presence of artifacts, and it is currently performing well. I reloaded DWM so I think I might have to restart explorer for the taskbar to colourise properly. I will keep running and report any additional problems later.

I can provide the logs but are they still needed? You have had a few people provide logs so far and the callBlurShapes "fix" seems to currently sorted some issues out. SO if the minidump is not needed, I can still provide the other lots. Since the minidump is over 100mb, it will take a long time for me to upload. I will do so if it is still needed.

Edit: Just to mention (again) that I use an nVidia card (GTX570) and the driver version is 320.00.


I also have a bad internet connection and I compressed the dump file to 19 mb from 120 mb :)

#1682
drakenabarion

drakenabarion

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 83 posts
  • Joined 12-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I also have a bad internet connection and I compressed the dump file to 19 mb from 120 mb :)

Thanks! That does the trick! :) Editing post once it uploads - which will be sooner than I was expecting :D

#1683
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,001 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Minidump is not important now, it will always look same - stuck in nVidia driver after DWM failed wth ERR_NO_HARDWARE error. Just post debug.log if you use "x64_HookFlag" version.
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1684
drakenabarion

drakenabarion

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 83 posts
  • Joined 12-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Minidump is not important now, it will always look same - stuck in nVidia driver after DWM failed wth ERR_NO_HARDWARE error. Just post debug.log if you use "x64_HookFlag" version.

Ok, here they are. I did not delete logs between the versions I tried today, but I am using "x64_HookFlag" now, so the later entries will refer to that.

Crash: https://www.dropbox....12-May-2013.log
Debug: https://www.dropbox....12-May-2013.log
Threads: https://www.dropbox....12-May-2013.log

I will start deleting the log files after updating in future (after saving them else where in an archive folder).

#1685
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,001 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


It's percentage, so 0 - 100 is valid range, but it will take also a bit of ColorizationAfterglowBalance.


When changing Color intensity in personalize menu these registry values are changed.

ColorizationAfterglow
ColorizationAfterglowBalance
ColorizationBlurBalance
ColorizationColor

Because it also modifies the color to look better on selected opacity level.

In the latest version that generates a minidump, callBlurShapes=0x1 seems to allow things to work again, and so far I do not see the presence of artifacts, and it is currently performing well. I reloaded DWM so I think I might have to restart explorer for the taskbar to colourise properly. I will keep running and report any additional problems later.

calBlurShapes is just a temporary solution because it does not generate glass region properly and can break with any Windows Updates. I will remove it when I am able to fix the issue. I will post another version to test when I manage to log Direct3D pipeline errors.
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1686
niun

niun

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 23-November 11
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
A few reports:

- RC0 works fine on Intel HD 4000, only bug noticed is that inactive color window isn't adjustable, there's no color indeed, even if transparency and blur are working.

- On Geforce 9600M GT, after some minutes of good behaviour since installation, screen becomes black (but DWM doesn't restart, I think, beacuse when DWM restarts, screen completely turns off for a moment) an even restarting PC doesn't change anything (also pushing Power button doesn't shut down the machine) ... maybe this happens beacuse I'm using latest Desktop drivers on a notebook card, I'll check...

Edited by niun, 12 May 2013 - 12:06 PM.


#1687
drakenabarion

drakenabarion

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 83 posts
  • Joined 12-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

calBlurShapes is just a temporary solution because it does not generate glass region properly and can break with any Windows Updates. I will remove it when I am able to fix the issue. I will post another version to test when I manage to log Direct3D pipeline errors.

Ah, I understand. Does running with callBlurShapes give any useful information then? Or are there other things I ought to test out at this point?

#1688
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,001 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Nope, callBlurShapes does not provide much useful information. The only thing which can be tested with it is DWM compatibility + colorization settings.

Btw, I found a bug which happens when window is moved outside the bottom screen boundary. Could that be what you were reporting as "black screen when I touch the taskbar" (so it is not touching the taskbar but moving the part of window below the taskbar) ???
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1689
drakenabarion

drakenabarion

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 83 posts
  • Joined 12-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Nope, callBlurShapes does not provide much useful information. The only thing which can be tested with it is DWM compatibility + colorization settings.

Btw, I found a bug which happens when window is moved outside the bottom screen boundary. Could that be what you were reporting as "black screen when I touch the taskbar" (so it is not touching the taskbar but moving the part of window below the taskbar) ???

