Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Geforce GT 620 on windows 2000?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1
OldSchool38

OldSchool38

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
I have a Geforce GT 620 on my currently built computer at the moment (using windows 7 right now) but I really would like to make it a windows 2000 system, the problem is that the last time I tried it-I couldn't get the thing to install even with Tomaz's XP compatibility mode patch-does anyone know of any drivers for that card that are win2k compatible?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Browncoat

Browncoat

    Rebel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 113 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I have a Geforce GT 620 on my currently built computer at the moment (using windows 7 right now) but I really would like to make it a windows 2000 system, the problem is that the last time I tried it-I couldn't get the thing to install even with Tomaz's XP compatibility mode patch-does anyone know of any drivers for that card that are win2k compatible?


See my answers here;
http://www.msfn.org/..._1#entry1008979
NVidia is usually good at backward compatibility, you just might miss some functions of newer versions of the nVidia
control applet/taskbar widget, as suggested, search nVidia manually, use sourceforge or filehippo for an older driver.
Try one of the 175.xx versions to start, then see how far updating will get you. :yes:
Try 310.70 instead of the current 320.18 OR
http://www.nvidia.co...75.16_whql.html

Edited by Browncoat, 12 June 2013 - 12:05 PM.


#3
blackwingcat

blackwingcat

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 748 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag

I have a Geforce GT 620 on my currently built computer at the moment (using windows 7 right now) but I really would like to make it a windows 2000 system, the problem is that the last time I tried it-I couldn't get the thing to install even with Tomaz's XP compatibility mode patch-does anyone know of any drivers for that card that are win2k compatible?


nVIDIA 310.70 for Windows 2000 Beta

It's driver only.
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
BlackWingCat =^^=
http://blog.livedoor.jp/blackwingcat/
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

#4
AnX

AnX

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 162 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I suppose it would work.

PC Specs: AMD FX-8320 (3.5-4Ghz, 8-core, Vishera, 16MB of Cache) -H212 Evo, 8GB of DDR3-1600MHz HyperX, 500GB WD Caviar Blue, Seasonic S12II 620 Watt PSU, Cooler master HAF 912 Combat Mid-Tower Case, AMD Radeon R7 260X 2GB, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Motherboard, DVD+-RW Writer, Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

 

50308.png

49128.gif

 


#5
AnX

AnX

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 162 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I suppose it would work.

PC Specs: AMD FX-8320 (3.5-4Ghz, 8-core, Vishera, 16MB of Cache) -H212 Evo, 8GB of DDR3-1600MHz HyperX, 500GB WD Caviar Blue, Seasonic S12II 620 Watt PSU, Cooler master HAF 912 Combat Mid-Tower Case, AMD Radeon R7 260X 2GB, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Motherboard, DVD+-RW Writer, Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

 

50308.png

49128.gif

 


#6
OldSchool38

OldSchool38

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Blackwingcat's driver works (you have to use the hardware function in control panel to install it), however you must use UURollup to be able to use it-which I've had to drop due to reasons I'll get into in my security thread.

#7
OldSchool38

OldSchool38

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Okay I did a reinstall and patch update with win2k on my main system again and just want to say the driver works great so far, I've been playing ST Elite Force 1 on it today and it works fine!

#8
OldSchool38

OldSchool38

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Just tried installing Wolfenstien 2009 (not supposed to be used with win2k but did it anyway! ;) ), if you can get ahold of xinput1_3.dll and stick it in the SP folder of the game-it works! :D

#9
OldSchool38

OldSchool38

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Just one question I had about the desktop, while the games are looking great-videos I watch with GOM or VLC seem to have a little less image quality than on XP, is there some utility out there I could try to tweak the settings a little since I don't have an Nvidia control panel to go to?

#10
blackwingcat

blackwingcat

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 748 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag

Just one question I had about the desktop, while the games are looking great-videos I watch with GOM or VLC seem to have a little less image quality than on XP, is there some utility out there I could try to tweak the settings a little since I don't have an Nvidia control panel to go to?


Sorry.
If you want to use NVDIA Control Panel , You must copy manually tools and execute regsrv32 dlls.
The beta installer has not supported the tools installation yet.
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
BlackWingCat =^^=
http://blog.livedoor.jp/blackwingcat/
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

#11
j7n

j7n

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Just tried installing Wolfenstien 2009 (not supposed to be used with win2k but did it anyway! ;) ), if you can get ahold of xinput1_3.dll and stick it in the SP folder of the game-it works!

This works for most of the updated DX9 DLLs. None of the d3dx9_NN.dll need to be fully installed by executing the installer.

nVidia Control Panel v3.4.772.10 / ForceWare 263.09 works well for me together with driver 314.22; all essential functionality is present, including custom resolutions and game profiles. The most recent Control Panel didn't install for me, but apparently there is significant forwards compatibility with this software.

The driver indeed has an image quality issue; by default the driver will output studio range colors (16-235) with different contrast for green, unless changed using the Control Panel to full range (0-255). This manifests as reduced "washed out" contrast overall. I'm not sure where in the registry this setting is. It seems to be stored for each monitor output separately.

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{558F4A7D-61A5-48E1-B29E-4E2A1A28D53C}\0000]
"_User_SUB0_CRT1_XALG_Color_Range"=hex:00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
"_User_SUB0_CRT1_XEN_Color_Range"=hex:01,00,00,80

Edited by j7n, 22 June 2013 - 02:21 PM.


#12
OldSchool38

OldSchool38

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag


Just one question I had about the desktop, while the games are looking great-videos I watch with GOM or VLC seem to have a little less image quality than on XP, is there some utility out there I could try to tweak the settings a little since I don't have an Nvidia control panel to go to?


Sorry.
If you want to use NVDIA Control Panel , You must copy manually tools and execute regsrv32 dlls.
The beta installer has not supported the tools installation yet.


Is there a tutorial out there on how to do that?

#13
blackwingcat

blackwingcat

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 748 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag

I released nVIDIA forceware 331.65 for Windows 2000 released.

 

it has a proble.

If you select "change resolution", the cpu usage go to 100%.

It seems fail to load resource and loop it.


+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
BlackWingCat =^^=
http://blog.livedoor.jp/blackwingcat/
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

#14
blackwingcat

blackwingcat

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 748 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag

I bought Geforce GTX780Ti.

It works fine :)

 

f3f8fe86.gif

 

 

6b6984ae.png


+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
BlackWingCat =^^=
http://blog.livedoor.jp/blackwingcat/
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

#15
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 276 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

 

 

Just one question I had about the desktop, while the games are looking great-videos I watch with GOM or VLC seem to have a little less image quality than on XP, is there some utility out there I could try to tweak the settings a little since I don't have an Nvidia control panel to go to?


Sorry.
If you want to use NVDIA Control Panel , You must copy manually tools and execute regsrv32 dlls.
The beta installer has not supported the tools installation yet.

 


Is there a tutorial out there on how to do that?

 

 

I released nVIDIA forceware 331.65 for Windows 2000 released.

 

it has a proble.

If you select "change resolution", the cpu usage go to 100%.

It seems fail to load resource and loop it.

 

Thank you. I see 331.65  and  331.82  what is the best way to install?



#16
blackwingcat

blackwingcat

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 748 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag

 

Thank you. I see 331.65  and  331.82  what is the best way to install?

 

 

Hi.

 

At first Uninstall old version Driver and delete Old oem*.* in %systemroot&\inf (only nvidia HDMI and graphics driver, don't delete other oem files)

After reboot, install Graphic and HDMI driver manually with Device manager, and execute PhyXs,msi and setup cmd file and reboot.

(nvidia.cmd is the command of reset selected "change resolution" )


+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
BlackWingCat =^^=
http://blog.livedoor.jp/blackwingcat/
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

#17
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 276 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

 

 

Thank you. I see 331.65  and  331.82  what is the best way to install?

 

 

Hi.

 

At first Uninstall old version Driver and delete Old oem*.* in %systemroot&\inf (only nvidia HDMI and graphics driver, don't delete other oem files)

After reboot, install Graphic and HDMI driver manually with Device manager, and execute PhyXs,msi and setup cmd file and reboot.

(nvidia.cmd is the command of reset selected "change resolution" )

 

 

 

Thank you. I installed 331.82, drivers work fine.

 

setup.cmd runs OK but NVIDIA control panel is not loading, error.  I added nv.reg but it doesn't help.   Is setup.cmd successfully creating NVIDIA directories?

 

331.82 is a litle slower than 270.61 with Cinebench


Edited by Phenomic, 06 December 2013 - 06:48 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN