Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Windows 98SE installation error OEMCD001

- - - - -

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
23 replies to this topic

#1
alysak5473

alysak5473
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 08-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,
I have a problem with installing windows 98SE so I need your guys' help. I am running a HP p6714y computer with a windows 7 operating system on it. My proccessor is an AMD Athlon™ II X4 640 Proccessor 3.00 GHz. I also have 4 gigabites of RAM. I wanted to install a second operating system on my computer which is windows 98. I didn't create a second partition though for the operating system. I inserted the CD disk and restarted windows a screen comes up with three options: one is for start windows with cd rom support, start windows without cd rom support and start windows 98 setup from CD ROM. I chose start windows 98 setup from CD ROM and it scans for a CD ROM called "OEMCD001" it says that it is not found and installation is aborted and it takes me to another screen which says "No Valid CDROM device drivers selected, Windows 98 setup files were not found" and it also says "A:\>" and you can type a command where that "A" letter is. The same thing also occurred when I chose the option "Start windows with CD ROM support". The other option "Start Windows without CD ROM support" just boots the computer normally. I need help to fix this problem. I don't have a lot experience so I need a step by step guid on how to fix this problem. Remember that I am also installing this from a CD.

Thanks.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,461 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
AIN'T GONNA HAPPEN! That's a SATA DVD. It's ALL SATA!
Your Specs -
http://h10025.www1.h...e=c02675196#N87
Your Motherboard -
http://h10025.www1.h...=c01701270#N387
Four SATA Connectors and One Floppy Connector. SATA is problematic for you unless you get ($$$) rloew's SATA patch. The RAM (4GB) is also problematic unless you get ($$$) rloew's RAM patch. Your HDD (1 TB) is also problematic unless you get a 48-bit LBA patch from (guess who?).

As for the "CD-ROM Not Found" it probably takes a VERY SPECIALIZED driver to access it in a DOS-like environment. As an example, the same thing happens on my Dell E521 without the Driver that THEY provided (within the Diagnostics DVD). USUALLY SATA DVD's run in PATA mode but you STILL need the correct Driver. Since it came with Windows7, chances of finding it are rather slim. :(

Win 98 has limitations. You should browse around the Win9x/ME Subforum and peruse the Sticky Topics (right at the beginning), in particular the "Stickified" topic. Look inside it for MORE topics that address EXACTLY what you want to do.

Edit - "Chipset - NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430" - what I have and no I CAN'T provide my Floppy that DOES access the DVD because it's Proprietary (read our MSFN Rules - link at top). Too bad, because it would PROBABLY work. At least to access the DVD, after that you're kaput anyway...

Edit2 - Besides, you CAN'T load Win9x on another partition AFTER Win7 has been installed. If you REALLY want Win9x, just use Virtual PC or another VM and run it as a "guest OS". I wouldn't take a chance on screwing up my PreInstalled OS unless I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN that I could successfully restore it.

Edit 3 - and you've asked the same question two other forums (EXACT wording) and got (kind of) the same reply on one of them. Again, AIN'T GONNA HAPPEN, trucker!

Edited by submix8c, 08 April 2013 - 05:30 PM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#3
rloew

rloew

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,134 posts
  • Joined 30-May 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
To gain access to the CD, you would have to rebuild the Boot Image of the CD to include GCDROM.SYS and add it to the list of Drivers in CONFIG.SYS.
Ye who enter my domain. Beware! Lest you become educated in the mysteries of the universe and suffer forever from the desire to know more.

#4
alysak5473

alysak5473
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 08-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

To gain access to the CD, you would have to rebuild the Boot Image of the CD to include GCDROM.SYS and add it to the list of Drivers in CONFIG.SYS.

Hi,
Can you or someone else give me step by step instructions on how to do this?

Thanks.

#5
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,461 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Same as OAKCDROM.SYS. ;)

GOOOOOGLE!
"gcdrom.sys"
Easy-peasy!

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#6
alysak5473

alysak5473
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 08-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Same as OAKCDROM.SYS. ;)

GOOOOOGLE!

"gcdrom.sys"
Easy-peasy!

Hi,
Can you provide step by step instructions on how to do this? I don't know much about these kinds of files so I to know know every step and where to copy and place these files, what to type in these files, etc.

Thanks.

#7
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,461 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Oh, come ON!!!! GOOGLE that and click the links given They say EXACTLY what to do. Why repeat it here?

Here is the "help" information.
Hereis the download.

Replace "OAKCDROM.SYS" with "GCDROM.SYS" and use the additional "Cx" parameter (RTFM) to point to the CD/DVD's SATA "plug" designation.

AGAIN, EASY-PEASY!!!!

AND as rloew said

you would have to rebuild the Boot Image of the CD

And THAT is an entirely different matter! You will have to EXTRACT the Boot Image, OPEN IT in an Floppy Image Editor, EXTRACT the "CONFIG.SYS", CHANGE it, REINSERT IT into the Image, then RECREATE YOUR CD! An ALTERNATIVE would be to put the MODIFIED Image onto a Real Floppy.

Do you have a Burning Software Suite? If so, MAYBE you could use a program like (e.g.) BBIE to extract the Image, get a Trial Version of WinImage, modify the Image, "dump" your CD Contents to a Folder, then Re-Create a Bootable CD with you Burning Suite.

What Windows OS are you DOING this on? 95/98/98SE/ME/XP/Vista/Seven?

Edited by submix8c, 10 April 2013 - 12:49 PM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#8
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,874 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

[...] I am running a HP p6714y computer with a windows 7 operating system on it. My proccessor is an AMD Athlon™ II X4 640 Proccessor 3.00 GHz. I also have 4 gigabites of RAM. I wanted to install a second operating system on my computer which is windows 98. I didn't create a second partition though for the operating system. [...] I don't have a lot experience so I need a step by step guid on how to fix this problem. Remember that I am also installing this from a CD.


Can you provide step by step instructions on how to do this? I don't know much about these kinds of files so I to know know every step and where to copy and place these files, what to type in these files, etc.


As has been explained above, since installing Win98 to an existing Win7 installation, on modern hardware, is NOT the usual way one does it, and is difficult, if not impossible, to do without extra patches that cost money, and even with the patches still require non-trivial steps that will be difficult for an admitted beginner without much experience, so will involve a whole lot more work than just "Follow steps 1-8, reboot and you're done!", and this doesn't even consider the problems of finding Win98 drivers for all the various hardware that is part of or connected to your system, would you please explain WHY you want to do this? What is the purpose? What do you want to use Win98 for? As has also been mentioned above, it might be much more appropriate, and much easier, to just install Win98 in a VM. Without more information from you, I don't think you will find many people willing to waste their, and your, time in what might be a lost cause.

Cheers and Regards

Posted Image


#9
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,461 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It seems that the OP won't come back. Indeed, they chose "Best Answer" over here -
http://forums.cnet.c...error-oemcd001/

I guess "case closed". :unsure:

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#10
alysak5473

alysak5473
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 08-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Oh, come ON!!!! GOOGLE that and click the links given They say EXACTLY what to do. Why repeat it here?

Here is the "help" information.
Hereis the download.

Replace "OAKCDROM.SYS" with "GCDROM.SYS" and use the additional "Cx" parameter (RTFM) to point to the CD/DVD's SATA "plug" designation.

AGAIN, EASY-PEASY!!!!

AND as rloew said

you would have to rebuild the Boot Image of the CD

And THAT is an entirely different matter! You will have to EXTRACT the Boot Image, OPEN IT in an Floppy Image Editor, EXTRACT the "CONFIG.SYS", CHANGE it, REINSERT IT into the Image, then RECREATE YOUR CD! An ALTERNATIVE would be to put the MODIFIED Image onto a Real Floppy.

Do you have a Burning Software Suite? If so, MAYBE you could use a program like (e.g.) BBIE to extract the Image, get a Trial Version of WinImage, modify the Image, "dump" your CD Contents to a Folder, then Re-Create a Bootable CD with you Burning Suite.

What Windows OS are you DOING this on? 95/98/98SE/ME/XP/Vista/Seven?


Hi,
Thanks for the reply. Just one quesiton: is the "OAKCDROM.SYS" on the installation CD?
And also how would you write the CD SATA plugin destination?
And what should I change in the config.sys file.

#11
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,874 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Sorry. Please answer our questions first.

Cheers and Regards

Posted Image


#12
alysak5473

alysak5473
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 08-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Sorry. Please answer our questions first.

Cheers and Regards

Hi,
I want to use Windows 98 for older software that works in Windows 98. I was also wondering if I can install windows 98 on a 2001 laptop that has windows xp on it.

Thanks.

#13
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 6,195 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I was also wondering if I can install windows 98 on a 2001 laptop that has windows xp on it.

You sure can, and can do it while preserving the XP on it, too, even if that requires some more effort and patience. Then again, lots of patience are required to work properly with 9x/ME, in any case. Slow does it. Good luck!

#14
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,874 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
OK, I'll answer you with the same degree of detail and helpfulness as you have answered us.

Just one quesiton: is the "OAKCDROM.SYS" on the installation CD?


Yes.

And also how would you write the CD SATA plugin destination?
And what should I change in the config.sys file.


Sorry, you said - "Just one quesiton"

I was also wondering if I can install windows 98 on a 2001 laptop that has windows xp on it.


Yes.

Cheers and Regards

Posted Image


#15
alysak5473

alysak5473
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 08-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Sorry. Please answer our questions first.

Cheers and Regards

Hi,
Another thing is that I really like the windows 98 system. It is a really classic system and I like it a lot. I want to use this as a dual boot or a second operating system on my computer.

Thanks.

#16
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,874 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
But, as we have tried to warn you, this is not easy, if possible at all, to do on more modern hardware. Is there a reason that the software you want to run on Win98 won't run on Win98 inside a VM? You probably stand a better chance of succeeding with a dual-boot on your 2001 era laptop, but it would help if you would supply a more complete description of this laptop.

Cheers and Regards

Posted Image


#17
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 6,195 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Moreover, one machine at a time. You sure'll learn a lot from installing 98 on the 2001 laptop, while keeping the XP. To do it well and right, it may take several days, with lots of posts from you and responses from us. To do both machines at once is to court disaster. All you'll accomplish is to hose both, IMO. And there's some reading to be done, before even beginning, like what are and how to create and redeploy images.

#18
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,461 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Your Motherboard specifically states what the SATA Connector Number is (on the board itself). In addition, I'd bet that the BIOS specifically states which Device is connected to Which One.

You were given the "basic steps".

You will have to EXTRACT the Boot Image, OPEN IT in an Floppy Image Editor, EXTRACT the "CONFIG.SYS", CHANGE it, REINSERT IT into the Image, then RECREATE YOUR CD! An ALTERNATIVE would be to put the MODIFIED Image onto a Real Floppy.

Use them. Simply REPLACE the "oakcdrom.sys" with "gcdrom.sys" and INCLUDE the "Cx" parameter in the same line.

What more do you want?

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#19
alysak5473

alysak5473
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 08-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Your Motherboard specifically states what the SATA Connector Number is (on the board itself). In addition, I'd bet that the BIOS specifically states which Device is connected to Which One.

You were given the "basic steps".

You will have to EXTRACT the Boot Image, OPEN IT in an Floppy Image Editor, EXTRACT the "CONFIG.SYS", CHANGE it, REINSERT IT into the Image, then RECREATE YOUR CD! An ALTERNATIVE would be to put the MODIFIED Image onto a Real Floppy.

Use them. Simply REPLACE the "oakcdrom.sys" with "gcdrom.sys" and INCLUDE the "Cx" parameter in the same line.

What more do you want?

Hi,
I found the oakcdrom.sys file but it is in a .cab file. I tried to use winrar but I cant put the file into the cab file. Anyone know how to do this. I also dont know where the config.sys file is as well.

Thanks.

#20
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 15,017 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I wanted to install a second operating system on my computer which is windows 98. I didn't create a second partition though for the operating system.


Maybe a step back is required anyway.
:unsure:
99.99999% the only partition on that disk is NTFS, AND unless you carefully plan the install (which WILL require a second partition, FAT or FAT32, and additionally within LBA48 adrresses :whistle: ) it is very, very likely that a "plain" Windows 98 install (once you have solved the CD-ROM drivers issue) will "botch" the Windows 7 install for good (and from what you wrote you don't seem - no offence whatever intended :) - expert enough to fix/restore the windows 7.

Yes :yes:, running the Windows 98 inside a VM would be (besides much easier) the "right" solution.

If you want to go ahead anyway, STRONGLY NOT advised (by me), you can always install from hard disk (and that will solve "at the root" SATA CD drivers issues).

See:
http://support.micro...kb/179756/en-us

Running Windows 98 Setup from Your Hard Disk
By copying all the Setup files to your hard disk and then installing from your hard disk, you can eliminate most of the problems associated with file copy and disk I/O issues. You can unload your CD-ROM drivers and free up conventional memory to assist with low memory errors in this type of install. To copy the Setup files locally:


jaclaz

#21
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,461 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
And to follow up on jaclaz' post - I REPEAT - that FILE you change is IN THE BOOT IMAGE of the CD and it's a LINE inside of the "CONFIG.SYS" file that's INSIDE the Boot Image. REREAD my posts! AND you NEVER said if you can REBURN the CD after altered - it would HAVE to be REBUILT!

Post 7 (me), 10 (you), 18 (me), 19 (you) - I WILL NOT REPEAT IT AGAIN!!!! :angry:

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#22
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 15,017 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

And to follow up on jaclaz' post - ...

No. :no:
Don't cite me as a reference, I tried to suggest that in order to make things much easier there is actually NO need of using the CD nor to modify anything , maybe you meant "besides jaclaz's post" :whistle: .

jaclaz

#23
alysak5473

alysak5473
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 08-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I'll try to install windows 2000. Here is a new topic about it Windows 2000 SP4 on Windows 7 machine

Thanks.

#24
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 15,017 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I'll try to install windows 2000. Here is a new topic about it Windows 2000 SP4 on Windows 7 machine

Thanks.

Good luck finding the drivers for it. :angel

jaclaz




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users