Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Install Windows 7 via USB


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
simonhind

simonhind

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 21-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

When installing Windows 7 from USB, i get this error

"windows setup could not configure windows to run on this computer's hardware"

 

i have installed this on my laptop works 100% installs

 

 

 

however on a PC custom built

i get the error shown above

does anyone know why this would happen and a fix for this




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
MAVERICKS CHOICE

MAVERICKS CHOICE

    The Guy from Aus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,768 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

What utility are you using to make your USB install?



#3
simonhind

simonhind

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 21-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

What utility are you using to make your USB install?

 

WiNToBootic

 

but as mentioned the install already works on my laptop i dont get the error message

"windows setup could not configure windows to run on this computer's hardware"

 

however when i tried to install it on a computer with SATA i got the error, so i dont see the difference in what program i used.


Edited by simonhind, 15 March 2014 - 07:46 PM.


#4
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,310 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

One is SATA (custom PC), the other (laptop) isn't?

 

Could you supply us some hardware specifics of the laptop -and- the custom one, e.g. Make/Model/Motherboards?


Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#5
simonhind

simonhind

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 21-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

One is SATA (custom PC), the other (laptop) isn't?

 

Could you supply us some hardware specifics of the laptop -and- the custom one, e.g. Make/Model/Motherboards?

 

im not able to, but its weird

 

i can no longer do a USB Install on my laptop, its been working for weeks and now after first reboot "completing Setup" stage i get

 

"windows setup could not configure windows to run on this computer's hardware"

 

when i tried the same but using a DVDROM using same files transferred from usb it worked fine

 

Here is my laptop spec

 

 

Chipset   Northbridge Intel Havendale/Clarkdale

Host Bridge rev. 02 Southbridge Intel HM55

 

Monitoring

Mainboard Model Aspire 5741Z (0x000003AF - 0xC08BED40)

 

DMI

DMI BIOS       

vendor Acer     

version V1.23     

date 04/25/2011     

ROM size 1536 KB

 

DMI System Information       

manufacturer Acer     

product Aspire 5741Z     

version V1.23     

SKU Calpella_CRB     

family Intel_Mobile    

DMI Baseboard        vendor Acer     

model Aspire 5741Z      revision V1.23

 

DMI System Enclosure       

manufacturer Acer

chassis type Notebook

 

 

Storage

Device Path        \\?\ide#diskhitachi_hts545032b9a300_________________pb3oc60f#5&29497647&0&0.0.0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}
Type            Fixed
Name            Hitachi HTS545032B9A300
Capacity        298.1 GB
SMART Support        Yes


Edited by simonhind, 19 March 2014 - 05:38 AM.


#6
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,310 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

"I'm not able to" - but you just DID give some details about (at least) the Laptop! :crazy:

The Hard Drive in it is a 320gb SATA-II. You are having a SATA problem.

See if this helps any whatsoever.

http://forums.mydigi...uter-s-hardware

 

And the TOOL you used is here -

http://www.wintobootic.com/

It apparently worked the first time and not this time? Is it the SAME TOOL used the first time?

 

Try another tool, like WinSetupFromUSB.

http://www.winsetupfromusb.com/

How-to is here -

http://www.msfn.org/...omusb-with-gui/

THIS tool is tried-and-true! And you get SUPPORT here! :o

 

Now, about that "custom pc". why can't you give any info on that one? Unplug it and take the case cover off. ;)


Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#7
simonhind

simonhind

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 21-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

"I'm not able to" - but you just DID give some details about (at least) the Laptop! :crazy:

The Hard Drive in it is a 320gb SATA-II. You are having a SATA problem.

See if this helps any whatsoever.

http://forums.mydigi...uter-s-hardware

 

And the TOOL you used is here -

http://www.wintobootic.com/

It apparently worked the first time and not this time? Is it the SAME TOOL used the first time?

