Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Win8 autounattend.xml skip product key


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1
t0mNight

t0mNight
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 15-March 14
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hello!

I'm trying to make autounattend.xml file for auto win8 install. Everyting works great, but after restart install process stops at product key enter screen. 

My autounattend.xml file:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
    <settings pass="windowsPE">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <InputLocale>pl-PL</InputLocale>
            <SystemLocale>pl-PL</SystemLocale>
            <UILanguage>pl-PL</UILanguage>
            <UILanguageFallback>pl-PL</UILanguageFallback>
            <UserLocale>pl-PL</UserLocale>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <UpgradeData>
                <Upgrade>false</Upgrade>
                <WillShowUI>Never</WillShowUI>
            </UpgradeData>
            <UserData>
                <AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>
            </UserData>
        </component>
    </settings>
    <settings pass="specialize">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP-UX" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <SkipAutoActivation>true</SkipAutoActivation>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <ComputerName>PC</ComputerName>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-SQMApi" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <CEIPEnabled>0</CEIPEnabled>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-ErrorReportingCore" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <DisableWER>1</DisableWER>
            <DefaultConsent>1</DefaultConsent>
        </component>
    </settings>
    <settings pass="oobeSystem">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <FirstLogonCommands>
                <SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
                    <CommandLine>cmd /C wmic useraccount where "name='user'" set PasswordExpires=FALSE</CommandLine>
                    <Order>1</Order>
                </SynchronousCommand>
            </FirstLogonCommands>
            <OOBE>
                <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
                <HideLocalAccountScreen>true</HideLocalAccountScreen>
                <HideOnlineAccountScreens>true</HideOnlineAccountScreens>
                <HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>true</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>
                <NetworkLocation>Other</NetworkLocation>
                <HideOEMRegistrationScreen>true</HideOEMRegistrationScreen>
                <ProtectYourPC>1</ProtectYourPC>
            </OOBE>
            <UserAccounts>
                <LocalAccounts>
                    <LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
                        <Password>
                            <Value>UABhAHMAcwB3AG8AcgBkAA==</Value>
                            <PlainText>false</PlainText>
                        </Password>
                        <Name>user</Name>
                        <DisplayName>user</DisplayName>
                        <Group>Administrators</Group>
                    </LocalAccount>
                </LocalAccounts>
            </UserAccounts>
            <RegisteredOwner>xxx</RegisteredOwner>
            <RegisteredOrganization>xxx</RegisteredOrganization>
            <TimeZone>Central European Standard Time</TimeZone>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <InputLocale>pl-PL</InputLocale>
            <SystemLocale>pl-PL</SystemLocale>
            <UILanguage>pl-PL</UILanguage>
            <UILanguageFallback>pl-PL</UILanguageFallback>
            <UserLocale>pl-PL</UserLocale>
        </component>
    </settings>
</unattend>

Please help, the target is to skip it at install time  :)


Edited by t0mNight, 30 March 2014 - 12:10 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,876 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

There are generic install keys that are provided to bypass this issue:

 

Information on this:

 

http://www.askvg.com...n-installation/

 

generic product key page:

 

http://technet.micro...y/jj612867.aspx



#3
t0mNight

t0mNight
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 15-March 14
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It would be great, but using key in my case creates 2 more problems:

- if the hardware have OEM key in BIOS... which key will be installed (form bios or from file) ?

- how to store 2 keys (for core and pro) in one XML?

 

The best way would be bypassing the whoole OOBE stage ( http://technet.micro...y/ff716280.aspx ), but it's deprecated in Win8.

(... but works great in Win7 :) )


Edited by t0mNight, 30 March 2014 - 12:10 PM.


#4
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 10,022 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

It would be great, but using key in my case creates 2 more problems:
- if the hardware have OEM key in BIOS... which key will be installed (form bios or from file) ?
- how to store 2 keys (for core and pro) in one XML?


Well here's the rub. The product key is what tells Windows 8 whether to look into the BIOS or not. Unfortunately, that product key is not public! The public key will instruct the OS to not look into the BIOS for the activation key, at least that is my understanding of it.

The second question is that you can't have the two different keys in the same XML.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#5
MAVERICKS CHOICE

MAVERICKS CHOICE

    The Guy from Aus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,782 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes I install with the generic in my xml & activate with the correct one.



#6
t0mNight

t0mNight
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 15-March 14
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

As I said before, the perfect solution would be simply skip this step. I wonder if it's possible via AutoIT, however I don't even know how to run something in that phase. Another way is to place generic key as MAVERICS and auto activate the system later via some kind of scripting. 

 

That second option should be easier becouse:

- key is possible to extract by:

 

 

 

- and may be placed into: slmgr.vbs -ipk <key>

 

Somebody have idea to make it unattended?


Edited by t0mNight, 06 April 2014 - 03:20 PM.


#7
lurk&jerk

lurk&jerk

    Stealth

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 08-September 04

If you install from a USB key instead of a DVD, you can easily swap out different autounattend.xml, depending on the configuration you want to use. I created a batch filed to automate this process. The file must be pre-configured prior to booting and starting the Windows 8 install process with your USB key. I recommend a key of at least 16GB.

@echo off
:: In order for this to work you must store your autounatten.xml files and pid.txt files with product keys in a folder called "Pid" in the root of your USB drive
:: In the Pid folder create subfolders for each configuration, i.e. "Laptop", "DesktopPC". Place the corresponding pid.txt and autounattend.xml in each folder

:: this code searches for the USB key based on the presence of the dummy file "WIN8_USB.ini"
FOR %%d IN (D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) DO IF EXIST %%d:\WIN8_USB.ini SET CFDrv=%%d:

:: This code deletes any previous autounattend setup
del %CFDrv%\sources\pid.txt
del %CFDrv%\Autounattend.xml

::This is the menu that you can customize to your own setup
cls
:: Choices
COLOR 1a
ECHO.
ECHO.
ECHO ############## Windows 8 Setup Assistant ###############
ECHO.
ECHO 1. Copy Windows 8.1 KMS key to the clipboard for upgrade
ECHO.
ECHO 2. Configure ***LAPTOP***
echo.
ECHO 3. Configure ***Desktop PC***
ECHO.
echo 4. Exit
echo.
echo.
Choice /C 1234 /M "Which Configuration do you want to use?"
If Errorlevel 4 Goto end
If Errorlevel 3 Goto 3
If Errorlevel 2 Goto 2
If Errorlevel 1 Goto 1

Goto End
:1
Echo This will place the KMS Product Key in the clipboard
echo Hit "CTRL + C" to quit; any other key to continue
pause
echo GCRJD-8NW9H-F2CDX-CCM8D-9D6T9 | clip
powershell -Command Mount-DiskImage -ImagePath "%CFDrv%\Windows81.iso"

Goto End
:2
Echo This will install the Laptop Product Key and Unattended file
echo Hit "CTRL + C" to quit; any other key to continue
COPY %CFDrv%\Pid\laptop\pid.txt %CFDrv%\sources
COPY %CFDrv%\Pid\laptop\Autounattend.xml %CFDrv%\

Goto End
:3
Echo This will install the Desktop PC Product Key and Unattended file
echo Hit "CTRL + C" to quit; any other key to continue
COPY %CFDrv%\Pid\DesktopPC\pid.txt %CFDrv%\sources
COPY %CFDrv%\Pid\DesktopPC\Autounattend.xml %CFDrv%\

Goto End
:End
CLS
COLOR 1a
ECHO
ECHO "Exiting program"
pause
Exit


Edited by lurk&jerk, 16 April 2014 - 06:59 AM.

Like B.I.G., I goes haard errry rhyme....
Know your OS-tan
Ou vai ou racha

#8
ChrisNicholls

ChrisNicholls
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 02-May 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hello!

I'm trying to make autounattend.xml file for auto win8 install. Everyting works great, but after restart install process stops at product key enter screen. 

My autounattend.xml file:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
    <settings pass="windowsPE">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <InputLocale>pl-PL</InputLocale>
            <SystemLocale>pl-PL</SystemLocale>
            <UILanguage>pl-PL</UILanguage>
            <UILanguageFallback>pl-PL</UILanguageFallback>
            <UserLocale>pl-PL</UserLocale>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <UpgradeData>
                <Upgrade>false</Upgrade>
                <WillShowUI>Never</WillShowUI>
            </UpgradeData>
            <UserData>
                <AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>
            </UserData>
        </component>
    </settings>
    <settings pass="specialize">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP-UX" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <SkipAutoActivation>true</SkipAutoActivation>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <ComputerName>PC</ComputerName>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-SQMApi" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <CEIPEnabled>0</CEIPEnabled>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-ErrorReportingCore" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <DisableWER>1</DisableWER>
            <DefaultConsent>1</DefaultConsent>
        </component>
    </settings>
    <settings pass="oobeSystem">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <FirstLogonCommands>
                <SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
                    <CommandLine>cmd /C wmic useraccount where "name='user'" set PasswordExpires=FALSE</CommandLine>
                    <Order>1</Order>
                </SynchronousCommand>
            </FirstLogonCommands>
            <OOBE>
                <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
                <HideLocalAccountScreen>true</HideLocalAccountScreen>
                <HideOnlineAccountScreens>true</HideOnlineAccountScreens>
                <HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>true</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>
                <NetworkLocation>Other</NetworkLocation>
                <HideOEMRegistrationScreen>true</HideOEMRegistrationScreen>
                <ProtectYourPC>1</ProtectYourPC>
            </OOBE>
            <UserAccounts>
                <LocalAccounts>
                    <LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
                        <Password>
                            <Value>UABhAHMAcwB3AG8AcgBkAA==</Value>
                            <PlainText>false</PlainText>
                        </Password>
                        <Name>user</Name>
                        <DisplayName>user</DisplayName>
                        <Group>Administrators</Group>
                    </LocalAccount>
                </LocalAccounts>
            </UserAccounts>
            <RegisteredOwner>xxx</RegisteredOwner>
            <RegisteredOrganization>xxx</RegisteredOrganization>
            <TimeZone>Central European Standard Time</TimeZone>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <InputLocale>pl-PL</InputLocale>
            <SystemLocale>pl-PL</SystemLocale>
            <UILanguage>pl-PL</UILanguage>
            <UILanguageFallback>pl-PL</UILanguageFallback>
            <UserLocale>pl-PL</UserLocale>
        </component>
    </settings>
</unattend>

Please help, the target is to skip it at install time  :)

t0mNight you simply need to insert a key been in the exact same situation if you want to activate using the BIOS key input the key in the xml as XXXXX-XXXX this way you are informing it to use the BIOS key i do this on a daily basis and it works.



#9
AlexXxuTzZu

AlexXxuTzZu
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 23-December 14
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Ok, i gave up and registered here for some help. I will post here since it's the same problem.

I have made an Windows 8.1 AIO x86/x64 with:

Windows 8.1 Core N

Windows 8.1 Pro N VL

Windows 8.1 Enterprise N

 

 

If i'm making iso at the installation is asking me on the first time to put the key of the product (don't even know which version). How can i skip it and move forward to the box where i'm having all the versions i want to install ?!

 

This is my auto so far, incomplete without other versions and my x64 versions because i don't know how to put it right:

http://pastebin.com/9sit9tKw

 

 

Thanks in advance.



#10
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 10,022 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

In your posted XML, if using this makes the product key prompt appear, then I suggest you remove the InstallFrom object. In my XMLs, I only specify the install key and not the Index name in the install.wim.

 

If you want it to show you all the indexes in the install.wim, do not specify either an InstallFrom or a ProductKey. Then I believe you use the pid.txt to put the installs keys into so that after you manually choose from the image list, it will not ask for a key.

http://technet.micro...y/hh824952.aspx


MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#11
AlexXxuTzZu

AlexXxuTzZu
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 23-December 14
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks for the response. How should i make after a PID to work with all the editions from my install.wim ? In the PID i can only put one key only, or not ?

Thanks



#12
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 10,022 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I am not certain if you can put more than one product key in the pid.txt. Do you still have product.ini in \sources?

I would have to wait until Monday to do any testing myself.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


    MJ12bot (1)