Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

StartIsBack.Next test toy


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#26
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,825 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Tihiy can you make it so StartIsBack.Next auto closes please, as this would make StartIsBack.Next feel more native.


ace2, as has already been stated, this test toy was not meant to feel native. Stop asking for these types of "improvements". When Tihiy is ready to make an app that is meant for general use, rest assured that it will feel every bit as native as something straight from MS, only better.

Cheers and Regards

Posted Image



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
MrGRiM

MrGRiM

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Joined 17-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Updated toy: various minor fixes and improvements.

I think I'm done with toy for now. I've completed first integrated StartIsBack.Next alpha build and it rocks - it actually uses less resources than native Windows 8 start menu - less memory, objects, threads, handles, I/O operations.
Stay tuned.


Sounds good mate, tested it again on 7 and I can see the User Picture frame is now disabled when meant to be and the all programs button now displays correctly, also see the places list content margins are now fixed, still no joy with the different default pane sizes for LogOff and Open Box though :( also don't know if it's just me but the animations seemed a bit more glitchy in this version, when switching to the all programs view or expanding the places list there seemed to be some flashing images mostly around the search area but I also noticed around the LogOff and Places List, you need to click the more programs button and the expand arrow a fair bit to see the glitch, it happens in the default Aero theme as well as my custom themes.

#28
ace2

ace2

    Banned

  • Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • Joined 12-June 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
User picture frame is working on windows 8 enterprise x64, with default Aero theme, and user picture frame can be modded as well.

Edited by ace2, 18 June 2013 - 06:14 PM.


#29
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,162 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

nice. Can you now implement my request to make the startmenu larger when clicking on "all programs" (the same size like when you search for programs/files)?
Posted Image

#30
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,944 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

don't know if it's just me but the animations seemed a bit more glitchy in this version, when switching to the all programs view or expanding the places list there seemed to be some flashing images mostly around the search area but I also noticed around the LogOff and Places List, you need to click the more programs button and the expand arrow a fair bit to see the glitch, it happens in the default Aero theme as well as my custom themes.

That's quite possible since painting is redone in this version. Updated for double-buffering; please retest. And I promise i'll return to different heights issue - eventually.

Can you now implement my request to make the startmenu larger when clicking on "all programs" (the same size like when you search for programs/files)?

Well, this still looks confusing and skins don't quite allow that. I'll try to think of something.

Edited by Tihiy, 19 June 2013 - 01:10 AM.


#31
ace2

ace2

    Banned

  • Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • Joined 12-June 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Auto close StartIsBack.Next with ProcessKO 2.82.

http://www.softwareo...nload=ProcessKO

OR

Make New Shortcut with one of these settings

Taskkill /im bluetest64.exe /f

Taskkill /im bluetest32.exe /f

Change Icon... and Pin to taskbar.

Edited by ace2, 19 June 2013 - 08:11 AM.


#32
MrGRiM

MrGRiM

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Joined 17-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

That's quite possible since painting is redone in this version. Updated for double-buffering; please retest. And I promise i'll return to different heights issue - eventually.


Much better, no flashing at all now, looks perfect :)

#33
MrGRiM

MrGRiM

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Joined 17-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Auto close StartIsBack.Next with ProcessKO 2.82.

http://www.softwareo...nload=ProcessKO


You are not being helpful at all with any of your posts, your just trying to find a way of making this a useable start menu without the need to purchase the release version, please just test this as it was intended and report bugs that can be fixed.

#34
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,944 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Much better, no flashing at all now, looks perfect :)

You have quite an eye I must say. I'm slowing down PCs and painting algorithms to notice that.

#35
ace2

ace2

    Banned

  • Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • Joined 12-June 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Auto close StartIsBack.Next with ProcessKO 2.82.

http://www.softwareo...nload=ProcessKO


You are not being helpful at all with any of your posts, your just trying to find a way of making this a useable start menu without the need to purchase the release version, please just test this as it was intended and report bugs that can be fixed.


Useable start menu is that not the point ?

Trying to be helpful to NEW StartIsBack.Next TINKERERS / USERS, Tihiy does not need my help, to build the new start menu he's more than capable.

My posts are to show how good StartIsBack.Next & StartIsBack.Next alpha is, and how it can be used.

As for auto close, can it be done with StartIsBack.Next ? and it has nothing to do with (making this a useable start menu without the need to purchase the release version).

So MrGRiM i would appreciate it, if you would keep your opinions to yourself, thanks ace2

Edited by ace2, 19 June 2013 - 09:11 AM.


#36
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,825 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Useable start menu is that not the point ?


NO. That is not the point of this toy.

Trying to be helpful to NEW StartIsBack.Next TINKERERS / USERS.


That's just it. This toy is not meant for new users. If you don't know what you are doing and are not already familiar with StartIsBack, then do not play with this. Do not ask questions of how to do any particular feature that you think is not working, do not ask for additional features to be added, do not complain about anything that is not working, do not ask for support of any kind. This toy has a very particular purpose and it is NOT for normal use whatsoever, it is only a testbed, period. This is not a Beta version as you appear to think that it is. Try it if you like, report your experience and provide feedback. The communication path for this particular toy is primarily meant to be one way - from you to Tihiy. Don't expect anything back. If Tihiy wants any further clarifying information from you he will post and ask for it.

As for auto close, can it be done with StartIsBack.Next ?


Of course it can and it will be when this toy is matured into an App, and not until then. As long as it is a toy it will NOT be made to auto close, so quit asking. And your suggestion to use any kind of task kill software or hack as a "fix" for this is ridiculous. No app that has to be killed to be closed should be used on a regular basis. The task kill apps are meant to help when an app is stuck because of some error, not just to get it out of the way as a convenience to you.

