Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Installing Windows Vista with 8 GB RAM

- - - - - windows vista 3 GB RAM

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1
ppgrainbow

ppgrainbow

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Joined 04-October 11
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hey there! :wave: Incase you haven't already noticed, I won the unused retail copy of Windows Vista Ultimate DVD as a Christmas present and now I'm planning to abandon Windows 2000 and migrate to the ASUS M5A97 R2.0 motherboard soon.

Once the new computer has been built, it will have 8 GB of DDR3 RAM and can max out at 32 GB. However, looking at the contents of the 32-bit and 64-bit DVDs, I found that the date stamp on the files is 2006-11-02 12:00:00, meaning that it is the original release of Windows Vista (with no service packs installed).

If I want to install Windows Vista on the ASUS M5A97 R2.0 motherboard, how can I do it with 8 GB of memory installed? Would I have to:

1. Downgrade the RAM to 2 GB and install Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit?
2. Slipstream Windows Vista Ultimate SP2 64-bit? I looked on this website regarding the instructions on slipstreaming Vista SP2 on a new computer, you can view it here: http://www.vistax64....-vista-sp2.html

 

However, I'm a bit confused about all of this...

I have concerns that I will most likely get hit with a STOP 0x0A error when attempting to install Windows Vista with more than 3 GB of memory.

Does anyone have any ideas how to get around this?

If so, please post your thoughts. I would like to hear it.

:)


Edited by ppgrainbow, 01 January 2014 - 07:52 PM.

AVA Direct FX AM3+ specs: Zalman ZM Z9-U3 Black Mid-Tower case / ASUS M5A97 R2.0 / AMD FX-4300 3.8 GHz quad-core processor / Fractal Design Integra R2 500W PSU / Hyper 212 EVO CPU cooler / 2 x Western Digital BLACK SERIES 1 TB (WD1003FZEX) SATA III 7200 RPM / Lite-On iHas124 Black 24x DVD-RW / 8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport PC3-12800 DDR3 (2 x 4 GB) / StarTech SATA-to-CompactFlash Adapter (35BAYCF2SAT) / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 520 MHz 1 GB GDDR3 / Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate SP2 x64

 



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,164 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the original Windows Vista x64 should also support 8GB.


Posted Image

#3
ppgrainbow

ppgrainbow

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Joined 04-October 11
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

the original Windows Vista x64 should also support 8GB.

 

Thanks for telling me. I appreciate it. :)


AVA Direct FX AM3+ specs: Zalman ZM Z9-U3 Black Mid-Tower case / ASUS M5A97 R2.0 / AMD FX-4300 3.8 GHz quad-core processor / Fractal Design Integra R2 500W PSU / Hyper 212 EVO CPU cooler / 2 x Western Digital BLACK SERIES 1 TB (WD1003FZEX) SATA III 7200 RPM / Lite-On iHas124 Black 24x DVD-RW / 8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport PC3-12800 DDR3 (2 x 4 GB) / StarTech SATA-to-CompactFlash Adapter (35BAYCF2SAT) / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 520 MHz 1 GB GDDR3 / Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate SP2 x64

 


#4
AnX

AnX

    Fighting for the right to OS since 2010

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Joined 20-June 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Yeah, I don't see why x64 Vista wouldn't support 8GB. It does on typical configs.


Dual boot Windows XP SP3 x86 and Windows Vista SP2 x64.

AMD FX-8320 8-core CPU with Hyper 212 Evo, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Motherboard, 8GB 1600 RAM, 60GB SSD (8.1) and 500GB HDD (XP), Sapphire R7 260X 2GB Graphics Card, 620W Seasonic S12II, CM HAF 912 case.


#5
ppgrainbow

ppgrainbow

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Joined 04-October 11
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Yeah, I don't see why x64 Vista wouldn't support 8GB. It does on typical configs.

 

True that. However, without the KB929777 patch, Windows Vista may not install correctly as I may need to slipstream SP1 in order for it to work reliably. :)

 

I'll let you know how this will all turn out when I get the new PC.


