Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Windows Server 2008 R2 extremely slow


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
nickman

nickman
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 10-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

We recently installed a Windows Server 2008 R2 (64) [Dell R720, RAID 10, 32 GB]. Initially the performance was fine with one SQL Server 2008 R2 (64) and a Tomcat 6 (64) installation.

Then the server started to become slower. At first we assumed something to be wrong with the NIC drivers (Broadcom BACS), so we upgraded their firmware, and the drivers, which seemed to have helped.

But now, after some time (about two months) we're back in the same place. Starting Firefox takes about one minute, EVERYTHING is awfully slow.

 

Checked so far:

 

1) perfmon shows peaks but nothing special

2) procmon (following FF's start) shows no indication

3) Latest patches/hotfixes installed

 

Is there anyone out there experiencing similar problems on the above-described hardware?


Edited by nickman, 25 September 2013 - 12:03 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,163 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Install the WPT (http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=146919), run this command from a cmd.exe which is started as admin:

xperf -start perf!GeneralProfiles.InBuffer && timeout -1 && xperf -stop perf!GeneralProfiles.InBuffer GenTrace.etl

and start Firefox. After you captured the slow start, press a key to stop logging, zip the GenTrace.etl (only this file, not the 2 other temp files!!!), upload it (skydrive,dropbox) and send me the link via PM.


Posted Image

#3
nickman

nickman
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 10-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

log.rar was uploaded (please refer to PM).



#4
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,163 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I don't really have an idea. YOu have a lot of DPC/ISR usage.

 

hal.dll!HalpHpetProgramRolloverTimer = http://en.wikipedia....ion_Event_Timer

 

try to turn this HPET off (BIOS/UEFI) and look if this makes the server faster,

 

 

Firefox is busy because of JS calls, but I need a trace of the nightly version of Firefox which has better stacks.


Posted Image

#5
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Toolâ„¢ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

Check your standby ram.  I find my ram cache holds junk I don't need anymore, flushes slowly for some reason once I reach zero available free memory and this seems to help.

 

http://www.google.co... magicandre1981

 

@andre, would this be possible to be re-written to Powershell, where would I start looking if I wanted to re-create the effect via script.  FYI, looked in the source codes of wj32's process hacker, it's a big project not sure what I am looking for, or if it can even be manipulated via powershell, what you think ?


Edited by MrJinje, 25 September 2013 - 11:40 PM.


#6
nickman

nickman
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 10-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

@MagicAndre1981

I'll give that a try (in case I find that option in the BIOS).

 

@MrJinje

Thanks for your tip - unfortunately that didn't help.



#7
nickman

nickman
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 10-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Just an intermediate report:

 

0) Behavior as described - slow.

1) Checked with Dell, executed DSET (their test tool).

2) Behavior after execution of DSET changed => fast

3) Dell couldn't find any problems in the report generated by DSET, i.e. on our maschine

4) Communicating with Dell in order to obtain info about what is contained in DSET (would like to do that myself, by UniExtract 1.6.61 failed me on this exe; will upgrade to 1.77 and report again)



#8
nickman

nickman
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 10-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Addendum: The Dell tool seems to be a Wise installer. Does anybody know how to handle these lately?



#9
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 10,022 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Do you have your OS on the RAID 10 or do you have it on a separate disk/array?


MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#10
nickman

nickman
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 10-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

On RAID 10, in-maschine.

 

1) Meanwhile I received a list of updates (including the RAID backplane firmware) that I will install soon.

2) Addendum: DSET, once run, leaves behind a MSI packet (which can be easily extracted), containing a lot of Python PYCs plus some few EXEs. If my observations were correct (cmp. item 2 above), either one of this Python libs or one of the EXEs should have been the - positive - culprit.

 

Will report back...



#11
allen2

allen2

    Not really Newbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,814 posts
  • Joined 13-January 06

The dset report should give you more information than the binary of the tool itself. The password protected archive created by dset is protected with the password : dell.



#12
nickman

nickman
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 10-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks for all your input. Meanwhile the system is back to normal (so far at least) after I installed the firmware update for the H710 SAS RAID controller (SAS-RAID_Firmware_C1VYX_WN32_21.2.0-0007_A04.EXE)

 

For the DSET report: The Dell technician didn't find anything special.



#13
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,163 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

nice to hear that you fixed it :)
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users