Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Windows Update trouble

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1
mjdbb1

mjdbb1

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
  • Joined 21-January 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Been banging my head against the wall for a few days now, so I figured I might as well throw it out here for the experts.  It's mainly to satisfy my curiosity because I can't quite figure out what's going on.

 

I was given an old system (Dell Dimension 3000) that would be needed for a family who just needed a basic computer.  I wiped the hard drive and installed a clean install of XP Pro SP3 (Dell OEM disk).  Everything seemed to go fine, until I tried to access Windows Update for the newest updates.  I went from having the site refuse to load at all to hanging at "Checking for the latest updates...".  I followed all the usual MS troubleshooting, resetting updates, clearing update cache, etc.  Even forcibly reinstalled the Windows Update Agent to no avail.  I went as far as reinstalling with full retail media (again XP Pro SP3) and had the same problem.

 

Finding this to be strange, I installed the same copy of Windows XP in a virtual machine on my main system and ran into exactly the same problem.  I've installed XP with SP3 a hundred times and never had trouble with Windows Update.

 

The best part is, I went ahead and downloaded Autopatcher and downloaded all the post-SP3 updates as of Aug. 28.  After they install, with the exception of Windows Genuine Advantage Notifications (which hangs), they install just fine, and now Windows Update works.

 

Looking through Autopatcher, there really are no updates relevant to Windows Update that would suddenly fix whatever problem is going on with Windows Update.  In the past if there was an update needed to make the WU site work, it would explain that and offer the download.  I've replicated this on two PCs and one virtual machine. 

 

I don't mind doing a clean install and then using Autopatcher, but it's killing me to know why that seems to be the only thing that fixes Windows Update.  Anybody notice this behavior, or have any thoughts?




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,421 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Yeah, you need to install our unofficial WUA. http://www.mediafire...600.256-257.zip
Why don't you use nLite and slipstream all the updates once you've downloaded them all with my UDC script? It includes the WUA.

Edited by -X-, 07 April 2014 - 03:17 PM.

Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#3
5eraph

5eraph

    Update Packrat

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,159 posts
  • Joined 04-July 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Happens also in XPx64 when trying to install the Microsoft Update binaries from the website. Microsoft seems to have seriously messed something up on their servers. The only workaround I've found is to preinstall as -X- suggests.

#4
mjdbb1

mjdbb1

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
  • Joined 21-January 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks for all the info.  Unfortunately, even when using the modified windows update agent you posted, the site still hangs at "Checking for the latest updates...".  I think slipstreaming them like -X- mentioned is the way to go.

 

I agree that something is definitely messed up on the MS side.  However, something tells me that fixing Windows Update for XP before next April is far, far away from the front burner.



#5
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,421 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Try running this Fix it. (Fix Its require .NET 2.0)

If that doesn't work run this Fix it in aggressive mode.


Edited by -X-, 04 September 2013 - 06:43 PM.

Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#6
mjdbb1

mjdbb1

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
  • Joined 21-January 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I tried both of the fixes you suggessted (the first one I tried before) but unfortunately the site still hangs.  The second one you sent (with the aggressive options) doesn't say if it found anything to fix, so I don't know exactly what it did.



#7
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,421 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Check the version number of system32\wuweb.dll. It should be 7.6.7600.257.


Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#8
mjdbb1

mjdbb1

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
  • Joined 21-January 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Just checked...it's the correct version, 7.6.7600.257.



#9
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,421 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Hmm. Right before you go to bed. Run WU. When you wake up, see what transpired..

I recently had the same problem in a VM test and added the .257 file then went to bed. When I woke up, the results where showing/


Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#10
mjdbb1

mjdbb1

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
  • Joined 21-January 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Good idea.  I'll let it run and see what happens.  Maybe the trick will be to let it scan for update for at least 8 hours!!!  I'll post back tomorrow with the results.



#11
mjdbb1

mjdbb1

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
  • Joined 21-January 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Ok, I have an interesting result.  I started the "Checking for updates..." process and let it run for about an hour.  Still nothing.  So I let it run overnight (about 8 hours or so) and when I came back I had this:

 

http://i.imgur.com/wYHbN7N.jpg

 

On clicking yes, it prompted me to update:

 

http://i.imgur.com/2azb8kR.jpg

 

This installed Genuine Advantage Validation Tool, and the package installer.  Finally it took me to the update screen and offered all the expected updates.  Thinking everything was now working great, I closed the window and tried again to get to Windows Update, and it's hanging at the checking for updates screen.  I have some things to do so I'm planning to let it run for a few hours and see what happens.  I just can't figure out what's going on now.



#12
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,421 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I was just doing a test in a VM where I hadn't preloaded anything and it took 1 hour to complete scanning. :w00t: I did load the WUA 256-257 before going to WU.