Edited by ppgrainbow, 11 January 2014 - 11:44 AM.

AVA Direct FX AM3+ specs: Zalman ZM Z9-U3 Black Mid-Tower case / ASUS M5A97 R2.0 / AMD FX-4300 3.8 GHz quad-core processor / Fractal Design Integra R2 500W PSU / Hyper 212 EVO CPU cooler / 2 x Western Digital BLACK SERIES 1 TB (WD1003FZEX) SATA III 7200 RPM / Lite-On iHas124 Black 24x DVD-RW / 8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport PC3-12800 DDR3 (2 x 4 GB) / StarTech SATA-to-CompactFlash Adapter (35BAYCF2SAT) / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 520 MHz 1 GB GDDR3 / Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate SP2 x64

 


#6
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,512 posts
  • Joined 08-April 10
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag

You've probably solved this by now, but another way to approach this would be to bring the Vista installation up to date, and then add all the memory you want. I'm running Vista Home Premium with 8GB, no problem.

 

--JorgeA



#7
ppgrainbow

ppgrainbow

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Joined 04-October 11
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

You've probably solved this by now, but another way to approach this would be to bring the Vista installation up to date, and then add all the memory you want. I'm running Vista Home Premium with 8GB, no problem.

 

--JorgeA

 

Thanks for the help. In that perspective, to overcome the 3 GB limitation, I will have to get the OS slipstreamed with SP1 and SP2 respectively in order for it to work. Otherwise, I will have to start with 2 GB RAM, install Windows Vista, apply the service packs and then upgrade the RAM back to 8 GB. :)


AVA Direct FX AM3+ specs: Zalman ZM Z9-U3 Black Mid-Tower case / ASUS M5A97 R2.0 / AMD FX-4300 3.8 GHz quad-core processor / Fractal Design Integra R2 500W PSU / Hyper 212 EVO CPU cooler / 2 x Western Digital BLACK SERIES 1 TB (WD1003FZEX) SATA III 7200 RPM / Lite-On iHas124 Black 24x DVD-RW / 8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport PC3-12800 DDR3 (2 x 4 GB) / StarTech SATA-to-CompactFlash Adapter (35BAYCF2SAT) / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 520 MHz 1 GB GDDR3 / Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate SP2 x64

 


#8
vinifera

vinifera

    <°)))><

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,050 posts
  • Joined 27-August 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

even if I despise what vista became as final product
I'd never use RTM, not even SP1, SP2 would be my only choice as many things are fixed and tweaked with SP2

 

so while you're determined to use Vista, why not slipstream SP2 init and solve your miseries :P

also some things like Platform Update was released after SP2 (I think), should slipstream that thing too


Edited by vinifera, 16 January 2014 - 06:41 AM.

If you want true Windows user experience
try Longhorn builds: 3718, 4029, 4066

#9
ppgrainbow

ppgrainbow

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Joined 04-October 11
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

even if I despise what vista became as final product
I'd never use RTM, not even SP1, SP2 would be my only choice as many things are fixed and tweaked with SP2

 

so while you're determined to use Vista, why not slipstream SP2 init and solve your miseries :P

also some things like Platform Update was released after SP2 (I think), should slipstream that thing too

 

I will do that...that is only if I can find a way to slipstream SP2 and get it to work on the new computer. :)

 

As for the original CDs that are still around, I agree. Windows Vista RTM (without any fixes incorporated to the DVD) won't even run properly, if not at all on modern hardware and on computers with more than 2 GB RAM.


AVA Direct FX AM3+ specs: Zalman ZM Z9-U3 Black Mid-Tower case / ASUS M5A97 R2.0 / AMD FX-4300 3.8 GHz quad-core processor / Fractal Design Integra R2 500W PSU / Hyper 212 EVO CPU cooler / 2 x Western Digital BLACK SERIES 1 TB (WD1003FZEX) SATA III 7200 RPM / Lite-On iHas124 Black 24x DVD-RW / 8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport PC3-12800 DDR3 (2 x 4 GB) / StarTech SATA-to-CompactFlash Adapter (35BAYCF2SAT) / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 520 MHz 1 GB GDDR3 / Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate SP2 x64

 


#10
ironman14

ironman14

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Joined 16-October 13
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag

As for the original CDs that are still around, I agree. Windows Vista RTM (without any fixes incorporated to the DVD) won't even run properly, if not at all on modern hardware and on computers with more than 2 GB RAM.


I find this strange, since Windows 2000 (2000) and Windows NT 4.0 (1996) recognize 4GB of RAM, DOUBLE what Windows Vista RTM (late 2006) will recognize.

#11
ppgrainbow

ppgrainbow

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Joined 04-October 11
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

As for the original CDs that are still around, I agree. Windows Vista RTM (without any fixes incorporated to the DVD) won't even run properly, if not at all on modern hardware and on computers with more than 2 GB RAM.


I find this strange, since Windows 2000 (2000) and Windows NT 4.0 (1996) recognize 4GB of RAM, DOUBLE what Windows Vista RTM (late 2006) will recognize.

 

 

So true. The same applies to Windows XP on some modern motherboards whose support is still increasingly limited.


AVA Direct FX AM3+ specs: Zalman ZM Z9-U3 Black Mid-Tower case / ASUS M5A97 R2.0 / AMD FX-4300 3.8 GHz quad-core processor / Fractal Design Integra R2 500W PSU / Hyper 212 EVO CPU cooler / 2 x Western Digital BLACK SERIES 1 TB (WD1003FZEX) SATA III 7200 RPM / Lite-On iHas124 Black 24x DVD-RW / 8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport PC3-12800 DDR3 (2 x 4 GB) / StarTech SATA-to-CompactFlash Adapter (35BAYCF2SAT) / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 520 MHz 1 GB GDDR3 / Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate SP2 x64

 


#12
Soukyuu

Soukyuu

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Joined 25-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Wait... so it won't boot at all with more than 2GB installed? Doesn't it just ignore the amount of RAM it doesn't recognize, just like XP did?
AMD Phenom II X4 970BE | 12GB DDR3 | nVidia 260GTX | Windows 8.1u1 x64 Pro | Primary
Intel C2D T7250 | 4GB DDR2 | nVidia 8600m GT | Windows 7 x64 Pro | Secondary

#13
ND22

ND22

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 16-January 08

I personally installed vista sp2 on my newest PC: 2500K CPU, 16 GB of ram, Asus p67 deluxe motherboard, Intel 60 GB SSD back in 2011 with no problems whatsoever! I slipstreamed sp2 into my vista sp1 DVD using VLite and it ran like a champ. Please note that the sp1 was also slipstreamed into my original vista business DVD. The only problem I had was that hibernation was disabled and could only be enabled using the command line (but not advisable because I used a SSD as system drive).


Edited by ND22, 26 January 2014 - 11:24 AM.


#14
ppgrainbow

ppgrainbow

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Joined 04-October 11
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Wait... so it won't boot at all with more than 2GB installed? Doesn't it just ignore the amount of RAM it doesn't recognize, just like XP did?

 

The point is that with the original Windows Vista RTM DVDs, Windows Vista will most likely BSOD with a STOP 0x0A error due to the bug associated with 3 GB or more memory. In order to get around this, Windows Vista SP1 would need to be slipstreamed.


AVA Direct FX AM3+ specs: Zalman ZM Z9-U3 Black Mid-Tower case / ASUS M5A97 R2.0 / AMD FX-4300 3.8 GHz quad-core processor / Fractal Design Integra R2 500W PSU / Hyper 212 EVO CPU cooler / 2 x Western Digital BLACK SERIES 1 TB (WD1003FZEX) SATA III 7200 RPM / Lite-On iHas124 Black 24x DVD-RW / 8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport PC3-12800 DDR3 (2 x 4 GB) / StarTech SATA-to-CompactFlash Adapter (35BAYCF2SAT) / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 520 MHz 1 GB GDDR3 / Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate SP2 x64

 


#15
ppgrainbow

ppgrainbow

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Joined 04-October 11
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I personally installed vista sp2 on my newest PC: 2500K CPU, 16 GB of ram, Asus p67 deluxe motherboard, Intel 60 GB SSD back in 2011 with no problems whatsoever! I slipstreamed sp2 into my vista sp1 DVD using VLite and it ran like a champ. Please note that the sp1 was also slipstreamed into my original vista business DVD. The only problem I had was that hibernation was disabled and could only be enabled using the command line (but not advisable because I used a SSD as system drive).

 

Good for you! Because the DVDs that I have are the original Windows Vista RTM versions, I will need to get the DVD slipstreamed with SP2 in order for it to work on the AMD FX based M5A97 R2.0 motherboard.


Edited by ppgrainbow, 05 February 2014 - 08:51 PM.

AVA Direct FX AM3+ specs: Zalman ZM Z9-U3 Black Mid-Tower case / ASUS M5A97 R2.0 / AMD FX-4300 3.8 GHz quad-core processor / Fractal Design Integra R2 500W PSU / Hyper 212 EVO CPU cooler / 2 x Western Digital BLACK SERIES 1 TB (WD1003FZEX) SATA III 7200 RPM / Lite-On iHas124 Black 24x DVD-RW / 8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport PC3-12800 DDR3 (2 x 4 GB) / StarTech SATA-to-CompactFlash Adapter (35BAYCF2SAT) / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 520 MHz 1 GB GDDR3 / Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate SP2 x64

 


#16
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,482 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

http://www.msfn.org/...orum/153-vlite/


Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#17
ppgrainbow

ppgrainbow

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Joined 04-October 11
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

Thanks for the help. I'll look into vLite. :)


AVA Direct FX AM3+ specs: Zalman ZM Z9-U3 Black Mid-Tower case / ASUS M5A97 R2.0 / AMD FX-4300 3.8 GHz quad-core processor / Fractal Design Integra R2 500W PSU / Hyper 212 EVO CPU cooler / 2 x Western Digital BLACK SERIES 1 TB (WD1003FZEX) SATA III 7200 RPM / Lite-On iHas124 Black 24x DVD-RW / 8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport PC3-12800 DDR3 (2 x 4 GB) / StarTech SATA-to-CompactFlash Adapter (35BAYCF2SAT) / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 520 MHz 1 GB GDDR3 / Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate SP2 x64

 


#18
JodyT

JodyT

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Joined 05-April 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

 

 

Thanks for the help. I'll look into vLite. :)

 

Highly recommended.  I have a third installation finally tailored to how I like and I've been using it for a few days now.  I have SP2, another 214 post SP2 updates and IE 9 all integrated.



#19
ppgrainbow

ppgrainbow

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Joined 04-October 11
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Highly recommended.  I have a third installation finally tailored to how I like and I've been using it for a few days now.  I have SP2, another 214 post SP2 updates and IE 9 all integrated.

 

Wow, that's awesome! :thumbup


Edited by ppgrainbow, 10 February 2014 - 11:29 PM.

AVA Direct FX AM3+ specs: Zalman ZM Z9-U3 Black Mid-Tower case / ASUS M5A97 R2.0 / AMD FX-4300 3.8 GHz quad-core processor / Fractal Design Integra R2 500W PSU / Hyper 212 EVO CPU cooler / 2 x Western Digital BLACK SERIES 1 TB (WD1003FZEX) SATA III 7200 RPM / Lite-On iHas124 Black 24x DVD-RW / 8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport PC3-12800 DDR3 (2 x 4 GB) / StarTech SATA-to-CompactFlash Adapter (35BAYCF2SAT) / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 520 MHz 1 GB GDDR3 / Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate SP2 x64

 






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: windows vista, 3 GB RAM

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users