Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Installshield

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
MAVERICKS CHOICE

MAVERICKS CHOICE

    The Guy from Aus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,768 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Guys, having a little trouble getting my head around this script to install my accounting package will run ok from the following path & script, though prefer to package & run from any Dir?

Here's the code:

C:\"MYOB.exe" /s /v"SERIAL=000000000000" -f1"C:\setup.iss"


If I omit the path invokes an install momentarily, it's probably blatantly obvious?
Appreciate any advice or suggestions.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,338 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
So, is that supposed to be a CMD/BAT script? You have a link to AutoIT in your siggy - is that what you used? Your question is WAY to vague without supporting information.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#3
MAVERICKS CHOICE

MAVERICKS CHOICE

    The Guy from Aus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,768 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

So, is that supposed to be a CMD/BAT script? You have a link to AutoIT in your siggy - is that what you used? Your question is WAY to vague without supporting information.


Yes that's right, just a batch script once the script is sorted will package with 7Z.

#4
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,338 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
?Have you tried using the following method?
"%~dp0MYOB.EXE" /  "%~dp0SETUP.ISS"
That variable expands to Current Directory (short path names with Tilde). Double-click and BOOM. HOWEVER, you want to package it with 7-Zip so you'll PROBABLY want to use the User Temporary directory?
Here's a pretty complete variables list - http://ss64.com/nt/s...-variables.html
Google this for "in-house" tips
how to create a self-extracting installer with 7zip site:msfn.org
Basically, have 7-Zip "dump" it into a UserTemp\RandomName and insert the Variables into the Script, run the Script.
makedir "%temp%\%random%"
There's your generated Temp folder name.

HTH

Edited by submix8c, 28 June 2013 - 10:03 AM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#5
MAVERICKS CHOICE

MAVERICKS CHOICE

    The Guy from Aus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,768 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
just tried your suggestion,

"%~dp0MYOB.EXE" /s /v"SERIAL=000000000000" -f1"%~dp0setup.ISS"

Though not working.

Edited by MAVERICKS CHOICE, 27 June 2013 - 06:14 PM.


#6
MHz

MHz

    Just simple

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,656 posts
  • Joined 02-August 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi MC,

If you recorded the setup.iss then silent install should work, so I will mention some things that may help.

1. If the setup.iss is in the same directory as the setup file then the f1 switch is usually not needed. I cannot state if working directory affects this though if concerned, try cd /d %~dp0 in your cmd script before calling the setup file.
2. If the f1 switch is supported by the installer, then perhaps the f2 is as well for the log file. If you are installing from read only media then Installshield may try to create a install log file in the same directory as the setup file. If the directory is read only then the install process may fail. If so then try adding to the command line /f2"%tmp%\setup.log". Create a unique filename for the log like say a password generator does so it does not conflict with another file.
3. I notice that you are not passing /qn to the msi. The answer file set.iss may not be read by setup if it is not silent.

This would be what I would try.
cd /d %~dp0
myob.exe /s /v"/qn SERIAL=000000000000"


#7
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,338 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
And also JUST NOTICED that you used the FIRST CodeBox I gave. I HOPE that your testing a CMD file that you double-click on because that's the way THAT one is "supposed" to work. You DID look at the SS64 link I gave, right?

I had "inadvertantly" not made an "actual" (second) CodeBox with the "temp" stuff.

Question (in reference to above post) - you're using an MSI-type Package? We have NO CLUE how you created this! MSI is VERY picky about pathnames!

Can you provide the ISS script? There is ANOTHER topic a Member created about this stuff that he REFUSED to "reveal" any particulars.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#8
MAVERICKS CHOICE

MAVERICKS CHOICE

    The Guy from Aus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,768 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks Sub & Mike
You both nailed it here for us silly me was running the script from an elev cmp prompt instead from the batch file!
I put the prog. setup.iss & .bat all in the same dir & now works flawlessy.

Thanks again for all your suggestions

#9
MAVERICKS CHOICE

MAVERICKS CHOICE

    The Guy from Aus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,768 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi MC,

If you recorded the setup.iss then silent install should work, so I will mention some things that may help.

1. If the setup.iss is in the same directory as the setup file then the f1 switch is usually not needed. I cannot state if working directory affects this though if concerned, try cd /d %~dp0 in your cmd script before calling the setup file.
2. If the f1 switch is supported by the installer, then perhaps the f2 is as well for the log file. If you are installing from read only media then Installshield may try to create a install log file in the same directory as the setup file. If the directory is read only then the install process may fail. If so then try adding to the command line /f2"%tmp%\setup.log". Create a unique filename for the log like say a password generator does so it does not conflict with another file.
3. I notice that you are not passing /qn to the msi. The answer file set.iss may not be read by setup if it is not silent.

This would be what I would try.

cd /d %~dp0
myob.exe /s /v"/qn SERIAL=000000000000"


Hi Mike
Tried your suggestion though it invokes the installer momentarily & then immediately shuts the program down.
You mention good point of the "setup.log" as it writes to the same Dir as it was run. Thinking then the prog may fail if
ran from non writable media? More testing to do!

Edited by MAVERICKS CHOICE, 28 June 2013 - 03:56 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users