Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

High CPU Usage and Temps for Streaming Video


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
xmf

xmf

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Joined 05-February 10
I'm getting ~20% CPU usage and core temps ~50C with 2 browser windows open (one streaming video and the other not doing much, only a few tabs).

Here are my basic specs:
Win7 pro x64
i5-2500K stock clocks
M4 ssd
gtx 560 gpu
asrock z77e-itx board
8gb ram

The system typically idles around 40C, I'm not sure what's going on here. No other apps running aside from firefox atm. Thanks

Edited by xmf, 15 February 2013 - 06:17 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

which process causes the CPU usage?
Posted Image

#3
xmf

xmf

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Joined 05-February 10

which process causes the CPU usage?


Please let me know how I can check.

#4
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

run Taskmgr.
Posted Image

#5
xmf

xmf

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Joined 05-February 10

run Taskmgr.


Thanks, I had looked there, but wasn't sure what figure to check. I assumed it would be in the processes tab under CPU (as a percent maybe), but idle processes show 99 so my assumption is obviously incorrect.

#6
xmf

xmf

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Joined 05-February 10


run Taskmgr.


Thanks, I had looked there, but wasn't sure what figure to check. I assumed it would be in the processes tab under CPU (as a percent maybe), but idle processes show 99 so my assumption is obviously incorrect.


Can someone please advise? Thanks

#7
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

if nothings shows up, why do you think you have high CPU usage?
Posted Image

#8
xmf

xmf

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Joined 05-February 10

if nothings shows up, why do you think you have high CPU usage?


The CPU usage in Taskmgr as described in my first post. To clarify post #5, I am not sure how to determine which process is causing the high cpu usage.

Edited by xmf, 20 February 2013 - 01:44 AM.


#9
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Run ProcessExplorer as admin and look which process causes a high cpu usgae.
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users