Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Office Shrinker [reduce source of o2k3/xp/2k]

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
678 replies to this topic

#1
buckeyeXP

buckeyeXP

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
Attached File  shrink_lang02.exe   95.02KB   34296 downloadsOffice Shrink Source Final

This will shrink the source of Office 2K3, XP, and 2K! :)

You can cancel the script at anytime by pressing 'CTRL ALT X'.

:rolleyes: Run this on a clean install of Windows. :D
(THIS MEANS VIRTUAL PC OR SOMETHING)


Create an ADMINISTRATIVE INSTALL POINT, Slipstream and, make the MST file according to MSFN's instructions. XP O2k3

This is works for the english, spanish, and dutch languages

To help with the use for other languages go Here

It should go throught the office install process and copy every file that is needed. You will see it working. There will be an error box for each file that is being copied, this is normal.

also send me the log when something goes wrong so i have some information to go by :D

If you have a problem with an error 25000: send me both office.log and office_task(000?).txt

New Download: Office Shrink Final...
*Fixed stopping problem.
It should stop for everybody.

if this is not enough explination go GO HERE

Or here is a super guide with a detailed explanation!


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Ghost

Ghost

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
how are you?
For me mate, it wouldn't even start. Its lookin for setuppls.exe, but my copy has pro11.msi, and it won't except the unattended script.

here is the error:

line 0

Run ($target1 & $exe& "transforms="&$target1&$mst) ;RUNS SETUP FILE

error:Unable to execute the external program.

Think you could fix it? I need to get this cd down 29 meg! Thats it, more would be good, could put more drivers on. When I compreess it it sits on 269meg so down to 200 would be nice

Thanks
You can not see me
I am not here
I am a figment of your imagination

#3
XtremeMaC

XtremeMaC

    MSFN SuperB

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,070 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
afaik setuppls.exe is the new setup for admin installs.
u can dl it from microsoft's website...



#4
buckeyeXP

buckeyeXP

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
@ghost can you send me the log file it should be at c:\office.log
do you have a setup.exe file any exe file in the root of your cd. change setuppls.exe to whatever that exe file is. i think it is called officepro.exe but i really dont know since i dont have office 2k3.

try that and let me know. also send me the log after you try that.

#5
Ghost

Ghost

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
there you go, I tried it a few times and none of the vareations work, if its failing at line 0 then that means that its not starting one of the parts. i think there maybe a problem with it starting the unattended file, no the msi file. But then again, I know bugger all. I tried a setup.exe thats on the cd, (admin point doesn't have one) and it did the same thing

Attached Files


You can not see me
I am not here
I am a figment of your imagination

#6
buckeyeXP

buckeyeXP

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
@ghost: When you run an unattended install of office what is your command?
That is where the problem is. Send it to me and ill see what i have differently in the code.

Anybody else having a problem getting it startted?

#7
FlyorDIE

FlyorDIE

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
I finally got around to slipstreaming SP3 into my Office 2000 Sr1 administrative point folder (o2kD1Admin). :) and for giggles I patched my o2k Sr-1 folder with sp3 (office_disc_1_full) I then created a MST using the data1.msi file from the o2kD1Admin folder. once done I ran your program and no matter which folder i specify for the files or if i click yes or no at the "continue installation after shrinking" promt it spits out an error message. attached (hopefully *cross fingers*) is my log and jpg of the error. hopefully you can make sense of it =-/

***on a side not I just realize this thread was about office 2003 (go me) but anywho shouldn't it still work with o2k?

thanks for your time

Attached Files


YES I do realize how TERRIBLE my avatar is... thats why I put it there. To destroy your minds too.
___________________________________________________
I don't need to compromise my principles, because they don't have the slightest bearing on what i do anyway.

#8
buckeyeXP

buckeyeXP

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
@FlyorDIE: well kindof... i have never tested on o2k. the problem it that the setup should have atleast started that has nothing to do with the different versions.

I am trying to figure out where im going wrong with the startup code. i am in the process of rewriting the file selection portion of this. So when i get that finished i will just release that part to se if i fixed the problem. :)

As far as O2k goes... hey you are more than welcome to test it and maybe ill be able to make it work for it too. so if you want to bear through it ill see what i can do. :/

#9
buckeyeXP

buckeyeXP

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
Ok this is just to test the new input portion of the code. So run it and let me know of any problems or errors. i also fixed some logging things so that i will better be able to diagnose why it is not runnign for some people.

