Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Many errors with WinToolkit


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
Dogway

Dogway

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Joined 24-December 11
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I dont know what I did wrong. I'm on XP but the only "strange" thing I did was set the profiles directory to D: partition, and also autologon to Administrator account. When I set this on Win Toolit it asked me for a password so I didn't bother and entered 1234.

 

Well, on 7 install I shift+F10 to enter diskpart and make both partitions then install 7, later it asks me for a user name and password (?) and then I get several errors. I'm not sure if it's related to this case too, but maybe someone with more experience can tell.

 

 

"-This install package can't be opened. Check the package exists or access is granted, or contact with manufacturer to know  if it's a valid Windows Installer."

20up.th.png

 

"-INF install error. Cause: System cannot find specified path."

kknc.th.png

 

"-Desktop makes reference to a path not available. This could make reference to a HDD on this system or a network. Check disk is correctly plugged or internet connection is available and try again. If still that doesn't solve it, the information could have moved to another place."

o6bo.th.png

 

The above also happens when I enter %appdata% on address bar.

 

 

the strange thing is that Profile folders are also installed on C:.

nmpa.th.png l5hh.th.png

 

And this my unattend.xml on the Panther folder (the autounattend.xml file here and WT settings file here):

8f1w.th.png

 

 

I'm very much out of ideas, I managed to finish the wim image without hangs after 5 hours, so I better ask before I waste more time or smash the HDD's too much.


Edited by Dogway, 02 December 2013 - 09:13 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
ar_seven_am

ar_seven_am

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 62 posts
  • Joined 09-January 10
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

u do too much removing needed component, that's all I can see from ur preset.

 

check ur update package, if it's stand alone, u can remove the previous old package, but if it's not and depend on the previous package, I think u need to filter what need to remove or not to remove....


Se7en/Vista Unattended DVD XML Creator and Application Installer
Posted Image
Light Blue Ribbon Campaign for Freedom of Skin

I don't care ur race or religion, all I care u're friend of mine! Life's too short, don't waste ur time for war, PEACE IS NOW!

#3
Dogway

Dogway

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Joined 24-December 11
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Well, I normally tend to fall short rather than long so it surprises me I removed too much.

What do you mean with package? You mean hotfixes?

 

btw I find many different comments, does setupcomplete.cmd goes to "Windows\Setup\scripts" or "sources\$oem$\$$\Setup\scripts"? I have it on the former if that matters.

 

This is what I remove (in green on WinToolkit as removeable), other than that I followed Viper's services list, and also added some tweaks that shouldn't harm at all:

#Components
AppFrabic
Australia Local Pack
BitLocker Drive Encryption
Branch Cache
Canada Local Pack
Clips In The Library
Common Modem Drivers
Delete 'Support' folder
Delete 'Upgrade' folder
DVD Maker
Great Britain Local Pack
Hyper-V VMBUS Driver
IIS Addons 1
IIS Addons 2
Inbox Games
Indexing Service
Internet Games
Microsoft Agent
Microsoft XPS Document Writer
Microsoft-Hyper-V-Guest
Mobile PC Client Components (Basic)
Mobile PC Client Components (Premium)
Mobile PC Client SideShow Components
Mobile PC Sensors ALS Driver
Music and Video Examples (Ringtones)
Network Drivers
New Zealand Local Pack
OEM Help Customization
Parental Controls
Premium Inbox Games
Printer Drivers
RIP Listener
Sound Themes
Sticky Notes
System Restore
Telnet Server
TFTP Client
TV Tuner Drivers
United States Local Pack
Windows Anytime Upgrade
Windows Anytime Upgrade Results
Windows Backup
Windows Block Level Backup
Windows Media Codec Pack Encoder
Windows Media Player Network Sharing Service
Windows Media Player Troubleshooters
Windows Recovery Disc
Windows Restore Utility
XPS Viewer

Edited by Dogway, 02 December 2013 - 10:28 AM.


#4
ar_seven_am

ar_seven_am

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 62 posts
  • Joined 09-January 10
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Well, I normally tend to fall short rather than long so it surprises me I removed too much.

What do you mean with package? You mean hotfixes?

 

btw I find many different comments, does setupcomplete.cmd goes to "Windows\Setup\scripts" or "sources\$oem$\$$\Setup\scripts"? I have it on the former if that matters.

 

well, I think u remove the needed component in windows (I dont know exactly, but what I see there's an update for system restore in ur hotfix/update list but u do remove system restore feature, I dont know if it stand alone or only update the previous system restore feature).

 

as for setupcomplete.cmd, both are the same, becuz this :

sources\$oem$\$$\Setup\scripts

will goes to :

Windows\Setup\scripts

but I prefer to use the $OEM$ instead injecting to the wim (is that what u mean with comparing those? )


Se7en/Vista Unattended DVD XML Creator and Application Installer
Posted Image
Light Blue Ribbon Campaign for Freedom of Skin

I don't care ur race or religion, all I care u're friend of mine! Life's too short, don't waste ur time for war, PEACE IS NOW!

#5
ar_seven_am

ar_seven_am

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 62 posts
  • Joined 09-January 10
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

by the way, I think u need to report to the win toolkit forum instead here...


Se7en/Vista Unattended DVD XML Creator and Application Installer
Posted Image
Light Blue Ribbon Campaign for Freedom of Skin

I don't care ur race or religion, all I care u're friend of mine! Life's too short, don't waste ur time for war, PEACE IS NOW!

#6
Dogway

Dogway

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Joined 24-December 11
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I used to do that on XP, check every hotfix one by one, but really didn't pay much attention on 7 (it's tiring), after all this should be failproof IMHO.
For example in nlite you integrate hotfixes, then remove components. I doubt that (system restore) could be the case with my errors, since they tend to do more about my unattend.xml file, profiles, and HDD partitions... but I can try to run a test if nobody suggests me something better.

 

edit: I posted on the WinToolkit forum but it seems to be VERY quiet. Also nobody replied me after more than 1 day, and that's a bad symptom. I normally wait a few days but I'm a bit in a hurry.


Edited by Dogway, 02 December 2013 - 10:47 AM.


#7
Dogway

Dogway

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Joined 24-December 11
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I'm redoing the process. There's one thing I noticed:

 

oh7b.png

 

Shouldn't that be "Usuarios" and "Archivos de Programa (x86)". How do I change language? My ISO is already Spanish.


Edited by Dogway, 04 December 2013 - 05:00 AM.


#8
Dogway

Dogway

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Joined 24-December 11
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Ok, I think I spotted the issue now that I gave 7 a large install space, it doesn't show the first 2 error screens, but the rest is the same.

 

WinToolkit expects English folders, it expects "Desktop" when it should be "Escritorio", the same with users profile, Windows looks for Usuarios in D: but WinTookit only created Users, so instead Windows decides to create a default Profile Folder on C. called Usuarios. Maybe that's the main reason I'm prompted with a "create User Name" dialog when the whole process should be fully unattended, I'm automatically logged onto administrator, but 7 wants a guest account, and the prompted "user" account to sum 3 accounts in total...

 

 

Any workaround to this? or should I use another slipstreamer?


Edited by Dogway, 04 December 2013 - 07:52 AM.


#9
Dogway

Dogway

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Joined 24-December 11
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I don't know which of them fixed it, but I did both at the same time. First instead of "D:" I wrote "D:\Usuarios"

<ProfilesDirectory>D:\Usuarios</ProfilesDirectory>
<ProgramData>D:\ProgramData</ProgramData>

Then I added my language, for the "Desktop" issue:

    <settings pass="windowsPE">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"> 
            <SetupUILanguage>
                <UILanguage>es-ES</UILanguage>
            </SetupUILanguage>
            <InputLocale>040a:0000040a</InputLocale>
            <SystemLocale>es-ES</SystemLocale>
            <UILanguage>es-ES</UILanguage>
            <UserLocale>es-ES</UserLocale>      
        </component> 
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"> 
            <SetupUILanguage>
                <UILanguage>es-ES</UILanguage>
            </SetupUILanguage>
            <InputLocale>040a:0000040a</InputLocale>
            <SystemLocale>es-ES</SystemLocale>
            <UILanguage>es-ES</UILanguage>
            <UserLocale>es-ES</UserLocale>           
        </component>

Now everything is almost perfect, only a few minor issues remain. Like applying theme automatically, or skip/unattend the creation of the User account which still prompts in the middle of install. I would also like to leave passwords blank, for both Administrator and User, in case a User account is mandatory.

 

There's also some folders spread on D:, they are the public folders that should be inside Usuarios, so I don't know really what is happening.

jmhb.th.png


Edited by Dogway, 05 December 2013 - 12:39 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users