Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Windows 8.1 Enterprise x86 Product Key


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1
morocco31477

morocco31477

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Joined 20-January 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I have two Windows 8.1 Enterprise images, x86 and x64. I created custom images (integrated updates, tweaks, etc) for both. I used the same options for the Autounattend.xml, both which I did not check anything for the product key. I tested both images, x64 works fine, and gets to the screen showing your hard drives. The x86 is asking for a product key. I don't understand why if x64 didn't need one. I'm new to Windows 8 installations by the way, but not any previous versions of Windows.




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,126 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

add a pid.txt with the key to the ISO


Posted Image

#3
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

Alternatively you could mount both images via dism and run the set-productkey.  

 

http://technet.micro...y/hh825157.aspx

Dism /Image:C:\test\offlinex86 /Set-ProductKey:12345-67890-12345-67890-12345
Dism /Image:C:\test\offlinex64 /Set-ProductKey:12345-67890-12345-67890-12345

Edited by MrJinje, 04 December 2013 - 12:49 AM.


#4
morocco31477

morocco31477

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Joined 20-January 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

ok thank you. Do you know why the x64 version did not ask or a key?



#5
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

ok thank you. Do you know why the x64 version did not ask or a key?

 

My guess was that you had two different iso's and the x64 was volume media and the x86 was not.  Not a problem, simple fix.

 

FYI'd use the GVLK for installing/testing so that you don't waste your real activations until you are ready.   Add it to your autounattend.xml

 

http://technet.micro...y/jj612867.aspx



#6
morocco31477

morocco31477

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Joined 20-January 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

ok thank you. Do you know why the x64 version did not ask or a key?

 

My guess was that you had two different iso's and the x64 was volume media and the x86 was not.  Not a problem, simple fix.

 

FYI'd use the GVLK for installing/testing so that you don't waste your real activations until you are ready.   Add it to your autounattend.xml

 

http://technet.micro...y/jj612867.aspx

 

The GVLK solution is precisely what I needed, as I often fix client's PCs and they have their own keys. Thank you for the direction.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users