Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Any hope of getting Windows 2000 running on my PC?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#26
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,520 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
There's a reason why I recommended to use my HFSLIP package. Slipstreaming all of the required updates is way easier than installing them manually in a running system :sneaky:

If you wanted to have a fully updated system then you should install everything what is included in the HFSLIP archive but in reality you can just do this to update system core components. Install:


After that you can play around with XP drivers (but need to modify their INF files in most cases) and also try to enable PAE:

Intel Physical Addressing Extensions (PAE) in Windows 2000
Posted Image
Unofficial Service Pack 5.2 for MS Windows 2000 <- use this topic if you need help with UURollup, Update Rollup 2 and other unofficial packages


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
Brahnix

Brahnix

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank you so, so much. Everyone here that's helped me get this running, I never thought I'd see the day honestly. It's all there, everything is installed and I'm thrilled (I haven't gotten the monitor situation figured out yet but I've just disabled the second one for now). This is gonna be awesome to play around with. Thanks so much!

#28
Brahnix

Brahnix

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Here's the brilliant piece of art you fellows have helped me achieve. Windows 2000 in 1080!

PAE worked! It somehow got Windows 2000 to recognize all 6 cores!

WORKING:
Steam
Winamp
AMD Catalyst Control Center
Wifi/sound/all drivers

PROBLEMS
Avast! is giving me issues with installing (it crashes after it installs and poops out errors when I try to run it)
no multi-mon support unless it's cloned and at a small res
I still have to switch between IDE and RAID to boot Windows 2k and Windows 7, respectively. (Inaccessible boot device BSOD when i try to boot 2k in RAID)

overall, i never thought i'd see the day. thanks again!

Edited by Brahnix, 25 March 2013 - 12:50 AM.


#29
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,520 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Can't you enable multi-monitor support in AMD Catalyst Control Center? I use Nvidia and you must enable "DualView" in order to be able to configure the two displays separately.

I'll try to check Avast in the next few days.
Posted Image
Unofficial Service Pack 5.2 for MS Windows 2000 <- use this topic if you need help with UURollup, Update Rollup 2 and other unofficial packages

#30
Brahnix

Brahnix

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
nope! i click "extend main onto this monitor" and nothing happens :/

#31
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,520 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
It may not work with new drivers :}

In case of Nvidia drivers I can get it work only with v.270.x or older. Have you tried to restart the system after trying to enable the second display? I had to do it twice in order to finally get it working.
Posted Image
Unofficial Service Pack 5.2 for MS Windows 2000 <- use this topic if you need help with UURollup, Update Rollup 2 and other unofficial packages

#32
Brahnix

Brahnix

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Probably :/ it isn't that big of a deal, however! Avast just flat out isn't working. I'm searching for a new AV. It installs, but causes a few errors, won't scan, and causes Windows 2000 to slow to a crawl.

#33
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,520 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
How about Avast 7.x? It should work fine. Avast still releases database updates even for v4.8 :)

Edit: Avast 8 does work in my test machine... Are you sure that you installed all of the packages which I mentioned above in #26? :unsure: Avast 8 basically requires Windows 2000 SP4 + IE6 + Update Rollup 1 to work. It makes system unbootable after restart <_< I need to do more tests.

Edited by tomasz86, 25 March 2013 - 04:03 PM.

Posted Image
Unofficial Service Pack 5.2 for MS Windows 2000 <- use this topic if you need help with UURollup, Update Rollup 2 and other unofficial packages

#34
Brahnix

Brahnix

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
I got Avast 6 working! However, when it finds virus' (which it does, 5 of them) it can't remove them. Clicking remove does nothing. Hmph.

#35
Browncoat

Browncoat

    Rebel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 113 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I got Avast 6 working! However, when it finds virus' (which it does, 5 of them) it can't remove them. Clicking remove does nothing. Hmph.

http://i.imgur.com/H24q6dg.jpg

Now I'm envious, seeing those six cores in 2000/task manager but my MDP-130s have a requirement for DVD playback that the machine
have only one core or otherwise invoke the /onecpu switch in windows.

As for an AV....go to filehippo and get AVG 7.5 or 8.5, until I moved on I was still using 7.5 for years and manually d/l'ing
the virus definitions and pointing the updater to the file on the drive rather than on-line. It works as 6.5 was the core and still is
for AVG 2013.

Then get the 2009 version of Outpost Firewall.

http://www.avg.com/w...wnload-update-8

8,9, 2011,2012 all work but stick to one version series don't mix them.


I still want to use 2000 some time in the future, especially in a laptop
as my copy is the Volume Licence version with SP4 already integrated
and doesn't even need a key.

Edited by Browncoat, 25 March 2013 - 10:50 PM.


#36
Brahnix

Brahnix

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
It's a great rig!.. sorta. Windows 2k won't boot anymore. I installed all of the KernelEX 2K equivalent updates and now Windows refuses to boot. It tries to boot, fails, and restarts. Are the files the updater replaced able to be replaced by the originals manually? I do still have Windows 7, which I'm typing from, and still have access to the drive. All-in-all, I was hoping to get some XP apps running and now it's broken...

#37
AnX

AnX

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 162 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You should use Version 7 of avast. That works properly in Win2k.

What do you mean by "KernelEX"? If you have installed UUR weekly, then you should never install any Kernel Extensions.
UUR already has the extensions.

For a good firewall you can use Malware Defender (located at http://windows2000.tk in the Programs section).

Also, have you tried standby? Does Win2k remain stable after it?

Edited by AnX, 26 March 2013 - 01:07 AM.

PC Specs: AMD FX-8320 (3.5-4Ghz, 8-core, Vishera, 16MB of Cache) -H212 Evo, 8GB of DDR3-1600MHz HyperX, 500GB WD Caviar Blue, Seasonic S12II 620 Watt PSU, Cooler master HAF 912 Combat Mid-Tower Case, AMD Radeon R7 260X 2GB, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Motherboard, DVD+-RW Writer, Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

 

50308.png

49128.gif

 


#38
Brahnix

Brahnix

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
http://www.msfn.org/...36-kdw-fcwin2k/

that's what i installed. I had no idea :/ shoot. I'll try to boot in safe mode, see if I can get anything going.

#39
AnX

AnX

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 162 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You shouldn't have installed that!!!!

UUR has the Application Compatibility Launcher and the KDW built in.

You will have to reinstall Windows. :(

PC Specs: AMD FX-8320 (3.5-4Ghz, 8-core, Vishera, 16MB of Cache) -H212 Evo, 8GB of DDR3-1600MHz HyperX, 500GB WD Caviar Blue, Seasonic S12II 620 Watt PSU, Cooler master HAF 912 Combat Mid-Tower Case, AMD Radeon R7 260X 2GB, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Motherboard, DVD+-RW Writer, Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

 

50308.png

49128.gif

 


#40
Brahnix

Brahnix

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
annnnd i'm back. 2k reinstalled right back to where I was before. sorry about that haha.

#41
AnX

AnX

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 162 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

annnnd i'm back. 2k reinstalled right back to where I was before. sorry about that haha.


Alright, let's get back to where we were.
After UUR weekly,
First, get avast 7.0.1473.
Then get Malware defender from http://www.windows2000.tk programs list.
Install it and disable ALL protection EXCEPT network protection (We only need Firewall).
Disable Learning Mode.
Then, install Advanced SystemCare from IOBit and CCleaner.
Install Latest firefox and disable hardware acceration by going to Tools>Options>Enable Hardware Acceleration when possible
Install Flash (flash will still use hardware acceleation)
Install what you like.

Then, we should have a good Win2K machine.

Edited by AnX, 27 March 2013 - 10:02 AM.

PC Specs: AMD FX-8320 (3.5-4Ghz, 8-core, Vishera, 16MB of Cache) -H212 Evo, 8GB of DDR3-1600MHz HyperX, 500GB WD Caviar Blue, Seasonic S12II 620 Watt PSU, Cooler master HAF 912 Combat Mid-Tower Case, AMD Radeon R7 260X 2GB, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Motherboard, DVD+-RW Writer, Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

 

50308.png

49128.gif

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN