Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Need help with firefox 3.6.28: icons, jpg not showing

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1
farfigs11

farfigs11

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Joined 29-October 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I decided to buy the Asrock 775i65G motherboard. Installed Windows 98se,sp3x, Firefox 3.6.28 just as I did on my other machines. Everthing's fine except there's just blank spaces where the reload, home, ect. icons should be.  Images don't load either, just says "thumbnail" where pic should be.  Haven't had this problem in years-when using IE6. Don't remember what the solution was. BTW, icons and pics work in IE6. Searched around and couldn't find a solution.  With Firefox 8 & 10,  icons show up,  but I like 3.6 for it's speed, bookmarks, ect.  Does anybody have suggestions?




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
DougB

DougB

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 04-September 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I don't know anything about that m/b, but you might give a try to Pale Moon 3.6.32: http://www.palemoon.org/archived.shtml

 

It's a fork of Firefox optimized for Windows (he also trims some stuff out), plus it's a bit newer than the last 3.x FF.  See if it acts the same way. 

 

If it does work ok, then you might also want to check out IEradicator (from the good folks at LitePC): http://www.litepc.com/ieradicator.html

 

Your system may smile! :)

 

- Doug B.

 

P.S.  I assume you're also using the latest KernelEx (4.5.2): http://kernelex.sourceforge.net/

 

If you're not using KernelEx, i doubt that FF 3.x would even start. 


Edited by DougB, 09 November 2013 - 12:15 AM.


#3
farfigs11

farfigs11

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Joined 29-October 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I tried Palmoon 3.6.32, same problem.  I tried other firefox 3.x, ATI agp, now using unoffical nvidia 7800gs & drivers, with and without RP9 and autopatcher and updates.  I'm gonna look closer at the bios,cpu settings. I'm using Pentium E5800



#4
farfigs11

farfigs11

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Joined 29-October 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I've tried KernelEx 4.5.2 with and without stubs



#5
schwups

schwups

    schwups

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Joined 11-November 09
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

I also have this problem, but only on one machine ( KernelEX 4.5.2 ). It isn't very important for me. Usually I prefer Opera. Sometimes I run FF 9.01 with the HyperBK plugin (history and bookmarks alternative). It isn't slower than 3.x here. There are probably only a few affected systems out there. FF 4 and higher isn't affected. About the problem has been reported here in the KernelEX topic. AFAIK it isn't solved. The next days I'll check it again.

There was already a bugfix > KernelEx v4.5 RC 4:  Fixed: missing background colors and images in Mozilla Firefox 3.6.9/3.6.10 



#6
schwups

schwups

    schwups

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Joined 11-November 09
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

A workaround for the current session. It works here only until reboot. I added a second theme (here vista aero), loaded it and then FF looks fine. Then I changed the theme back to default. :)



#7
schwups

schwups

    schwups

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Joined 11-November 09
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

 After three or four repetitions and reboots the problem seem to be gone. :whistle:



#8
farfigs11

farfigs11

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Joined 29-October 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Haven't tried FF 9 before this.  Seems to work better than 8 or 10.  I'll take a look at the registry for jpg ect. and compare it to a working system.



#9
farfigs11

farfigs11

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Joined 29-October 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I just had this same problem with an 855pm chipset laptop.  I was using the machine inf's from this forum somewhere (ich23456). All I did was use Intels 5.00 chipset installer and the icons appeared.  Didn't work on the i865 though.



#10
Steven W

Steven W

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Joined 02-June 06

Taking a shot in the dark, as I've never seen this bug in the official builds with KernelEx, but did have issues when building with the VC toolkit 2003.  Found a solution after some Googling:

 

http://forums.mozill...p?f=42&t=692065

 

The solution, as described in that post, is to implement the build options:

 

ac_add_options --disable-parental-controls
ac_add_options --disable-vista-sdk-requirements

 

exclude all calls to nsDownloadScanner in nsDownloadManager.cpp

 

and either stripping the 256x256 image from firefox.ico or replacing firefox.ico with one from Firefox 2.x.

 

I'm thinking this may be related because, as schwups said:

 

 

 

A workaround for the current session. It works here only until reboot. I added a second theme (here vista aero), loaded it and then FF looks fine. Then I changed the theme back to default.

 

Just a guess.


Edited by Steven W, 01 December 2013 - 10:27 PM.


#11
farfigs11

farfigs11

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Joined 29-October 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

After removing 1gb ram, I had a successful reinstall, it looks like icon and jpg problems were a result of installing drivers on system with more than 1gb of ram(with patch). 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users