Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Sudden shutdown when playing video or Youtube


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
It's like the title says, the laptop just randomly shuts down after a few videos on Youtube or a 20-30 min. of video played. I debugged the .dmp files and they are identical. It looks like processor trouble, so I was hoping for some advice. The log of the debugging is attached below in case anyone wants to drop a look.

Thank you for any advice you might be able to provide.

Attached File  Debugged DMP.txt   3.31KB   8 downloads


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,567 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

It looks like processor trouble, so I was hoping for some advice.

CPU or GPU (more likely IMHO) overheating? :unsure:
Can you try with a cooling pad or similar to see if there is a difference (like doubling the time before the shutdown is forced/happens)

jaclaz

#3
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Attached File  second DMP.txt   2.4KB   5 downloads


That surprised me as well; the CPU fan/sink was recently cleaned thoroughly and the fan is always on. On the heaviest load it goes up to 70 degrees celsius (shutdown happens at 100 according to factory specification).

Thanks Jaclaz for your input.

#4
GrofLuigi

GrofLuigi

    GroupPolicy Tattoo Artist

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,360 posts
  • Joined 21-April 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
If you were overclocking, the answer to bugcheck 0x124 would definitely be add more vcore. Maybe the power supply is weak/weakened?

What have you tried so far? (which browser, hardware acceleration...)?

#5
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,091 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

type !errrec <value of arg2> in WinDbg and look what it tells you.
Posted Image

#6
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,902 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

You can test your video card with OCCT:
http://files.extreme.../file.php?f=214
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#7
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
@GrofLuigi
I've tried Firefox and Chrome Portable; Hardware Acceleration is enabled in Flash. As a player I mostly use MPC - Home Cinema, but no hardware acceleration (DXVA or similar). No overclocking done.

@MagicAndre1981
The last two dumps had different values for arg2, so I did !errrec for both. The results are in the two text files attached here.

@Tripedacus
Thank you, I will try that and also SpeedFan for CPU/HDD temperatures.

Cheers and thank you.

Attached File  second !errrec.txt   2.09KB   9 downloads

Attached File  first !errrec.txt   2.09KB   8 downloads

Edit: I'm afraid OCCT will not work because
Attached File  CUDA.png   19.26KB   13 downloads

Edited by Sp0iLedBrAt, 21 February 2013 - 12:46 PM.


#8
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,091 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

you have a L1 Cache issue which be caused by OC or overheating. What is the temperature when you get the crash?
Posted Image

#9
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

you have a L1 Cache issue which be caused by OC or overheating. What is the temperature when you get the crash?


The CPU is AMD Turion x2 2.2GHz RM-74 64-bit. It has not been overclocked, and the temperature is around 52-55 Celsius. I recently had it cleaned and the guys at the repair shop rewired the fan to be always on (the laptop has an EFI BIOS and there is such an option, but they didn't use that). Can this be the culprit? If so, they have a piece of my mind coming their way Posted Image

Cheers and thanks

#10
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,091 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

hm, if the FAN is always on, it should not overheat. Run Prime95 to check if the CPU is stable.
Posted Image

#11
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Sorry for not replying promptly.

I ran Prime95 on the most stressful settings; the CPU got to 94 degrees and it stayed there for a while. Then I plugged in the external cooling and got it down to 88 degrees. It stayed like that for almost an hour. Below is a screenshot in comparison with CPUID Hardware Monitor.
Attached File  2.png   41.67KB   6 downloads

Meanwhile, there was another shutdown and the same error, but a different arg2 value. I'm also attaching the !errrec log.
Attached File  three.txt   1.94KB   5 downloads


Cheers

#12
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,091 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I have no idea what this unknown error could be.
Posted Image

#13
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Can this help?
Attached File  four.txt   1.94KB   4 downloads

#14
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
A quick update: I found this site http://superuser.com...code-0x00000124 and I found Andre in it; there was also a sub-link http://www.sevenforu...stop-0x124.html where cluberti lead the discussion. They both describe my problem in details, both with the CPU and the laptop make, HP.

Anyway, I reduced Maximum processor state to 90% (as proposed in the first link) and I'll see what happens. Meanwhile, I'm open to any other suggestion anyone might have.

Cheers and thanks

#15
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I had a friend who had the same model and the problem was overheating. I believe the fan is on the bottom, so if it doesn't get any circulation, it will shutdown. I used some boards to prop it up while I was fixing it. He still has it and haven't had any problems since. I thought it was the memory, we ended up buying replacements to find out that wasn't the problem. I still have the ram also, brand new, still in the package. Hope this is the case for you.

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#16
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I hope so too, although for the past 2 days it's been sitting on the cooling fan surface, namely this http://www.targus.co...aptop+Chill+Mat (not plugged in), and still there were two shutdowns.
I'll see what I can do about it.

Thanks

#17
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,091 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

try if RMClock works with your CPU and here you can reduce the max frequency. Maybe this helps.
Posted Image

#18
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,798 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Have you tried to take the back cover of the laptop completely off to see if there might be "dust bunnies" clogging the airflow passages up? It never hurts to do some housecleaning occasionally.

Cheers and Regards

Posted Image


#19
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Revisiting: solution was close to post #14; reducing CPU to 80% made the shutdowns go away.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users