Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Skype on Windows 95?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1
Andrew T.

Andrew T.

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
  • Joined 11-July 07
  • OS:95
  • Country: Country Flag

Does anyone know if a Windows 95-compatible version of Skype exists...or ever existed, for that matter?

 

I do know that the early 1.x versions were compatible with Windows 98.  No luck experimenting with those, though.  If I so much as run the installer, this charming dialogue is the first thing to appear:

 

skype.png


Andrew T.
"Now crush your computer into small chunks, add flour, and bake one hour."


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 811 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

If that is the first thing to appear, it suggests that the installer is automatically checking for updates. Have you tried running the installer while not connected to the Internet?



#3
Andrew T.

Andrew T.

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
  • Joined 11-July 07
  • OS:95
  • Country: Country Flag
Yep. That just appears to make the installer hang and require a force quit when it does its automatic checking. Now I'm dying to hack the installer, though. I poked around it with Resource Hacker and a hex editor, but didn't see anything that was an obvious version check.
Andrew T.
"Now crush your computer into small chunks, add flour, and bake one hour."

#4
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 811 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Hmmm... It must have a URL coded into it somewhere to check. You might be able to hex edit that, but if it waits for a response no matter what  then I don't know how much good it would do. The trick would be giving it the response it expects - maybe the version check mechanism could be broken, but that's over my head. :}

 

You might also try searching for command line switches for the installer, there's always a possibility that some existed. If you could get the package to install silently or even just extract itself it might be a step in the right direction...


Edited by LoneCrusader, 03 October 2013 - 09:01 PM.


#5
Dude111

Dude111

    Banned

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 297 posts
  • Joined 01-October 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I forgot what it was but there is a way to block that update check using the HOST FILE...

My favourite version of Skype was 0.97.0.40

They changed it and all the 1.x versions WILL NOT RUN ON 98se! (@ least on mine)

The next version I could run flawlessly was 2.0.0.73 -- BUT ITS QUITE OVERBLOATED!! (19 megs installed)

I think all they did was change the server the original clients were connecting to?? (Might be able to edit the file somehow....WOULD BE INTERESTING)


But to be frank now that Microsoft owns it,I WOULD NOT USE IT!!

#6
dencorso

dencorso

    Adiuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 5,869 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Hi, Andrew T!  :hello:

Good to hear from you. :yes:

I've got Skype 1.4.0.84 installed on my 98SE from way back, and it never gave me grief.

Now, what Dude111 said makes sense: just find out which site the installer tries to access and redirect it (to 127.0.0.1, on 1st guess) through the hosts file...

It may be enough. Or you actually may have to use a real IP, instead of 127.0.0.1 (but I really doubt that'll be necessary). dubbio.gif



#7
Steven W

Steven W

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Joined 02-June 06

Edit:

 

Got this installer to run just by disconnecting Modem:

 

http://www.oldversio...ad/skype-1-3066

 

Not sure about Win95 or other versions though.

 

Further Edit:  It does connect, but then wants to upgrade and closes again.


Edited by Steven W, 04 October 2013 - 12:09 AM.


#8
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 811 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

The problem with simply redirecting the installer to 127.0.0.1 or another site would be if the installer actually expects a certain response. It's worth trying, but I think that the installer would eventually run when the machine isn't connected to the Internet if it were that easy...



#9
blackwingcat

blackwingcat

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 772 posts
  • Joined 31-May 08
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag

I tried to use Skype 1.4.0.84

But it can't  connect to server.

 

and Skype 2.0 was used

 

user32

UnregisterDeviceNotification
TrackMouseEvent
RegisterDeviceNotificationA

 

BroadcastSystemMessageA

NotifyWinEvent


+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
BlackWingCat =^^=
http://blog.livedoor.jp/blackwingcat/
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

#10
M()zart

M()zart

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Joined 17-June 08

As of at least February 2013, only Skype of versions 3.2 and higher is allowed to connect. Older skype versions force users to update. Probably, the lowest allowed version limit even raised since then. All skype versions 3.x officially support Windows 98 SE, don't know about Windows 95. Probably earlier 4.x versions will also work, but not sure. According to russian Windows 98 SE forum, Skype 3.5.0.229 is considered the best for Windows 98 - the newer versions may cause errors or incompatibilities.

 

I suggest you to try Skype 3.x. If none of 3.2 or higher versions work for you, then it's impossible to connect to Skype on Windows 95. On Windows 98 SE I successfully used Skype 3.5 or 3.6 at least for text messaging this summer. So, Windows 98 users still can use skype (or could - in summer, now my computer with skype is dead and I cannot check it).

 

Old versions of Skype can be downloaded here: http://www.oldversio.../windows/skype/

 

By the way - did anybody try Skype 4.x on Windows 98?


Edited by M()zart, 04 October 2013 - 08:04 AM.


#11
schwups

schwups

    schwups

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Joined 11-November 09
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

Only a few versions are working for me. Versions 3.2.0.175, 3.5.0.229 or 3.8.0.188 still running. Maybe there are some more. E.g. 3.6.0.248 or 3.1.0.152 are terminated on start (Message: Update required...).



#12
dencorso

dencorso

    Adiuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 5,869 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I confirm Skype 1.4.0.84 isn't able to connect anymore! :(

Well... As you can see, I hardly use Skype, ever... the latest time I had used it before this one, it did connect all right... :wacko:

Sorry if I was misleading... :blushing:



#13
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,520 posts
  • Joined 27-November 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I've got no idea whether it will work in Windows 9x but you may also check GWConnect. It's an alternative Skype client, originally for people using screan readers, but this doesn't mean that others can't use it:

 

GWConnect_1.png


Posted Image
Unofficial Service Pack 5.2 for MS Windows 2000 <- use this topic if you need help with UURollup, Update Rollup 2 and other unofficial packages

#14
Steven W

Steven W

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Joined 02-June 06

Got the version I mentioned above working (1.3066)

 

hint:

 

127.0.0.1   ui.skype.com

 

Not sure if that will let the installer work, if it will work on Win95.  If the installer won't work, disconnect from internet and install.

 

Edit:  This does let the installer work, but now I can't log in?  I'll keep poking around.

 

Further edit:  It does work, I'm putting all the steps I've taken here, not sure if everything is necessary, but...

 

1.  Download the version I have linked to above

 

2.  Disconnect the PC from the internet

 

3.  Run the installer, it may hang for a minute, but will eventually run.

 

4.  Reconnect the PC to the internet.

 

5.  Start Skype, you will see the ugly update box, tell it yes or no (doesn't matter)

 

6.  Add line to hosts file and reboot

 

7.  Start Skype and enjoy.

 

skypev.jpg


Edited by Steven W, 04 October 2013 - 08:35 PM.


#15
Dude111

Dude111

    Banned

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 297 posts
  • Joined 01-October 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Wow 1.3 works????

I wonder if the 0.x clients are working again!!!!!

I think if I was gonna try skype again I would use GWCONNECT to avoid any of microsofts spyware they have put in it..... (If i couldnt get an earlier skype client working (from before they took over))

127.0.0.1 ui.skype.com


Thank you bud,i had forgotton what it was!!!

I might wanna add: If someone DOES NOT HAVE '127.0.0.1' pointed to ''LOCALHOST'' in the host file,use ZERO instead :) (0 ui.skype.com)

Edited by Dude111, 05 October 2013 - 12:08 AM.


#16
blackwingcat

blackwingcat

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 772 posts
  • Joined 31-May 08
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag

Umm...

I think that it is only method that Skype prevent from update the old version skype. and we can't connect to server with client version 2.x lower.

 

Got the version I mentioned above working (1.3066)

 

hint:

 

127.0.0.1   ui.skype.com


Edited by blackwingcat, 07 October 2013 - 01:47 AM.

+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
BlackWingCat =^^=
http://blog.livedoor.jp/blackwingcat/
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

#17
dencorso

dencorso

    Adiuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 5,869 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I've added

 

127.0.0.1   ui.skype.com

 

to hosts.

 

Still, I remain unable to connect to server with my 1.4.0.84...

 

There must be more to it. dubbio.gif



#18
Steven W

Steven W

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Joined 02-June 06

I tried other versions and couldn't get them to work.  When using 1.3.066 I have to follow the exact 7 steps I added above, or it just sits there trying to connect.  Also have to clean the registry after installing later versions...Would be nice to get later versions working.


Edited by Steven W, 07 October 2013 - 02:33 PM.


#19
buyerninety

buyerninety

    Dude,¯\_{ö}_/¯ where's my avatar?

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Joined 18-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Excuse me, maybe not relevant but I note in an XP system there are registry entries that contain 'version information' of

apparently Skype or the SkypeIEPlugin.dll , also accompanying that key an entry that contains a 'ForWarding link' to Microsoft,

an entry for 'CompatabilityFlags' and an entry for 'BlockType'...

Unsure why no-one only Steven W has explored this... I imagine he sees similar interesting keys in a 98/95 system...


Edited by buyerninety, 07 October 2013 - 03:23 PM.


#20
Dude111

Dude111

    Banned

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 297 posts
  • Joined 01-October 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Its interesting that Steve can get 1.3.066 to connect whill other versions wont....


What exactly did they change?


Steve did you try any versions below 1.0?? (0.97.0.40 for instance)


EDIT:

What if they are checking the program USER AGENT and you change your skype user agent to the one Steve can connect with?? (1.3.066)


EDIT2:

I tried version 0.97.0.40 and i couldnt connect :(

I added "0 ui.skype.com" to my host file and of course the update alert didnt come...... But I still couldnt connect.....

I opened a hex editor and tried to change the version ID to 1.3.0.66 and when i ran the program it said the file was corrupted and wouldnt run.. biggrin_upper.gif (I forgot they have the file checking the exact amount of data in it when its run)

Edited by Dude111, 08 October 2013 - 01:59 AM.


#21
buyerninety

buyerninety

    Dude,¯\_{ö}_/¯ where's my avatar?

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Joined 18-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Skype for Windows procedures for certain of the versions mentioned above, such as the 0.97 [-Beta] and the 1.4.0.84 ,
are explored in this ~2006 document; http://www1.cs.colum...ns/skype1_4.pdf .
-

[note: of course, 1.3.0.66 is last 'Skype for Windows' vers 1.3.x.xx , following went to 1.4.x.xx versions.]

Edit: Have confirmed Steven W couldn't get the next higher (1.4) version to work.

With 1.3.0.66 he has a 98SE box IE 6 SP1 with Maximus Decim's IE 6.0sp1 Component Update 3.4 installed,

(and primarily uses FF 10.0.12esr, for which you must have KernelEx).


Edited by buyerninety, 09 October 2013 - 09:12 PM.


#22
Dude111

Dude111

    Banned

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 297 posts
  • Joined 01-October 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Well why does version 0.97.0.40 not connect??

DID THEY CHANGE SERVERS WITH THE 1.O AND NEWER VERSIONS??

Ill look @ the PDF you supplied!

Edited by Dude111, 08 October 2013 - 11:20 PM.


#23
Steven W

Steven W

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Joined 02-June 06

I did not attempt versions lower than 1.3.0.66.   FWIW (probably not much), before I got it to run I did edit the version of skype.exe using XN Resource editor.  I thought this was necessary, but later uninstalled, cleaned registry, and reinstalled without edits and it worked.    A weird consequence of version edit, in the Help -- About Dialog, a bunch symbols were shown instead of the actual version.



#24
Dude111

Dude111

    Banned

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 297 posts
  • Joined 01-October 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hehe thats interesting...... When I edited the version # in the file it wouldnt run!!

#25
blackwingcat

blackwingcat

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 772 posts
  • Joined 31-May 08
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag

I edited version from 1.4 to 3.4 with resource hacker.

but it would not connect to server.


+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
BlackWingCat =^^=
http://blog.livedoor.jp/blackwingcat/
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN