Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Want to Downgrade from Windows 8.1 to Windows Vista

- - - - - Down to The Vista

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1
Bakuchris

Bakuchris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 65 posts
  • Joined 21-January 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hello, I want downgrade from Windows 8.1 to Windows Vista, I know this seem pretty weird but I wanted to re-experience the old operating system again, but is there any problem of me running the older operating system besides the driver and issues with some of my newer software I use (such as Sony Vegas 13).

 

P.S. I know that I will have to run Windows Update to get it updated.




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Flasche

Flasche

    A bottled message!!

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 584 posts
  • Joined 20-January 14
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

Windows vista shouldn't have issue with software. I would check the software you want to see if its compatible as a precaution. Welcome to the club. :hello:


Seeker Of Truth by E. E. Cummings                                                                                           Quote (Me)

  • seeker of truth                                                 "If you want to reach and discover the true meaning of order; You must go through chaos first."            344d0f9.jpg
  • follow no path                                 
  • all paths lead where
  • truth is here
 

#3
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,526 posts
  • Joined 08-April 10
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I agree with Flasche. You will have a ton of Windows Updates and a Service Pack or two (depending on how old your installation disk is), but you shouldn't experience any compatibility issues. Vista will be supported by Microsoft for three more years, so nobody else is likely to jump ship before then.

 

Welcome! :)

 

--JorgeA



#4
11ryanc

11ryanc

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 24-September 13
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I'm actually about to buy an AMD APU PC soon, and it too is pre-loaded with Windows 8.1. Really never mind re-installing an OS on a new computer, but that Secure Boot just about makes it nearly impossible it would seem at first. I actually know a friend off YouTube who works at a computer shop, so he ran me down the list of instructions on how to downgrade 8 to Vista. Might as well share it here I guess, so this is what he told me. I've personally never tried this yet, so I can't confirm if ot works or not. Should though since he's done it multiple times where he works. If anybody knows of a simpler method, please share it. I too will be downgrading, or excuse me upgrading Windows 8.1 to Vista Ultimate SP2 ;)

"Step 1: Check the specs before you buy
The PC you are looking for needs to have an NVIDIA Geforce GPU or a Radeon GPU in order to be compatible with Windows Vista. Once you've bought the PC you want, you might want to go ahead and download the drivers for your PC for Windows Vista.

Step 2: Disable Windows 8 Secure Boot & Enable legacy support
Watch this video on how to disable secure boot in Windows 8:

Step 3: Delete all partitions
You will need a Windows 7 or Windows 8 DVD for this step. Load up the Windows 7/8 install disc, and just go through the install until you get to the "Where do you want to install Windows?" screen, and delete all partitions, and then close out of the installation

Step 4: Convert the GPT Partition to MBR
You will also need to use the Windows 7/8 DVD for this step. Load up the Windows 7/8 DVD and select "Repair your Computer" then it will search for Windows installations. After it is done, click next. Then click "Open a command prompt window" In the command prompt, type diskpart and press enter. Next, Type list disk and press enter. Then, Type select disk 1, and press enter. Finally, Type convert mbr and press enter, and close out of the installation.
Step 5: You're ready to install Windows Vista!
Now you can perform the Vista installation as normal. After Vista is installed, install all the drivers you downloaded and you'll be good to go. NOTE: You might need to purchase an external DVD drive if Vista refuses to install to the MBR partition when using the DVD drive that came preinstalled with your PC.
Notes:
If ethrenet drivers will not work, Get a Cisco-Wifi USB stick and connect to the internet using Wifi instead of ethernet.".

 

Also would like to add, you'll probably need SP2 slipstreamed on your iso in order for it even to install on the newer computer. That's how it was for using an AMD FX anyways, also Haswell.

may have some issues with Vista as I've heard from some people.

Have fun with Vista, aka one of Microsoft's last good OSs.


Edited by 11ryanc, 19 April 2014 - 11:53 PM.

31824.png

10155.gif


#5
Bakuchris

Bakuchris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 65 posts
  • Joined 21-January 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Yep, I actually installed it just eariler yesterday night, but sometimes I have odd issues, such as the explorer bar freezes, also VMPlayer will not install it gets stuck at the Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable and does not install that I have to end it's process, most of everything else seems smooth, Google Chrome runs great no problems and the Video Editor I use Sony Vegas 12 works really well to. also is it normal when you remove components from the program and features under the control panel, does it usually take a long time to add or remove things, as thats what happened to me, though it's not really a problem. Well if I encounter something that seems problematic I will report back. Anyway I have to get use to the start menu again and the taskbar with names, as Windows 8 usually only has squares on the taskbar with the programs icon, though it's been like this since Windows 7's release.

 

P.S. one good thing happened usually when I install Windows 8.1 I have to re-assign my hard disks since it puts them with the wrong drive letter I want, Vista did not do this, though Im sure even XP x64 would not experince this problem either, the problem happened around Windows 8.0 and up.


Edited by Bakuchris, 21 April 2014 - 04:43 AM.


#6
Flasche

Flasche

    A bottled message!!

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 584 posts
  • Joined 20-January 14
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

es, also VMPlayer will not install it gets stuck at the Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable and does not install that I have to end it's process,

 

Odd indeed. I installed VMplayer with no issues (latest one too 6.02).


Seeker Of Truth by E. E. Cummings                                                                                           Quote (Me)

  • seeker of truth                                                 "If you want to reach and discover the true meaning of order; You must go through chaos first."            344d0f9.jpg
  • follow no path                                 
  • all paths lead where
  • truth is here
 

#7
Bakuchris

Bakuchris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 65 posts
  • Joined 21-January 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

oh wait, it's working, maybe it was because it needed to be updated before I could run it. VM player does work. my mistake. just the installation is a little slow, but works fine.


Edited by Bakuchris, 21 April 2014 - 05:01 AM.


#8
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,526 posts
  • Joined 08-April 10
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag

[...] also is it normal when you remove components from the program and features under the control panel, does it usually take a long time to add or remove things, as thats what happened to me, though it's not really a problem.

 

IIRC this is what usually happens. It does take a while for Windows to reconfigure itself when you remove components.

 

Enjoy your brand-new Vista system!  :thumbup

 

--JorgeA



#9
11ryanc

11ryanc

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 24-September 13
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Did you install Service Pack 2? It's a rollup of bug list and performance enhancements, it is required to function properly on new hardware. Not even SP1 would work on an FX.


31824.png

10155.gif


#10
Bakuchris

Bakuchris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 65 posts
  • Joined 21-January 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes it came with Service Pack 2 Preinstalled with the operating system.



#11
Bakuchris

Bakuchris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 65 posts
  • Joined 21-January 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

The Thing is I have to upgrade from Windows Vista, I got blue screens from my display driver, the only driver that worked was a older version from Windows Update. things didn't work out as I thought they would with this OS. oh well. 



#12
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,526 posts
  • Joined 08-April 10
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Don't give up just yet. Which brand of graphics card are you using?

 

--JorgeA



#13
Bakuchris

Bakuchris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 65 posts
  • Joined 21-January 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

ATI Radeon HD 4200, for some reason the Microsoft driver worked better from 2009, I got it from Windows Update, but recently installed the updated driver and so farno blue screens, though It did happen once.


Edited by Bakuchris, 28 April 2014 - 03:26 AM.


#14
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,180 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

you can stay at 8.1 and use this Vista Theme:
 
windows_vista_vs_for_windows_8_1_update_

http://xreunion160.d...ate-1-449095241


Posted Image

#15
Bakuchris

Bakuchris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 65 posts
  • Joined 21-January 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Ok, thanks for the idea MagicAndre, I may try that idea.



#16
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,526 posts
  • Joined 08-April 10
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag

ATI Radeon HD 4200, for some reason the Microsoft driver worked better from 2009, I got it from Windows Update, but recently installed the updated driver and so farno blue screens, though It did happen once.

 

Before uninstalling Vista, check out this tutorial on the AMD forum for tweaking new drivers to work on Vista. Hopefully it'll work for you. Let us know.

 

--JorgeA



#17
Bakuchris

Bakuchris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 65 posts
  • Joined 21-January 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Ok I tried the Tutorial, so far it looks like it's working well, as I went under the event viewer. I'm not seeing any errors so far. which is good. thanks for the tutorial, this will be useful if I ever need to install Windows Vista again.


Edited by Bakuchris, 29 April 2014 - 01:02 AM.


#18
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,526 posts
  • Joined 08-April 10
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Glad to know that it's working for you. Now you can enjoy Vista to the full. :)

 

--JorgeA



#19
Bakuchris

Bakuchris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 65 posts
  • Joined 21-January 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Yep I can. 



#20
Bakuchris

Bakuchris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 65 posts
  • Joined 21-January 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Just to tell you I went back to Windows 8.1, it was fun while I could use Windows Vista, it will always be my favorite operating system. I've customized by Windows 8 System to look like Windows Vista in the mean time. 


Edited by Bakuchris, 02 May 2014 - 09:25 AM.


#21
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,180 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

have you applied the posted theme?


Posted Image

#22
Bakuchris

Bakuchris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 65 posts
  • Joined 21-January 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

well, I tried another theme, though it still works and looks good. I'm sure the one you found was also good. I can post a desktop screenshot if you want MagicAndre1981, I tried changing alot of things even adding the real sidebar from a Vista Installation (though it was a download from Server 2008 RC2 someone posted online.) still Windows 8 is pretty fast to startup and shutdown, which is surprising at times.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users