Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



  • Please log in to reply
1047 replies to this topic

#1026
xlarge

xlarge
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks berlen!

 

I hope this will be fixed any time soon now that I identified the exact origin of that bug. :)


Edited by xlarge, 13 June 2014 - 04:40 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1027
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,919 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

This is by design, because showing half an item is worse than showing gap.



#1028
xlarge

xlarge
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi Tihiy,

 

thanks for your quick reaction. Does that mean there won't be a fix for this issue?

 

Quick idea: The bottom gap always has the same height. With shortcut to the start screen enabled (2nd option in the start menu settings) the bottom margin of the all programs column is 4px (what seems to be correct), without this option it is exactly 19px.

 

A simple fix could be using margin-bottom: -15px in case the start screen shortcut in the settings is disabled. I'm pretty sure it isn't that simple but it's always the same height difference. 4px vs 19px. I really hope you can fix this issue since I prefer StartIsBack in total and don't want to switch back to Start8.

 

Thanks for reading my text :)



#1029
dombomb

dombomb
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Is there a way to make user selection of the start icon launch the start screen instead of the start menu (just like the default operation of windows 8)?

 

I know the main point of StartIsBack+ is to add a start menu to the desktop, but I purchased it to add the taskbar to the start screen, which is an awesome feature.  The only problem is that now StartIsBack+ makes it trickier to get to the start screen.

 

Thanks!

Andrew


Edited by dombomb, 19 June 2014 - 12:09 AM.


#1030
elrombios

elrombios
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Have a little problem with Startisback 1.6.2 for win 8.1u1. The size of sleep button on start menu is smaller then in original windows 7. Can somebody please explain how to change the size of sleep button on start menu in Startisback? It's not dependent on menu style.

Please see attached files.

Startisback sleep button

Attached File  startisback_sleep.jpg   3.12KB   5 downloads

 

 

Windows 7 real sleep button in menu

Attached File  real_sleep_win7.jpg   2.43KB   5 downloads

 

Thank you!

 



#1031
Wolfshadow

Wolfshadow

    Web Design

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 65 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

elrombios,
 
The sizes of items on the SIB appearance styles come from msstyle files and they would have to be changed to reflect a larger size button.
 
You would need WindowsStyleBuilder to do this. Or a more complex way would be with a resource editor program.


"It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them."

~Ralph Waldo Emerson~

 


#1032
elrombios

elrombios
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

elrombios,
 
The sizes of items on the SIB appearance styles come from msstyle files and they would have to be changed to reflect a larger size button.
 
You would need WindowsStyleBuilder to do this. Or a more complex way would be with a resource editor program.

Thank you for the information,

but i think it will be complicated because you need to know where to search for button images and how to change them. I found that this is not dependent on theme. I think it can be changes if we add some spaces in the word "Sleep", so a think the variable is "Sleep", but can be "   Sleep   ". And that's it. But i can't find or maybe don't know where to search for this variable?



#1033
Nazgulled

Nazgulled

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts

Hi,

 

Just installed this and I'm so happy that such application exists. I know there are many start menu "replacements" but they never felt like the real thing, until StartIsBack. Kudos man!

 

Just a little bug report which is annoyng to me as I'm very picky. Don't even know if this is possible to fix in you end or if it's also something related to visual style. The context menu on the power/sleep/logoff/etc button feels a little bit off compared to all other system and StartIsBack context menus. Each item looks smaller and there's no padding around the items. Could this be fixed?

 

Also, I have a question about the license... I have sent a PM to @Tihiy about this but is that the right approach or should I just post it here?


Edited by Nazgulled, 24 June 2014 - 09:35 AM.


#1034
quanzi1507

quanzi1507

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I don't know whether this is by design but whenever I installed some updates (which require restart) and then turned off my computer (Start menu -> Shut down), the updates won't be applied. And they will never be applied until I do a proper "restart" (once I got a notification that installed updates from weeks ago were still not applied).

 

If it is by design then can you implement some options (like "Shut down and apply updates", "Shut down without applying updates", etc.)?


Edited by quanzi1507, 27 June 2014 - 11:04 AM.


#1035
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 315 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I don't know whether this is by design but whenever I installed some updates (which require restart) and then turned off my computer (Start menu -> Shut down), the updates won't be applied. And they will never be applied until I do a proper "restart" (once I got a notification that installed updates from weeks ago were still not applied).

 

If it is by design then can you implement some options (like "Shut down and apply updates", "Shut down without applying updates", etc.)?

 

I *think* that is Microsoft's doing although it's possible Tihiy might be able to find a workaround like you mentioned, if he has time.  I remember Windows when it had the old start menu would only apply the updates if you restarted, but not if you shut down.  There've been a few times when I've gotten an "Update and Shut Down" option, too, but it's not necessarily consistent.



#1036
Wolfshadow

Wolfshadow

    Web Design

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 65 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Tihiy,

 

Some themes seem to enable a 'Default Start Theme'. Is there a way to enable it on other themes that do not?


"It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them."

~Ralph Waldo Emerson~

 


#1037
Escorpiom

Escorpiom

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 88 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I don't know whether this is by design but whenever I installed some updates (which require restart) and then turned off my computer (Start menu -> Shut down), the updates won't be applied. And they will never be applied until I do a proper "restart" (once I got a notification that installed updates from weeks ago were still not applied).

 

If it is by design then can you implement some options (like "Shut down and apply updates", "Shut down without applying updates", etc.)?

This happens actually because a shutdown in W8 is not really a shutdown, but more like suspend.

They call it "hybrid shutdown". 

So if you choose "shutdown" from the start menu your computer "sleeps" instead of a full shutdown.

 

There is even more to this:

After updating, Windows requires a restart. If you shut down normally after updating one day, and turn your PC on the next day, you will see that WU still requires a restart.

If you do not reboot, Windows will reboot itself after two days.

 

This is annoying to say the least, I had a few customers complaining about spontaneous reboots, they blame the PC but it's actually Windows that restarts to finish the updates.

 

Cheers. 



#1038
duraturk

duraturk
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Everyonce in a while (like once a week or so) the Recently used programs list goes crazy. All of a sudden my start menu becomes as long as my display resolution has enough space. It covers the whole screen.
 
There are like 16-17 items there. I am checking back the "Number of Recent Programs to Display" setting and it is set to only 10. Changing and applying that setting to 8, 12 or then back to 10 does not fix the problem. I manually start to remove the extra items on that list. And as I move them new ones keeps coming up since they are all recent programs I used. After removing 25-30 items and closing. re-openning the start menu, things start to work normal. I again have 10 items on that list, which is my setting.
 
After a week or so, this happens again and again and again. I don't know what triggers it but it is annoying.
 
Next time it happens, I will take a screenshot.
 


#1039
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,919 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Tihiy,

 

Some themes seem to enable a 'Default Start Theme'. Is there a way to enable it on other themes that do not?

Well, if there is no start menu skin there, what's to enable?

 

 

Everyonce in a while (like once a week or so) the Recently used programs list goes crazy. All of a sudden my start menu becomes as long as my display resolution has enough space. It covers the whole screen.
 
There are like 16-17 items there. I am checking back the "Number of Recent Programs to Display" setting and it is set to only 10. Changing and applying that setting to 8, 12 or then back to 10 does not fix the problem. I manually start to remove the extra items on that list. And as I move them new ones keeps coming up since they are all recent programs I used. After removing 25-30 items and closing. re-openning the start menu, things start to work normal. I again have 10 items on that list, which is my setting.
 
After a week or so, this happens again and again and again. I don't know what triggers it but it is annoying.
 
Next time it happens, I will take a screenshot.

That's very strange.



#1040
Gérard

Gérard
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hello,

I use Startisback with Windows 8.1

How can i backup StartIsBack setting (all préférences, shortcut add, personal folders ...)

Thanks



#1041
duraturk

duraturk
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It happened again.

The 1st pic is my start menu has gone crazy with the recent programs list.

The 2nd pic is the setting for this, which supposed to be 10 but it is 18 now.

The only way to fix this problem and go back to normal is; me manually removing recent programs from the start menu.

Not only the 18 of them because each time I remove an entry another recently used program places itself there.

So, most likely I will manually remove 40 or so programs to make that list 10.

Until it happens over and over again.

 

 

 

Everyonce in a while (like once a week or so) the Recently used programs list goes crazy. All of a sudden my start menu becomes as long as my display resolution has enough space. It covers the whole screen.
 
There are like 16-17 items there. I am checking back the "Number of Recent Programs to Display" setting and it is set to only 10. Changing and applying that setting to 8, 12 or then back to 10 does not fix the problem. I manually start to remove the extra items on that list. And as I move them new ones keeps coming up since they are all recent programs I used. After removing 25-30 items and closing. re-openning the start menu, things start to work normal. I again have 10 items on that list, which is my setting.
 
After a week or so, this happens again and again and again. I don't know what triggers it but it is annoying.
 
Next time it happens, I will take a screenshot.

 

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File  p1.jpg   75.57KB   4 downloads
  • Attached File  p2.jpg   36.82KB   2 downloads


#1042
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,919 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

That's correct behavior. If you don't need recent apps, set it to 0.



#1043
duraturk

duraturk
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I guess you are missing something; this is not the correct behaviour.

Otherwise, I am comfortable working with the wrong behaviour 29 days in a month and all of a sudden I get this correct behaviour.

Which displays 18 items when the setting is 10.

When I manually fix it, then I am again comfortably working fine with the wrong behaviour for a couple of weeks until it happens again.

 

No no, I guess you were thinking about something else. This is definitely NOT the correct behaviour.

 

 

That's correct behavior. If you don't need recent apps, set it to 0.



#1044
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,919 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Then something else plays with your used app list. I repeat: if you don't need automatically populated recently used items part, set it to 0.



#1045
mosaji

mosaji
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I am upgrading to a new computer. Can i use my license from the old computer as i will discard the old computer?

#1046
deipotent

deipotent

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts

I have a 5-PC licence and am having activation issues when trying to use SIB+ on a MacBook when switching between the native Windows installation (ie. BootCamp) and the VMware Fusion VM version (which runs off of the same Windows partition as the native version, rather than being a copy of the partition).

 

1) I boot to Windows native and activate SIB+, which works fine.

2) I then reboot into OS X, start the Fusion Windows VM and SIB+ asks to activate again, which is also fine.

3) If I reboot into Windows native, SIB+ asks to activate again, which is not fine.

 

The activation from step (2) seems to have wiped out the activation data from step (1) I use another app that also uses activation, but it gets around the above problem by storing multiple hardware ID's/signature's, activation code's and response's in a file, and when it performs the "Am_I_Activated" check, it compares the current hardware ID against all stored activation information to see if there is a match. If this hardward ID has already been activated, and is in the file, then the activation check passes, without requiring activation again.

 

Can you change the licencing/activation scheme of SIB+ slightly, so that multiple activations/ID's are stored in a licence/activation file, instead of just one (which seems to be the case at the moment)


Edited by deipotent, Yesterday, 10:22 AM.

FlexiTimer - interval/fitness timer app for iOS

#1047
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,919 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

SIB+ should support multiple-activation scenario if you use same key. If it doesn't work, try to uninstall with checkbox 'Remove settings and license data' and try again to activate on real then virtual hardware.



#1048
deipotent

deipotent

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts

Just to clarify - I used same key, but every time I switch between BootCamp native and the Fusion BootCamp VM (which runs off of native partition).

 

So the licence data from one activation will not overwrite the licence data from the other activation (ie. two lots of licence data can/will exist at the same time on the same partition) ?

 

I will try what you suggest and report back.


FlexiTimer - interval/fitness timer app for iOS





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Its back... again!, windows 8 themes, windows 8.1 themes, windows 8 visual styles, windows 8.1 visual styles

5 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 4 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Baidu (1)


How to remove advertisement from MSFN