Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Windows 8 refusing to install


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1
NUTTER123

NUTTER123

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 49 posts
  • Joined 05-September 06
I must be mad wanting to go back to it :P But anyhoo:

Bit of a weird one. Wondering if somebody could shed light. OK to I trying to upgrade windows 7 ultimate to windows 8 Pro (64 Bit and I have the 64 bit windows 8 Iso I made when I purchased the upgrade) So get past the first part's all fine everything seems OK it gets past the initial setup (finding devices getting system ready) Final reboot I think it is reboots into something (it's kind of like a BSOD) but can't tell as the screen goes messed up. All I see is blue screen with white lines what not and then windows reboots again and I get a windows installation has failed reverting back to previous version and wham back into windows 7. That don't seem right?

My specs are (this machine)

http://h20000.www2.h...eriesId=5258508


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,972 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I wonder if there is a setupact.log still available on the PC that Windows 8 used. Can you search for this file and fine one with a date/time that matches the time you tried to install Windows 8?
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#3
NUTTER123

NUTTER123

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 49 posts
  • Joined 05-September 06
Found it and attached it. This is VERY mysterious indeed! I tried via a USB install and again it got to the getting ready part and wham crashed

EDIT: Maybe not!

(If this is too long sorry)

Attached Files



#4
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,386 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
HO-key SMOKES!!!! ATTACH, not Copy/Paste! ZIP and Attach in "Use Full Editor". ;)

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#5
NUTTER123

NUTTER123

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 49 posts
  • Joined 05-September 06
AHA! I did try and attach but it would not let me but I tried something and I am glad to say I now got windows 8 on my system ;)

#6
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,386 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes, it will...

1 - ZIP
2 - "Use Full Editor"
3 - Browse for and select Zipped File
4 - Click "Attach This File" <-attachment# is assigned
5 - Click "Add To Post" <-probably unnecessary but can put anywhere in post
6 - Done!
Attached File  !! attachment.zip   157bytes   3 downloads

HTH

edit - so what was the problem w/Win8?

Edited by submix8c, 18 April 2013 - 04:58 PM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#7
NUTTER123

NUTTER123

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 49 posts
  • Joined 05-September 06

Yes, it will...

1 - ZIP
2 - "Use Full Editor"
3 - Browse for and select Zipped File
4 - Click "Attach This File"
5 - Click "Add To Post"
6 - Done!
Attached File  !! attachment.zip   157bytes   3 downloads

HTH


Oh didn't know zip's we're allowed on here 1 for the future (I got a funny feeling I may be back soon) ;)

#8
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,386 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
JFYI... Certain filetypes aren't allowed to be directly attached. Always better to ZIP first.

Still, as I asked (in Edit) was the prob?

And could you edit that god-awful LOOOOOOOONG post? It's taking a WHOLE PAGE.

Edited by submix8c, 18 April 2013 - 05:04 PM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#9
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,972 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

:crazy:


I fixed the post.

I didn't see any errors in there and the only warning was complaining about not being able to set the language.

So.... what was done different now that you did the install?
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#10
NUTTER123

NUTTER123

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 49 posts
  • Joined 05-September 06

:crazy:


I fixed the post.

I didn't see any errors in there and the only warning was complaining about not being able to set the language.

So.... what was done different now that you did the install?


I just done a er..............you know keep files but not programs type of install. It worked (I didn't want to format completely as I not got the necessceary means of backup) I do have a drive available but it's full to the brim quite literaly and it not as if I can get rid of anything on it because I may not get it back

#11
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,386 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

keep files but not programs type of install

OK, so basically it "blew up" because it didn't have enough HDD Space to "preserve" the PREVIOUS Windows Installation in case you want to "Uninstall The Upgrade", correct? If so, you are aware that you now have no means to revert to the Windows7, right?

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#12
NUTTER123

NUTTER123

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 49 posts
  • Joined 05-September 06

keep files but not programs type of install

OK, so basically it "blew up" because it didn't have enough HDD Space to "preserve" the PREVIOUS Windows Installation in case you want to "Uninstall The Upgrade", correct? If so, you are aware that you now have no means to revert to the Windows7, right?


No no NOT my actual hard disk. My backup drive incase I wanted to backup all my files I got currently. I got no space available on my portable to back that up. I have lost the pervious windows 7 install though yeah

#13
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,386 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
In that case, this

I just done a er..............you know keep files but not programs type of install.

makes absolutely no sense and anyone else stumbling onto this topic will have no clue as to Your Solution.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#14
NUTTER123

NUTTER123

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 49 posts
  • Joined 05-September 06

In that case, this

I just done a er..............you know keep files but not programs type of install.

makes absolutely no sense and anyone else stumbling onto this topic will have no clue as to Your Solution.


Let me have a look and get back to you (I know what I mean) but I do get confused with my words

I choosed the just keep personal files option if that helps

Edited by NUTTER123, 19 April 2013 - 08:35 AM.


#15
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,386 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Here it is - http://blogs.technet...s-8-part-1.aspx

Here is what each of these options mean:
1 - Windows settings, personal files and apps: This setting captures all Windows settings, personal files (files held in the C:\Users directory) and any applications installed on the system. This is equivalent to performing an in-place-upgrade.
2 - Just personal files: This setting migrates items located in the \Users directory. No applications or user settings are migrated.
3 - Nothing: This setting does not migrate any data and is effectively a clean install of Windows. The old operating system moves to the Windows.old directory.

You chose Option 2. And it APPEARS that a "Windows.old" fold would indeed been created, thus "filling" your HDD - http://social.techne...8-284d9c6311d0/

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#16
NUTTER123

NUTTER123

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 49 posts
  • Joined 05-September 06

Here it is - http://blogs.technet...s-8-part-1.aspx

Here is what each of these options mean:
1 - Windows settings, personal files and apps: This setting captures all Windows settings, personal files (files held in the C:\Users directory) and any applications installed on the system. This is equivalent to performing an in-place-upgrade.
2 - Just personal files: This setting migrates items located in the \Users directory. No applications or user settings are migrated.
3 - Nothing: This setting does not migrate any data and is effectively a clean install of Windows. The old operating system moves to the Windows.old directory.

You chose Option 2. And it APPEARS that a "Windows.old" fold would indeed been created, thus "filling" your HDD - http://social.techne...8-284d9c6311d0/


My current hard disk as it is yep. Basically what I saying I was going to backup my current computer hard disk and back it up to my personal hard disk but that hard disk is full so that's not a option for me currently so I did the next best thing ;)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users