Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

OS selection issue


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
Groundskeeper

Groundskeeper
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 12-March 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Ok I have been working on this XML file for a couple weeks and I only have one issue left to fix. When I insert the USB drive it asks me to select the version of windows 7 to install (Starter, Home Basic, Home Premium, Professional, and Ultimate). I want it to automatically select Professional and install the OS. I have tried editing the install.wim file and writing into the XML file <image>4<image> etc... What am I missing in my xml?

Here is a copy of my xml file (important stuff removed of course)

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
<settings pass="windowsPE">
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="NonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<UserData>
<Organization>XXXXXXXXXXXX</Organization>
<FullName>Admin</FullName>
<AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>
</UserData>
<DiskConfiguration>
<WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
<Disk wcm:action="add">
<CreatePartitions>
<CreatePartition wcm:action="add">
<Order>1</Order>
<Size>100</Size>
<Type>Primary</Type>
</CreatePartition>
<CreatePartition wcm:action="add">
<Order>2</Order>
<Extend>true</Extend>
<Type>Primary</Type>
</CreatePartition>
</CreatePartitions>
<ModifyPartitions>
<ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">
<Active>true</Active>
<Format>NTFS</Format>
<Label>System</Label>
<Order>1</Order>
<PartitionID>1</PartitionID>
</ModifyPartition>
<ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">
<Format>NTFS</Format>
<Label>Win7</Label>
<Letter>C</Letter>
<Order>2</Order>
<PartitionID>2</PartitionID>
</ModifyPartition>
</ModifyPartitions>
<DiskID>0</DiskID>
<WillWipeDisk>true</WillWipeDisk>
</Disk>
</DiskConfiguration>
<ImageInstall>
<OSImage>
<InstallToAvailablePartition>false</InstallToAvailablePartition>
<WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
<InstallTo>
<DiskID>0</DiskID>
<PartitionID>2</PartitionID>
</InstallTo>
</OSImage>
</ImageInstall>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<SetupUILanguage>
<UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
</SetupUILanguage>
<UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
<InputLocale>en-US</InputLocale>
<SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>
<UILanguageFallback>en-US</UILanguageFallback>
<UserLocale>en-US</UserLocale>
</component>
</settings>
<settings pass="specialize">
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<OEMInformation>
<HelpCustomized>false</HelpCustomized>
</OEMInformation>
<!-- Rename computer here. -->
<ComputerName>XXXXXXXXX</ComputerName>
<TimeZone>Mountain Standard Time</TimeZone>
<RegisteredOwner></RegisteredOwner>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-TerminalServices-LocalSessionManager" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<!-- Allow Remote Desktop connections. -->
<fDenyTSConnections>true</fDenyTSConnections>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-IE-InternetExplorer" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<DisableAccelerators>true</DisableAccelerators>
<DisableOOBAccelerators>true</DisableOOBAccelerators>
<SuggestedSitesEnabled>false</SuggestedSitesEnabled>
<Home_Page>XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX</Home_Page>
<QuickLinkList>
<QuickLinkItem wcm:action="add">
<QuickLinkName>Google</QuickLinkName>
<QuickLinkUrl>http://www.google.co...</QuickLinkUrl>
<QLID>1</QLID>
</QuickLinkItem>
</QuickLinkList>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP-UX" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<!-- Disable automatic activation. This gives 30 days of usage when product key is specified in setup (WinPE pass). -->
<SkipAutoActivation>false</SkipAutoActivation>
</component>
</settings>
<settings pass="oobeSystem">
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="NonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<OOBE>
<NetworkLocation>Work</NetworkLocation>
<ProtectYourPC>1</ProtectYourPC>
<HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
<SkipMachineOOBE>true</SkipMachineOOBE>
<SkipUserOOBE>false</SkipUserOOBE>
</OOBE>
<TimeZone>Mountain Standard Time</TimeZone>
<AutoLogon>
<Password>
<!-- Don't forget to change. -->
<Value>XXXXXXXXX</Value>
<PlainText>true</PlainText>
</Password>
<Enabled>true</Enabled>
<LogonCount>2</LogonCount>
<Username>Administrator</Username>
</AutoLogon>
<UserAccounts>
<AdministratorPassword>
<!-- Specify Built-in Administrator password here. Don't forget to also change it
in the AutoLogon setting. -->
<Value>XXXXXXX</Value>
<PlainText>true</PlainText>
</AdministratorPassword>
</UserAccounts>
<FirstLogonCommands>
<SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...ig/2002/State">
<CommandLine>%SystemRoot%\System32\reg.exe ADD HKCU\Console /v QuickEdit /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f</CommandLine>
<Order>1</Order>
<Description>Enable QuickEdit mode</Description>
</SynchronousCommand>
<SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...ig/2002/State">
<CommandLine>%SystemRoot%\System32\reg.exe ADD HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced\ /v HideFileExt /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f</CommandLine>
<Order>2</Order>
<Description>Show file extensions in Explorer</Description>
</SynchronousCommand>
<SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...ig/2002/State">
<CommandLine>%SystemRoot%\System32\reg.exe ADD HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced\ /v Start_ShowRun /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f</CommandLine>
<Order>3</Order>
<Description>Show Run command in Start Menu</Description>
</SynchronousCommand>
<SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...ig/2002/State">
<CommandLine>%SystemRoot%\System32\reg.exe ADD HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced\ /v StartMenuAdminTools /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f</CommandLine>
<Order>4</Order>
<Description>Show Administrative Tools in Start Menu</Description>
</SynchronousCommand>
</FirstLogonCommands>
<Themes>
<ThemeName>Landscapes</ThemeName>
<DesktopBackground>%SystemRoot%\Web\Wallpaper\Landscapes\img9.jpg</DesktopBackground>
</Themes>
<TaskbarLinks>
<Link0>%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Accessories\Command Prompt.lnk</Link0>
</TaskbarLinks>
</component>
</settings>
<settings pass="specialize">
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="NonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<ProductKey>
<WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
<!-- Change Product Key here. -->
<Key>XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX</Key>
</ProductKey>
</component>
</settings>
<cpi:offlineImage cpi:source="wim:C:/XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXinstall.wim#Windows 7 PROFESSIONAL" xmlns:cpi="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:cpi" />
</unattend>

Edited by Groundskeeper, 25 March 2013 - 01:20 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Add inside your Autounattend.xml file: <settings pass="windowsPE">

<ImageInstall>
                <OSImage>
                    <InstallFrom>
                        <MetaData wcm:action="add">
                            <Key>/IMAGE/NAME</Key>
                            <Value>Windows 7 PROFESSIONAL</Value>
                        </MetaData>
                    </InstallFrom>
                    <WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
                    <InstallToAvailablePartition>false</InstallToAvailablePartition>
                </OSImage>
            </ImageInstall>

Edited by myselfidem, 25 March 2013 - 01:52 PM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#3
Groundskeeper

Groundskeeper
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 12-March 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
That did not work. It actually caused setup to show select my language and then install and then threw an error (Unable to parse or process ... pass windows PE). Where as before it was showing the Select the version to install.

#4
Groundskeeper

Groundskeeper
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 12-March 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I forgot to mention earlier I am using a VLK for the key that is why it is not in the "Windows PE" pass. When I put the key in the file (windows PE pass) it errors out stating invalid product key in Autounattend.xml.

Right now I am using the slmgr.vbs to put in the key and activate which is working. The key listed in the 'specialize' pass is there and I am not sure if it works or not.

#5
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Error inside your Autounattend.xml x86 file:

<component name="Microsoft-Windows-IE-InternetExplorer" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">

*Edit: Could you attach your file?

You may need to change the order inside <settings pass="windowsPE"> and check your file with WSIM !

Edited by myselfidem, 26 March 2013 - 03:27 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#6
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,970 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I forgot to mention earlier I am using a VLK for the key that is why it is not in the "Windows PE" pass. When I put the key in the file (windows PE pass) it errors out stating invalid product key in Autounattend.xml.


The key in Specialize should be your MAK/KMS/VLK key.

The key you put in Windows PE pass is the install key and is different. You can find some install keys here to use in that pass:
http://www.cluberti....s-7-deployment/
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#7
Groundskeeper

Groundskeeper
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 12-March 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I got it fixed last night. I had an extra line in the Windows PE pass after adding the image name lines. Now it boots and loads Win7 Pro, installs key, and activates. Thank you guys for helping me fix this issue.

#8
Groundskeeper

Groundskeeper
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 12-March 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Hey thank you Tripredacus. I used that to set my build and it loads Pro by default without the <image name> section. I ma going to try leaving both sections in as a bit of redundancy.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users