Edited by -X-, 06 September 2013 - 02:30 PM.

Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#13
mjdbb1

mjdbb1

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
  • Joined 21-January 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Wow, again if I let it sit for over an hour it works.  Glad to see it's not just me, thanks for trying that out.  I wonder why it takes so long just to scan.



#14
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I have the same problem.


Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#15
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,421 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

It should go away after the first scan on a fresh install.


Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#16
HarryTri

HarryTri

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Joined 17-August 12
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I reinstalled Windows XP on 18th of September, I had no problem with Windows Update.


I always love Windows XP!


#17
Glenn9999

Glenn9999

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 674 posts
  • Joined 23-April 07
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Looking through Autopatcher, there really are no updates relevant to Windows Update that would suddenly fix whatever problem is going on with Windows Update.  In the past if there was an update needed to make the WU site work, it would explain that and offer the download.  I've replicated this on two PCs and one virtual machine. 

 

I don't mind doing a clean install and then using Autopatcher, but it's killing me to know why that seems to be the only thing that fixes Windows Update.  Anybody notice this behavior, or have any thoughts?

 

Actually, I had this issue too in doing the install I referenced before, and the patch mentioned in this thread didn't help.  What did help however was as you did, going ahead and installing the patch files I had on hand.  When I did that, autoupdate took off upon reboot of the OS and installed the rest.  What's going on is the infamous svchost.exe is using 99% cpu all the time problem.   Several of the sources I found indicate that providing the system a patched MSI.DLL is what fixed the problem (though I can't say which of my patches on hand did that).



#18
ppgrainbow

ppgrainbow

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Joined 04-October 11
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

As far as I know, Microsoft issued a botched security update that caused SVCHOST CPU usage to spike to 100%.

 

Installing Update KB2879017 fixed this problem. :)

 

http://www.microsoft...s.aspx?id=40390


AVA Direct FX AM3+ specs: Zalman ZM Z9-U3 Black Mid-Tower case / ASUS M5A97 R2.0 / AMD FX-4300 3.8 GHz quad-core processor / Fractal Design Integra R2 500W PSU/ Hyper 212 EVO CPU cooler / Western Digital BLACK SERIES 1 TB (WD1003FZEX) SATA III 7200 RPM / Lite-On iHas124 Black 24x DVD-RW / 8 GB Crucual (2 x 4GB) / StarTech SATA-to-CompactFlash Adapter (35BAYCF2SAT) / Ballistix Sport PC3-12800 DDR3 RAM / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 520 MHz 1 GB GDDR3 / Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate SP2 x64


#19
naaloh

naaloh

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 25 posts
  • Joined 12-February 12
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

The bottom line is if you just wait long enough you'll get your list of updates and when you install them the trouble will be gone, so there's zero need to install anything unofficial. Patience is a virtue.


Edited by naaloh, 31 October 2013 - 08:29 AM.


#20
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 5,952 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Patience is a virtue.

 

Sage words! :thumbup



#21
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Joined 31-July 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Same problem here, running XP as a virtual machine under Linux. CPU hits 100% and nothing happens. I think MS want to kill off XP hoping people will switch to Win8. Fat chance.



#22
thundernetbr

thundernetbr

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 67 posts
  • Joined 03-November 03

I've tried many tips to solve this problem. In my case it was pretty easy, after all: I got Windows Update Agent 3.0 somewhere, installed it after a fresh XP install, and Windows Update became normal again.

I did not used WUA 7.6 nor 7.4, it got fixed after Windows Update itself downloaded the latest WUA... weird, as many things that do happen with MS software !

 

--ThundernetBR


Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H & Asus K8VSE Deluxe - AMD Athlon X2 7750 Black Edition (2700 MHz, 64-bit, socket AM2+) & AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (2200 MHz, 64-bit, socket 754) - 2x 2GB Kingston DDR2 PC6400 & 2x 512MB Kingston DDR400 - Onboard ATI Radeon HD3200 & GeXCube ATI Radeon 9600Pro 256MB AGP 8X - Windows 7 x64 and XP SP3 Tweaked - and eventually Linux live CDs...

#23
naaloh

naaloh

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 25 posts
  • Joined 12-February 12
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

CPU hits 100% and nothing happens.

Something shall happen if you just find enough patience to wait... or at least to read this thread.



#24
DosProbie

DosProbie

    Friend of MSFN

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 747 posts
  • Joined 16-October 12
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Slipstream is the best way or just do a post installer for all your updates..DP



#25
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Joined 31-July 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

 

CPU hits 100% and nothing happens.

Something shall happen if you just find enough patience to wait... or at least to read this thread.

 

 

Thank you, yes it worked eventually. I'm running 4 OSes simultaneously on my workstation so I can't have XP hogging the CPU.  My Linux host gets updated regularly without fuss or need for reboot.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users