Cheers and Regards

Edited by bphlpt, 19 June 2013 - 01:49 PM.

Posted Image


#37
ace2

ace2

    Banned

  • Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • Joined 12-June 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
bphlpt

This is an open and free forum for all, and as such all can express their opinions and findings and help each other, within the rules of the forum, and not MrGRiM ,bphlpt,Tihiy rules.

This is not Tihiy private forum, If he doesn't want people like me having my 2 cents worth, he should of made a closed & private posting for testing startIsBack.Next.

Thanks for your opinions, and thanks for answering the question about auto closing, but i would appreciate it, if you would stick to helping Tihiy, and stick to the topic at hand, and leave me to help who i can, thanks ace2.

Cheers and Regards .

Edited by ace2, 19 June 2013 - 03:43 PM.


#38
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,825 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes this an open and free forum, but I don't know how much more clear that Tihiy can be:

NOTE: THIS IS A TEST TOY, NOT A PROGRAM INTENDED FOR DAILY USE NOR REALLY A DEMO OF STARTISBACK FUTURE VERSION
FOR TINKERERS / SKINNERS / WINDOWS 7 USERS

[...]
Now I'm giving you one toy - mostly useless for you, useful for me - full standalone start menu prototype.
[...]
Test notes:
[...]
- Start menu is always on top and does not close as you expect. That may seem buggy but you have to think outside of the box. Exit it with Alt-F4 or right-click - EXIT.
- Certain settings (like drag&drop, hover, context menu) are hardcoded.

This thread is for:
[...]
- NOT for Windows 8.1 discussion.
- NOT for any kind of support.


And I'm not sure who you are supposed to be "helping" with your "suggestions", since I have not seen anyone but you posting about wanting to auto close this toy.

Insisting, as you have been, on promoting the use of this toy for a use for which is not intended and against the expressed desires of the toy creator, is, if nothing else, extremely poor net etiquette. But if you just want to go by the rules of this forum, you are supposed to keep all posts in a thread on topic. The topic of this thread is about the toy being used as a test-bed - period. If you really want to talk about hacking an auto close into it, then please start a separate thread about it, just as ORelio made a Tweaker thread for bigmuscle's Aero Glass app.

Cheers and Regards

Posted Image


#39
ace2

ace2

    Banned

  • Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • Joined 12-June 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
bphlpt

what do you not understand, this is not Tihiy forum, and i do not have to follow his or your rules, as long as i am following the rules of the forum it has nothing to do with you, so leave me to get on with my posts in peace thanks ace2.

As for against the expressed desires of the toy creator, This forum is in public domain, so Tihiy has no copy rights here and i can use toy as i wish.

As for ProcessKO 2.82 it is not a hacking tool.

As for Taskkill cmd it is not a hacking tool.

Now can you please stop going on about my posts thanks ace2.


Cheers and Regards.

Edited by ace2, 19 June 2013 - 05:01 PM.


#40
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,162 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Well, this still looks confusing and skins don't quite allow that. I'll try to think of something.


why is this confusing? Themes already have this view, so use it.
Posted Image

#41
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,944 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

why is this confusing? Themes already have this view, so use it.

Mainly because All Programs button will be 'hanging' in the white space on the half of the menu.

ace2, you can unleash your mad skills here now: https://moot.it/startisback

Edited by Tihiy, 20 June 2013 - 02:11 PM.


#42
ace2

ace2

    Banned

  • Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • Joined 12-June 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Tihiy

Mad (sh-t) skills, where not all as lucky as you Tihiy to be so skilled with computers, I wish i was, you lucky B-stard.

So mad (sh-t) skills it is for me, Thanks for the update works great.

StartIsBack_TEST, closing with Start Button not used by me, (Running StartIsBack_TEST from WinX menu) so error with closing, WHO CARES.

Congratulations on the new website hope it goes well for you.

Thanks again Tihiy and well done. ace2

Edited by ace2, 20 June 2013 - 05:59 PM.


#43
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,162 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator


why is this confusing? Themes already have this view, so use it.

Mainly because All Programs button will be 'hanging' in the white space on the half of the menu.


?

At the same location there is a link to "see more results" when you search. SO place the "back" link there. This should be no difference.

Posted Image

I want this large view, that you get when you do a search, when you click on all programs. In this case I don't care about the link on the right side.
Posted Image

#44
Vlad2989

Vlad2989

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 19-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Here some idea for UI

Sorry for quick Photoshop, but this was fastest way to explain.

Can this be done ?

Attached File  SearchBar1.jpg   456.11KB   35 downloads

#45
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,944 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Can this be done ?

Sure. But what purpose except "wow I can search from taskbar like Mac OS X"?

#46
Vlad2989

Vlad2989

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 19-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Can this be done ?

Sure. But what purpose except "wow I can search from taskbar like Mac OS X"?



No need for any Orb or start button... clean'ish Win8 look... and just an idea / option ....

#47
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,825 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag



Can this be done ?

Sure. But what purpose except "wow I can search from taskbar like Mac OS X"?



No need for any Orb or start button... clean'ish Win8 look... and just an idea / option ....


LOL, I thought the main purpose of StartIsBack was the Orb/Start button. :)

Cheers and Regards

Edited by bphlpt, 21 June 2013 - 02:34 PM.

Posted Image


#48
Vlad2989

Vlad2989

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 19-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag




Can this be done ?

Sure. But what purpose except "wow I can search from taskbar like Mac OS X"?



No need for any Orb or start button... clean'ish Win8 look... and just an idea / option ....


LOL, I thought the main purpose of StartIsBack was the Orb/Start button. :)

Cheers and Regards


No, main purpose is Start Menu not the button ...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users