 

Try another tool, like WinSetupFromUSB.

http://www.winsetupfromusb.com/

How-to is here -

http://www.msfn.org/...omusb-with-gui/

THIS tool is tried-and-true! And you get SUPPORT here! :o

 

Now, about that "custom pc". why can't you give any info on that one? Unplug it and take the case cover off. ;)

 

 

"Custom PC" Well the only reason i cant give the info is becuase im not at the location ( custom PC is not at home ) its a PC buult by my father-in-law

we only visit every other week

 

the only changes i made was

 

Driver Integration

 

whats the best tool for this i used WinToolKit located here http://www.wincert.n.../5-win-toolkit/

is the best reliable tool for it, the only drivers i integrated was mass storage,Graphics B, AMDFilter from

http://driverpacks.n...verpacks/latest

 

would this of caused the error or WinToolkit method of driver integration



#8
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,310 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

1 - What is the SOURCE Windows 7 - is it RTM or SP1? (READ THAT LINK I GAVE!)

2 - Is there a point to integrating AMDFilter to an All Intel-based Install (laptop)?

http://driverpacks.n...amdfilter/11.10

3 - The tool you used to Integrate is fine - it's used by many members here.

 

when i tried the same but using a DVDROM using same files transferred from usb it worked fine

This makes no sense - a CLEAN DVD or the "Integrated" DVD?


Edited by submix8c, 19 March 2014 - 07:23 AM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#9
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,893 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Is UEFI and/or Legacy (CSM) boot enabled on the system?


MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#10
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,310 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

(pfffttt - generic user guides - http://us.acer.com/a...ontent/drivers)


Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#11
simonhind

simonhind

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 21-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

1 - What is the SOURCE Windows 7 - is it RTM or SP1? (READ THAT LINK I GAVE!)

2 - Is there a point to integrating AMDFilter to an All Intel-based Install (laptop)?

http://driverpacks.n...amdfilter/11.10

3 - The tool you used to Integrate is fine - it's used by many members here.

 

when i tried the same but using a DVDROM using same files transferred from usb it worked fine

This makes no sense - a CLEAN DVD or the "Integrated" DVD?

 

 

i ended up downloading downloading http://msft.digitalr...n/X17-24395.iso

i have not integrated all hotfixes and security updates, i decided not to integrate driverpacks at the moment, just awaiting my 32Gb USB Flash Drive USB 3.0

and will be getting a laptop which has VT support as my current processor does not support VT as i want to test builds on VMWARE workstation for x64 bit



#12
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,310 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

http://answers.micro...3a-44f6c90c8ddc

http://www.tweakscen....php?f=4&t=5564

X17-24395 = x64 Ultimate SP1

X17-59465 = x64 Ultimate SP1u (aka "Refresh")

:whistle: Either one will be fine as a "latest", but...

BTW, all of these will not Activate without a real key. I assume you're aware of this since you said "test"?

 

And you're clarity is still lacking, so have fun testing on "different hardware" (i.e. "problem NOT solved"). ;)


Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#13
simonhind

simonhind

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 21-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

http://answers.micro...3a-44f6c90c8ddc

http://www.tweakscen....php?f=4&t=5564

X17-24395 = x64 Ultimate SP1

X17-59465 = x64 Ultimate SP1u (aka "Refresh")

:whistle: Either one will be fine as a "latest", but...

BTW, all of these will not Activate without a real key. I assume you're aware of this since you said "test"?

 

And you're clarity is still lacking, so have fun testing on "different hardware" (i.e. "problem NOT solved"). ;)

 

 

yes the problem is solved the error occured due to the mass storage driverpacks

and yes i am aware that a "legit" key is needed to activate windows, which is why i cant keep using my current laptop for virtualizations of x64 systems

i always use test media before i put it on a live system but in this case i had no choice i needed to use my laptop from fresh install

 

im ordering a laptop with vt-x & vt-d support, my processor does not support either






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users