Hmm, I will check again. Could it be an overlap with the taskbar that causes this? I have my taskbar set to autohide, and some of my windows explorer windows are covered when I move to the bottom of the screen to activate the taskbar. I will check in a moment, but that sounds like it could be at least part of the issue.

#1690
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,001 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It's not overlap but when window bottom edge has Y coordinate higher than screen_height - 7 (which is actually applied to taskbar too), then D3D debug mode shouts than I am out of range. This could be driver-dependent that some driver ignores it, but some driver fails completely resulting in black screen.

Edited by bigmuscle, 12 May 2013 - 02:51 PM.

Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1691
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Windows dragged over Internet Explorer

Posted Image

#1692
Gabe

Gabe

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 01-May 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Was native blur removed in this version? It doesn't seem to have the speed or artifacts associated with the one in 0.8-0.90.


Yes, there is no native blur now. Why? I said it million-times that this mode is not supposed to be used at all and that all versions are intended for testing only. So what is the purpose of your testing when you disable the code to test?


Good. I didn't like people whining about it all the time either. Performance is fine now regardless.

My only problem is that the GPU does not ramp up in "balanced" or "power saving" mode (and the respective Intel graphics settings associated with these default power profiles), leading to single-digit framerates when moving some windows. This is probably because the HD 3000 in "power save" is too weak, especially when pushing FHD resolution. In Windows 7, a combination of the native dwm blurring and smart GPU ramping led to butter-smooth motion all the time. I personally run my laptop in maximum performance when plugged in and glass off when on battery anyway (the same as on Windows 7), so this is a non-issue to me.

#1693
AlexKven

AlexKven

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Windows dragged over Internet Explorer

Posted Image


I had that exact problem in 0.9. But RC0 fixed that problem on my machine.



Man, it was annoying.

Edited by AlexKven, 12 May 2013 - 04:54 PM.


#1694
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Windows dragged over Internet Explorer

Posted Image


I had that exact problem in 0.9. But RC0 fixed that problem on my machine.



Man, it was annoying.



On about:Tabs it is normal :unsure:

Edited by Tusticles, 12 May 2013 - 05:34 PM.


#1695
NoelC

NoelC

    Software Engineer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,085 posts
  • Joined 08-April 13
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You seem to have a lot of problems on your system Tusticles.

Haven't seen any issues with overlapping IE windows myself, so keep the faith - it's possible for it to work right.

Posted Image

What video card and driver version do you have? Have you checked for updates to that (e.g., from AMD.com or nVidia.com)?

-Noel

#1696
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

You seem to have a lot of problems on your system Tusticles.

Haven't seen any issues with overlapping IE windows myself, so keep the faith - it's possible for it to work right.

Posted Image

What video card and driver version do you have? Have you checked for updates to that (e.g., from AMD.com or nVidia.com)?

-Noel


We are not using the same DWMGlass, I suppose you have RC0, I have the version released after RC0 (RC0 crashfix) with 'callBlurShapes' value in registry...

My GPU is NVIDIA GTX 670M and drivers 314.22

Edited by Tusticles, 12 May 2013 - 07:56 PM.


#1697
NoelC

NoelC

    Software Engineer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,085 posts
  • Joined 08-April 13
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

We are not using the same DWMGlass, I suppose you have RC0, I have the version released after RC0 (RC0 crashfix) with 'callBlurShapes' value in registry...


True, I have the main RC0 version. Sorry if I ended up confusing things.

-Noel

#1698
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,001 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
i already wrote that callBlurShapes is just temporary solution which does not generate glass regions properly thus it makes no sense to report bugs when this mode is enabled
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#1699
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

i already wrote that callBlurShapes is just temporary solution which does not generate glass regions properly thus it makes no sense to report bugs when this mode is enabled


I missed that part, sorry, any progress?

#1700
gontie

gontie

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 13-May 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
This is really awesome, thanks already for the work.

Unfortunately, i have to report that aero glass is lanched on my computer but neither the version 7/8/9 enabled the transparency.

I forced all possible color but no sign of transparency.

What can i do to provide usefull information ?

I've tested with the dll file directly or with AGTweaker-1.3 and all the provided options.

That are my specs :
Laptop : HP 655
VGA : AIT Radeon HD 7340
CPU : AMD E2-1800
OS : Windows 8 X64




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN