Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Which SP you are using and why?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1
RacerBG

RacerBG

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 57 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I have been thinking for a while about this. Personally I use SP3 but I wonder "what about the others?". What SP are you using and most important - why?




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Flasche

Flasche

    A bottled message!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 359 posts
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

I have been thinking for a while about this. Personally I use SP3 but I wonder "what about the others?". What SP are you using and most important - why?

SP3 (pos 2009)


Edited by Flasche, Today, 11:55 AM.


#3
dencorso

dencorso

    Adiuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,537 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

SP3. The (really few) users of previous SPs may give you many contrived and tortuous explanations (with all due respect) as to why they use SPn (with 3 > n >= 0), but none of them resists the light of day. Using just SP1's halmapi.dll instead of a patched SP3 one for access of RAM > 4 GiB (on machines having > 4 GiB and PAE), at least while the patch to the latest halmapi.dll is still experimental, is understandable. Then again that same memory can be accessed safely with a ramdrive, and pagefile.sys created in it so that XP x86 can use it anyway. -- All those who went x64 OSes please don't even think of stopping here and posting to ask why keep x86 because such a discussion is tiresome and pointless! Such posts shall be deleted without previous notice. -- That said, if any one comes here and posts "I use SPn because I can, while considering any issue that may cause me fun to solve. I do it because I find it fun."... well, that I'd sure consider a totally valid reason. Then again, I've never seen anyone come forward and say it (even in a much more toned down version).



#4
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developers
  • 13,382 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

SP3. The (really few) users of previous SPs may give you many contrived and tortuous explanations (with all due respect) as to why they use SPn (with 3 > n >= 0), but none of them resists the light of day.

Here (in the dark ;)) I have SP2 (with a number of "selected" updates and/or mods/tweaks)

 

The reason being that I never found the time and/or a real reason to update to SP3: simple, straight, not tortuous, nor contrived explanation :yes:.

 

 

jaclaz



#5
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 3,874 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

"What difference, at this point, does it make?" :o

After all, EOS is EOS, and this -may- be more of a preference, or just plain "negligence". :w00t:

 

IOW, who cares now? :unsure:

 

edit - and see dencorso post about "other" reasons...


Edited by submix8c, Today, 01:11 PM.


#6
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developers
  • 13,382 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

@dencorso

I guess that these old news:

http://arstechnica.c...ws-8-windows-9/

are also a no-no? :unsure:

 

;)

 

jaclaz



#7
dencorso

dencorso

    Adiuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,537 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

"What difference, at this point, does it make?" :o

After all, EOS is EOS, and this -may- be more of a preference, or just plain "negligence". :w00t:

 

IOW, who cares now? :unsure:

 

At the very least, the OP? dubbio.gif

 

SP3. The (really few) users of previous SPs may give you many contrived and tortuous explanations (with all due respect) as to why they use SPn (with 3 > n >= 0), but none of them resists the light of day.

 

Here (in the dark ;)) I have SP2 (with a number of "selected" updates and/or mods/tweaks)

 

The reason being that I never found the time and/or a real reason to update to SP3: simple, straight, not tortuous, nor contrived explanation :yes:.

 

Welcome to this thread, jaclaz! I really like your reason. :yes:



#8
cyberformer

cyberformer

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts

On this XP I am using now, I am running SP2 and all updates before what would commence the actual installation of SP3. 
On my first XP PC bought when XP first came out, the 7 Compaq restore disks install the first public release of XP "without" Any service packs whatsoever.   Not even SP1--!!!!
And that is how it is running now.   I have not installed any!  It is running using an external firewall, along with a free software firewall.
 In the early days of it's use (back in the early 2000 era)  I was plagued with every kind of Pop up, virus, and spyware you can imagine.  But Back in those days, I did not even know software or hardware firewalls existed.  Upon installing and using-- those "discoveries" the machine runs quick and clean.
I have another Compaq that has been fully updated to SP3 only,  with no updates thereafter.

The machine without any service packs runs smooth as silk! 
The one with Sp2, and the one with SP3--- run about as smooth as quality Rayon.

I never get any virus or spyware upon any of them, other than "double.click"  ever so infrequently; as detected by the old version of Spybot Search and Destroy---which is kept on the machines for "nostalgia" sake along with Ad-AwareSE.

When I use my first XP PC without any service packs, I actually feel a sense of Being More Secure than when I use the others!
 It is hard to describe the feeling---but I liken it unto an overall ambience of--Purity--free from contaminating elements. 
The use of that Service Pack free PC has proven to me, that An Individual can indeed do what the majority of others think cannot be done successfully:  if said Individual Knows, exactly what He/ She is doing.

 



#9
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 3,874 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

BAHAHAH! :thumbup

 

"What difference, at this point, does it make?" :o

After all, EOS is EOS, and this -may- be more of a preference, or just plain "negligence". :w00t:

 

IOW, who cares now? :unsure:

 

At the very least, the OP? dubbio.gif


 

...and BAHAHAH! OK, then. :w00t: I'm out.... ;) Nothing here to see from me... move along now. :yes:



#10
oldskool

oldskool

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 31 posts
  • OS:2003 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

SP3 because programs and drivers I use complain if it is sp2 or lower.



#11
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developers
  • 8,692 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Unofficial sp4...

Cause I'm looking to make a "final" xp disc (I have had a valid vlk since release of xp :) )

#12
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,502 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

The miniPC I set up a few years ago has SP3. I haven't actually used it yet other than to create a media backup. I hope to use it later this year but for now it is just sitting on my mantle underneath a calculator.

 

The reason for it was that happened to have been the disc I had on hand at the time. Not really a good reason is it? :}

 

Anyways, I'm the kind of person who upgrades only if really required. I will make do with whatever I have as long as possible.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN