Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



  • Please log in to reply
970 replies to this topic

#951
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 311 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

So just installed v1.6, and I can't even see the effect. So much for my concern :D


Do you have animation turned off in SiB's options?

Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy SIII with M.O.A.R. v9.0, dkp kernel dated 3/20/2014 and TWRP v2.7.0.0.




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#952
wazer

wazer

    You gotta risk it to get the biscuits

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 235 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Is there anyway to integrate SIB into the WIM image without making an silent installer?



#953
Specular

Specular

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

So just installed v1.6, and I can't even see the effect. So much for my concern :D


Do you have animation turned off in SiB's options?

Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy SIII with M.O.A.R. v9.0, dkp kernel dated 3/20/2014 and TWRP v2.7.0.0.

 

 

I don't see any animation option in SIB, but I do have animations turned off for the 'Adjust the appearance and performance of Windows' control panel settings. Perhaps that's it, as I only notice a very light flicker sometimes but not shine or animation.



#954
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 311 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

So just installed v1.6, and I can't even see the effect. So much for my concern :D

Do you have animation turned off in SiB's options?

Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy SIII with M.O.A.R. v9.0, dkp kernel dated 3/20/2014 and TWRP v2.7.0.0.
 

 
I don't see any animation option in SIB, but I do have animations turned off for the 'Adjust the appearance and performance of Windows' control panel settings. Perhaps that's it, as I only notice a very light flicker sometimes but not shine or animation.


In the Advanced section of SiB's options.

Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy SIII with M.O.A.R. v9.0, dkp kernel dated 3/20/2014 and TWRP v2.7.0.0.



#955
TwoCables

TwoCables

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

 

So just installed v1.6, and I can't even see the effect. So much for my concern :D


Do you have animation turned off in SiB's options?

Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy SIII with M.O.A.R. v9.0, dkp kernel dated 3/20/2014 and TWRP v2.7.0.0.

 

 

I don't see any animation option in SIB, but I do have animations turned off for the 'Adjust the appearance and performance of Windows' control panel settings. Perhaps that's it, as I only notice a very light flicker sometimes but not shine or animation.

 

 

I think you're seeing the intended effect. It's not a flicker, but like how some logos will shine from left to right. Do you know what I'm talking about? The Start Menu button has that left-to-right type of effect, only I wouldn't call it a "shine" effect.



#956
Specular

Specular

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Here's a WebM clip captured at 30fps of the hover (had to make the taskbar horizontal to get the capture window over it ). IIRC wasn't the effect part of a Windows update? Haven't seen any notices yet, but that could be it.

 

And saw the option in the Advanced section, turns out it's the same as the one in the Windows settings. I'm not concerned though, as I like the on/off hover state ;)



#957
TwoCables

TwoCables

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I'm not seeing it. What I am seeing on my Start Menu button is a dark accent that smoothly sweeps across the logo from left to right.


Edited by TwoCables, 13 April 2014 - 07:51 PM.


#958
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 311 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Here's a WebM clip captured at 30fps of the hover (had to make the taskbar horizontal to get the capture window over it ). IIRC wasn't the effect part of a Windows update? Haven't seen any notices yet, but that could be it.
 
And saw the option in the Advanced section, turns out it's the same as the one in the Windows settings. I'm not concerned though, as I like the on/off hover state ;)


The new Spring 2014 Update / Update 1 brought the start button with the shine affect. I don't know if SiB's shine effect depends on Update 1 being installed. I wouldn't think so.

Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy SIII with M.O.A.R. v9.0, dkp kernel dated 3/20/2014 and TWRP v2.7.0.0.



#959
TwoCables

TwoCables

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

Here's a WebM clip captured at 30fps of the hover (had to make the taskbar horizontal to get the capture window over it ). IIRC wasn't the effect part of a Windows update? Haven't seen any notices yet, but that could be it.
 
And saw the option in the Advanced section, turns out it's the same as the one in the Windows settings. I'm not concerned though, as I like the on/off hover state ;)


The new Spring 2014 Update / Update 1 brought the start button with the shine affect. I don't know if SiB's shine effect depends on Update 1 being installed. I wouldn't think so.

Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy SIII with M.O.A.R. v9.0, dkp kernel dated 3/20/2014 and TWRP v2.7.0.0.

 

 

Can you show us what this shine effect is supposed to look like?



#960
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 311 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

 

Here's a WebM clip captured at 30fps of the hover (had to make the taskbar horizontal to get the capture window over it ). IIRC wasn't the effect part of a Windows update? Haven't seen any notices yet, but that could be it.
 
And saw the option in the Advanced section, turns out it's the same as the one in the Windows settings. I'm not concerned though, as I like the on/off hover state ;)


The new Spring 2014 Update / Update 1 brought the start button with the shine affect. I don't know if SiB's shine effect depends on Update 1 being installed. I wouldn't think so.

Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy SIII with M.O.A.R. v9.0, dkp kernel dated 3/20/2014 and TWRP v2.7.0.0.

 

 

Can you show us what this shine effect is supposed to look like?

 

 

I'm at work so I can't do too much right at the moment, but in this video  just after 2:40 it does it.

 


Edited by roirraWedorehT, 14 April 2014 - 10:00 AM.


#961
TwoCables

TwoCables

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

 

 

Here's a WebM clip captured at 30fps of the hover (had to make the taskbar horizontal to get the capture window over it ). IIRC wasn't the effect part of a Windows update? Haven't seen any notices yet, but that could be it.
 
And saw the option in the Advanced section, turns out it's the same as the one in the Windows settings. I'm not concerned though, as I like the on/off hover state ;)


The new Spring 2014 Update / Update 1 brought the start button with the shine affect. I don't know if SiB's shine effect depends on Update 1 being installed. I wouldn't think so.

Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy SIII with M.O.A.R. v9.0, dkp kernel dated 3/20/2014 and TWRP v2.7.0.0.

 

 

Can you show us what this shine effect is supposed to look like?

 

 

I'm at work so I can't do too much right at the moment, but in this video  just after 2:40 it does it.

 

 

 

Yep, that's precisely what I'm seeing, but of course without the accent color. I don't see that as a "shine", but hey.


Edited by TwoCables, 14 April 2014 - 02:25 PM.


#962
ace2

ace2

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 280 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Little trick to hide start button on taskbar when using StartIsBack. (Just for FUN) :P

1.Resize ANY Bitmap image file to 1x1.

2.COPY Resized Bitmap image file to C:\Program Files (x86)\StartIsBack\Orbs.

3.Open StartIsBack configuration / Appearance and Select Resized Bitmap image from start Orb bar and Apply.

Image:
http://s27.postimg.o..._on_taskbar.jpg

NOTES:
The Resized Bitmap image file will be Transparent ON the start Orb bar.

You can select Start Menu from TOP LEFT, VERY END, of Taskbar.


Edited by ace2, 15 April 2014 - 12:50 PM.


#963
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 311 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Little trick to hide start button on taskbar when using StartIsBack. (Just for FUN) :P

1.Resize ANY Bitmap image file to 1x1.

2.COPY Resized Bitmap image file to C:\Program Files (x86)\StartIsBack\Orbs.

3.Open StartIsBack configuration / Appearance and Select Resized Bitmap image from start Orb bar and Apply.

Image:
http://s27.postimg.o..._on_taskbar.jpg

NOTES:
The Resized Bitmap image file will be Transparent ON the start Orb bar.

You can select Start Menu from TOP LEFT, VERY END, of Taskbar.

 

Nice!  Neat!  :)



#964
TwoCables

TwoCables

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

LOL

 

Then, challenge someone to sit at your computer and find your 1-pixel Start Menu button. They get an internet cookie if they can open your Start Menu with the mouse.


Edited by TwoCables, 15 April 2014 - 01:34 PM.


#965
ace2

ace2

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 280 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Little trick to hide start button on taskbar when using StartIsBack. (Just for FUN) :P

1.Resize ANY Bitmap image file to 1x1.

2.COPY Resized Bitmap image file to C:\Program Files (x86)\StartIsBack\Orbs.

3.Open StartIsBack configuration / Appearance and Select Resized Bitmap image from start Orb bar and Apply.

Image:
http://s27.postimg.o..._on_taskbar.jpg

NOTES:
The Resized Bitmap image file will be Transparent ON the start Orb bar.

You can select Start Menu from TOP LEFT, VERY END, of Taskbar.

 Would not be much of a challenge, now info on how to is Posted. :w00t:

 

You could use Windows key (FLAG KEY) on your KEYBOARD as well. :whistle:


Edited by ace2, 15 April 2014 - 02:13 PM.


#966
TwoCables

TwoCables

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Yeah, but you could impress the girls by your magic invisible Start Menu button.



#967
ace2

ace2

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 280 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Yeah, but you could impress the girls by your magic invisible Start Menu button.

 

It didn't work for Microsoft, but it may work for YOU, for me its just for FUN. ;)


Edited by ace2, 15 April 2014 - 03:31 PM.


#968
TwoCables

TwoCables

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

Yeah, but you could impress the girls by your magic invisible Start Menu button.

 

It didn't work for Microsoft, but it may work for YOU, for me its just for FUN. ;)

 

 

Well, I don't have to worry about it. I'm a drummer and drummers get all the girls. :P

 

Anyway, I KNOW THAT IT WAS JUST FOR FUN. I'm not stupid. LOL Did you think that I didn't know that? lol! I mean, it's obvious! I'm actually insulted that you felt like you had to tell me.


Edited by TwoCables, 15 April 2014 - 03:40 PM.


#969
rseiler

rseiler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Remember several months ago when it turned out there was a menu display delay issue because of various icon caches?  I'm seeing a similar effect (again, only sometimes) seemingly since upgrading to Update 1 and 1.6. Like before, I think the way it happens mostly is when the menu hasn't been used in a while. I have no idea if it's the same cause, but the effect, at least, is very similar.



#970
rpsgc

rpsgc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Remember several months ago when it turned out there was a menu display delay issue because of various icon caches?  I'm seeing a similar effect (again, only sometimes) seemingly since upgrading to Update 1 and 1.6. Like before, I think the way it happens mostly is when the menu hasn't been used in a while. I have no idea if it's the same cause, but the effect, at least, is very similar.

 

You mean when you open the start menu and it only displays half or so of the programs and there is a delay to show the full list? If so, I that happens to me constantly.



#971
rseiler

rseiler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 26 posts

 

You mean when you open the start menu and it only displays half or so of the programs and there is a delay to show the full list? If so, I that happens to me constantly.

 

 

No, the whole menu. There's a pause (sometimes) before it displays.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Its back... again!, windows 8 themes, windows 8.1 themes, windows 8 visual styles, windows 8.1 visual styles

10 user(s) are reading this topic

2 members, 7 guests, 1 anonymous users


    rpsgc, rseiler


How to remove advertisement from MSFN