Just run it and the office setup should start. If this works then i will move on to what you are all here for. :)

So let me know since i cant test it right now. i wont be able to test anything myself for about a week so your input is appreciated.

Link in next post

#10
FlyorDIE

FlyorDIE

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
Heres the results from running it. I hope it helps.

Attached Files


YES I do realize how TERRIBLE my avatar is... thats why I put it there. To destroy your minds too.
___________________________________________________
I don't need to compromise my principles, because they don't have the slightest bearing on what i do anyway.

#11
buckeyeXP

buckeyeXP

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
@FlyorDIE: ok try this one

Attached Files



#12
FlyorDIE

FlyorDIE

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
its a winner =D

Pop up box said code works ... when setup started it was on the screen for the cd-key... normally in admin install it skips this page... dont know if its associated with your exe or that that exe didnt have the code or something but it didnt error :rolleyes:

"2004-03-21 16:25:59 : <--- LOG OPENED --->
2004-03-21 16:26:13 : Office Source : N:\o2kD1Admin
2004-03-21 16:26:15 : Office Target : C:\office\
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : Source Files Necessicary for setup Copied to: C:\office\
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : .
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : ..
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : AUTORUN.INF
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : DATA1.MSI
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : LICENSE.TXT
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : MSOWC.CAB
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : MSOWC.MSI
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : OFFICE1.CAB
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : OSESETUP.INF
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : OWS.MSI
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : README.DOC
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : READOSE.TXT
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : SETUP.EXE
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : SETUP.HLP
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : SETUP.INI
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : SETUPSE.EXE
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : SETUPSE.INI
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : SQLWRAP.EXE
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : Unattended.MST
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : Source Files Necessicary for setup Copied to: C:\office\FILES\SETUP\
2004-03-21 16:26:17 : Command Run: C:\office\SETUP.EXE TRANSFORMS=C:\office\Unattended.MST
"
***stupid second page of post didn't even realize it was here :/ :)
YES I do realize how TERRIBLE my avatar is... thats why I put it there. To destroy your minds too.
___________________________________________________
I don't need to compromise my principles, because they don't have the slightest bearing on what i do anyway.

#13
buckeyeXP

buckeyeXP

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
Beautiful :rolleyes:

OK we are heading in the right direction. Now since you are the only one that tested this so far and you are running o2k the next part may be a little more trying... :)

So... give me a sec and ill implement the other portion of the code. :D

HAHA about the second page....that is what i figured since you were in here and not doing anything.

I updated the first post too but i am assuming that you were looking for a reply after yours. :D OH well..

#14
buckeyeXP

buckeyeXP

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
ok here it is... keep in mind that i have never tested this with o2k so... i have no idea if this process will even work for it. :)

But you are welcome to try it. If it doesnt do anything enter press next until a box shows up that says something about an error and a missing file. that is where this should take over. if it just sits there a screen shot of the error box would help out. make sure you close the test program too... CTRL ALT X

well here goes nothing......


LINK REMOVED.... USE LINK ON FIRST PAGE

#15
FlyorDIE

FlyorDIE

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
:rolleyes: so... just to fulfil my cruriosity... :)

are you removing excess files that are not needed in the installation of office... or are you compressing the massive and i mean massive amount of files so as to take up less space. (I tried adding it all to an IExpress setup but there is at least one duplicate file which totally renders IExpress useless :D And currently I havent found a way of making a winzip install out of it that can be rendered unattended... and I haven't even looked at the other installers ... heh


***well I does not error. but if you click yes to running setup after install I does give you that first screen asking for the cd-key and orginization... and oddley enough it does keep the setting for what part of the customize which are set in the unattended.mst

Basically I cant find any Files in C:\office\PFiles\ Directory :D
and the file C:\office\Windows\Help\WZCNFLCT.CHM was also missing and that file forces me to quit... in just a moment ill add a pic that show what the original directory tree looks like (if i can)


****************************************************************************************************
************************************
***here is the log pertaining to the post after....*****************************

Attached Files


YES I do realize how TERRIBLE my avatar is... thats why I put it there. To destroy your minds too.
___________________________________________________
I don't need to compromise my principles, because they don't have the slightest bearing on what i do anyway.

#16
buckeyeXP

buckeyeXP

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
This goes throught the install process and copies over only the files that are needed
Your mst file tells office what files it needs and it askes for them. so this just copies those files therefore the files that are not going to be used arnt taking up space on the cd.
after you do this you can compress it more if you would like. It is all presonal preference.

you could do this by hand but it is a VERY time consuming process so i decided to write a little script to do this quickly. But i have only tested it for office XP.

