Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Win8 features for Window 7


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1
Sheldon

Sheldon

    Banned

  • Banned
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 15-September 12
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I´m not a programmer but if I was a programmer I maybe would start a project not to get Windows 7 features in Windows 8 but the other way round. But I can make suggestions.

Task manager:
I would like to have the Windows 8 task manager with all of it features in Windows 7.

Ribbon UI:
A Ribbon explorer would be nice. There is "Better explorer", but its to slow and overloaded.

This is all in my opinion.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,120 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

use ProcessHacker to get a great TaskMgr replacement:

http://processhacker.sourceforge.net/
Posted Image

#3
xpclient

xpclient

    XP was my idea. 3rd party apps make NT6 my idea.

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 335 posts
  • Joined 30-July 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Ewww why do you want to ruin Windows 7's superior Task Manager and superior Explorer? :lol: Instead I would have hybrid / fast startup, Hyper-V, SMB 3.0, USB 3.0, Recimg.exe on Windows 7. That's just about it. :P Everything else is sickeningly worse.

Impossible to run NT6 without third party fixes.


#4
Sheldon

Sheldon

    Banned

  • Banned
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 15-September 12
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Ewww why do you want to ruin Windows 7's superior Task Manager and superior Explorer? :lol: Instead I would have hybrid / fast startup, Hyper-V, SMB 3.0, USB 3.0, Recimg.exe on Windows 7. That's just about it. :P Everything else is sickeningly worse.

The new TM is superior to the old. It provides you with various views and information. If you want the simple Processes list, choose the index Details. Windows 8 includes both TMs by the way, the old and the new one. One is called TM.exe, one taskmgr.exe.

And the Explorer was upgraded by the optional Ribbon menu, which I consider useful. For example if you want to select all files in a folder but one or a few, you have have to select all and then exclude those you don´t want to select by selecting them by Ctrl or Shift. In Windows 8 you simply select the files you want to exclude from the selection and then choose Invert selection in the Ribbon menu.

Windows 8´s fast start up is a good thing indeed but USB 3 support can be added by the attached motherboard driver disk.

Edited by Sheldon, 02 May 2013 - 04:24 AM.


#5
Sheldon

Sheldon

    Banned

  • Banned
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 15-September 12
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

use ProcessHacker to get a great TaskMgr replacement:

http://processhacker.sourceforge.net/

Tried that like many. KillSwitch for example. But the Win8 TM offers what I want and need and that natively.

Posted Image

#6
xpclient

xpclient

    XP was my idea. 3rd party apps make NT6 my idea.

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 335 posts
  • Joined 30-July 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
The Task Manager is also full of regressions in functionality: http://xpwasmyidea.b...manager-in.html and it seems you didn't try RTM. RTM does not ship with the old Task Manager. Both TM.exe and Taskmgr.exe start the new pretty one. It's pretty but slow and breaks the workflow for all previous task manager users. Of course, that's just my opinion. Good for you if you found it improved.

Impossible to run NT6 without third party fixes.


#7
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 542 posts
  • Joined 07-February 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It would be nice if W7 also had the automatic feature for Color and Appearance like W8!

#8
xpclient

xpclient

    XP was my idea. 3rd party apps make NT6 my idea.

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 335 posts
  • Joined 30-July 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
It does. Download Winaero's AeroRainbow: http://winaero.com/c...comment.news.13


Impossible to run NT6 without third party fixes.


#9
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 542 posts
  • Joined 07-February 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank you for the link. I once tried that application; Andre suggested it in another topic. It seems to me that it doesn't work as fine as the one in W8.

Btw, it is a few months I haven't used W7.

#10
Sheldon

Sheldon

    Banned

  • Banned
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 15-September 12
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

The Task Manager is also full of regressions in functionality: http://xpwasmyidea.b...manager-in.html and it seems you didn't try RTM. RTM does not ship with the old Task Manager. Both TM.exe and Taskmgr.exe start the new pretty one. It's pretty but slow and breaks the workflow for all previous task manager users. Of course, that's just my opinion. Good for you if you found it improved.

I did not test it in RTM because I don´t miss the old TM ;)

Thanks for the link, but most points in there a based on the personal opinion of the author and some are simply wrong.

Some examples ( not excluding the not mentioned points from what I said above):
" -Removed feature: See this image. Which document is which? The old Task Manager showed the application name from the Title bar. The new one gets its name from somewhere else. The document name is only shown in More Details view after expanding by clicking the arrow/triangle."
Dear author, you only have to click the more details button once in your lifetime in case you never want to see the simple view of the TM again.

"- Removed feature: There is no global status bar showing the total number of processes, CPU usage and physical memory and/or commit charge."
There is. You can even choose the CPU usage to be displayed in either global or per core in the diagram view. Additionally you can get the Info from the tray icon, which correctly works.

"- No default beep/Ding sound on the Processes tab if I press a key and there is no process or app beginning with that name."
What a mess. There is no Processes tab anymore by the way but a Details tab, if you wish to see Processes not be sorted by their origin.

.

Edited by Sheldon, 02 May 2013 - 06:28 PM.


#11
xpclient

xpclient

    XP was my idea. 3rd party apps make NT6 my idea.

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 335 posts
  • Joined 30-July 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Oh I you're right about the last point. I removed it. Can you show me a screenshot of the status bar if it exists? Also, 1 click every single time is not very productive. There is already an additional click introduced due to UAC prompt.

Thank you for the link. I once tried that application; Andre suggested it in another topic. It seems to me that it doesn't work as fine as the one in W8.

Btw, it is a few months I haven't used W7.



Yep the color calculation method isn't the exact same as what Windows 8 uses. But it goes give you the option of using average color or dominant color.

Edited by xpclient, 02 May 2013 - 08:51 PM.

Impossible to run NT6 without third party fixes.


#12
Sheldon

Sheldon

    Banned

  • Banned
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 15-September 12
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Oh I you're right about the last point. I removed it. Can you show me a screenshot of the status bar if it exists? Also, 1 click every single time is not very productive. There is already an additional click introduced due to UAC prompt.


Thank you for the link. I once tried that application; Andre suggested it in another topic. It seems to me that it doesn't work as fine as the one in W8.

Btw, it is a few months I haven't used W7.



Yep the color calculation method isn't the exact same as what Windows 8 uses. But it goes give you the option of using average color or dominant color.

OK, got you wrong. Such a bar doesn´t exist. But for what do you need that Info always? Nowadays it´s really difficult to overcharge a CPU.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users