Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Desktop sharing between Win-98 <> XP

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
Nomen

Nomen

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Joined 07-July 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I know that remote desktop sharing is common between NT-based systems - can I do the same between a win98 system controlling the desktop of a remote win-XP system? If so, what do I install?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
TmEE

TmEE

    Mega Drive Modding Master

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 361 posts
  • Joined 17-September 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Remote Desktop Client exists for 98 but no Server so you cannot use XP to service 98 that way.

I am using TightVNC for my 98SE based server but that is slower and won't allow printing like Remote Desktop does. Speed is only an issue over the internet or 100Mbit LAN. I got 1Gbit LAN at home and everything is butter smooth :)
Posted Image Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)

#3
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
SP3 also install Remote Desktop Web Connection. This is the same as the LAN version but you can do it over the internet. You must have WinXP Pro. SP installs both version. See Remote Desktop Connection (Terminal Services Client 5.2) option.

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#4
Nomen

Nomen

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Joined 07-July 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
These answers aren't helping me.

I want to control / manipulate / access the desktop of a XP-sp3 system FROM a win-98se system. Which system is the "server" in that situation?

And will TightVNC do what I want? Will anything do what I want?

#5
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

These answers aren't helping me.

Thats because you lack comprehension :huh:

I want to control / manipulate / access the desktop of a XP-sp3 system FROM a win-98se system. Which system is the "server" in that situation?

This is what Microsoft Remote Desktop Connection does. If you don't have WinXP Pro, then you will have to use a 3rd party app. You also have to configure your WinXP machine and open the necessary port. So unless you are able to comprehend what we are posting, then this topic is pointless :} :(

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#6
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,287 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
(sigh...) Does this help (followup on PROBLEMCHYLD post)? Please read it...
http://www.petri.co....oad_rdp_5_2.htm
Appears to install to "Program Files\Remote Desktop" (looking inside the MSI).
The version PROBLEMCHYLD gives in 98SP3 (see his signature and the link) -
http://support.micro....com/kb/2483618
The CHM file appears to be in the FIRST link and the SECOND link gives THIS link for download -
http://www.microsoft...s.aspx?id=10608
Notice it HAS to be extracted in order to "overlay" and rename the files (wherever they get installed to?) via
WindowsXP-KB2483618-x86-ENU.exe /Q /X:<targetdirectory>
in a Command Prompt (unknown if will run on Win9x in DOS Prompt).
2k3mstsc.exe / 2k3mstscax.dll
ALSO unknown if you need anything from 98SP3 (maybe not?).

More info (and the specific port that needs to be opened) -
http://en.wikipedia....esktop_Protocol

HTH

Edited by submix8c, 26 February 2013 - 01:58 PM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#7
Nomen

Nomen

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Joined 07-July 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
You know, I realize full well that I'm going to have to open ports (and I know how to do that), and it might be a bear to set up.

All I'm asking is if it's been done, or has anyone done it, does it work, etc. And if it does work - then what software (out of a small handful of possibilities) am I looking at.

What about net meeting? This came with win-98, didn't it?

#8
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 812 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

You can't always expect someone here to have a 100% definite answer to your questions. Everyone here will help you as they can, but it is ultimately up to YOU to experiment some. If you're not prepared to run the experiments, then don't complain that someone else hasn't done it already, or isn't doing it for you.

#9
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

You know, I realize full well that I'm going to have to open ports (and I know how to do that), and it might be a bear to set up.

All I'm asking is if it's been done, or has anyone done it, does it work, etc. And if it does work - then what software (out of a small handful of possibilities) am I looking at.

What about net meeting? This came with win-98, didn't it?

Of course Remote Desktop works. Both version, Lan and Internet. I use it when its needed. The WEB connection version will NOT install on Win98. You will have to use the SP for this, or strip the package apart and tweak the inf file. If they didn't work, they wouldn't be included in the SP, You don't need the SP for the files, you can download them yourself, free of charge from the Microsoft website. I can't speak about other 3rd party Remote Desktop apps because I don't use them. Thanks LoneCrusader, this guy was on his way..................

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#10
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,287 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
...and to point out that I SPECIFICALLY pointed to the appropriate "individual" files to be installed without downloading the SP3. ;)

NOMEN, did you read my post and the contents of the links? Everything you need is there. SP3 does NOT mean XP-SP3, it means USP3 for Win98.

In addition to the Opened Port, you have to Allow Remote on the XP Machine.

PROBLEMCHYLD says it works. Did he lie?

(betting you did NOT read the links or our posts...)

Edited by submix8c, 27 February 2013 - 02:47 PM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users