#17
FlyorDIE

FlyorDIE

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
the errors said

"
Error 1309. Error reading file:
C:\office\PFiles\MSOffice\Office\BIDI32.DLL. Verify that the file
exists and that you can access it.

as far as i could see all the errors were in the PFiles direcotry
setup did not finish and terminated after the help file stated above... there was nor ignore button on that error just retry and cancel =-/


and attached is a massively long directory pic... it may mor may not help =-/


***note to self Paint is terrible at extremely long files... or maybe it was l_view...
anywho here is a READABLE file :rolleyes:


**************since we can only post one file per post I've put the log file that goes with this post up /\ one post of mine /\

________________________________________________
also btw if you are lookin at my directory structure and thinking some folders are missing you would be correct... i have removed the IE5 folder (who uses IE5 anymore anyway? and the MSI folder (its built in to W2K and WxP =D) and the mst file is set not to do anything with IE5 also folders System95 and SystemNT have also been removed but I have run install on my comp and it was error free so hopefully that wont be a problem... just less junk on the cd :)

***attachment removed because it was useless

Edited by FlyorDIE, 22 March 2004 - 07:30 PM.

YES I do realize how TERRIBLE my avatar is... thats why I put it there. To destroy your minds too.
___________________________________________________
I don't need to compromise my principles, because they don't have the slightest bearing on what i do anyway.

#18
Ghost

Ghost

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
The program you have goin is great Idea. The code that is used to execute the unattended install is similar to what was on page 1, and it works, I have tested it many a time with runonceEx. You are the guy who knows this though. but if it was wrong, would it work? (I can't post it at the moment, not at my computer)
You can not see me
I am not here
I am a figment of your imagination

#19
FlyorDIE

FlyorDIE

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
scrath what I said earlier about having to re-enter the cd-key and stuff... I finally cleared the folder (novel idea :) ) and tried again. it now skips that page but still errors on those file. I have copied the PFiles and Windows folders over and its currently happy at me (still installing) I'll edit this post when it finishes...

Also you MUST add a "\" to the end of the directorys or it errors (I know from expierence :rolleyes: )

Install finished without error after copying those two folders over... but alas those two folders are 350+ meg I'll post the error msg in the next reply
YES I do realize how TERRIBLE my avatar is... thats why I put it there. To destroy your minds too.
___________________________________________________
I don't need to compromise my principles, because they don't have the slightest bearing on what i do anyway.

#20
buckeyeXP

buckeyeXP

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
@FlyorDIE: what i need is a screenie of the error box. that is where i pull the info from to copy the files. I noticed that you didnt include the trailing \ in the source directory. For exampl: N:\o2kD1Admin\
that could be the reason that the file copy didnt work. try it with that and if it dosent work could you try to get me that screenie.

ill try to fix the trailing slash thing later....

#21
FlyorDIE

FlyorDIE

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
heres the screen shot that I typed verbatim into an earler post :)

theres a million of em and initially i was pasting them into a pain doc when i reached 11 and decided to stop (actually I started messing up :rolleyes: )

Attached Files


YES I do realize how TERRIBLE my avatar is... thats why I put it there. To destroy your minds too.
___________________________________________________
I don't need to compromise my principles, because they don't have the slightest bearing on what i do anyway.

#22
buckeyeXP

buckeyeXP

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
@FlyorDIE: What is supposed to happen is that the error messages are supposed to show up and the test program is supposed to grab the path to the file that is missing and copy it over and then hit retry. so you should see is cycling through the error messages. if that is not happening the program is not working properly.

#23
FlyorDIE

FlyorDIE

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
as far as i can tell... the test.exe / script is sitting paused in my system tray. should i try un pausing it and seeing what happens?

Ok i just realized where the "tedious" part comes in heh :)
YES I do realize how TERRIBLE my avatar is... thats why I put it there. To destroy your minds too.
___________________________________________________
I don't need to compromise my principles, because they don't have the slightest bearing on what i do anyway.

#24
buckeyeXP

buckeyeXP

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
ok it should work now. :) i just needed the title bar of the error window.

give it a shot the link is on the second page

JUST KIDDING
GIVE ME A SECOND

#25
buckeyeXP

buckeyeXP

    ...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
OK it should work now.... for real this time.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN